http://ihatesillypore.blogspot.com/2009/02/reason-0029-rich-taxi-drivers.html#links
Copied and pasted from the above blog...
Rich taxi drivers? In Singapore? Yes, I think some taxi drivers in Singapore are really rich. How else can you explain the fact that many of them can afford to pick and choose their customers?
Think about it, how many times have you stood waiting beside the road for a taxi, and then watched in rage and frustration as unhired, empty cabs whizzed by? How about trying to get a cab between 11pm and 12am, just before the midnight surcharge kicks in?
If empty taxis ignoring passengers happened at only a particular time, such as meal times, or in the late afternoons or evenings, it would still have been understandable as the taxi drivers may be going for their meals or to for shift changes. However, this phenomenon can be seen everyday and at all times of the day.
It is no secret that rather than pick up a regular fare on the street, these taxi drivers prefer to cruise around and get a telephone booking or hopefully, pick up a passenger from the central business district to earn a extra few dollars.
Some might say these drivers are trying to maximise their earnings or that since they are self-employed, they are free to do as they wish. I agree, but I also say these taxi drivers must not forget they are providing an essential mode of public transport and as such, they are not the same as other self-employed people and cannot do as they please.
The bottomline is, these taxi drivers are not hungry enough. They are the people who whine the loudest when taxi rentals or when diesel prices increase and they always exclaim how difficult it is to make a living as a taxi driver. At the same time, they can afford to ignore a ready customer who is beckoning to them in search of more profitable ones who may or may not appear. Compare them to taxi drivers in Hong Kong or Bangkok where passengers have no problem getting a taxi at any time, even late at night, with no additional surcharges to boot.
These taxi drivers should really 'wake up their idea'.
ya ya ya ...... ya ya ya ..... ya ya ya .....
Lost of words . . .
Taxi can survive my 3 meals , still money not enuf to buy one of the flat at Ocean Drive .
Very true, we taxi driver not hungry enough very choosy, selfish etc.
But dont forget we also got take taxi. We also got experience all 'these problem', but I dont wait until 11.30pm to take taxi back to CCK or Woodlands, outside the CBD, send 3 or 4 my friend home and then pay by card.
At least i got the courtesy to go home earlier or after midnight, I am not stupid to be waiting at the end of a 1 way street just meters fromt he CBD zone so to save money. If I want to save money then I take a train or bus home.
I am not an idiot to wait 30 mins or more for a cab and then grumble, write to press, blog or stomp. I wait 15-20 min, no cab, take a bus somewhere further get down and take a cab where it's easier.
Very easy to criticise until you go drive yourself or ask your family member who drive. See if it's fun to always get passenger who book a cab, somemore outside CBD then hop on the 1st 1 they see and not cancel, make you wait like a fool. See if it's fun to get 3 or 4 pax who wait until 11.25pm to catch a cab and then say uncle we go hougang, sengkang 2 place and finally punggol, then reach at 11.50pm, they say can pay by Nets!
Yes, 1 time 2 time, 3, 4, 5, 6 time you do this it's ok but becomes an everyday event, and you drive back all the way empty to town and reach at 12.30 am on a weekday, town got no more pax, you drive and drive maybe lucky get 1 midnight pax. Everyday, you do, see fun or not, see easy or not.
You see very easy or not when you need to roll your daily expenses, pay for your kids, wife and yourself, pay diesel and rent, all by cash but end of the shift, you only end up with $10 or $20 in hand, the rest you wait for 3 day to collect.
On top of that pax eat in your cab, leave droppings for you to clean or for cockroaches to come, pax drunk go and vomit, argue the slightest when they never say which way to go, cough in your cab burp in your cab or fart in your cab, all these we must tolerate.
You want to take a cab, use some common sense. Dont wait at the end of a 1 way street or simply 1 way streets are the worse place to hail a cab in evenings. You just outside the CBD, call a cab, state your destination, surely got some driver who wants to go there, dont make it like a lottery never state your location, taxi driver will also play lottery and not take the risk. You go shopping got a lot of stuff, call for advance booking and wait for your cab, not hop on the 1st available one.
If raining, just too bad, we also drive in the rain and get stuck in jams, we complain to who? You got money in the bank, atms are everywhere now, you too lazy to go and withdraw, why must we suffer? Tell the companies to give better compensation for card payment, surely got more drivers willing to take.
