Originally posted by winsomeea:Singaporeans find the fare expensive due to the fact they are not paid well. If they are paid well perhaps they will take it that it is reasonable.
That's why million dollar salaried people will always say things like $500K Hdb flats are "affordable".
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:I think people like the TS is either stupid or really retarded or just trying to twist the data to deceive people. Personally, I will give him the benefit of the doubt to think he's not stupid or retarded, just trying to deceive people.
To just put a data out like that is not fair because for example, in those countries, you can buy a car for $20k. In Singapore, $20k can't even get you the CHEAPEST car. Why didn't TS point that out? Is he retard or stupid, this I don't know.
Also, he miss out alot of important data points, such as in New York, the Programmer salary annually is USD$93,000. In Singapore, that's totally reduced to SGD$30000. Please also note that 93k is in USD, not SGD mentioned for the $30k. For Christ sake, if we are making close to $100k, we won't complain about Singapore taxi fare lah, use your bloody brain!!!
What TS is trying to do is manipulate a set of data to suit his argument with huge bias, either through his stupidity or his retarded or he's just out to cheat people.
I also can do it easily... My friend's grandfather lives till 105 years old, he's a smoker. Steve Jobs died of cancer at age 50+ and he's a non-smoker. So from this data, we can say if you smoke, you can live to a long age. If you don't smoke, even if you are damn rich, you will die of cancer before 60. LOL!!!
Please stop manipulating data to cheat people. Thanks!
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:I think people like the TS is either stupid or really retarded or just trying to twist the data to deceive people. Personally, I will give him the benefit of the doubt to think he's not stupid or retarded, just trying to deceive people.
To just put a data out like that is not fair because for example, in those countries, you can buy a car for $20k. In Singapore, $20k can't even get you the CHEAPEST car. Why didn't TS point that out? Is he retard or stupid, this I don't know.
Also, he miss out alot of important data points, such as in New York, the Programmer salary annually is USD$93,000. In Singapore, that's totally reduced to SGD$30000. Please also note that 93k is in USD, not SGD mentioned for the $30k. For Christ sake, if we are making close to $100k, we won't complain about Singapore taxi fare lah, use your bloody brain!!!
What TS is trying to do is manipulate a set of data to suit his argument with huge bias, either through his stupidity or his retarded or he's just out to cheat people.
I also can do it easily... My friend's grandfather lives till 105 years old, he's a smoker. Steve Jobs died of cancer at age 50+ and he's a non-smoker. So from this data, we can say if you smoke, you can live to a long age. If you don't smoke, even if you are damn rich, you will die of cancer before 60. LOL!!!
Please stop manipulating data to cheat people. Thanks!
Hmm.. Read my post carefully i never say Singapore cab fare cheap or expensive. In Singapore people want higher standard of service and living, but they expect low price, hence the comparison to india against the more develop countries like NY, Paris, etc...
If you wat to compare car price to other country take into the account the size of the country. If car price dirt cheap in singapore i cant imagine the how the jam would be. Peak hour for me to drive from Ubi to Jurong sometimes takes me 1hr. Come out of my office carpark jam liao.
One reason why the pay there higher also depends on the skills they have. A good Programmer in Singapore also can get higher pay, not as high as in US though. Singapore Degree holder in IT line for example all cannot make it! I've been in IT line for past 11yrs. When i compare with the knowledge and skills of the guys i've deal with from US and UK, Singapore degree holder with same number of yrs experience cant even come close.
If want to compare, Singapore with US & Europe, yes their pay higher. They don't have CPF, but their GST/VAT higher, UK VAT 15%. Income tax higher, US$40k gross income, income tax US$4k+, food more ex... Take taxi also must pay tip, like in NY taxi tip is 10-20%, eat or drink in cafe also must pay tip. Not like in Singapore tip optional, give tip also give loose change, down there they expect you pay tip!
Yes living in Singapore is expensive! I also don't like how the men in white run the country. But consumers demands high standard, high standard of living = higher cost.
People complain here jam there jam, no parking. COE go up, ERP go up. Anything go up everything else will go up. Passengers complain taxi service sucks, taxi company get fine, end up passenger pay the price. COE go up, taxi rental go up.
