Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:http://ihatesillypore.blogspot.com/2009/02/reason-0029-rich-taxi-drivers.html#links
Copied and pasted from the above blog...
Rich taxi drivers? In Singapore? Yes, I think some taxi drivers in Singapore are really rich. How else can you explain the fact that many of them can afford to pick and choose their customers?
Think about it, how many times have you stood waiting beside the road for a taxi, and then watched in rage and frustration as unhired, empty cabs whizzed by? How about trying to get a cab between 11pm and 12am, just before the midnight surcharge kicks in?
If empty taxis ignoring passengers happened at only a particular time, such as meal times, or in the late afternoons or evenings, it would still have been understandable as the taxi drivers may be going for their meals or to for shift changes. However, this phenomenon can be seen everyday and at all times of the day.
It is no secret that rather than pick up a regular fare on the street, these taxi drivers prefer to cruise around and get a telephone booking or hopefully, pick up a passenger from the central business district to earn a extra few dollars.
Some might say these drivers are trying to maximise their earnings or that since they are self-employed, they are free to do as they wish. I agree, but I also say these taxi drivers must not forget they are providing an essential mode of public transport and as such, they are not the same as other self-employed people and cannot do as they please.
The bottomline is, these taxi drivers are not hungry enough. They are the people who whine the loudest when taxi rentals or when diesel prices increase and they always exclaim how difficult it is to make a living as a taxi driver. At the same time, they can afford to ignore a ready customer who is beckoning to them in search of more profitable ones who may or may not appear. Compare them to taxi drivers in Hong Kong or Bangkok where passengers have no problem getting a taxi at any time, even late at night, with no additional surcharges to boot.
These taxi drivers should really 'wake up their idea'.
Idiot says: Rich taxi drivers? In Singapore? Yes, I think some taxi drivers
in Singapore are really rich. How else can you explain the fact
that many of them can afford to pick and choose their
customers?
I say: Rich taxi drivers? I agree but not fully ok?! Only to the point highlighted in RED.
But isn't this person contradicting? Awhile ago mentioned "some" taxi
drivers and later indicate "many of them" can afford to pick and choose
their customers.... So is it SOME RICH TAXI DRIVERS or MANY RICH TAXI DRIVERS? -.-"
Idiot says: How many times have you stood waiting beside the
road for a taxi, and then watched in rage and frustration as
unhired, empty cabs whizzed by? How about trying to get a cab
between 11pm and 12am....
I say: Want to take taxi, be ready to pay for it be it the booking charges or city surcharge. I believe idiots encounter the above when they want to "try their luck" in getting a taxi either at difficult locations or outside the CBD just before the gantry. Between 11pm to 12am can't get a cab? Call for cab! Don't be a cheapo! If can't call for cab, then sms a cab, use iPhone app to get a cab, why whine? Many people are also able to get home before the midnight surcharge, be smart, don't be cheapo will get u home cheaper than midnight surcharge.
Idiot says: If empty taxis ignoring passengers.....
I say: If all taxi drivers would
strike toto, if the rental would be cheaper, if diesel is FOC, so many
if(s)... Why is empty taxis ignoring passengers? So many reasons to
ignore, #1: wearing black from head to toe and flagging taxi at dark
areas?
#2: flagging taxi at areas where it's difficult for the taxi driver to stop at?
#3: and the list goes on....
Idiot says: It is no secret that rather than pick up a regular fare.....
I say: Since already mentioned is
no secret then why still complaining? Doing business selling ur stuffs,
would u rather sell it cheap or get a better customer who isn't so
cheapo and willing to pay to earn that EXTRA FEW DOLLARS to FEED your
family? Use your brain la!
Idiot says: Some might say these drivers are trying to maximise their earnings...
I say: Providing an essential mode
of public transport is right but to people who can afford to pay for
taxi fare, for cheapos, it's better that they take public transport.
Idiot says: The bottomline is, these taxi drivers are not hungry enough....
