Originally posted by komade:well said bro~~~ bravo~~~~
Luckily... me not a TD... (but ex-TD lah).
If TS said Pte-Limo Drivers are rich... then I have to admit I am. ![]()
Though I am not staying in a landed property or condo... but my Bishan HDB is fully paid for... my Mercedes-Benz is fully paid for.... sometimes, i really want to stay at home... watch tv.... ![]()
(but bo pian, got job commitments... haiz...).
TDs are self-employed.... You can't tell Self-employed what to do... can you ?
Or
Take the MRT lor...

(oops... the train also got their problems... they also hiked their fares... but their services are not very efficient too.... go complaint about it....
)... Singaporeans love to complaint anyway
).
please lah, what public transport...... cannot use bus lane cannot this cannot that
go do more research lah....... now authority still say taxi is public transport.............. already not like that, it is individual business,
you try go and take so call public transport and don't pay, then see what you get, is it the same if you take taxi and don't pay......... ask them let taxi use bus lane lor . do you know non public transport buses can use bus lane and the so call public transport(taxi) cannot use bus lane.... go and find out and tell me
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:(oops... the train also got their problems... they also hiked their fares... but their services are not very efficient too.... go complaint about it....
).
Nowadays not only Singaporeans complaint, last night news, there interview FT. FT also complaint.
If anyone ask me "Uncle Poolman are you rich ?"
Yes , i am almost half of a millionaire .
Ya leh , my house assets is worth $450000 leh ... can consider rich ?
My JB Kampong house leh ?
Bank no money , that's the difference .
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Luckily... me not a TD... (but ex-TD lah).
If TS said Pte-Limo Drivers are rich... then I have to admit I am.
Though I am not staying in a landed property or condo... but my Bishan HDB is fully paid for... my Mercedes-Benz is fully paid for.... sometimes, i really want to stay at home... watch tv....
(but bo pian, got job commitments... haiz...).
TDs are self-employed.... You can't tell Self-employed what to do... can you ?
Or
Take the MRT lor...
(oops... the train also got their problems... they also hiked their fares... but their services are not very efficient too.... go complaint about it....
).
wah jiak buey liao member~~~~ ![]()
Originally posted by Angwk7118:you try go and take so call public transport and don't pay, then see what you get, is it the same if you take taxi and don't pay......... ask them let taxi use bus lane lor . do you know non public transport buses can use bus lane and the so call public transport(taxi) cannot use bus lane.... go and find out and tell me
wat to do rite bro?? stoopid rule set by stoopid ppl.........
The reason why taxi fare hikes coming is because new fleet of cars coming out soon...

The key is motivation. I ferried a passenger from TTSH to Joo Chiat today for $7.20. Minus diesel and rental I should make about $4 for that 20 min journey. The author claims we not hungry enough... I personally feel I am too hungry to carry on driving to scavenge for scraps. Even though protest in Singapore is illegal, I believe we are falling into a natural reaction to low wages.... If I continue to take scraps the whole day.... the earnings can't get me anywhere. Look at how the hardworking TDs are, putting in so much effort just for another $3.... It IS a clear sign that we are too hungry and chewing on grass cannot keep us alive anymore. We rather expand a little more energy to get some carrot.
My sentiment is if our wages do not continue to improve, it will get worse as the older generation of cab drivers (whom already have homes bought cheap during their time and children grown up) fade away. Nathan recently commented how the educated people questions his leadership and how he appreciates the old and ignorant people that blindly trust the government. Too bad. Many of us Singaporeans are no longer ignorant like before and overwork for peanuts. The Singapore government can rage it's final act against it's low waged citizens and fully destroy our livelyhood and get China people to drive their cabs. Or things have to change for the better for us. Based on how things have turned out in Singapore recent years, we might eventually be collateral damage for the sake of economic growth! Look at who are driving our local buses!! Reports have been out. Singapore Cab drivers are the most short changed in developed countries! Is that not enough to convince the not-so-smart Singaporeans!?!?
