which taxi company offers the cheapest rental,or which model are the cheapest to rent?i am intending to be a hirer after i pass my TVL,also my driving experience not much.so can anybody recommend a cheap and easy to drive car?i wonder whether can make enough to cover rental plus petrol?
Go read the previous threads.....
same questions.... same answers....
almost 1,001 times already...![]()
yah thanks for the reply but how do i go to a previous threads regarding the above questions?search every topics or can use a search engine?
manually bro.
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:yah thanks for the reply but how do i go to a previous threads regarding the above questions?search every topics or can use a search engine?
There are many sticky thread like how to operate taxi meter and so on, you can learn from there, be focus and smart, there is no such thing as unable to cover rental and fuel cost, if so, 28,000 cabbies would had throw key already, however, there is a thing call less earning or no earning. A car you call car, a taxis you call taxis, it operate differently
In singapore, it is not cheap, on my off day, usually when go out with family only, at least a $100 or $200 gone, sometime more than that if go for lavish dinner or buy electronic goods. That is what life is in here, high cost of living.
Originally posted by bowah:In singapore, it is not cheap, on my off day, usually when go out with family only, at least a $100 or $200 gone, sometime more than that if go for lavish dinner or buy electronic goods. That is what life is in here, high cost of living.
yah bro now all the tins cost go up liao even go xxx costs also go up.......... ![]()
start as relief first... no wrong one...
IF you pass your TVDL...
Bro, start with relief first lah, try it out, get the hang of it before deciding to go hirer. Its just me, but sounds like you very kan cheong leh. do relief first then still got time to deicde to be hirer. And take your time to read the old threads.
Originally posted by fermat:Bro, start with relief first lah, try it out, get the hang of it before deciding to go hirer. Its just me, but sounds like you very kan cheong leh. do relief first then still got time to deicde to be hirer. And take your time to read the old threads.
yah man... agreed with u... bro fermat...
tis advice from seniors here... no wrong one...
trial... tested... proven... by many including khoon...
to bro foolish_2000... the most foolish thing to do is jump straight to become hirer...
be relief first... come for our once in a blue moon dinners... meet up some other drivers... hav a small n close network of kakis.. learn from each other...
once get the hang of it... den consider hirer...
but then again as bro Khoon and fermat say start being relief first,but most of the time we will be driving night,then as an inexperienced TD we can't see the routes clearly cos it's dark,then how to learn all the routes?
Brudder, learning routes night and day is, in my opinion, something you have to learn ojt. Can't be help. You are thinking of first day jitters right? I have been driving weekend relief for 4 months now and still get first day jitters, but I just tell them I just started driving last week and keep saying sorry. They are usually quite nice and will say, don't worry, I will show you the way. But of course, basic routes you have to know, including the expressways and so on and so forth. I say daily should be able to cover basic rental, fuel and food plus a bit more when you just start, but with more experience, you should see your earnings go up.
In the meantime, don't fret too much and just focus on your TVL and come to this forum to browse old threads. It will benefit you much. Take it easy brudder.
Yup that's right . . . . finally many start to believe that new drivers shouldn't be going into OMO .
Originally posted by Poolman:Yup that's right . . . . finally many start to believe that new drivers shouldn't be going into OMO .
if they wan let them be lor learn the hard way............
Originally posted by komade:if they wan let them be lor learn the hard way............
ya man why bother to explain so much? OMO , relief is up to individual la.
For those who always say relief relief relief, hello... without hirer where will have relief?
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:ya man why bother to explain so much? OMO , relief is up to individual la.
For those who always say relief relief relief, hello... without hirer where will have relief?
yah hor......... ![]()
Originally posted by fermat:Brudder, learning routes night and day is, in my opinion, something you have to learn ojt. Can't be help. You are thinking of first day jitters right? I have been driving weekend relief for 4 months now and still get first day jitters, but I just tell them I just started driving last week and keep saying sorry. They are usually quite nice and will say, don't worry, I will show you the way. But of course, basic routes you have to know, including the expressways and so on and so forth. I say daily should be able to cover basic rental, fuel and food plus a bit more when you just start, but with more experience, you should see your earnings go up.
In the meantime, don't fret too much and just focus on your TVL and come to this forum to browse old threads. It will benefit you much. Take it easy brudder.
To be honest, I got my TVL on mid Nov 11 and start relief one month later. Till date, me is lucky to find a hirer that let me drive weekend full only (Either Sat or Sun or both). In my first outing (Sat) i drove a while to pick up confidence and indeed the jitters is there. Although my first passengers (group of 4) don't the road (Poh Huat Road), they allow me to look at the Street Directory first before proceed. Thus lucky.
After that pick up another 3 more and use for private purposes. So to be honest need to be polite and humble to passengers and they will guide you just like my remaining 2 trips.
So, to start off as a relief is to gain experience unless you familiar with majority of road. Will be driving the coming weekend again but hopeful have good passengers and enough to cover my rental. Remember always ask the customer for their prefer route and ask them to guide if possible. Take care and concentrate on your TVLC first. Good Luck.
I never say newbies cannot be OMO .
U can be OMO , it will be better if u started off as relief then slowly move up as hirer .
Take gradual steps , one at a time .
Even PM Lee also started off as small minister before appointed as Prime Minister .
Our current Deputy PM Tharman will be our next Prime Minister .
Why ?
Look at his profolio now ..... he is taking gradual steps in becoming the next PM .
From minister of lower profolio to high profile full minister .
Including Finance Minister , Manpower Minister etc ....
U dun be a PM overnight .
Just an example .
i was relief until 2006 i think .... becoming a hirer , then becoming OMO , then back to finding a relief to share my burden .
David Chong was hirer for SilverCab Crown .... heard what he said before ?
Cash Lee also OMO before ....
Remember Sonatan that chap from CCK ? He OMO now , got his Sonata on November i think ?
U saw he posted any from since November ?
Is there any life after OMO ?
No life .
Sleep also no enough , where got time online ?
Usually forumer that became OMO disappeared totally from forum once becoming a OMO .
I know cos i forum mod .
One of the forum-mate name Chua , he help my LV colleague OMO for almost 14 days , when my colleague went for eye surgery , pls go and check what he said about taxi OMO after he tried it .....
He said he is not going to do it anymore !!
Just driving as relief for a few days can liao for him .
My last advice , as for OMO , the best is to get a taxi which gives you extreme low overheads .
Low rental is one of the first criteria i put on top .
Cos when u are sicko , off for that day , won't bite off your previous days salary .
EP77 another example , sicko due to HFMD , still need to pay rental .
Imagine u driving a Merc , @$127 , 3 days $381 in rental !!! Sick and not driving , bye bye $381 .
Chrysler and sicko ? Bye bye $450 !!
So how to curb such thing u cannot predict ?
Get a lowest rental taxi ..... like Wish 1.8 , after calculating all including benefits , u pay roughly $78 in rental .
Sick 3 days , not working , pay $234 nia ... still not too stiff .
Actually can you find a Auto car at $78 rental ?
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:but then again as bro Khoon and fermat say start being relief first,but most of the time we will be driving night,then as an inexperienced TD we can't see the routes clearly cos it's dark,then how to learn all the routes?
start as DAY Relief...
at least 3 active forumers are / were day reliefs...
bro Khoon but it's difficult to be a day relief,most hirers prefer to drive day!i think i will take up bro Poolman suggestion,get a cheaper rental taxi.like Wish 1.8 but which company is this?Transcab?