There are good and bad living in other countries, i choose to stay in Singapore when most of my relatives are in Canada, Australia, Sweden, Dubai and Kuala Lumpur.
I don't go around complaining like some, complaining and doing nothing about it kindda pointless.
Why i want to drive Taxi? Why not.. Because my last ICT, one camp mate outside pay $3k, drive taxi part time also. Taxi driver pay use for retirement savings. Another OMO, then got another guy work for some petrochemical company, driving BMW 6 Coupe also want to take TDVL
Originally posted by cyben764:
Hmm.. Read my post carefully i never say Singapore cab fare cheap or expensive. In Singapore people want higher standard of service and living, but they expect low price, hence the comparison to india against the more develop countries like NY, Paris, etc...
If you wat to compare car price to other country take into the account the size of the country. If car price dirt cheap in singapore i cant imagine the how the jam would be. Peak hour for me to drive from Ubi to Jurong sometimes takes me 1hr. Come out of my office carpark jam liao.
One reason why the pay there higher also depends on the skills they have. A good Programmer in Singapore also can get higher pay, not as high as in US though. Singapore Degree holder in IT line for example all cannot make it! I've been in IT line for past 11yrs. When i compare with the knowledge and skills of the guys i've deal with from US and UK, Singapore degree holder with same number of yrs experience cant even come close.
If want to compare, Singapore with US & Europe, yes their pay higher. They don't have CPF, but their GST/VAT higher, UK VAT 15%. Income tax higher, US$40k gross income, income tax US$4k+, food more ex... Take taxi also must pay tip, like in NY taxi tip is 10-20%, eat or drink in cafe also must pay tip. Not like in Singapore tip optional, give tip also give loose change, down there they expect you pay tip!
Yes living in Singapore is expensive! I also don't like how the men in white run the country. But consumers demands high standard, high standard of living = higher cost.
People complain here jam there jam, no parking. COE go up, ERP go up. Anything go up everything else will go up. Passengers complain taxi service sucks, taxi company get fine, end up passenger pay the price. COE go up, taxi rental go up.
There are good and bad living in other countries, i choose to stay in Singapore when most of my relatives are in Canada, Australia, Sweden, Dubai and Kuala Lumpur.
I don't go around complaining like some, complaining and doing nothing about it kindda pointless.
Why i want to drive Taxi? Why not.. Because my last ICT, one camp mate outside pay $3k, drive taxi part time also. Taxi driver pay use for retirement savings. Another OMO, then got another guy work for some petrochemical company, driving BMW 6 Coupe also want to take TDVL
I don't think what you said are valid, your post reflected you are very lack of understanding of the problems of the ordinary folks. U sound too condescending to be a fair person to comment.
Actually the TS has presented a very subjective view. I think yes, most singaporeans would agree that sg is first world and hence the comparisons to first world. However, it is unfair to compare with countries like the US, France or Australia.
As mentioned by a forummer earlier, different countries have different earning power. If you would like to look in detail, refer no further than the PPP (Purchasing Power Parity). In short, it's a ranking of the spending power of citizens in that country relative to the rest of the world. Not sure about the exact details but last I saw was that Sg is very far behind those countries aforementioned. And all this with whatever VAT and pension tax factored in. So I hope this clarifies.
Let's not play the TD-passenger blame game here. The ones who are really laughing all the way to the bank are the high level decision making executives from the taxi operators.
And lastly, if you think a taxi is too expensive...then just take public transport. I never take one unless it's life and death or I'm dead tired. Well, that's also because there's a family car.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Actually the TS has presented a very subjective view. I think yes, most singaporeans would agree that sg is first world and hence the comparisons to first world. However, it is unfair to compare with countries like the US, France or Australia.
As mentioned by a forummer earlier, different countries have different earning power. If you would like to look in detail, refer no further than the PPP (Purchasing Power Parity). In short, it's a ranking of the spending power of citizens in that country relative to the rest of the world. Not sure about the exact details but last I saw was that Sg is very far behind those countries aforementioned. And all this with whatever VAT and pension tax factored in. So I hope this clarifies.