Is there some TD from ex HR profesion to tabulate the benefits and compensation schemes based on time spent, effort and risks to convince people that TDs are paid peanuts!? Keep feeding peanuts and I am the monkey! You have to kill this monkey first, them import a rat and tell people the rat is more hungry than the monkey and this rat is here to help everyone pluck coconuts!
rich? i would rather say Poor.
Too poor and got to travel longer for the extra $3
Too poor and can't afford to allow pax to bring us to no man land.
Too poor and got to save on fuel for travelling back to city empty.
Too poor, your business might not making me any richer but instead become poorer.
These is my poor story, you care?
People tend to care more about the "Rich" story.
No matter how much I earn as a cabby, I do not feel rich.
1. Being rich means being able to go for 2 week December holiday with whole family to places like USA or Japan, and checking into first or business class.
The last I remembered, I was sending HDB folks for their December holidays. I felt damn fucking poor.
2. Being rich means I am able to get the concierge of my UOB Privilege Reserve membership to book an airport departure in a maxicab or private viano, and pay $45-$65 per trip without a wink. Nevermind my pickup location is Jalan Minyak or some rental house in Circuit Road because my rich parents live in Ridley Park, Tanglin Hill, etc.
The last I remembered, I was busily collecting this fare. But ask me pay hor, I will be sweating.
So how to feel rich? Rich means being able to pay top dollars for first class service. The bugger who is doing the collection of that "BIG MONEY" is just a poor man.
What MAN, $65 per airport departure was BIG MONEY? That made me felt like a bankrupt!!!
Fetching rich people makes me feel so poor. Very very poor.
Thinking back....
As long as you are contented with your current lifestyle... you can consider yourself "RICH" in your own way. Debts free is also very important.
I being thru the dayz of being RICH in bank a/cs to the Pooriest dayz of my life....![]()
. Right now... I don't owed any credit cards bills... no mortgages to pay... also not much of social life to enjoy... (maybe getting old...
).
Don't have to travel by 1st Class, don't have to eat at high end restaurants or drive lambo to prove that you are rich....
My brother is a REAL RICH example... he travels by economic class all the time... ![]()
. bank a/cs with 7 zeros and/or more...
drives a nissan, eat at kopitiams... No mortgage loans to pay... that is consider RICH in many ways. ![]()
Originally posted by Poolman:If anyone ask me "Uncle Poolman are you rich ?"
Yes , i am almost half of a millionaire .
Ya leh , my house assets is worth $450000 leh ... can consider rich ?
My JB Kampong house leh ?
Bank no money , that's the difference .
In life....
have to be contented with what we have....
you go compare this... compare that... NEVER ending story....
as long as one enjoys his current life.... it is consider rich in many ways....
Originally posted by komade:wah jiak buey liao member~~~~
That's why I am semi-retired....
work so hard for what ? ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:In life....
have to be contented with what we have....
you go compare this... compare that... NEVER ending story....
as long as one enjoys his current life.... it is consider rich in many ways....
wah these words really got meaning... and i totally agree... singaporeans alot stressed until want to commit suicide, for what, or go into mental illness, for what... because they always compare themselves to others... they always find themselves not sufficient enough... it's important to be contented...
Originally posted by Serpent33:The key is motivation. I ferried a passenger from TTSH to Joo Chiat today for $7.20. Minus diesel and rental I should make about $4 for that 20 min journey. The author claims we not hungry enough... I personally feel I am too hungry to carry on driving to scavenge for scraps. Even though protest in Singapore is illegal, I believe we are falling into a natural reaction to low wages.... If I continue to take scraps the whole day.... the earnings can't get me anywhere. Look at how the hardworking TDs are, putting in so much effort just for another $3.... It IS a clear sign that we are too hungry and chewing on grass cannot keep us alive anymore. We rather expand a little more energy to get some carrot.
