Originally posted by decent02:I think this fare increase will impact some nite relief drivers
hirer drives day shift and see that nite earnings better
so will impose a 40/60 or 45/55 split on rental
so nite relief cabbies...prepare for rental increase
lol u should be more worried more day drivers will jump over to the night slots.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:12 Dec 2011 - Quit Blue Cab
12 Dec 2012 - End of the World
Most comments are directed at the cab companies and not at the taxi drivers.
The drivers also used special skills to maximise their earnings.
So, no one bothered to solve the root of the problems.
End of the day, the cab company will use this reason against the local drivers to employ foreign drivers.
This day will come eventually if the drivers continue to use their special skills.
Then, who lose more in the end ?
Bro i fully agree with you. Until there are absolutely no solutions and with some wise ass here teaching and bragging about how to beat the system and when that day comes , it will be a day of sadness for everyone.
Today ST is a hot topic on this topic. Even CASE is stepping in .
Thinking of placing sticker on my cdg taxi window with the words......
"Come, come cheapest taxi fares among all taxi in singapore with only 25% surcharge from 7.00am to 9.30am." hahaha.....
Originally posted by Guess?:http://www.todayonline.com/Commentary/EDC111207…?
A disagreeing to Taxi Fare Hike from this Writer of TODAY, against words of Comfort Delgro and NTA.
"As it is, cab rides here are not all that cheap - often more expensive than in Hong Kong. The flagdown here is significantly higher; in Hong Kong it is HK$18 (less than S$3) for the first two kilometres to our 1km."
This guy is damn cock! wanna comment, pls do research properly. Hello, it's already HK$20...and every subsequent 200 metres or part thereof: HK$ 1.50 (S$0.25).
CASE says taxi fare increase "quite hefty"
Singapore's consumer watchdog Consumers Association of Singapore (CASE) has asked ComfortDelGro to justify its taxi fare revision.
CASE executive director Seah Seng Choon said: "The fare increase in our view is quite hefty. I suppose if they say it is supply and demand, they should then reveal the findings they have so that the public is aware of the rationale for such adjustment."
The new fares by Singapore's largest taxi operator will kick in on December 12, just as festive shopping kicks into high gear.
The new fare structure has drawn flak from commuters, who are unhappy over having to pay more, especially at night.
Some commuters are upset that the peak period has been extended to stretch from 6pm to midnight, compared to 5pm to 8pm currently.
"I think taxi fares shouldn't increase any further because with the surcharges and the ERP fees, they are already incorporated into these taxi cab fares. I think it would just be too exorbitant," said a female passenger.
Another passenger said: "I think it's ridiculous. It's too expensive and it's so hard to get taxis at peak hours, especially."
Others felt the adjustment was still acceptable.
"Things are going up and taxi drivers need to live as well. It's not very much compared to other countries where you have to pay much more," said one passenger.
Singapore's competition watchdog, the Competition Commission of Singapore, also reminded trade associations not to become a vehicle to facilitate price collusion or price-fixing.
This came a day after the National Taxi Association (NTA) urged other taxi companies to adjust their fares, in line with ComfortDelGro's revision.
The NTA, a trade union body representing 12,000 taxi drivers, said drivers of other taxi companies also face similar operating cost pressures as those from ComfortDelGro.
The drivers expect the association to reflect these ground sentiments to taxi companies so that they are taken into account when setting taxi fares, said NTA.
NTA president Wee Boon Kim said: "We need to (adjust the fares) because our drivers have been making a lot of noise about diesel prices going up tremendously. No one can help and we have to look into the income of our drivers. Being the leaders of the taxi association, that's very important for the interests of our drivers."
Most ComfortDelGro taxi drivers Channel NewsAsia spoke to said the rise in taxi fares may keep passengers away for a while but they do not think that there will be any long-term effect on their business.
One taxi driver said: "The night drivers will benefit more. We (morning drivers) will benefit less. I don't think there will be much difference. It will be a few months before people will take cabs again."
Another taxi driver said: "There are still passengers who like to take cabs. Because if they are taking cab, they have more privacy for themselves. It should be okay."
The other taxi operators said they are reviewing the situation to see if they should also revise their fares.
In response, the chairman of the Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for Transport, Cedric Foo, said that in a deregulated sector, market forces should be left alone to work itself out.
To cater to those who want a more comfortable ride, Mr Foo suggested that the Land Transport Authority (LTA) look into expanding the capacity of "business-class" express buses plying between housing estates and city hubs during peak periods.
Responding to queries from Channel NewsAsia, ComfortDelGro said it has currently no plans to increase taxi rentals and that it will continue to subsidise diesel for its cabbies.
- CNA/fa
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:ya read today straits times part-time teacher Ms Chen is a 6am taxi taker Bedok to Bukit Batok somemore ...
she muz be feeling very emo now ...
CASE -> Taxi Company to provide statistics to support HEFTY raise
(Not stopping the raise)
Press -> Taxi drivers (Inflation & Long Time Never Raise Price)
Taxi Company -> Taxi drivers (Cost of Living)
Taxi Association -> Taxi drivers (High Diesel Price)
GPC -> Not my business -> LTA (Is it their business ?)
Taxi Driver -> Taxi Company (High Rental)
In the end,
$$$$ -> Communters (End of food chain)
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:Peak hour Pax Hide , taxi come out , Peak hour over pax come out in droves , taxi tulan start to chut stunt.
