It doesn't really matters if I got almost a perfect score in my Taxi exam, 4 (100%) and 1 (98%).
When comes to the real world of taxi driving, everything is different.
After I drop off my pax, got a current booking call. WTF, I dun even have time to know where is fxxking location is, and before I realised, 15 secs is gone and I am flashed with a message "you have rejected one call".
At least if on street pickup, i can play delay time technique by asking them a few more questions like their prefered route and all those, these precious timing giving extra few seconds to think of where is it.
The next call that come in, I decide to play a different game. After dropping of someone right at the end of Sentosa on my first day of work, I was left alone trying to figure my way out, almost lost when I got this current booking call for Sentosa Gateway bridge. Gosh, I dun have the faintest idea where the fxxk this place is but just press "5 mins" first then talk.
haha, I got the job, next step is to find my way there from I dun even know where. My hirer dun even have a road directory in the cab. Then I say the button"MAP" on the MDT. I just press it and as I drive, it just led me towards my targeted destination.
For newbies like me who dunno, the whole map was so small and the whole place is pitch dark and the road name on the MDT is so small, hardly visible unless u stop yr cab and read closely. But it doesn't really matters. All you need to look out for is a arrow icon which represent you or rather your current location, a square icon which represend your targeted destination and a red line which should the path between us.
All you need to do is drive towards it, if you make a wrong turn, you can see it on the map that you are going away from your target. So using this method, I managed to located the pax.
But bear in mind, this method is not every idiot also can used, u need to have some common sense and some knowledge of location too.
Example : with the map I managed to located the destination and press the "arrive" button but the sign "please check destination" appear. On closer look, the destination is a beach and I am facing a hill. I later figured out that the beach is just behind the hill and I had to make a very big detour, on the map shows I am going far away from the target, but after the first turn, it shows I am back on track again and I found them.
next example also at Sentosa and got a call for Vivocity. If i just follow the red line, I could have end up in the sea. Of course, you need to know where is the exit for Sentosa first (basic common sense) and although I dunno when the Giant taxi stand is, the map lead me there.
So now, my strategy is, whatever calls that come in, just "humtum" then talk. Although I am rather near, i dun want to press 3 mins as it gives me more pressure or 7 mins as I might lose the call, so I usually press 5 mins.
take note when you press for the timing
3min - pax will receive reply taxi to arrive 3-5min
5min - pax will receive reply taxi to arrive 5-7min
7min - " 7-9min
10min " 10-12min
when you press for the job, relax , give yourself sometime to breath, spend few second to take a look at the message, pull your taxi safely to a side if can to take a look and think what are the fastest route you can take to reach the pax faster, spending this few second can help you to avoid wasting time and going wrong road,
take note you mdt map sometime will turn different direction while taxi stop moving,
Some common taxi stands at shopping centre, you must try to understand well~ Like vivo ar, got two taxi stands.. one at the harbour front, another one at giant~
so usually they also put down the shop that is closest to the taxi stand.
like i stay at the west and frequent Jurong point, there's two taxi stand there. one is 7-11 taxi stand, another one is near bus-interchange taxi stand.
If not sure...tell pax you are a new bird....need assistance...
Just be frank to passenger....
MOST of the times, pax won't mind assisting.... (becos they don't want to go round & round)....
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:If not sure...tell pax you are a new bird....need assistance...
Just be frank to passenger....
MOST of the times, pax won't mind assisting.... (becos they don't want to go round & round)....
Yah mouth is there...... juz ask...........
Originally posted by decent02:No tel ….dun take
Main road… dun take
Orchard road….dun take…jam
Not familiar….. dun take
Invest in a gps….if want to take call
taxi stand - khoon definately no take...
bus stop - also no take...
Originally posted by Khoon2580:taxi stand - khoon definately no take...
bus stop - also no take...
if nite shift can take no prob~~~~
Originally posted by komade:if nite shift can take no prob~~~~
yeap... day n nite reverse... tis logic ck shared with me when he 'forced' me to drive nite... ha ha...
but i understand y he made me drive nite when my day zai liao... so can be versatile in operations... and can adapt should the need arise to drive nite....
Originally posted by Khoon2580:yeap... day n nite reverse... tis logic ck shared with me when he 'forced' me to drive nite... ha ha...
but i understand y he made me drive nite when my day zai liao... so can be versatile in operations... and can adapt should the need arise to drive nite....
hehe~~~~
no need take call lah.. just sweep.. or even more yao, use vacuum..
Originally posted by JLKL:no need take call lah.. just sweep.. or even more yao, use vacuum..
which brand of vacum more powerful?
ha ha...
Originally posted by Khoon2580:which brand of vacum more powerful?
ha ha...
since when u see me yao... haha...
Originally posted by JLKL:since when u see me yao... haha...
ya lor.. never see u yao before...
think i getting more n more yao otr liao...
good anot har?
Originally posted by Khoon2580:ya lor.. never see u yao before...
think i getting more n more yao otr liao...
good anot har?
good.. why not... so next time, i no money can borrow from you mah... haha...
Originally posted by decent02:JLJK and Khoon2580…... are you one pair as in hirer and relief
both post at the same time
dun need to drive ahhh…....
disipline leh….hahah
very discipline mah.. once hit target dun go home dan do what??
Originally posted by decent02:JLJK and Khoon2580…... are you one pair as in hirer and relief
both post at the same time
dun need to drive ahhh…....
disipline leh….hahah
no lah...
jlkl omo... most idle day shift omo driver... start 9am... keep 6pm... tat's y earn peanuts... ha ha..
khoon day shift... 4am to 4pm... parthner ck (who also is khoon's mentor) takes over after tat...
khoon see jlkl as a good buddy... most disciplined driver in our day group...
Originally posted by Khoon2580:which brand of vacum more powerful?
ha ha...
mine is electrolux 10000 watts got 2 models ...... 1 for dry 1 for wet ........... ![]()
Originally posted by komade:mine is electrolux 10000 watts got 2 models ...... 1 for dry 1 for wet ...........
Originally posted by decent02:
mine is feather duster only looking forward to buy a vacuum cleaner
slowly bro~~~ slowly~~~~
Always remember to ask pax their Specified preferred routes.
Which road followed by which road.... or go by expressway....
If caught in a jam.... you are safeguarded.
If not Pax will blame you all the way to the destination. ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Always remember to ask pax their Specified preferred routes.
Which road followed by which road.... or go by expressway....
If caught in a jam.... you are safeguarded.
If not Pax will blame you all the way to the destination.
yah always tell the pax the route u goin to travel even if they say any route
will do............