I say: It is obvious that taxi
drivers are VERY HUNGRY that is why they are driving the smart way to
people who really NEEDS taxi and can AFFORD to pay for taxi so that it's
a win-win situation to benefit both the commuters and the taxi drivers
to feed their family. There is no way to compare Singapore taxi drivers
with Hong Kong or even Bangkok taxi drivers. Why no problem in getting
taxi in these 2 other countries? Because 1 simple trip alone is anytime
more like a Chrysler already. So what to complain? Look at the
comparison below MORONS!
Hong Kong
10km fare: HK$80!!!
Bangkok
10km fare: 70 baht!!!
Singapore
10km fare: $8.90 - non-peak & $12 for peak
hours.
I shall calculate the BEST SUMS for CHEAPOS out there to understand.
Even a 10km fare trip $12 (Peak Hours) + $3.30 (Booking) + $3 (City
Surcharge), how much is the total may I ask? $18.30 ONLY! OMG! What is
$18.30 compare to HK$80 and 70 baht??? If the blogger is willing to pay
SGD$70 OR SGD$80 ANYTIME, I mean ANYTIME! Which taxi driver here would
reject / ignore?
Check this website out for some morons who are nothing but whiners
http://www.asiaone.com/Travel/News/Story/A1Story20080108-44110.html
I say: This blogger should really wake up his/her idea.
Originally posted by Passion8:Idiot says: Rich taxi drivers? In Singapore? Yes, I think some taxi drivers in Singapore are really rich. How else can you explain the fact that many of them can afford to pick and choose their customers?
I say: Rich taxi drivers? I agree but not fully ok?! Only to the point highlighted in RED. But isn't this person contradicting? Awhile ago mentioned "some" taxi drivers and later indicate "many of them" can afford to pick and choose their customers.... So is it SOME RICH TAXI DRIVERS or MANY RICH TAXI DRIVERS? -.-"
Idiot says: How many times have you stood waiting beside the road for a taxi, and then watched in rage and frustration as unhired, empty cabs whizzed by? How about trying to get a cab between 11pm and 12am....I say: Want to take taxi, be ready to pay for it be it the booking charges or city surcharge. I believe idiots encounter the above when they want to "try their luck" in getting a taxi either at difficult locations or outside the CBD just before the gantry. Between 11pm to 12am can't get a cab? Call for cab! Don't be a cheapo! If can't call for cab, then sms a cab, use iPhone app to get a cab, why whine? Many people are also able to get home before the midnight surcharge, be smart, don't be cheapo will get u home cheaper than midnight surcharge.
Idiot says: If empty taxis ignoring passengers.....I say: If all taxi drivers would strike toto, if the rental would be cheaper, if diesel is FOC, so many if(s)... Why is empty taxis ignoring passengers? So many reasons to ignore, #1: wearing black from head to toe and flagging taxi at dark areas?
I say: Since already mentioned is no secret then why still complaining? Doing business selling ur stuffs, would u rather sell it cheap or get a better customer who isn't so cheapo and willing to pay to earn that EXTRA FEW DOLLARS to FEED your family? Use your brain la!
Idiot says: Some might say these drivers are trying to maximise their earnings...
I say: Providing an essential mode of public transport is right but to people who can afford to pay for taxi fare, for cheapos, it's better that they take public transport.
I say: It is obvious that taxi drivers are VERY HUNGRY that is why they are driving the smart way to people who really NEEDS taxi and can AFFORD to pay for taxi so that it's a win-win situation to benefit both the commuters and the taxi drivers to feed their family. There is no way to compare Singapore taxi drivers with Hong Kong or even Bangkok taxi drivers. Why no problem in getting taxi in these 2 other countries? Because 1 simple trip alone is anytime more like a Chrysler already. So what to complain? Look at the comparison below MORONS!
Hong Kong
Bangkok
Singapore
10km fare: $8.90 - non-peak & $12 for peak hours.
