Originally posted by rocketman:I would prefer that since Trans Cab is now the 2nd largest taxi company, they should fix their own fare structure. Make known to public that they are more value for money .Objective is to fight with the Blue/Yellow. If their drivers suffer, because of less business and then transcab got more business…drivers will jump ship. In times to come , transcab will have more drivers and more business. Then got money to upgrade toilet and workshop and employ more mechanics.
Now is a good time ….if not, got to wait long long…Look at SMRT ..over the years they achieved nothing..just follow the leader .
Can Transcab take the challenge and make the big guys follow them? It is not always about money. It is about showing your influence on the industry and be the next big brother..I hope that the fare structure will be different from all taxi companies . Make the fare structure as confusing as possible .Make the passenger confused and they will complain more..create more things to do to the ppl sitting in their air con office .hahahah!!!
Transcab should not follow main stream. They have to be creative and work together with their TDs. As what they say there is no smoke without fire .
Originally posted by benqepson:Transcab should not follow main stream. They have to be creative and work together with their TDs. As what they say there is no smoke without fire .
I think if any cab company can brand themselves as cheaper and more efficient than the bigger players, they will win over customers.
Maybe even make more profits from the increased business as people switch to just taking their cabs only.![]()
There is a saying that goes "if you cannot beat them, join them". I will be surprise if cdg buy over transcab
Originally posted by charlize:I think if any cab company can brand themselves as cheaper and more efficient than the bigger players, they will win over customers.
Maybe even make more profits from the increased business as people switch to just taking their cabs only.
Cannot work lah. CDG fleet too big already. How to siam their taxi. They do like that most of the CDG TDs huat and small amount suffer. In the end the company win cos they increase most of the TDs driver income.
Originally posted by benqepson:Bro do you know that comfuk remove the 10% from 35% peak hour and then shift 10 % into the distance travel. They want their TDs to drive longer hours instead of shorter hours to please the general public. Thats why taxi operators must not follow comfuk. Its gonna be anti-competition in the industry.
eh not really bro actually can go hm earlier..........
cause after 8pm still got the 25% till midnite ..........
Guys , i tell you what .... in the taxi industry now , every eye is on TransCab now .
Even commuters now are following up with us about our Company's decision , so i told them : " No leh , until further notice ."
Most paxes on board my cab , local or expats ..... almost everyone ask me about that .
During 2007 , TransCab still a roookie .
First time they encounter price change .
Then many criticise Trans for following that 35% .
That time i thought Mr Teo learnt a lesson .
Then MBS surcharge ...... TransCab implemented that MBS whole day on Sunday & Public Holiday .
It's a successful and wise move !
So what you reckon this time ?
I guessed it will be something different .
Until many will ......

TransCab never dilly dally when doing things , very unusual for them this time .
MBS surcharge , they chop chop do it !
Since now they stuck with some 1.8cc Wish , so i guessed they will come out with something refreshing , to lure in some new applicants .
I thought their strategies is very clear .... wait all others to make their decision , then they show hand !
Now many are sianz working at 5pm .
Here you go .... he will rubber stamp at 5pm .
Since town by 11pm quiet down .
Here you go , he will runner stamp peak hour end 11pm .
Since Sentosa & Sentosa Cove has got taxis problems and not sorted out .
And Comfort still insist on not doing anything , except in maintaining paxes to call their hotline .
Here you go , rubber stamp Sentosa Surcharge .
I talk liao song nia ..... dun believe me , hahahaha
Originally posted by Poolman:I talk liao song nia ..... dun believe me , hahahaha
but wat u say is logical...
as long as there is a demand especially in places with little or no supply... how high a price people will also go for it one...
tis is the ultimate test for teo to come up something different from the rest... to let drivers know tat join reds no wrong de...
Originally posted by Guess?:This article from iTODAY.
Left to the market, are taxi fares getting out of control?