You say HK and Bangkok taxi very good, yes but do they pay by nets, credit card for journeys less than $10? You go there, you get inside in the cab you shut up and let the driver send you, here you act like king and treat the drivers like low class servants, you expect drivers to reciprocate with a smile on their face?
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Very true, we taxi driver not hungry enough very choosy, selfish etc.
But dont forget we also got take taxi. We also got experience all 'these problem', but I dont wait until 11.30pm to take taxi back to CCK or Woodlands, outside the CBD, send 3 or 4 my friend home and then pay by card.
At least i got the courtesy to go home earlier or after midnight, I am not stupid to be waiting at the end of a 1 way street just meters fromt he CBD zone so to save money. If I want to save money then I take a train or bus home.
I am not an idiot to wait 30 mins or more for a cab and then grumble, write to press, blog or stomp. I wait 15-20 min, no cab, take a bus somewhere further get down and take a cab where it's easier.
Very easy to criticise until you go drive yourself or ask your family member who drive. See if it's fun to always get passenger who book a cab, somemore outside CBD then hop on the 1st 1 they see and not cancel, make you wait like a fool. See if it's fun to get 3 or 4 pax who wait until 11.25pm to catch a cab and then say uncle we go hougang, sengkang 2 place and finally punggol, then reach at 11.50pm, they say can pay by Nets!
Yes, 1 time 2 time, 3, 4, 5, 6 time you do this it's ok but becomes an everyday event, and you drive back all the way empty to town and reach at 12.30 am on a weekday, town got no more pax, you drive and drive maybe lucky get 1 midnight pax. Everyday, you do, see fun or not, see easy or not.
You see very easy or not when you need to roll your daily expenses, pay for your kids, wife and yourself, pay diesel and rent, all by cash but end of the shift, you only end up with $10 or $20 in hand, the rest you wait for 3 day to collect.
On top of that pax eat in your cab, leave droppings for you to clean or for cockroaches to come, pax drunk go and vomit, argue the slightest when they never say which way to go, cough in your cab burp in your cab or fart in your cab, all these we must tolerate.
You want to take a cab, use some common sense. Dont wait at the end of a 1 way street or simply 1 way streets are the worse place to hail a cab in evenings. You just outside the CBD, call a cab, state your destination, surely got some driver who wants to go there, dont make it like a lottery never state your location, taxi driver will also play lottery and not take the risk. You go shopping got a lot of stuff, call for advance booking and wait for your cab, not hop on the 1st available one.
If raining, just too bad, we also drive in the rain and get stuck in jams, we complain to who? You got money in the bank, atms are everywhere now, you too lazy to go and withdraw, why must we suffer? Tell the companies to give better compensation for card payment, surely got more drivers willing to take.
You say HK and Bangkok taxi very good, yes but do they pay by nets, credit card for journeys less than $10? You go there, you get inside in the cab you shut up and let the driver send you, here you act like king and treat the drivers like low class servants, you expect drivers to reciprocate with a smile on their face?
well said bro~~~ bravo~~~~ ![]()
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Very true, we taxi driver not hungry enough very choosy, selfish etc.
Power post bro! sibeh solid. Find that stupid blog and post this to the fucking writer there.
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:Power post bro! sibeh solid. Find that stupid blog and post this to the fucking writer there.
see see pirate TD come in n F ppl liao haha~~~~
Good post and keep it up!.I will up you 100 points if this SG forum run like the sammyboyforum system![]()
Originally posted by quickpick:Good post and keep it up!.I will up you 100 points if this SG forum run like the sammyboyforum system
haha knn bro u damm jialat compare us to sammyboy..........
TAXI TYCOONS....
Uncle Poolman
"Secret of Taxi Millionaire"
You should write a book about the stories that you have experienced everyday.
Lots of steam-venting here. I need to let off some too!
1. It's not courteous to hop on another cab after booking one without cancelling the booking. Neither it is for them to dirty the cab without cleaning up after themselves. That, I agree.
2. The midnight surcharge should set in mid-trip once it's 0000 hours even if the passenger boards before midnight. If this is not the case, cab drivers should be suggesting this to the management and not blame the passengers for not "choosing the right time to go home" (which sounds ridiculous, by the way).