Even a 10km fare trip $12 (Peak Hours) + $3.30 (Booking) + $3 (City Surcharge), how much is the total may I ask? $18.30 ONLY! OMG! What is $18.30 compare to HK$80 and 70 baht??? If the blogger is willing to pay SGD$70 OR SGD$80 ANYTIME, I mean ANYTIME! Which taxi driver here would reject / ignore?
well done bro~~~~~ ![]()
Originally posted by Passion8:Idiot says: Rich taxi drivers? In Singapore? Yes, I think some taxi drivers in Singapore are really rich. How else can you explain the fact that many of them can afford to pick and choose their customers?
I say: Rich taxi drivers? I agree but not fully ok?! Only to the point highlighted in RED. But isn't this person contradicting? Awhile ago mentioned "some" taxi drivers and later indicate "many of them" can afford to pick and choose their customers.... So is it SOME RICH TAXI DRIVERS or MANY RICH TAXI DRIVERS? -.-"
Idiot says: How many times have you stood waiting beside the road for a taxi, and then watched in rage and frustration as unhired, empty cabs whizzed by? How about trying to get a cab between 11pm and 12am....I say: Want to take taxi, be ready to pay for it be it the booking charges or city surcharge. I believe idiots encounter the above when they want to "try their luck" in getting a taxi either at difficult locations or outside the CBD just before the gantry. Between 11pm to 12am can't get a cab? Call for cab! Don't be a cheapo! If can't call for cab, then sms a cab, use iPhone app to get a cab, why whine? Many people are also able to get home before the midnight surcharge, be smart, don't be cheapo will get u home cheaper than midnight surcharge.
Idiot says: If empty taxis ignoring passengers.....I say: If all taxi drivers would strike toto, if the rental would be cheaper, if diesel is FOC, so many if(s)... Why is empty taxis ignoring passengers? So many reasons to ignore, #1: wearing black from head to toe and flagging taxi at dark areas?
I say: Since already mentioned is no secret then why still complaining? Doing business selling ur stuffs, would u rather sell it cheap or get a better customer who isn't so cheapo and willing to pay to earn that EXTRA FEW DOLLARS to FEED your family? Use your brain la!
I say: Providing an essential mode of public transport is right but to people who can afford to pay for taxi fare, for cheapos, it's better that they take public transport.
I say: It is obvious that taxi drivers are VERY HUNGRY that is why they are driving the smart way to people who really NEEDS taxi and can AFFORD to pay for taxi so that it's a win-win situation to benefit both the commuters and the taxi drivers to feed their family. There is no way to compare Singapore taxi drivers with Hong Kong or even Bangkok taxi drivers. Why no problem in getting taxi in these 2 other countries? Because 1 simple trip alone is anytime more like a Chrysler already. So what to complain? Look at the comparison below MORONS!
Hong Kong
Bangkok
Singapore
10km fare: $8.90 - non-peak & $12 for peak hours.
Even a 10km fare trip $12 (Peak Hours) + $3.30 (Booking) + $3 (City Surcharge), how much is the total may I ask? $18.30 ONLY! OMG! What is $18.30 compare to HK$80 and 70 baht??? If the blogger is willing to pay SGD$70 OR SGD$80 ANYTIME, I mean ANYTIME! Which taxi driver here would reject / ignore?
Brother, base on $1 sing equal to $5.9 hongkong dollar, actually 10km in Hongkong is only about $12 sing dollar
and 70bahts is about $3.50 sing dollars lah.
Hongkong are still using crown, change gear at steering wheel, and their cabs are private but need to join a company to get licence to drive and also for calls. Recently I board one in HK, starting HK$20, that is about $3.50.
As taxi driver are small businessmen, we hv the right to do our business in the way most businessmen and women will do it day in and day out. Just like if you cannot get a seat in a crowded foodcourt, dun blame the foodcourt, go eat at the nearby restuarant, get serve better but must paid abit more. So, next time, if cannot get a taxi, you should know what to do, but dun blame it on TD.