My sentiment is if our wages do not continue to improve, it will get worse as the older generation of cab drivers (whom already have homes bought cheap during their time and children grown up) fade away. Nathan recently commented how the educated people questions his leadership and how he appreciates the old and ignorant people that blindly trust the government. Too bad. Many of us Singaporeans are no longer ignorant like before and overwork for peanuts. The Singapore government can rage it's final act against it's low waged citizens and fully destroy our livelyhood and get China people to drive their cabs. Or things have to change for the better for us. Based on how things have turned out in Singapore recent years, we might eventually be collateral damage for the sake of economic growth! Look at who are driving our local buses!! Reports have been out. Singapore Cab drivers are the most short changed in developed countries! Is that not enough to convince the not-so-smart Singaporeans!?!?
Is there some TD from ex HR profesion to tabulate the benefits and compensation schemes based on time spent, effort and risks to convince people that TDs are paid peanuts!? Keep feeding peanuts and I am the monkey! You have to kill this monkey first, them import a rat and tell people the rat is more hungry than the monkey and this rat is here to help everyone pluck coconuts!
well said bro~~~ i totally agree with u~~~~~ ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Thinking back....
As long as you are contented with your current lifestyle... you can consider yourself "RICH" in your own way. Debts free is also very important.
I being thru the dayz of being RICH in bank a/cs to the Pooriest dayz of my life....
. Right now... I don't owed any credit cards bills... no mortgages to pay... also not much of social life to enjoy... (maybe getting old...
).
Don't have to travel by 1st Class, don't have to eat at high end restaurants or drive lambo to prove that you are rich....
My brother is a REAL RICH example... he travels by economic class all the time...
. bank a/cs with 7 zeros and/or more...
drives a nissan, eat at kopitiams... No mortgage loans to pay... that is consider RICH in many ways.
wah bro u n ur bro both jiak buey liao can relax liao......
me?? bo bian leh member....... bo bueh tan kia buey tua han........ LL lor..........
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:
wah these words really got meaning... and i totally agree... singaporeans alot stressed until want to commit suicide, for what, or go into mental illness, for what... because they always compare themselves to others... they always find themselves not sufficient enough... it's important to be contented...
yup muz be zhi zhu chang le~~~~
me?? i enjoy the little tins in life be it those small small gadgets i buy
or juz enjoying a nice ice cream im happy liao~~~~
Ice cream must jio Khoon. He like to eat beach road ice cream.
I am fretting coz I really kindda like the job. Amonst the arses you meet, there are some pax that make your day. But the kindda money we are making can't get us anywhere. The anywhere I seek is a more secure financial plan for my family needs. The risk reward being a TD in my opinion is very high. I actually fell into this trade after hearing all the "jin ho tan" stories. Now I gotten into it and realise the "jin ho tan" is actually 12 hrs a day, 7 days a week. If work reasonable hrs will ensure sufficient meals for myself and some reasonable leisure with no savings. Until things change for the better, for the time being I just work like a dog..... I am starting to la kopi more and more during those hrs I make $8/hr. That is 8+8 mins of scouting time and trip of $6 + $6 minus off diesel and rental.
You already heard our government's theory. They want hungry people. Its has always been carefully planned to ensure minimal wage is paid out in Singapore to ensure "efficiency". And they sucessfully breed some into thinking that's all they ever deserve. As long as there are enough happy people, wages will remain low. But I know too big a percentage of older generations are fixed with a "be contented with whatever is spared for you" mindset. Until these people eventually dissappear, perhaps enough resentment will force a change. Nice finding a place to howl after 12 hrs of scavenging. The day might come when the dogs are fed proper and form a true pack rather than the starving dogs chewing each other's heads off.... really too long hours... my mind's messed up now... need to find one corner and lick my balls....
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:No matter how much I earn as a cabby, I do not feel rich.
