Hi All,
I just join the industry 2 days ago. Current I am a super relief driver. My shift are Monday to Friday 5pm to 6am and Saturday 6am to 9.30am.
As I am new, any advice is greatly appreciated.
The biggest problem that I faced as a newbie is I simply cannot join the dots on the route when pax told me their destinations. Any advice on this?
Thank you.
Ask passenger for their preferred route and that will give you an idea how to go.
First of all, from your shift, you are a relief driver, not a super relief driver. My advice will remember the prominent object or tall building and the road surrounding it, for eg, if you see pinacle at cantoment road, you know where you are, from there you can go into tanjong pagar, outram, neil, chinatown, south bridge road, maxwell road, anson road and so on. Also remember famous food centre like maxwell foodcentre, or temple like sri maniam and so on. Sometime pax may tell us a small road which we might forget, so ask for any prominent building or object around it, if he said near pinacle, you will then be in a better picture to know it, or you can tell pax that you know where is pinacle, when reach there, kindly guide you along, Most will be willing to do it, afterall the best stop is what the pax wanted to stop at. But if you tell pax I dunno or never said anything, then pax may not be happy. Relationship between pax and TD is like all other relationship, it start at a point of interest, once that contact is make, it can become a friendly and happy ride for both pax and TD, unless you get those fark up one, then too bad.
Hi Bowah,
Thank you, its very helpful. Thank you very much!
Btw what is the difference between a relief and a super relief?
Super relief do not have a fix timetable, they can drive for many hirer of the same company, just like if a cabby go holiday, he ask want a relief for a week or few days, a super relief will take over if available. Mostly hirer will give super relief a lower rental rates, because he needs him.
I see now. Thank you once again.
TVL course provides you a singapore map rite.....
one side shows city map
one side shows singapore map
study both sides thoroughly
that's my advice
good luck...
Originally posted by bowah:First of all, from your shift, you are a relief driver, not a super relief driver. My advice will remember the prominent object or tall building and the road surrounding it, for eg, if you see pinacle at cantoment road, you know where you are, from there you can go into tanjong pagar, outram, neil, chinatown, south bridge road, maxwell road, anson road and so on. Also remember famous food centre like maxwell foodcentre, or temple like sri maniam and so on. Sometime pax may tell us a small road which we might forget, so ask for any prominent building or object around it, if he said near pinacle, you will then be in a better picture to know it, or you can tell pax that you know where is pinacle, when reach there, kindly guide you along, Most will be willing to do it, afterall the best stop is what the pax wanted to stop at. But if you tell pax I dunno or never said anything, then pax may not be happy. Relationship between pax and TD is like all other relationship, it start at a point of interest, once that contact is make, it can become a friendly and happy ride for both pax and TD, unless you get those fark up one, then too bad.
well said bro~~~
newbies just prepare to get knock around . . . . then will be better .
Tell the pax you're new and not sure of the way, no need to be shy. Ask them if thats ok or if they can guide you. Most will agree. Dont go and pressure yourself, relax you're not driving Barack Obama, dont need to be nervous.
Most places now got 2 or 3 way to go, ask pax which way he like. Eg Tampines now can go by 3-4 way depends on exact location, dont always think must go by PIE or TPE, can use Tampines Road or Bartley also, ask them.
Use your MDT map or if you have GPS use them, sometimes you free can cruise around estates and see the many ways to come and go.
Originally posted by Poolman:newbies just prepare to get knock around . . . . then will be better .
Newbies... want to know more....
can buy Bro Poolman....
1)... Lavender's

2)...
3)... Optional...

He will teach you (up to 95%) the tricks in his sleeves. ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Newbies... want to know more....
can buy Bro Poolman....
1)... Lavender's
2)...
3)... Optional...
He will teach you (up to 95%) the tricks in his sleeves.
Originally posted by Gagger:Wahaha.. jus_do_it.. your cig is it pirated? hahaha..
haha... OMG...
me not a smoker... haha.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:haha... OMG...
me not a smoker... haha.
Ask, just ask. Me until today still ask, unless i'm very confidence.
On top of what Gagger mentioned about asking pax to guide u, here my 2 cts worth:
When i started, I had this huge map from NTUC income showing the expressways and main arterial roads. I studied it to hv an overview of the singapore topography. For eg, there are several huge obstacles that requires drivers to do big detours such as Bt Timah Nature Reserves, Blank Spaces which are Military Installations like Paya Lebar n Sembawang Airbase, etc.
From north to south, what are the expressways (CTE, BKE n KPE) n main arterial roads (eg Upp Bt Timah rd/Clementi rd, Jln Bahar/Jln Boon Lay, Upp Thomson/Thomson rd, Upp Serangoon/Serangoon rd, etc). Likewise for east to west.
Next I tried to memorise all the HDB estates around our central Bt Timah Nature Reserves, east (eg , Bishan, AMK etc) west (eg, Bt Panjang, Jurong East/West,etc) north (Woodlands) n likewise for the south.
Then I tried to visualise what HDB estates lie above/below PIE, what lies between PIE/AYE, ECP/TPE, SLE.
After a while, there was this grid that formed in my mind which helped me to learn my routes faster n also understand why certain destinations require certain routes.
must ask and ask .
I am also a newbie. Any routes that i'm not familiar with, I ask and I will be guided by the pax. Sometimes, i know how to get to a certain area, eg CCK, but not the exact destination. Then when i reach, i will ask, do I go straight on? Pax will say, ya straight on and turn left at the next traffic light. And will continue to guide u to the destination.
Originally posted by Centori1965:I am also a newbie. Any routes that i'm not familiar with, I ask and I will be guided by the pax. Sometimes, i know how to get to a certain area, eg CCK, but not the exact destination. Then when i reach, i will ask, do I go straight on? Pax will say, ya straight on and turn left at the next traffic light. And will continue to guide u to the destination.
bro tks for sharing. so how's thing?
Slowly lar .... why kang chiong ?
Relax ......
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Newbies... want to know more....
can buy Bro Poolman....
1)... Lavender's
2)...
3)... Optional...
He will teach you (up to 95%) the tricks in his sleeves.
if go" bicycle" shop with Ah Pool often he teach the rest of the 5%,...........![]()
Thank you everyone here for the valuable advices, they are greatly appreciated.
I now study the Singapore map when I am queuing at AP. I started to take note more of prominent buildings when ferrying pax. I personally feel that fortunately in Singapore the road signs and directions are pretty much obvious. After my 3rd shift, I can say that a grid map of Singapore is slowly taking form in my head.
Before I joined the industry, I think all TD very shiok, just drive and collect fare. Nothing difficult. After 3 shifts, the waiting at AP queue, rain, pax "tsk-ing" in jam, "high tide" with pax on board, pax asking you to be F1 driver, noisy kids screaming and the lists go on... really not easy.
Let me show my appreciation by saying kopi on me :O I just need to know the time and place for night TD kopi sessions.
Once again, my thanks to all.