Please see the primary reason for this fare revision exercise by Taxi Chiefs
is to damper demand when complains had become unmanageable to them.
If they are that sincere in helping their drivers make $6 to $7 more a day to
defray operating cost, they could have avoid this bashings from commuters
and the media by just recalibrate taxi meters to exact “published fare”
instead of current 2% to 5% slowed.
My understanding is all vehicles’ tachometer reading even till today are not
100% accurate. LTA chooses to give commuters more benefits by ruling
that all meters must be calibrated slowed by up to 7% during vehicle inspection.
Taxi chiefs instead of appealing and reason that a fairer ruling to pass inspection,
should be in the window plus 3% minus 3%, during inspection,
(settings calibrated exact to published fare as other countries),
chose to calibrate their meters slowed by 2% to 5% to avoid incurring
re-inspection costs. If my guess is correct about this motive.
Almost all SMRT’s crown cabs are slow by approx. 5% compared to
others least slowed on the road which is still 2% off the published fare.
If SMRT really cared for its drivers, why do they still allow their meters to
run at 5% slowed when other meters at 2% slowed had passed inspection and
not bother with these drivers with slower meter losing more money everyday?
This should qualified SMRT as the biggest hypocrite among all Taxi chiefs.
There drivers should question SMRT sincerity, “Our drivers need a more
substantial level of income, not just lower costs or rental rates, in order
to cope with the increasing cost of living and higher diesel prices, and
continue their businesses”.
When meters here are slowed by average 3% means for the 1st km it had
to travel an extra 30 meters before the next 20 cents displayed. If a
commuter alights at 1.2km, the driver will have lost earning 20 cents more.
If a one shift driver will to clock 20 trips a day, factoring in the “longer
distance shortfall” and the extra fuel (assuming at 200 km hired, he would
had to donate extra 6km “estimate 70 cents” of fuel). A driver will have
been shortchanged by minimum $4.70 on a one shift.
(20 cents X 20 trips + 70 cents)
Multiply that by 365 days he will collect less minimum $1,700 a year which
is rightfully his hard earned money. Divide that by $50 one shift rental is
equivalent to 34 free half rental days.
Assuming a day, (27,000 taxis) factoring in some taxis are driven on 2 shifts,
if 35,000 one shift are applied, Taxi drivers here are shortchanged of at least
$160,000 of taking a day. ($4.70 X 35,000 one shifts)
Multiply that by 365 days is more than $50 million of loss income for
Taxi drivers each year. ($160,000 X 365 days)
And the best insult to Taxi drivers is commuters do not know they are
enjoying discount on every trips.
Steps to calculate your meter:
Page 1: Clearer picture
http://i1211.photobucket.com/albums/cc4 ... le01jp.jpg
Page 2: Steps 1 & 2
http://i1211.photobucket.com/albums/cc4 ... le02jp.jpg
Page 3: Steps 3 & 4
http://i1211.photobucket.com/albums/cc4 ... le03jp.jpg
Page 4: Ref A
http://i1211.photobucket.com/albums/cc4 ... le04jp.jpg
I have driven numerous crowns and sonatas
crowns are abt 5.5% slow
sonatas are abt 1.5% slow
i always felt my meter are slow, very slow.
interesting to see TS screwing up SMRT for this , why huh ?
I dunno him , is he a SMRT cabby ?
He si bey dulan SMRT hahahahaha
But to be fair to SMRT ..... they are seriously have no say lor in taxi industry .
So many years , still so small .
Getting smaller .
So pls do not put all blames on them for following CDG .
jump ship la
yah yah throw throw throw haha~~~~
Originally posted by Poolman:But to be fair to SMRT ..... they are seriously have no say lor in taxi industry .
So many years , still so small .
Getting smaller .
So pls do not put all blames on them for following CDG .
Let's see what you will say when transcab follow CDG's fare structure ![]()
Or have you look into your crystal ball ?
Being the 2nd largest fleet and have not mentioned anything about any fare adjustment till now.
The longer their delay, the drivers are the one to suffer .
Just look at BCL , his fingers where got strength to press the meter before midnight now .
Ya and the CB CNG keep increasing. Fare hike not even enough to cover. In the end the Indon CNG boss huat.
Originally posted by Mercabs:Being the 2nd largest fleet and have not mentioned anything about any fare adjustment till now.
The longer their delay, the drivers are the one to suffer .
Just look at BCL , his fingers where got strength to press the meter before midnight now .
u are absolutely right bro. comparison for the past 2 nites .
Fullerton to AMK and Hougang 2 - my meter $16.40 with city surcharge.
With CDG is $19.75
Shenton way to marine cres - my meter $11.20
With CDG is $14.50
I drive until fed up sia. Imagine go to hougang, go back to town empty and collect lesser. wah damn sian.
BCL why u throw key? Quick go back blue camp!
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:u are absolutely right bro. comparison for the past 2 nites .
Fullerton to AMK and Hougang 2 - my meter $16.40 with city surcharge.
With CDG is $19.75
Shenton way to marine cres - my meter $11.20
With CDG is $14.50
I drive until fed up sia. Imagine go to hougang, go back to town empty and collect lesser. wah damn sian.
One fullerton to marymount rd n yishun Ave 7 $27.97......... trip start 2330 end 2359......
Shhh.... you trying to make him throw key right now ah?
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:BCL why u throw key? Quick go back blue camp!
still under contract with 3 mths remaining.
If i wanna drive i probably willl look for a 9pm or 10 pm cdg cab but chances are very very slim.
So have something to drive is better than nothing to drive.
Im sick and tired of driving peak hrs 5 to 8. It will be a long long time before i revert to such hours again
Originally posted by komade:One fullerton to marymount rd n yishun Ave 7 $27.97......... trip start 2330 end 2359......
really jiak beh liao.
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:still under contract with 3 mths remaining.
If i wanna drive i probably willl look for a 9pm or 10 pm cdg cab but chances are very very slim.
So have something to drive is better than nothing to drive.
Im sick and tired of driving peak hrs 5 to 8. It will be a long long time before i revert to such hours again
drive frm 8pm start lar tats the best some more after 8 also 25% liao..............
Originally posted by komade:drive frm 8pm start lar tats the best some more after 8 also 25% liao..............
see how first. must discuss with partner.
partner's decision very important haha
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:see how first. must discuss with partner.
partner's decision very important haha
okok take that white rabbit i told u lor...........
5-8pm peak hr I usually resting at home too. ERP too high, Traffic jam everywhere. Very frustrating to drive. Unless got durian, my engine is off.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:5-8pm peak hr I usually resting at home too. ERP too high, Traffic jam everywhere. Very frustrating to drive. Unless got durian, my engine is off.
bro u diff u eat durians everyday 1 ........ we eat bones 1 haha~~~~
Originally posted by Poolman:interesting to see TS screwing up SMRT for this , why huh ?
I dunno him , is he a SMRT cabby ?
He si bey dulan SMRT hahahahaha
Yes, could be, like yr case and many others, once a blue eye boy of the blue, end up farking the them out of the blue.
Originally posted by komade:bro u diff u eat durians everyday 1 ........ we eat bones 1 haha~~~~
bones is also expensive leh, I drink the soup only
Originally posted by komade:bro u diff u eat durians everyday 1 ........ we eat bones 1 haha~~~~
Your bone is this type right!!!!!

Originally posted by bowah:
bones is also expensive leh, I drink the soup only
ahhh kambing soup i like~~~~ upper boon keng blk 17 is the best~~~~