Yesterday, passed Queens street, 8:15pm. Saw Malaysian family desperate for cab as I walk past for dinner. Out of kindness, I told them to call for cab as they cannot get cab by waiting, they took up phone and started dailing. After I came back I saw SG family flag a CDG crown and TD just drove past. The (under 14 year old) daughter shouted at taxi "arsehole!" while both parents just watched. As I approached my cab and opened door. Father chased after me and asked me if I would ferry them. I asked back if they would consider calling for cab and father backed off. I told him "I am not willing to ferry your family and your kid need to learn some manners."
They, need you to help them get home. They, give you the respect of a dog. With the $10 fare they pay! I told him TDs are honest income earners, they deserve a bit more respect which obviously many people are doing otherwise. Read every other internet news, even in yahoo. so many sg people curse at us during the same time they need us most. Today onwards, I offer no more grace to fellow Singaporeans! Before this, sometimes i see the desperate look on their face I forsake the extra CBD income to ferry them. Ungrateful basterds. Tomorrow onwards you get one less TD driving past the outskirts of CBD anymore. Look, TDs money are hard earned! Some retards make it sound like easy and lucrative job. IT IS NOT! TAKE IT FROM LEE KUAN YEW! YOU PAY PEANUTS YOU GET MONKEYS! I fxxking slog 6 hrs to cover rental and diesel and slog for another 6 just to make profit! It is definately not paying me enough to get humiliated by commuters! Dun take this the wrong way. Not that I'm high handed, but to hear a family actually cursing at TD. I think too much for me to swallow right after dinner. The low wage is certainly NOT helping!
They need to learn the WORD "RESPECT" . You are the man bro.
just tell them blatantly that you are an asssssssshole too
and see reaction on their face
haha ,,,,should be funny
Aiya, what to do, to many, TD is consider under the maid category, I am sure many peoples if not fark infront of us, will fark at the back of us, we also do not know, but then, why bother to know, just take our $$, do our decent living and life goes on.
If you are going to get emo over all these peoples reaction and action, then it will make your driving more and more difficult, for me simple, just on meter, pax fark me, i fark back, pax respect me , i respect double back. Journey end, press meter, collect fares and the next minutes forget them liao.
If the kids no manner, shame to the parents, but that is their problem, one day the kids may also call his or her own parents asshole, we not happy, don't stop lor, drive thru them, if complain, tell company these people call our company asshole, see how the company react
Originally posted by bowah:Aiya, what to do, to many, TD is consider under the maid category, I am sure many peoples if not fark infront of us, will fark at the back of us, we also do not know, but then, why bother to know, just take our $$, do our decent living and life goes on.
If you are going to get emo over all these peoples reaction and action, then it will make your driving more and more difficult, for me simple, just on meter, pax fark me, i fark back, pax respect me , i respect double back. Journey end, press meter, collect fares and the next minutes forget them liao.
If the kids no manner, shame to the parents, but that is their problem, one day the kids may also call his or her own parents asshole, we not happy, don't stop lor, drive thru them, if complain, tell company these people call our company asshole, see how the company react
yah hor....just like maid....we address sir / madam
Thanks for telling me i am a maid today
I learn that long ago....That's why cheapo I cannot be bother with them, let them curse all they want. But there is sure some yao gui who take them.![]()
This world is like this one lah, what you and i think can be much different from others, just like you may said, who would take Prime, but still got people take. Or Bkk recent flood, who would want to go there, but still got people go.
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:I learn that long ago....That's why cheapo I cannot be bother with them, let them curse all they want. But there is sure some yao gui who take them.
Today very sad....learn that i am a yao gui maid.......sooooo sad
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:I learn that long ago....That's why cheapo I cannot be bother with them, let them curse all they want. But there is sure some yao gui who take them.
haha correct bro my cab very ex 1 when u wan to take...........
if pax says it is wrong for TDs to take break juz before peak hour... den why say it is wrong for TDs to stop plying after peak hour?
first day of TVDL already said... TDs are self-employed businessman... earn or not own pasah... so is up to each businessman to manage his business for maximum profit with minimum effort...
What to do? Once I was in CBD, got so many ppl waiting near Boat Quay, but I say be fair, I saw 1 lady waiting at taxi stand opposite side, so I avoid all these ppl and go to her.
She come in and say Good Evening. I said Yes, where can I send you. She say Good evening again, I said yes. She said you can say Good evening too, but I dont like her tone, so I still say yes.
She said are you gonna say Good evening, I said why? She got out. I said to myself, good luck to you finding a cab.
So must say good evening good morning good night like Ang Mo style, cannt say hello, hi, yes, like Singapore style? You go aunty uncle shop, they say < ya you want what ar? Is that wrong?
haha! got such morons ah. Tks for the story man.
Originally posted by komade:haha correct bro my cab very ex 1 when u wan to take...........
ONLY Standard Orders huh ? ![]()
Hopefully... this happen every other days.... ![]()

Originally posted by JoeRaj:What to do? Once I was in CBD, got so many ppl waiting near Boat Quay, but I say be fair, I saw 1 lady waiting at taxi stand opposite side, so I avoid all these ppl and go to her.
She come in and say Good Evening. I said Yes, where can I send you. She say Good evening again, I said yes. She said you can say Good evening too, but I dont like her tone, so I still say yes.
She said are you gonna say Good evening, I said why? She got out. I said to myself, good luck to you finding a cab.
So must say good evening good morning good night like Ang Mo style, cannt say hello, hi, yes, like Singapore style? You go aunty uncle shop, they say < ya you want what ar? Is that wrong?