Originally posted by komade:well done bro~~~~~
Thanks bro komade ![]()
Originally posted by bowah:
Brother, base on $1 sing equal to $5.9 hongkong dollar, actually 10km in Hongkong is only about $12 sing dollarand 70bahts is about $3.50 sing dollars lah.
Hongkong are still using crown, change gear at steering wheel, and their cabs are private but need to join a company to get licence to drive and also for calls. Recently I board one in HK, starting HK$20, that is about $3.50.
As taxi driver are small businessmen, we hv the right to do our business in the way most businessmen and women will do it day in and day out. Just like if you cannot get a seat in a crowded foodcourt, dun blame the foodcourt, go eat at the nearby restuarant, get serve better but must paid abit more. So, next time, if cannot get a taxi, you should know what to do, but dun blame it on TD.
bro bowah,
It is because of this way people using conversion rate to calculate taxi
fare that caused the problems. Now we are talking about the issue of
locals complaining about the taxi fare hike. Do u hear complains from
foreigners complaining? No! Because it is still cheap to them due to
conversion rates from their country too! People from US, Australia, New
Zealand, they still give tips on top of the $8.90 10km ride rounding it
to $10 or $12 sometimes. Get it?
Why not just simply ask the HK citizens and Bangkok citizens if they can
AFFORD to take taxi in their own country? Bangkok citizens with their
given salary will not even take taxi @ 70 baht! Do u know how much u can
eat with 70 baht in Thailand?
Try asking the Japanese citizens too, most of them will only use taxis
when in need & 1 trip alone costs them hell alot. When they are in
Singapore, they find the taxis here SO CHEAP! 1 end to the other from
Jurong to Pasir Ris the most $45 WITH MIDNIGHT charge. In Japan, would
have easily cost u $100+++SGD ok?
So pls do not use the conversion way to discuss about this issue. We use
other countries local salary vs singapore local salary. Be glad these
commuters can STILL afford taxi.
Peace. =)
Originally posted by Passion8:Thanks bro komade
bro bowah,
It is because of this way people using conversion rate to calculate taxi fare that caused the problems. Now we are talking about the issue of locals complaining about the taxi fare hike. Do u hear complains from foreigners complaining? No! Because it is still cheap to them due to conversion rates from their country too! People from US, Australia, New Zealand, they still give tips on top of the $8.90 10km ride rounding it to $10 or $12 sometimes. Get it?
Why not just simply ask the HK citizens and Bangkok citizens if they can AFFORD to take taxi in their own country? Bangkok citizens with their given salary will not even take taxi @ 70 baht! Do u know how much u can eat with 70 baht in Thailand?
Try asking the Japanese citizens too, most of them will only use taxis when in need & 1 trip alone costs them hell alot. When they are in Singapore, they find the taxis here SO CHEAP! 1 end to the other from Jurong to Pasir Ris the most $45 WITH MIDNIGHT charge. In Japan, would have easily cost u $100+++SGD ok?
So pls do not use the conversion way to discuss about this issue. We use other countries local salary vs singapore local salary. Be glad these commuters can STILL afford taxi.
Peace. =)
Hi brother, no war lah, just a discussion, agreed with the cost of living, for bangkok, it is a total different scenarios, from wages to rental to cost of living like foods, they are totally much cheaper, that is also why many cheapo flown there to enjoy life. And the farker can come back and compare with singapore.