The latest revisions on how much taxi passengers have to pay have turned the spotlight on the fare structure, with some observers, including at least one Member of Parliament, repeating a call for the authorities to regulate fares again. The fare structure – which has become increasingly unwieldy and to some extent, inexplicable – should also be re-examined, they said. Taxi fares were deregulated in 1998. National University of Singapore’s Associate Professor Lee Der Hong noted that the deregulation was to “allow more competition into the mix and encourage more players into the field”. But the current landscape is practically a monopoly or duopoly, the transport expert said. Last week, ComfortDelGro, which operates some 15,600 of the 26,700 taxis here, announced revisions to its taxi fares. They include raising the flag down fare and extending the hours subjected to peak period surcharge.On Tuesday, SMRT, the third-largest operator here with 3,000 taxis, followed suit by unveiling fare adjustments identical to ComfortDelgro’s. Arguing that there is an urgent need for the Government to intervene, Assoc Prof Lee said: “The situation is at a terminal stage … The market mechanism is not working, if it was a competitive market, passengers should see a price drop and improved service quality but what we see is the opposite.”Concurring, Mountbatten MP Lim Biow Chuan told Today that he will be suggesting at the next Parliament sitting that the Ministry of Transport carry out a study on whether taxi fares should be regulated again. The call for taxi fares to be regulated has been brought up previously in Parliament. In March, then-Transport Minister Raymond Lim reiterated that taxis “are not an essential service that most Singaporeans rely upon as their principal means of transport”. Taxis are “closer to private transport”, he had said. He added: “Competition helps to keep fares competitive. Like other competitive industries, the taxi industry is subject to regulatory oversight under the Competition Act.” Speaking to Today, Ang Mo Kio GRC MP Ang Hin Kee felt taxi fares should be left to market forces. But he noted: “Maybe it is time for others to ramp up their fleet or merge into adequately-sized players to make (the market) work more effectively.”How bookings and surcharges should be: Experts Mr Lim Biow Chuan felt there was insufficient justification for the latest fare revisions. An evaluation should be carried out on why “prices are so high and services poor”, he said. Adding that the plethora of surcharges is “confusing”, Assoc Prof Lee went a step further – he felt the entire fare structure should be revamped. Arguing against imposing surcharges during periods when there is high demand for taxis, Assoc Prof Lee said that the midnight surcharge is the only surcharge which is justified – as demand will be lower during the wee hours and without a surcharge, there is little incentive for taxi drivers to be out on the roads. He added that according to a study done by his students, call bookings do not make a difference to the amount of time that passengers spent waiting for taxis. Neither does it affect the amount of time that taxis cruise around without passengers. On advanced bookings, Assoc Prof Lee argued that taxi operators should, in fact, give discounts for commuters who book taxis in advance as they are helping the companies manage resources to meet demand. The simplest way to restructure the system would be to just have a flag down rate and variable rate, said NUS transport economist Anthony Chin. “The peak hour charge, congestion charge can be built into the variable rate,” he said. Public Transport Council (PTC) chairman Gerard Ee reiterated that the Government’s obligation is to provide affordable public transport to the masses and this is done with the buses and trains. When it comes to taxis, the PTC is informed of any fare revision by the operators. But it has no say in the matter. Mr Ee noted: “Like any other retail product, consumers feedback has an influence on the price and commuters should send their feedback to the operators if they are unhappy.”
think need to ask Associate Professor Lee Der Hong take up a simple task: drive a taxi for a week...
gerard ee make some sense... he is CORRECT in stating tat taxis is NOT a public service vehicle...
which cat is coe under? muz taxis pay erp? can taxis goes on bus lanes?
Originally posted by Guess?:This article from iTODAY.
Left to the market, are taxi fares getting out of control?
The latest revisions on how much taxi passengers have to pay have turned the spotlight on the fare structure, with some observers, including at least one Member of Parliament, repeating a call for the authorities to regulate fares again. The fare structure – which has become increasingly unwieldy and to some extent, inexplicable – should also be re-examined, they said. Taxi fares were deregulated in 1998. National University of Singapore’s Associate Professor Lee Der Hong noted that the deregulation was to “allow more competition into the mix and encourage more players into the field”. But the current landscape is practically a monopoly or duopoly, the transport expert said. Last week, ComfortDelGro, which operates some 15,600 of the 26,700 taxis here, announced revisions to its taxi fares. They include raising the flag down fare and extending the hours subjected to peak period surcharge.On Tuesday, SMRT, the third-largest operator here with 3,000 taxis, followed suit by unveiling fare adjustments identical to ComfortDelgro’s. Arguing that there is an urgent need for the Government to intervene, Assoc Prof Lee said: “The situation is at a terminal stage … The market mechanism is not working, if it was a competitive market, passengers should see a price drop and improved service quality but what we see is the opposite.”Concurring, Mountbatten MP Lim Biow Chuan told Today that he will be suggesting at the next Parliament sitting that the Ministry of Transport carry out a study on whether taxi fares should be regulated again. The call for taxi fares to be regulated has been brought up previously in Parliament. In March, then-Transport Minister Raymond Lim reiterated that taxis “are not an essential service that most Singaporeans rely upon as their principal means of transport”. Taxis are “closer to private transport”, he had said. He added: “Competition helps to keep fares competitive. Like other competitive industries, the taxi industry is subject to regulatory oversight under the Competition Act.” Speaking to Today, Ang Mo Kio GRC MP Ang Hin Kee felt taxi fares should be left to market forces. But he noted: “Maybe it is time for others to ramp up their fleet or merge into adequately-sized players to make (the market) work more effectively.”How bookings and surcharges should be: Experts Mr Lim Biow Chuan felt there was insufficient justification for the latest fare revisions. An evaluation should be carried out on why “prices are so high and services poor”, he said. Adding that the plethora of surcharges is “confusing”, Assoc Prof Lee went a step further – he felt the entire fare structure should be revamped. Arguing against imposing surcharges during periods when there is high demand for taxis, Assoc Prof Lee said that the midnight surcharge is the only surcharge which is justified – as demand will be lower during the wee hours and without a surcharge, there is little incentive for taxi drivers to be out on the roads. He added that according to a study done by his students, call bookings do not make a difference to the amount of time that passengers spent waiting for taxis. Neither does it affect the amount of time that taxis cruise around without passengers. On advanced bookings, Assoc Prof Lee argued that taxi operators should, in fact, give discounts for commuters who book taxis in advance as they are helping the companies manage resources to meet demand. The simplest way to restructure the system would be to just have a flag down rate and variable rate, said NUS transport economist Anthony Chin. “The peak hour charge, congestion charge can be built into the variable rate,” he said. Public Transport Council (PTC) chairman Gerard Ee reiterated that the Government’s obligation is to provide affordable public transport to the masses and this is done with the buses and trains. When it comes to taxis, the PTC is informed of any fare revision by the operators. But it has no say in the matter. Mr Ee noted: “Like any other retail product, consumers feedback has an influence on the price and commuters should send their feedback to the operators if they are unhappy.”