3. I don't see why shouldn't a group of passengers share a cab. More so if cabs are not readily available for service. I'm not here to tell you to be more green, but really, getting them to split up and take separate cabs is just wasting more fuel to achieve the same objective.
4. There are various reasons why someone would happen not to have sufficient cash with them. If a cab driver is unhappy with NETS payments whether it's because of the processing fees, or the processing time before he sees the money in his account, he can either:
a. Inform the passenger upfront that he only accepts cash payment (doing so may or may not violate the transport company's regulations)
b. After (a), suggest to the passengers that he'll drive them to the nearest ATM for cash withdrawal
c. Bring this up to the management to see if they can make arrangements to reduce the processing fee/time.
If a cab driver can't even take the initiative to take this issue up to the management level, I don't see what position he has to even complain about a passenger's right (not privilege) to pay via whichever payment method allowed by the transport company his cab belongs to.
5. If passengers are trying to hail a cab on the street in the rain, and all you can comment is "too bad", then you shouldn't be in the service sector. Do you prefer getting stuck in the jam in a vehicle or to be out in the rain for half an hour?
6. It's a vicious cycle. If cab drivers in general continue to provide bad service, then don't be surprised when consumers respond poorly towards them, and worst still, push all the blame onto consumers as if none of it has to do with how they conduct themselves.
Originally posted by AIex:Lots of steam-venting here. I need to let off some too!
1. It's not courteous to hop on another cab after booking one without cancelling the booking. Neither it is for them to dirty the cab without cleaning up after themselves. That, I agree.
2. The midnight surcharge should set in mid-trip once it's 0000 hours even if the passenger boards before midnight. If this is not the case, cab drivers should be suggesting this to the management and not blame the passengers for not "choosing the right time to go home" (which sounds ridiculous, by the way).
3. I don't see why shouldn't a group of passengers share a cab. More so if cabs are not readily available for service. I'm not here to tell you to be more green, but really, getting them to split up and take separate cabs is just wasting more fuel to achieve the same objective.
4. There are various reasons why someone would happen not to have sufficient cash with them. If a cab driver is unhappy with NETS payments whether it's because of the processing fees, or the processing time before he sees the money in his account, he can either:
a. Inform the passenger upfront that he only accepts cash payment (doing so may or may not violate the transport company's regulations)
b. After (a), suggest to the passengers that he'll drive them to the nearest ATM for cash withdrawal
c. Bring this up to the management to see if they can make arrangements to reduce the processing fee/time.If a cab driver can't even take the initiative to take this issue up to the management level, I don't see what position he has to even complain about a passenger's right (not privilege) to pay via whichever payment method allowed by the transport company his cab belongs to.
5. If passengers are trying to hail a cab on the street in the rain, and all you can comment is "too bad", then you shouldn't be in the service sector. Do you prefer getting stuck in the jam in a vehicle or to be out in the rain for half an hour?
6. It's a vicious cycle. If cab drivers in general continue to provide bad service, then don't be surprised when consumers respond poorly towards them, and worst still, push all the blame onto consumers as if none of it has to do with how they conduct themselves.
for point no 3 if the old fare really jialat for the driver cause he really
take alot of time n earn very little. now with the new fare its justifiable
liao ~~~~~
nah i dun have much monies. only million hairs I have. Its all over me. Dun think I have 1 milllion dollars in the bank. All pay to the hdb flat and the living expenses through out 30 years of driving. And that if my body can take the agony and pain cooped up in that small space in that taxi for 12 damn long hours. Any takers ?
if I am lucky and struck TOTO , i say good bye to taxi business. ADIOS.
Originally posted by AIex:Lots of steam-venting here. I need to let off some too!
c. Bring this up to the management to see if they can make arrangements to reduce the processing fee/time.If a cab driver can't even take the initiative to take this issue up to the management level, I don't see what position he has to even complain about a passenger's right (not privilege) to pay via whichever payment method allowed by the transport company his cab belongs to.
agreed.... while we have bad customers here, that does not mean we do not have bad taxi drivers too!
Originally posted by [imdestinyz]:agreed.... while we have bad customers here, that does not mean we do not have bad taxi drivers too!
its a jungle out there. Be thankful that you are now in Singapore and are protected. Try that attitude of yours outside Singapore, GOD knows what will happen to you.
