Originally posted by Serpent33:I am fretting coz I really kindda like the job. Amonst the arses you meet, there are some pax that make your day. But the kindda money we are making can't get us anywhere. The anywhere I seek is a more secure financial plan for my family needs. The risk reward being a TD in my opinion is very high. I actually fell into this trade after hearing all the "jin ho tan" stories. Now I gotten into it and realise the "jin ho tan" is actually 12 hrs a day, 7 days a week. If work reasonable hrs will ensure sufficient meals for myself and some reasonable leisure with no savings. Until things change for the better, for the time being I just work like a dog..... I am starting to la kopi more and more during those hrs I make $8/hr. That is 8+8 mins of scouting time and trip of $6 + $6 minus off diesel and rental.
You already heard our government's theory. They want hungry people. Its has always been carefully planned to ensure minimal wage is paid out in Singapore to ensure "efficiency". And they sucessfully breed some into thinking that's all they ever deserve. As long as there are enough happy people, wages will remain low. But I know too big a percentage of older generations are fixed with a "be contented with whatever is spared for you" mindset. Until these people eventually dissappear, perhaps enough resentment will force a change. Nice finding a place to howl after 12 hrs of scavenging. The day might come when the dogs are fed proper and form a true pack rather than the starving dogs chewing each other's heads off.... really too long hours... my mind's messed up now... need to find one corner and lick my balls....
well said bro~~~
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Aiyo bro,
This month is a great month for Maxi TDs... even @ airport are mega fast for Maxi Q.... don't have to compare this and that with RICH LOADED passengers.... we are in different leagues....
But if you compare with other professionals within your TD industry, you are already a head start becos I know how much a Maxi TDs make in December.
I have been to HK a couple of times.... economy ticket (in Dec) cost ard $8xx. business class at 2.6x more @ $2,215. First Class @ $4,300... 5.3 times of economy.... different of more than $3,500. I rather spend the different in the meals & stays in Hong Kong over the flight class....anyway it is only 3hrs 45mins away from Singapore.
For many passengers whom travelled 1st class / business class, their flights are paid by their companies. If coming out from their own pockets.... they will prefer to pay less...or even take budget airlines
... (except for those with no more empty space to squeeze in access $$$
).
So, it is really difficult to compare all the time.... never going to end... Just be contented with your lifestyle and feel RICH in your own ways....
very correct bro~~~~ juz be happy with wat u hav now, if everyday u
not happy i wonder how long u r goin to survive..........
Originally posted by komade:very correct bro~~~~ juz be happy with wat u hav now, if everyday u
not happy i wonder how long u r goin to survive..........
Yes... why think so much ?
Money is never enough.... ![]()

Be the one who is contented with life....
Originally posted by [imdestinyz]:
ya i seriously shld be thankful for my good attitude even towards lousy drivers i guess. Understand that we do have bad customers ard in sg... been in service industry and seen it try it. BUT that does not mean that we as customers have not come across lousy service provider. What alex said was fair and just imo that things are both sides. Dun blantently push everything off to the customer. I tink you should also be thankful that even though u get lousy customers u dun get dangerous customers right?
Have . Its just that the public does not get to know it first hand. Well normally the TDs just close one eye and move on. If the TD is KIA , do you think he will report it in this forum here.
Remember the TD which drive transcab crown taxi whose body dumped in Sembawang woods ? He was murdered and robbed . So what do you think bro ? Is the TD's job dangerous ?
Originally posted by Serpent33:Ya. Might be offensive to some. I try often to get my point across without upsetting anyone. Frankly, "Jin ho tan" and "be contented" are main ingredients to low wage. I was trying to do my maths. Didn't work out. Plus got scathed on the rear bumper @ viviocity by a sonata today driven by a retard. His "reasoning" was I alighted pax on left lane and should stay @ left lane and got no right to get out. Then all I remembered was i started barking and he said sorry and hmm... now my balls are clean. I go sleep now, maybe i can start thinking like a man again. Good day to you.
Sometimes I feeling fruss , I go to beach station at Sentosa and buy ice-cream. Feel better after eating it.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Yes... why think so much ?
Money is never enough....
Be the one who is contented with life....
yah lor bro ~~~~ muz relax n be happy~~~~
eh tonite me maybe goin to this place next to coronation plaza
called "My Little Spanish Place" wan to join me??
Originally posted by komade:yah lor bro ~~~~ muz relax n be happy~~~~
eh tonite me maybe goin to this place next to coronation plaza
called "My Little Spanish Place" wan to join me??
Your off day huh ?