Sooooooo peak hours all extend leaving only a few hours based on metre only ,well lets see.
CDG drivers , pls post your field report after your shift on monday pls :D
Quote from one of the reply at Today......
"put it tis way... will any of us give up our annual bonus?
so i see nothing wrong in cabbies prefer to by-pass pax juz outside cbd... to earn tat extra $3...
tat extra $3 is their bonus..."
I think is true loh. Ask those working people if year end no AWS you see they will change company or not loh.....LOL
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:Bro i fully agree with you. Until there are absolutely no solutions and with some wise ass here teaching and bragging about how to beat the system and when that day comes , it will be a day of sadness for everyone.
Are you referring to your good friend when you said some wise ass ? ![]()
at least he is bracket "wise" , not bad .
too bad lor .... too wise .
Originally posted by Mercabs:Are you referring to your good friend when you said some wise ass ?
*act blur* ![]()
Originally posted by decent02:This is call....follow Taikor
i can only say 1 tin, drive like a chrysler. those who knoe understand
wat im saying ~~~~ ;)
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:*act blur*
haha i can sense parang goin to fly liao...........
Originally posted by ALN:so how?
next week who throw key?
haha
my sonata key ....anytime can throw
worthless
Merc key dun anyhow throw hor.... cannot duplicate one ....heard lost kena fine $300 or $500
Now people are complaining why 6am is considered peak period.
Times are bad. ![]()
With the traffic jams everywhere now, even if you take a cab, there is no guarantee that you will reach your destination on time so all these surcharges only makes you pay more but doesn't guarantee better efficient service.
Better to squeeze in the mrt which despite being packed, gives you a better chance of reaching where you want to go. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Now people are complaining why 6am is considered peak period.
Times are bad.
imo this is to corner all the morning pax wanting to take taxis. It has always been the case , 0600 to 0645 many hands waving for cabs , then all of a sudden come 7am the hands start to vanish.
My day driver friend told me at most times he can go empty without a pax from 7 am to 8 am. so he rather come out at 8 am , this is the time where all those late for work will start to take cabs.
So now increase the 6 am pax will complain but 7 am to 8 am taxi driver no pax complain to who?
Comfort should be more creative la wah lan . They should put 6 am as 'early riser surcharge' . Wake up nia u are given a menu to choose , 50% or 25%. ![]()
Originally posted by komade:i can only say 1 tin, drive like a chrysler. those who knoe understand
wat im saying ~~~~ ;)
i dun understand :p
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:imo this is to corner all the morning pax wanting to take taxis. It has always been the case , 0600 to 0645 many hands waving for cabs , then all of a sudden come 7am the hands start to vanish.
My day driver friend told me at most times he can go empty without a pax from 7 am to 8 am. so he rather come out at 8 am , this is the time where all those late for work will start to take cabs.
So now increase the 6 am pax will complain but 7 am to 8 am taxi driver no pax complain to who?
Comfort should be more creative la wah lan . They should put 6 am as 'early riser surcharge' . Wake up nia u are given a menu to choose , 50% or 25%.
Ya 6-7am 25% "Early riser surcharge".....7-8am 35% "Lazy take public transport surcharge"......8-9am 45% "Late for work surcharge"....KAR KAR LAI MAH!!!! Like that then call increase lah. 25% is decrease leh....
If I am the operator I scrap all surcharge!!!! But hor start meter $3.20 every 200m $0.30 for first 10km after that 150m $0.30. Every 30s $0.30 like that then can HUAT MAH!!!!!
Only solution in singapore is to increase price.
No creativity involved cos no one want to tell the taxi drivers straight in the face what to do.
So, within the non-peak hours, you will not see any taxis on the road.
Then, what is next ?
Make the whole day PEAK period.
As I mentioned earlier, the taxi drivers have themselves to blame once they open the flood gate to FTs.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Only solution in singapore is to increase price.
No creativity involved cos no one want to tell the taxi drivers straight in the face what to do.
So, within the non-peak hours, you will not see any taxis on the road.
Then, what is next ?
Make the whole day PEAK period.
As I mentioned earlier, the taxi drivers have themselves to blame once they open the flood gate to FTs.
u keep blaming us taxi drivers? hello do u know what are the upcoming rentals that are gonna be imposed on us?
And are u so happy that the industry gets open up to FTs?
Wud u rather support a local or a bangla or pinoy driver assuming u are a sporean?
and would u entrust your daughter , your wife or any lady folks in the hands of these people?
Think before u wish for this and that.
Although some service levels amongst the TDs are questionable , we did the ultimate thing that is required of us and that is to SEND YOU HOME IN ONE PIECE.
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Ya 6-7am 25% "Early riser surcharge".....7-8am 35% "Lazy take public transport surcharge"......8-9am 45% "Late for work surcharge"....KAR KAR LAI MAH!!!! Like that then call increase lah. 25% is decrease leh....
If I am the operator I scrap all surcharge!!!! But hor start meter $3.20 every 200m $0.30 for first 10km after that 150m $0.30. Every 30s $0.30 like that then can HUAT MAH!!!!!
bro your parang sibeh sharp , LTA grant u operator license commuters die cock stand LOL
Soon there will be more peak periods over 24 hours than non peak periods.
Oh wait, it has already happened. ![]()