TDs live their life very simple. Pay their rental promptly and thats about it. We are not involve in the decision making of certain policies. Try to be a TD for just a day and you can understand the sentiments of a TDs. Its not easy but somebody has got to do it. We just follow rule no 8. Do anything to survive but we try not to get caught. For as long the reason is valid, we TDs are safe .
Originally posted by benqepson:its a jungle out there. Be thankful that you are now in Singapore and are protected. Try that attitude of yours outside Singapore, GOD knows what will happen to you.
ya i seriously shld be thankful for my good attitude even towards lousy drivers i guess. Understand that we do have bad customers ard in sg... been in service industry and seen it try it. BUT that does not mean that we as customers have not come across lousy service provider. What alex said was fair and just imo that things are both sides. Dun blantently push everything off to the customer. I tink you should also be thankful that even though u get lousy customers u dun get dangerous customers right?
Originally posted by benqepson:if I am lucky and struck TOTO , i say good bye to taxi business. ADIOS.
If unlucky, cannot struck, which is mostly the case, then hv to drive more leh
But
Originally posted by benqepson:TDs live their life very simple. Pay their rental promptly and thats about it. We are not involve in the decision making of certain policies. Try to be a TD for just a day and you can understand the sentiments of a TDs. Its not easy but somebody has got to do it. We just follow rule no 8. Do anything to survive but we try not to get caught. For as long the reason is valid, we TDs are safe .
yah agreed do anytin to survive so its the nature for us to take
care of our own pockets 1st above anytin else.............
Originally posted by benqepson:nah i dun have much monies. only million hairs I have. Its all over me. Dun think I have 1 milllion dollars in the bank. All pay to the hdb flat and the living expenses through out 30 years of driving. And that if my body can take the agony and pain cooped up in that small space in that taxi for 12 damn long hours. Any takers ?
if kenna i migrate to motherland n throw my ic back to PHUi!!gapore liao....... ![]()
Its very hard for outsiders to understand a taxi driver job.
For extra drop off point,there was a surcharge back in the past.I think this Comfort should have re-implement this extra drop off point surcharge in conjunction with this recent fare hike.
If we are talking about going green or saving fuel for sharing a taxi;why not take a bus?Save money and as save fuel too though it will take more time.Not wonder,sometime 5 people also want to take only one taxi,this people must be enviromentalist. ![]()
Alex say we should bring to company attention> Yes, very correct, But you know how many times and issues are raised by drivers tot he companies and how many times they are implemented?
You think when fare are increased, rental diesel prices are raised, we are consulted?
Changes to cashless payment made, are we consulted or considered?
LTA make rules, are we considered? Our feedback taken and certain rules changed? Rules, even silly ones have ramained for over 30-40 years, no change, thank you for your feedback.
Let me give you just 1 example: Do you know if a driver hires a taxi on his own he is NOT allowed to put changing shift when he wnats to go home?
Eg: Hirer stays in AMK. He is now in Jurong or Changi and wants to end for the day. He cannot put change shift on no matter what. He cannot ask any pax who wants to go near his home location! Either he drive with for hire or busy but do not stop and ask, why? Because he got no relief means he got no change shift!
That is just 1 rule. You think CBD rule who draw up? Were TD consulted, was the public feedback fully considered also?
But doesnt mean I am unreasonable. Doesnt mean all pax outside CBD I ignore altogether. Sometimes I see women and children struggling or waiting under shelter in the rain, I also got stop. I see old folks or handicap doesnt mean I avoid.
I will help those with lots of bags etc and the old or handicap, but if you got 2 or 3 pax, surely you can manage without my help?
I may now second gues pax, I no longer stop and ask, but that doesnt mean i am dishonest. I dont overcharge or take long route and act blur. If I make a mistake no need to say, I will deduct more than whats required on the fare. Before vehicle stop, I already stop the meter, I only on when you get in.
So many time pax got give me extra. 2 days ago 1 AngMo gave me 1 ten dllar bill and 1 100 bill for a twenty something fare, he mistook the 100 for another 10. I immediately returned the 100 and told him his mistake. Pax many time overpay by mistake, I will always give back. Just outside CBD, I wont press city charge only inside. Pax leave wallet, hp etc, also I return, never ask for money or reward. No need for press article or award, I dont need to rewarded for doing the right thing.