Shiok....
look outside your windows.....
always ....
best stay @ home sleep & relax.... from 22th to year end... me bo eng liao... boss coming down... so now idle at home...![]()
The employment act stipulated a max of 44 hrs per week, anything more is consider overtime, normal day including saturday and public holiday is 1.5 paid, working on rest day is double paid, and rest only mean Sunday, not public holiday. In most companies HR, their practices is more toward employees and employers relationship, not a hirer and contractor relationship.
TD is consider under contractual Hiring people, they are not employees of Taxi companies, they are the hirers, so it is a leasing and hirer relationship whereby each Taxis companies can draft out their own contractual and its all depend on you, as TD to take up the contract or not, under the laws, you sign with eyes open, not close. Therefore the vulnerability, retrenchment, sick and so on of a TD is not cover as the like of a company's employee.
As a TD, u cannot take comparison with HR policies because you are a HR of yourself. The Taxi companies have the right to remove you without any reason and you can also throw keys without any reason given. Fair? The taxi companies do not owe you anything, and you also do not owe them anything. Fair?
Brothers, there are many job that are worst than being a TD, men in their 40s should not look back and curse on what they are now, whether you fail in your education or choose the wrong career, so be it, its history. Learn to drive happily by thinking of your family and what you plan for them, that will set you the direction of being happy.
If Taxi drivers is to belittle and curse ourselves, than who would look up on us. Be proud of what you are, 12hrs, can eat, can go home if needed, can stop to do some buying or can fetch family members once a while, take that as the good of TD.
Let me take you to my job as a shipyard worker, 16hrs per day, hot, rain, heat, shine, dirty, dangerous, demanding and discipline, 7 days a week, no chio bu in a 5km radius, must wait for siren then walk abt 2km to canteen full of people. Have to wear helmet, safety equipments at all time, no wear, fine $50, second time within a year, sack. Morning must start at 7.00am till 10.00pm, many time overnite continue the next day. Basic less than $2000, with OT, sometime we can take home only $3k net. finger nail dirty, hair balded, eyes shocked from welding, most end up with early cataract and eye lining damage. Have to take order from supervisor, ship manager, chief engineer, captain, suprintendent, foreman, safety officer, so many face to look at. The only consolation is the bonuses. I hope that by taking my job here, you can be a happier TD, me going full time soon, cannot tarhan climbing the ship everyday. The
Being poor myself, able and afford to go malaysia tour with my family bring lots of joy and happiness, got one rich relatives of mine go europe also end up not happy.
When the rich Viceroy of the British empire once asked the then poor Gandhi what he wants for dinner, Ghandi replied, a piece of bread and butter will do. The Viceroy in puzzle asked again, Don't you find it quite miserable for dinner with just bread and butter. Gandhi replied, in fact, being poor, the bread already make me very happy and the butter makes me happier. But for the rich, even the best steak can never satisfy them. So dear Brothers, we can la kopi at kopitiam, consider ourselves happy lah
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:Compare them to taxi drivers in Hong Kong or Bangkok where passengers have no problem getting a taxi at any time, even late at night, with no additional surcharges to boot.
These taxi drivers should really 'wake up their idea'.
Bangkok where passengers have no problem getting a taxi at any time, even late at night, with no additional surcharges to boot. i laugh at it when i see this sentense!
TD everywhere same same one lah, I am talking about Bangkok. If you want to go Chinatown or anywhere in town in the evening taking cab. Most cab driver will say no meter. If you finally get one willing to on meter, you will find your journey super long and very uncomfortable. If you try to be smart telling them which way to go, see what kind of treatment you will get in the journey. Don’t urge with them, Thai is famous for smile, but hopefully you don’t see the Thai change face, you will remember for life! In Bangkok, before boarding taxi, you have to ask the driver if he wants to go to the place you go. It is not like Singapore, just hop into one without changing shift, go anywhere, we can’t say no. If you destination is some ulu place, most driver like to tell you no meter because it is other province, it is up to them to state the price. Many drivers are not from Bangkok, they came from other province, and you think it is safe? If you have wife and kids wants to take cab, the driver is usually not that men in the driver’s photo! not to mention their driving skill, ha ha, so much Better than our s'pore driver!