As for Hongkong, their wages is much higher than us, why, because they own the cab, a crown is $40,000 sing dollar only, you take it, can paid by loan or one shot off, after 3 year to 5 years of hard work, loan finished, the taxi is yours, but you need a operating licence, that is why you need to register with the cab companies who issue licence and on call business thru walkie talkie, you hear their on call in cantonese...v funny one, can tio tio here and there, in Singapore, you rent taxi, paid until u die, taxis is also not yours, in Hongkong, after fully paid your loan, you can trade in for newer one or sell off your taxis or drive with free rental, so, they can afford to give lower fares. In Hongkong, they also never practice relief driver, most driver pass on their taxi to their sons or relatives, so that they can carry on making money out of it, HK control the license, not the taxi. Once you give up your licence, you very hard to get it, cos someone would had took over. Unlike singapore, you cannot find someone holding TDVL but not driving. So, you need to drive if you want to get a licence, and that is why they are more professional, they are call master, shifu, not uncle hor, no age limit,
Recently, Hongkong is name the no 1 financial hub, their wages is high, and the cost of living such as food is more expensive than singapore, road are more narrower and night spots more than singapore. And most Hongkees take cabs because most do not own cars, parking is very expensive and also very hard to find parking lots. And their taxi driver are more well respected than here, here TDs is like maids.
Originally posted by bowah:Recently, Hongkong is name the no 1 financial hub, their wages is high, and the cost of living such as food is more expensive than singapore, road are more narrower and night spots more than singapore. And most Hongkees take cabs because most do not own cars, parking is very expensive and also very hard to find parking lots. And their taxi driver are more well respected than here, here TDs is like maids.
Some corrections... their wages (in HK) are high ( for expat terms only )
. Their currency rate is about 6 times lower than Sing Dollars.
The living standard (FOOD) is ok lah... about the same in Singapore. But many HK-ers love to eat at restaurants (at most of the times, you need to share table with other strangers). ![]()
They don't have many kopitiam or centralised foodcourts. Mostly are individual food stores.
Transportations - their MTRs are very efficient, 1-2 mins per interval. So practically no need to buy cars.
The few thing which is EXPENSIVE is the rental + property living, parking etc. The lease hold is 50 yrs compared of Singapore's 99yrs (for govt housing).
Their taxis' fares are reasonable though... Meter jumps by 30 cents (no midnite/peak hrs surcharges).... only took twice...
becos their MTRs are very convenient.... No Breakdowns ( when I took them )... ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Some corrections... their wages (in HK) are high ( for expat terms only )
. Their currency rate is about 6 times lower than Sing Dollars.
The living standard (FOOD) is ok lah... about the same in Singapore. But many HK-ers love to eat at restaurants (at most of the times, you need to share table with other strangers).
They don't have many kopitiam or centralised foodcourts. Mostly are individual food stores.
Transportations - their MTRs are very efficient, 1-2 mins per interval. So practically no need to buy cars.
The few thing which is EXPENSIVE is the rental + property living, parking etc. The lease hold is 50 yrs compared of Singapore's 99yrs (for govt housing).
Their taxis' fares are reasonable though... Meter jumps by 30 cents (no midnite/peak hrs surcharges).... only took twice...
becos their MTRs are very convenient.... No Breakdowns ( when I took them )...
And their foods are damn nice...To what I observe, Hongkees, being brought up without a real identity, from british to china to Special zone, they takes the hard knock of life better than Singaporeans, and they are more homogenous in a sense, meaning they are one race and is able to cooperate and help each other, ours are more individualistic.
The HK taxi driver I talk to also told me, unlike our sg govt, who feed their people and expect them to submit, Hk peoples are left alone to find food for themselves, so since young, they are very independent and have to find food for themselves.
After he dropped me, I told him there is a fare to pick infront, he said, boss, this is not my playground, Hk taxi got own set of rules and regulation, and of course, secret society.
Originally posted by bowah:After he dropped me, I told him there is a fare to pick infront, he said, boss, this is not my playground, Hk taxi got own set of rules and regulation, and of course, secret society.
Oh yes... just like the 70s-80s taxi in Singapore...
control by certain districts.... ![]()
There are 3 different areas taxis in HK....
Majority are .. RED.. (Transcab look alike
).

The working life in HK is more stressed up than in Singapore...