easy way to solve call the ministers 1 juz to drive taxi for 1 day they will knoe.......
if no peak hr surcharge who would wan to drive frm 5-8pm when all the rds
r so congested......... give me i rather relax at hm hav dinner maybe even make
love with the missus bfore i start work at 8pm................
Originally posted by Khoon2580:think need to ask Associate Professor Lee Der Hong take up a simple task: drive a taxi for a week...
gerard ee make some sense... he is CORRECT in stating tat taxis is NOT a public service vehicle...
which cat is coe under? muz taxis pay erp? can taxis goes on bus lanes?
Originally posted by Guess?:
"Ang Mo Kio GRC MP Ang Hin Kee felt taxi fares should be left to market forces."
already proven by mbs surcharge...
on sundays... i will tell pax tat board at mbs there is a $3 surcharge...
i m willing to ferry u to anywhere if u willing to pay the surcharge...
if u heart pain tat $3 incentive to me for driving on a sunday... den u can choose to take the blue or yellow taxi behind which cannot collect the $3... i will always emphasis to them tat CDG taxis cannot collect the surcharge...
many local pax will opt to take the taxi behind... sorry to the blue or yellow behind... tat is the way the game is played... i not choosing pax... i offered pax a cheaper alteernative...
it is ok for me to wait for the next pax... got a lot of time on sundays to wait for pax tat can appreciate my efforts for providing my service on a sunday...
Originally posted by komade:easy way to solve call the ministers 1 juz to drive taxi for 1 day they will knoe.......
if no peak hr surcharge who would wan to drive frm 5-8pm when all the rds
r so congested......... give me i rather relax at hm hav dinner maybe even make
love with the missus bfore i start work at 8pm................
yah man...
Originally posted by Guess?:
Drive Taxi? I don't think they even take taxi? They got their own car or Ahmad to drive them around or Escorts "Keep Clear". You know? Volvo?
yeap... kenan so many times... they dun know wat is peak hour congestion one...
peak hour already bus lane cannot use... suddenly need to clear 2 lanes for these convoys...
Time is money. The waitinig time for meters cannot stay at 45 secs. Congestions are so often nowadays, accidents, roadworks, rain, double parking on busy roads, etc.
Paxs also like to "go by serangoon, upper serangoon", "bt.timah, upper bt.timah, woodlands, stagmont ring", etc. All these routes wastes time and fuel eventhough it is the shortest route but take longer time.
Pax like to "wait for my friend to come down", or "wait while I collect something". They say meter running but they don't understand the value of time, taxi travelling at 80km/hr can clock 2.5 times the fare in 45secs compared to waiting.
I could not believe it when this Ass. Prof Lee Der Hong said advance bookings should come with a discount instead of a surcharge! Goes to prove what a PIG brain he's got. That is the most stupid comment I ever heard. What a fucking disgrace. Which fucking cabby will take advance bookings that will further reduce their earnings? It will cause even more problems for passengers. How did such.an idiot get his PhD??
Today, comfort is the largest is mainly because of their booking quantity, they have successfully created their booking demand, and driver join them are mainly for that reason.
Comfort had spend years of effort to establish that, there is no way or very costly way to outbid them in this area. And The rest of the company are giving out incentive, lower rental etc to attract driver, this in a long term are still unhealty to the company and driver too.
And since booking is already not a main revenue resources for the company and driver ( Transcab and others), The company should forgo this area, and uses this area smartly to lure in more driver to join them and growth.
This could be done with extention of Location Surcharge in hot zone at hot timing. When CDG charge $3.30 per booking, driver actually cash in $2.80 after booking levy, set a surcharge of $2.50. The driver are more that happy to recieve this amount cos usual there will be nothing, will see them start camping at those area. And for commuter, it will reduce their time of waiting, frustration of getting thru the "hotline" and paying lesser compare to booking. Isn't it a win win?
Plus, with such extra income, comfort booking is no longer that attractive to driver and their driver will begin to migrate away from CDG. Isn't it another win for the compay too?
So it is a win win win situation.
The fare structure determines people behavior, also can determines the company growth with minimum expenses.