I think you hv to look at the demograhpic and the economy of thailand and singapore, do you notice that in thailand, the women are doing all the jobs more than men, the men just sit there and smoke, even today, the PM is a women, women do business on the street, women do massagers, women at sex clubs, thailand had a population ration of 4 women is to 1 man, that is why they got many women to spare, women are doing so well that even men also want to turn to women end up the infamous ladyboy names. In thailand, you can do well as a women than being a guy. So, what do the guys, most will drive, drive taxis, drive bus, drive lorry, drive tutu or whatsoever. Therefore, on the street you will see alots of them, their rental is only 400baht per day, good car 500baht, CNG or diesel on their own, so that is why most want to bring you to certain shoppin inorder to get fuel voucher. There is no control car population in Thailand, not even taxis, so you can get a taxis anytime, but that taxis the most per day is gross at $1200 baht, sometime at a lost, because too many of them. Thai had a population of 65 millions, nearly 20 millions are in Bangkok, they got more men to spare than us.
Thank you Bowah. Need reminders like this to help me count my blessings. I shall try to remind myself that positive way of looking at miserable salaries can help us get on with life. I think all Singaporeans will benefit from your philosophy. The government of Singapore will benefit even more if every one shares your philosophy. Even better let's ask them to reduce fares. I am sure all of us can still drink kopi. I am a very real person. I don't live in debt. i plan my finances and I don't commit to anything I am unsure of. My own calculations conclude I am earning less than a production operator. I truely appreciate the flexibilty of being a TD. Like I said before, I do believe TD is a decent job that requires skills and exposed to danger. Some are happy doing it for peanuts, others like me think payout should be higher but have got not much other options. Mah Bow Tan did mention this year about increasing Singaporean wages from the mounting resentment. Like I said, the trick is to get as many people to be happy with peanuts, then we can sucessfully suppress everyone's wages.
I believe changes for the better will happen only if everyone thinks the same. I also know the fact I am surrounded by many positive thinkers in Singapore. In real life I do often pretend I am the monkey happy for peanuts just to blend in.
Singaporean wants availablities of Taxi like Bangkok, Price like India, Service like London.... what else?
When best of both world is impossible, what is the chances of best of 3 or more world?
Actually, there are many sensible Singaporean, but these people choose to remain silent and let those minority whine about. Because we hear whining vs silent, so got the delusion of whiner represent Singaporean.
It is sad, Singaporean criticise each other in all trade; hawker, contractor, property agent, employment, taxi driver, ....etc, even politician are drawn into the turbulence. We are welcoming Foreign Talent policy for such behavior.
It is frustrating to wait for Taxi, in fact to wait for anything. If it is going to be an enjoyment after the waiting, it's still worth waiting. But for Taxi, after waiting, it never an enjoyment to see the driver respond.
As a Taxi driver, we should do our part :
1) Put up the RED sign if you do not intent to pick from that street
2) Ask tactfully if you want to conduct interview. Name a destination before the pax, not ask for destination then tell them NO.
3) Taxi driver though is not a Saleman, but still need a little communication.Learn some communication skill and use it proudly, share it with others driver proudly too.
cleaner earn $100 per day ...jin ho tan!But $100 for rich man...What's is this!!Lau TD got Skill know road well got lobang...Jin ho tan!New green TD,dunno the road,green skill n no lobang...si beh pi tan!Hahah...just like this lor!!u See me good,I see u lagi Good!!
Originally posted by ALN:bowah and auntie jade writing stories…
must listen!
When ALN tell jokes,
must listen carefully, within the jokes, lies the best wisdom.
Originally posted by Serpent33:Thank you Bowah. Need reminders like this to help me count my blessings. I shall try to remind myself that positive way of looking at miserable salaries can help us get on with life. I think all Singaporeans will benefit from your philosophy. The government of Singapore will benefit even more if every one shares your philosophy. Even better let's ask them to reduce fares. I am sure all of us can still drink kopi. I am a very real person. I don't live in debt. i plan my finances and I don't commit to anything I am unsure of. My own calculations conclude I am earning less than a production operator. I truely appreciate the flexibilty of being a TD. Like I said before, I do believe TD is a decent job that requires skills and exposed to danger. Some are happy doing it for peanuts, others like me think payout should be higher but have got not much other options. Mah Bow Tan did mention this year about increasing Singaporean wages from the mounting resentment. Like I said, the trick is to get as many people to be happy with peanuts, then we can sucessfully suppress everyone's wages.
I believe changes for the better will happen only if everyone thinks the same. I also know the fact I am surrounded by many positive thinkers in Singapore. In real life I do often pretend I am the monkey happy for peanuts just to blend in.