It can be observed by the walking phrase. Everyone is dashing for something... ![]()
Originally posted by bowah:
And their foods are damn nice.
Their foods (in Hong Kong) is awesome......
Really missed some of their "cuisines"...
HK... i will come again soon....
. Me got free stay in HK... only to buy air-tickets. ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:The working life in HK is more stressed up than in Singapore...
It can be observed by the walking phrase. Everyone is dashing for something...
yes yes hk life is very stressful, but i think singapore is trying to catch up like that, lol... that's why suicide rates increase, no? the more stressful a society is, the more suicide cases there are... but PAP won't care one lah!
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:
yes yes hk life is very stressful, but i think singapore is trying to catch up like that, lol... that's why suicide rates increase, no? the more stressful a society is, the more suicide cases there are... but PAP won't care one lah!
In recent times.... after the casinos have appeared in town..... ![]()
there are definitely more suicides... & their favourite place - Bedok Reservoir.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Their foods (in Hong Kong) is awesome......
Really missed some of their "cuisines"...
HK... i will come again soon....
. Me got free stay in HK... only to buy air-tickets.
"cusines"?? hmmmm when u goin HK bro?? me wan to go next yr for holidays~~~~
but hor OC may be coming along....... ![]()
Originally posted by komade:"cusines"?? hmmmm when u goin HK bro?? me wan to go next yr for holidays~~~~
but hor OC may be coming along.......
Best time to visit HK is late Feb, early March... not so cold, not so hot.... 20c temp (air-con temp even on the street).
You go there during Dec-Jan........ you can't even find your di di...
(10c to 20c).
My next visit really depends on my Regular Guests' schedules. If they are not around, or don't intend to cum, then I can go.... ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Best time to visit HK is late Feb, early March... not so cold, not so hot.... 20c temp (air-con temp even on the street).
You go there during Dec-Jan........ you can't even find your di di...
(10c to 20c).
My next visit really depends on my Regular Guests' schedules. If they are not around, or don't intend to cum, then I can go....
haha ok on lar bro~~~ after cny best for me also~~~
Originally posted by komade:haha ok on lar bro~~~ after cny best for me also~~~
Yeah... CNY is a big occasion in HK....
they really celebrate in big style.
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:
Because, we are expendable and can be immediately replace with Foreign Talent.
why people like HK taxi so much? and always comment that there are Taxi available anytime, but those drama always shown people are fighting for Taxi leh, isn't that reflex the Taxi culture there?
Singapore Taxi are more easily available, more then 20 hours a day you can see Taxi queueing to serve you. In fact, the queueit had become a nuisance to our road user.
Singapore Taxi are much more cheaper, because we Taxi driver are cheaper.
Singapore Taxi got so much variaty, from crown, sonata, wish, merc, chrysler....... need to include my toe to do the counting.
Too bad lah, by the time our people realise our country have sold us, it will be too late to do anything. Like I said nothing to worry one! I dare the transport minister to use Chinamen to drive Taxi! It has not stop them before. Trust me it has crossed their mind also. I seriously look forward to see how much more Singapore willing to sell us for money. Enough is enough man. Since independence we had "healthy" flow if FTs to suppress our wages. You go ask Bangladash lorry driver to drive you one bus stop away for $5 see? he'll throw the money back at you.
Taiwan TD best. Almost all ah beng one![]()
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Taiwan TD best. Almost all ah beng one
u dun pay he really bring his palang toh out............ ![]()
Originally posted by komade:u dun pay he really bring his palang toh out............
In Phillippines....
Some Pax rob TDs at gun point..
Now TDs to protect themselves.... also got guns....
got guns can travel...........safely.... ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:In Phillippines....
Some Pax rob TDs at gun point..
Now TDs to protect themselves.... also got guns....
got guns can travel...........safely....
yah man really scary situation there but i tell u 1 tin bro when
manny paquio fights, the crime rate drops to 0%..................