Let's not play the TD-passenger blame game here. The ones who are really laughing all the way to the bank are the high level decision making executives from the taxi operators.
And lastly, if you think a taxi is too expensive...then just take public transport. I never take one unless it's life and death or I'm dead tired. Well, that's also because there's a family car.
Ironically, CCL broke down this morning.
Singaporean always have the misconception that US people earn a lot more.
Not really that much more actually, a high school drop out (equivalent to sec or O levels) average pay US$18k per annum.
High School grad (Dip), average US$29k. High average due to truck drivers and other high pay low level jobs.
College grad, (Degree) average US$36k but can go as high as US$110k, It all depends.
Like in SIngapore also, my ex colleague, dip holder only 2yrs work experience after NS. Lucky him joined a good company, dip holder 2yrs after NS now pay SG$3.5k. I'm working for a US MNC and SG$3.5k is Engineer pay, degree holder with at least 5yrs experience
Originally posted by cyben764:Singaporean always have the misconception that US people earn a lot more.
Not really that much more actually, a high school drop out (equivalent to sec or O levels) average pay US$18k per annum.
High School grad (Dip), average US$29k. High average due to truck drivers and other high pay low level jobs.
College grad, (Degree) average US$36k but can go as high as US$110k, It all depends.
Like in SIngapore also, my ex colleague, dip holder only 2yrs work experience after NS. Lucky him joined a good company, dip holder 2yrs after NS now pay SG$3.5k. I'm working for a US MNC and SG$3.5k is Engineer pay, degree holder with at least 5yrs experience
I thought grad engineers all making $5K at least after 5 years.
you pay peanuts u get peanuts . If you pay me more I will treat you like a king. No need to tell me to go to point A to point B.
from a neutral pt of view , if wanna make taxi fares so expensive , then give the people a choice to also own a car at reasonable prices.
Now everyone is in a LL situation , take cab ex , buy car now minimum 100k for a korean make, take mrt gotta smell one another's BO. This is quality of living meh?
Frankly if im not a TD , i will kan kao bo lat at the current cab fares.
btw cyberben tell your friend with the BMW 6 coupe mai take TDVL la . TD's collection can only pay for only 1 of his 20 inch rims haha.
See? Poolman thanks to your howitzer 188 mm artillery , now BMW 6 coupe owner also wanna drive taxi liao hahaha. Whats next? maserati owners wu bo??
suddenly something amusing came into my mind. Maid flag BMW 6 taxi , hop on board , turn left , turn right , go straight stop!.
BMW 6 TD LL have to follow , beh sian ah? haha.
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:suddenly something amusing came into my mind. Maid flag BMW 6 taxi , hop on board , turn left , turn right , go straight stop!.
BMW 6 TD LL have to follow , beh sian ah? haha.
ai ni kuan kong ho tia meh member??
Originally posted by benqepson:you pay peanuts u get peanuts . If you pay me more I will treat you like a king. No need to tell me to go to point A to point B.
normal pax to AP, u open door urself i help u load/unload luggage u carry urself to trolley
limo pax to AP, i open/close door for u help to load/unload luggage to trolley
limo pax to AP with $200 tips, open/close door for u put luggage for u onto trolley
then carry u to the check in counter...........
Originally posted by cyben764:
First of all, sorry for my harsh remarks (sometimes i am abit rash in my words which is my weakness), maybe your intention wasn't what i thought them to be...
but my point is exactly what you said... you cannot just use 1 set of data points to say whether the cab fare is lower/higher... there are many data points to consider before you can come to the conclusion. if your intention wasn't for anyone to come to a conclusion, then your thread is not helpful. if your intention was to help people come to conclusion about the cost of taxi here, then it's misleading also.
Originally posted by komade:normal pax to AP, u open door urself i help u load/unload luggage u carry urself to trolley
limo pax to AP, i open/close door for u help to load/unload luggage to trolley
limo pax to AP with $200 tips, open/close door for u put luggage for u onto trolley
then carry u to the check in counter...........
money makes the world go round
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:from a neutral pt of view , if wanna make taxi fares so expensive , then give the people a choice to also own a car at reasonable prices.