1. Being rich means being able to go for 2 week December holiday with whole family to places like USA or Japan, and checking into first or business class.
The last I remembered, I was sending HDB folks for their December holidays. I felt damn fucking poor.
2. Being rich means I am able to get the concierge of my UOB Privilege Reserve membership to book an airport departure in a maxicab or private viano, and pay $45-$65 per trip without a wink. Nevermind my pickup location is Jalan Minyak or some rental house in Circuit Road because my rich parents live in Ridley Park, Tanglin Hill, etc.
The last I remembered, I was busily collecting this fare. But ask me pay hor, I will be sweating.
So how to feel rich? Rich means being able to pay top dollars for first class service. The bugger who is doing the collection of that "BIG MONEY" is just a poor man.
What MAN, $65 per airport departure was BIG MONEY? That made me felt like a bankrupt!!!
Fetching rich people makes me feel so poor. Very very poor.
Aiyo bro,
This month is a great month for Maxi TDs... even @ airport are mega fast for Maxi Q.... don't have to compare this and that with RICH LOADED passengers.... we are in different leagues....
But if you compare with other professionals within your TD industry, you are already a head start becos I know how much a Maxi TDs make in December. ![]()
I have been to HK a couple of times.... economy ticket (in Dec) cost ard $8xx. business class at 2.6x more @ $2,215. First Class @ $4,300... 5.3 times of economy.... different of more than $3,500. I rather spend the different in the meals & stays in Hong Kong over the flight class....anyway it is only 3hrs 45mins away from Singapore.
For many passengers whom travelled 1st class / business class, their flights are paid by their companies. If coming out from their own pockets.... they will prefer to pay less...or even take budget airlines
... (except for those with no more empty space to squeeze in access $$$
).
So, it is really difficult to compare all the time.... never going to end... Just be contented with your lifestyle and feel RICH in your own ways....![]()
Originally posted by Serpent33:I am fretting coz I really kindda like the job. Amonst the arses you meet, there are some pax that make your day. But the kindda money we are making can't get us anywhere. The anywhere I seek is a more secure financial plan for my family needs. The risk reward being a TD in my opinion is very high. I actually fell into this trade after hearing all the "jin ho tan" stories. Now I gotten into it and realise the "jin ho tan" is actually 12 hrs a day, 7 days a week. If work reasonable hrs will ensure sufficient meals for myself and some reasonable leisure with no savings. Until things change for the better, for the time being I just work like a dog..... I am starting to la kopi more and more during those hrs I make $8/hr. That is 8+8 mins of scouting time and trip of $6 + $6 minus off diesel and rental.
You already heard our government's theory. They want hungry people. Its has always been carefully planned to ensure minimal wage is paid out in Singapore to ensure "efficiency". And they sucessfully breed some into thinking that's all they ever deserve. As long as there are enough happy people, wages will remain low. But I know too big a percentage of older generations are fixed with a "be contented with whatever is spared for you" mindset. Until these people eventually dissappear, perhaps enough resentment will force a change. Nice finding a place to howl after 12 hrs of scavenging. The day might come when the dogs are fed proper and form a true pack rather than the starving dogs chewing each other's heads off.... really too long hours... my mind's messed up now... need to find one corner and lick my balls....
Bro,
you edited your monkey & peanuts story ? ![]()
Ya. Might be offensive to some. I try often to get my point across without upsetting anyone. Frankly, "Jin ho tan" and "be contented" are main ingredients to low wage. I was trying to do my maths. Didn't work out. Plus got scathed on the rear bumper @ viviocity by a sonata today driven by a retard. His "reasoning" was I alighted pax on left lane and should stay @ left lane and got no right to get out. Then all I remembered was i started barking and he said sorry and hmm... now my balls are clean. I go sleep now, maybe i can start thinking like a man again. Good day to you.
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Ice cream must jio Khoon. He like to eat beach road ice cream.
haha me sleep liao khoon go eat ice cream...........