If you are in yr early 30s, yes, i would agree you can do something to change your life, but if you at your 40s and driving TDs, be fated, you call any companies now, and tell them your experiences and other CVs, they will reply good good, but once you mention you at 40++yo, the phone can go blank.............or the famous sentence of "Mr. So, we take note of your number, we are still open for more candidates, will call you once we have closed the application and done the selection. "
So again like it or not, you drive on, and since you know you need to drive on, might as well drive on happily. A TD must learn to motivate and give himself a good pat, there is no one, except you and your family. You are the boss, the HR, the financial director, the driver, the system adviser and the front line customer officer.
It is sad but also a least it is a blessing our government keep TD job for Singaporean. One angmo tell me in their country all jobs are taking by foreigner, they have to come to Singapore to find chances. He envy us got something to fall back when we are jobless. TD can come and go anytime. Take it as ride cow find horse, no money bring back how to sit at home? Find better job throw key lor!
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Your off day huh ?
Shiok....
look outside your windows.....
always ....
best stay @ home sleep & relax.... from 22th to year end... me bo eng liao... boss coming down... so now idle at home...
yup today off oic like tat $$ come in liao lor...........
Originally posted by komade:yup today off oic like tat $$ come in liao lor...........
Lucky you....
today rain non-stop....sian..
shouldn't have took a departure @ 7pm... now... lan lan... ![]()
Originally posted by bowah:The employment act stipulated a max of 44 hrs per week, anything more is consider overtime, normal day including saturday and public holiday is 1.5 paid, working on rest day is double paid, and rest only mean Sunday, not public holiday. In most companies HR, their practices is more toward employees and employers relationship, not a hirer and contractor relationship.
TD is consider under contractual Hiring people, they are not employees of Taxi companies, they are the hirers, so it is a leasing and hirer relationship whereby each Taxis companies can draft out their own contractual and its all depend on you, as TD to take up the contract or not, under the laws, you sign with eyes open, not close. Therefore the vulnerability, retrenchment, sick and so on of a TD is not cover as the like of a company's employee.
As a TD, u cannot take comparison with HR policies because you are a HR of yourself. The Taxi companies have the right to remove you without any reason and you can also throw keys without any reason given. Fair? The taxi companies do not owe you anything, and you also do not owe them anything. Fair?
well said bro~~~~ ![]()
Originally posted by jnyt:Bangkok where passengers have no problem getting a taxi at any time, even late at night, with no additional surcharges to boot. i laugh at it when i see this sentense!
TD everywhere same same one lah, I am talking about Bangkok. If you want to go Chinatown or anywhere in town in the evening taking cab. Most cab driver will say no meter. If you finally get one willing to on meter, you will find your journey super long and very uncomfortable. If you try to be smart telling them which way to go, see what kind of treatment you will get in the journey. Don’t urge with them, Thai is famous for smile, but hopefully you don’t see the Thai change face, you will remember for life! In Bangkok, before boarding taxi, you have to ask the driver if he wants to go to the place you go. It is not like Singapore, just hop into one without changing shift, go anywhere, we can’t say no. If you destination is some ulu place, most driver like to tell you no meter because it is other province, it is up to them to state the price. Many drivers are not from Bangkok, they came from other province, and you think it is safe? If you have wife and kids wants to take cab, the driver is usually not that men in the driver’s photo! not to mention their driving skill, ha ha, so much Better than our s'pore driver!
yah totally agree with u sis~~~
Originally posted by jnyt:It is sad but also a least it is a blessing our government keep TD job for Singaporean. One angmo tell me in their country all jobs are taking by foreigner, they have to come to Singapore to find chances. He envy us got something to fall back when we are jobless. TD can come and go anytime. Take it as ride cow find horse, no money bring back how to sit at home? Find better job throw key lor!
huh?? wat ride cow find horse?? ![]()
All TDs, please cool down, I can understand how all of you feel!
Let me tell you, these Singaporeans all only know how to complain! Why people don't want work in restaurants or as TDs? Because these sg people very ugly. I don't know what to say! Sometimes, I feel very hurt when fellow sg people belittle each other.
When they see angmo, they try to suck up to them. It all boils down to one thing, we all sg people are very divided.
Why can't we be united? Why can't we let each other make and earn a little bit more? Even if the TD take a longer route by mistake, it will be be that few 1 or 2 dollar extra? What can sg ppl do with $1? A can of coke at kopitiam now costs $1.30.
Why all of us are running in circles? Why during the Lehman Brother collapse, so many old people lost their $$$ and where are all of us? Why we none of us unite and press the govt to make good the losses?
I can go on and on but in your heart and my heart, all of us know it's pointless to go on. At the end of the day, we just be happy, if you meet a fxxked up pax, just bear in mind that the journey is only 30 mins max. If they complain, just blame it on our luck. What people is doing, someone up there is looking, every Dog has its day.