Now everyone is in a LL situation , take cab ex , buy car now minimum 100k for a korean make, take mrt gotta smell one another's BO. This is quality of living meh?
Frankly if im not a TD , i will kan kao bo lat at the current cab fares.
btw cyberben tell your friend with the BMW 6 coupe mai take TDVL la . TD's collection can only pay for only 1 of his 20 inch rims haha.
See? Poolman thanks to your howitzer 188 mm artillery , now BMW 6 coupe owner also wanna drive taxi liao hahaha. Whats next? maserati owners wu bo??
, complain is natural in singapore, it had somehow become a culture, and people or even govt will take it as the boy who cry wolf kind of view. It is a never ending series, this complain, that complain, but in a way, it is also good, if not kopitiam got nothing to talk, . Now all talking about the TD fare rise, never see complain on poor services, complain about fark up driver or cheapo pax, unreasonable pax, ...soon it will be back to all these again,...once the fares rise fever is over,
Originally posted by charlize:That's why million dollar salaried people will always say things like $500K Hdb flats are "affordable".
Well, in the early 2000, $600k was already consider as peanut, so what is $500k today, red bean
Very soon there will be a credit squeeze.
...and some force selling
Originally posted by cyben764:Singaporean always have the misconception that US people earn a lot more.
Ya lah those who come here sure loaded one mah. If no $$$ how to come to Asian 6th most expensive city for holiday. US so many people only a handful can come here. There are alot worst off then most of us here leh.
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:
First of all, sorry for my harsh remarks (sometimes i am abit rash in my words which is my weakness), maybe your intention wasn't what i thought them to be...
but my point is exactly what you said... you cannot just use 1 set of data points to say whether the cab fare is lower/higher... there are many data points to consider before you can come to the conclusion. if your intention wasn't for anyone to come to a conclusion, then your thread is not helpful. if your intention was to help people come to conclusion about the cost of taxi here, then it's misleading also.
No need sorry lah. I know you dun mean it one. I sometimes also KNN here CCB there. Lol
But yes you have a point. It's like comparing apple orange. Cannot compare finish one....
But in general those whom come here from those western country thinks that our taxi fare cheap. Same like when I go Vietnam I also says their taxi fare dirt cheap. A 15 min trip around US$1 like that. I change alot of US$1 so normally give them UD$2 they happy like a bird. I ask around an average Vietnamese working in the hotel line earns US$100-200 depending on the appointment. So to take taxi for then is consider expensive. I go Bkk also like that. Got once take a taxi only short distance like from Novena to City Hall took 1.5 hours because of evening peak hour jam. I sleep already wake up have reach. End up the fare around 160 baht so I give the driver 200 baht around SGD$9 like that. KNN if singapore peak hours stuck in jam 1.5 hours prepare to pay around $50 leh....
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:
I think you should confirm:
Comfort Transportation Pte Ltd
CityCab Pte Ltd
383 Sin Ming Drive
Singapore
Here they given nice facilities for Taxi .
========================
Taxi at all countries are expensive to their local. As a low level laborer, will always see it as a luxury, too expensive for them to enjoy. Be sorry for yourself that you ended to be in this low level laborer.
For those mid level laborer, usually had commited to much in raising their status, no much cash left for disposal hence unable to cope with Taxi pricing but still wish to sustain their quailty of life. These made up the population in Singapore Complianant, and common name for them is "cheapo".
Taxi is an exclusive services, how cheap can it be?
Originally posted by OptimalTrans:Taxi at all countries are expensive to their local. As a low level laborer, will always see it as a luxury, too expensive for them to enjoy. Be sorry for yourself that you ended to be in this low level laborer.
For those mid level laborer, usually had commited to much in raising their status, no much cash left for disposal hence unable to cope with Taxi pricing but still wish to sustain their quailty of life. These made up the population in Singapore Complianant, and common name for them is "cheapo".
Taxi is an exclusive services, how cheap can it be?
very true bro~~~
Originally posted by bowah:
money makes the world go round
money money money~~~ money money~~~ its a rich man's world~~~~~