Let me share a story .
I was lucky .
My late father was diagnosed with cancer a few years back .
before he diagnosed with cancer , CPF sent him a letter , to encourage him to sign up Medishield , deducting about $400 a year from his medisave .
Since my father has got so much to spare , why not ? He signed up .
After a few months he signed up , he was disgnosed with cancer .
Can you imagine the cost of those surgeries , medicine , hospitalisations needed if i need to fork out cash ?
It's a cool $28,000 plus .
We were worried , very worried .
My family even sat down to discuss how to share those burden among us .
But in the end ?
All those medical fee was bore by Medisave and most important Medishields !
This Medishields saved our ass , really !
My brother handled all related issues , i never heard from anyone that we pay massive cash for my father .
Why am i telling you this ?
I like to recommend you guys to sign up Medishield as fast as possible .
Try your best to sign up one .
All premium is standard one .
Insured by Great Eastern .
Nothing more than $500 per year , all deducted from your Medisave .
How important ?
It is very important .
Do visit cpf.gov.sg to read more about Medishield .
Some told me it is automatic , but i did signed up a form to authorise them to deduct amount from my medisave .
And i think i will visit CPF to confirm about my status about Medishield .
I think i received a letter from CPF at the age of 40 .
This policy is cater for citizens above 40 .
If u are 40 and above , and are not sure about your status , make a point to ask from CPF or check online if u have password for Singpass .
If anyone here do know more about utilising our Medisave , do share with us .
Remember , once u are protected by medishield , u won't be a burden to your family .
For once , i have to thank Kaw Boon Wan on this .
U can say what u want about Kaw Boon Wan , to me , he deserved my respect on this .
| Medisave also covers the following hospitalisation and other approved expenses: |
|
And i thought all those medical cost are base on subsidised prices for all Singaporeans , not Specialist prices .
Recently my LV chief 07 , was down by heart attack , i was worried about him .
He told me he might need to do bypass surgeries .
I pray for him sia ..... report not out yet , i really hope no surgery needed .
knn he can still smoke happy sia .
Now if u are past 40 , good time to sign up .
If u have enough funds in your medisave , sign up for it .
If u do not have enuf , ur wife medisave also can help you pay for it , if i am not wrong . Do check with CPF .
Remember , ur decision can be vital .
Ur one decision makes a difference to whether or not u will be a burden to your family ?
Year 2011 .... it's not a good year for me as far as life of a cabby is concern .
I seen and heard so many people with problems after driving a cab .
And some actually return their NRIC .
I share what i know , i don't keep inside my pocket like many did .
U find any other taxi forums do that ?
Remember , PAP won't help you when u are ill .
Taxi companies will still take your taxi rental when u are ill .
NTA will only sent you fruits hamper when u are ill , and u still need to be their member to receive the fruits hamper .
Your best taxi kaki will not have enough to give you a loan .
Help yourself .
Nobody can help you .
Ironically we have to thanks to PAP's Mr Kaw Boon Wan on this .
Medisave is not enough , never enough .
Medishield is far far more important .
yah muz buy health insurance or sometin like it, nowadays the cost
of healthcare is............ scary...............
My father in law now in hospital due to spinal crack when he fell in the toilet.
been there for two months liao, heard the bill nothing less than $60K.
all such be covered by insurance.
Originally posted by Bingjames:My father in law now in hospital due to spinal crack when he fell in the toilet.
been there for two months liao, heard the bill nothing less than $60K.
all such be covered by insurance.
gd luck n gd health to ur father in law bro~~~
Cool story, bro. Sounds like an advertisement.
Can i use my medisave to sign up for my father pool? he dont have cpf at all..
Now CPF outsource medishield to commercial insurance providers like NTUC, Manual Life and some others. There are a few plans to choose from that can be deducted from medisave.
One scenario my friend experienced was not able to claim when he bought his long ago with one insurance provider. He did a 'Key-hole' operation which was not included in the plan that was purchased years ago. He may have to fork out 7-10k, still fighting the case, out of his pocket. So those bought some time ago, make sure you check that your plan is updated or upgrade to current medical status where all hospitalisation is covered. Especially when there are new surgery procedures not included last time.
Originally posted by Gagger:Can i use my medisave to sign up for my father pool? he dont have cpf at all..
u double check with CPF
Originally posted by eatyummynoodles:Cool story, bro. Sounds like an advertisement.
Yup i am born a marketing man .
Originally posted by Fwahhh:Now CPF outsource medishield to commercial insurance providers like NTUC, Manual Life and some others. There are a few plans to choose from that can be deducted from medisave.
One scenario my friend experienced was not able to claim when he bought his long ago with one insurance provider. He did a 'Key-hole' operation which was not included in the plan that was purchased years ago. He may have to fork out 7-10k, still fighting the case, out of his pocket. So those bought some time ago, make sure you check that your plan is updated or upgrade to current medical status where all hospitalisation is covered. Especially when there are new surgery procedures not included last time.
yeah u check out typical type of critical illesses like heart attack , cancer , etc ...
All TD bro. Pool mentioned Medisave, Medishield bla bla....is very important.
You better buy Solid Medical Insurance package for yourself and family when you are healthy. Because after you encounter some major problem you will probably rejected.
Medisave? not enough.....peanuts and will wipe out account in one big instant case.
Medishield --- now you can buy from GE, AXA and bla bla black sheep co. However, Medishield is still not enough as you need to do co-payment of 10% from Cash or Medisave. Example if your Surgery and hospitalization cost $100,000 - then 10% of it have to be pay by yourself.
You can pay Medishield premium from your Medisave account. Don't let this account sit idle in the CPF.
There are some other extension and comprehensive policy like from GE that is called "Total Shield" and you can only buy it in addition to their so called "Supreme Health".
I am not promoting any insurance co, but it is a reality nowaday if you have no money to pay for Surgery or Hospitalization. Medisave is just not enough.
Our Gov is following the Health System in the West and US.
You have to got a mentality of getting insured for and hope not to get sick.
Unlike you buy and bet on Toto or 4D to strike. Why not spend this $ and hope not to Strike.
Originally posted by Gagger:Can i use my medisave to sign up for my father pool? he dont have cpf at all..
Yes, you can utilise your medisave to buy med ins for your next of kin.
Medisave account can be seen but cannot touch or withdraw until you surrender your ic. Why not use it to buy medical insurance.