From my experiences, 80% of the time when i greet pax with "hi, hello", get no response n I feel very irritated. I mean, this is basic courtesy right. What are parents n teachers teaching our kids.
Another thing, when they speak to you, they'll go "er, turn left". You got to address the other party when you speak to them right? Like "uncle or mister" or at least an "excuse me". What are parents n teachers teaching our kids.
I can understand the pax annoyance, at least reply "hello" mah...
Originally posted by decent02:yah hor....just like maid....we address sir / madam
Thanks for telling me i am a maid today
Yes, cabbies hv very low social status in our eastern culture.
Remember the rickshaw pullers of days past? I think this is inherited from our forefathers that service providers are "servants"!
Just observe how singaporeans treat waiters or sales assistants!
Today after alighting pax at Bedok st3 taxi stand, saw 3 aunties waiting at the stand.1 aunty approach me, want to fetch them? i said no, than i on hazard light, came out from cab and tell them toilet on fire. Look at their reaction like very stone stone.I went to the coffee shop to do my business, after that i take a glance at the taxi stand , aunties wasn't there. So i exit from the back door of the coffee shop and smoke. Saw one of the aunty and she asked me where is the fire. I point to her the toilet...haha....aunty aiyo...you make us walk around to seach for fire.After smoking saw them still at the taxi stand so i fetch them. Along the way had some conversation with them, and found out that they are from Batam.
Originally posted by Cash Lee:Today after alighting pax at Bedok st3 taxi stand, saw 3 aunties waiting at the stand.1 aunty approach me, want to fetch them? i said no, than i on hazard light, came out from cab and tell them toilet on fire. Look at their reaction like very stone stone.I went to the coffee shop to do my business, after that i take a glance at the taxi stand , aunties wasn't there. So i exit from the back door of the coffee shop and smoke. Saw one of the aunty and she asked me where is the fire. I point to her the toilet...haha....aunty aiyo...you make us walk around to seach for fire.After smoking saw them still at the taxi stand so i fetch them. Along the way had some conversation with them, and found out that they are from Batam.
haha this is funny.......tks for sharing
Actually hor .... whether or not they can get a cab , it's not of my business . I wouldn't tell them what to do .
I would let them teach themself on how to get a cab next time .
If they still dun learn , then just have to wait again .
And hope they learnt .
I just move on , or rather BUSY and move on .
What advice them to call ? Mana wo eng ?
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:ONLY Standard Orders huh ?
Hopefully... this happen every other days....
wah bro if like tat everyday jiak buey liao lor~~~ 1-2am i be at hm olredi......... ![]()
Originally posted by JoeRaj:What to do? Once I was in CBD, got so many ppl waiting near Boat Quay, but I say be fair, I saw 1 lady waiting at taxi stand opposite side, so I avoid all these ppl and go to her.
"Yes" is a very rude way to reply to a greeting. It just doen't sound welcoming in all type of tone you can have. I ignore and rude to those sales person when they greeting me with "Yes" when i enter their shop.
Basic communication skill is essential, why respond in a way that you doen't mean it and let people misunderstand you? It might seem be a culture, but it is improper manner to socialise.
You practice fair and shown caring to passes by pax and proceed further to serve those in Taxi Stand, why just can't finish it with beautiful words?
From the perspectives of pax and taxi driver communication, one skill that is nicel and very much good, that is, if can do, do not ask for the destination first, I know most brothers would ask impatiently for the destination, and that erases all other good communication. As a TD, try not to be a straightlace guy, allow pax to fit in first, follow by greeting, all these takes only less than a minute. Most of the time, pax will tell you where to go, and that sit in well with them, cos they feel in control and the TD is calm and understanding. Once pax open mouth first of where they want to go, you can nicely ask them any prefer roads and so on.
Set the tone for the enjoyable ride, no doubt we are anxious and tire at time, but paxs are also tire, may waited quite a while, or got work or other busy thing in their mind, I personally hv met a few paxs telling me seldom they met Cabbies who never ask for destination upon sat down. But interview of course is different, that one, haven't sit down yet.![]()
Got paxs especially those ladies pax who come in, talk about the rain, the hot whether or the mrt breakdown, then after awhile, they realize I am not moving, just meter on, then they laughed and tell me the destination, and for the whole journey, we can talk joke over her forgetfulness of that she is in a cab.
Originally posted by Techo:From my experiences, 80% of the time when i greet pax with "hi, hello", get no response n I feel very irritated. I mean, this is basic courtesy right. What are parents n teachers teaching our kids.
Another thing, when they speak to you, they'll go "er, turn left". You got to address the other party when you speak to them right? Like "uncle or mister" or at least an "excuse me". What are parents n teachers teaching our kids.
I can understand the pax annoyance, at least reply "hello" mah...
That's why I only like to fetch ang mo....cos they will ask your..."Hello, how's your day...." thing like that. Local I also dun bother to greet. Sometimes bad mood then....
Pax...."Uncle Punggol 21"
Me...."PUNGGOL 21 SO BIG!!! WHERE!!!!"
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:That's why I only like to fetch ang mo....cos they will ask your..."Hello, how's your day...." thing like that. Local I also dun bother to greet. Sometimes bad mood then....
Pax...."Uncle Punggol 21"
Me...."PUNGGOL 21 SO BIG!!! WHERE!!!!"
haha bro kenna "mountain" of course bad mood lar...........
just don't pass by me with "green TAXI" can already. it is not right.
your lights say you want pax. people flag... and drive past... illogical much?