First, i read from somewhere: Taxis will continue to be exempted from child safety seat requirements. This is because it would not be practical for taxis to carry a number or variety of child safety seats which are of different sizes.
So i think none of the taxi problem-)!
Lucky i read again from here:9. However, research has shown that children face a greater risk of injury when travelling in the front seat. As such, a child or person below 1.35 m should only ride in the rear seats to minimise the risk of injury in the event of an accident. Anyone below the height of 1.35m who rides in the front passenger seat of a taxi will be required to use his/her own child restraint or booster seat to supplement the seat belt. For failing to do so, the taxi driver will be liable to a composition fine of $120/- and 3 demerit points. The passenger will also be liable to a composition fine of $120/-.
actually talking about seatbelt... Can I ask if it is compulsory the back passengers need to use seatbelt?
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:actually talking about seatbelt... Can I ask if it is compulsory the back passengers need to use seatbelt?
If 6pm, going back home from your Shenton Way office -> yes.
If 3 am going back with your new hot bf from Clarke Quay, no need.
Can?
Originally posted by WizQ:If 6pm, going back home from your Shenton Way office -> yes.
If 3 am going back with your new hot bf from Clarke Quay, no need.
Can?
oh, backseat are compulsory ah??? I think alot of ppl dunno wor...
i think the only issue is what if the pax refuse to put seat belt for their kids who are sitting behind? the law say driver would be fine too.
remember, say too much or insist can end the driver kena complain say harssment and also risk being fine $300. remember about the driver asking for the age of the kid? and what LTA reply?????????
stupid rules that make TDs in very difficult position
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
Kena caught (the expensive way)... fine lor... $130 ?
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
You got no.....?
Okay boys .... what's the problem with putting belts for all passengers on board our cab ?
It's safety our first priority leh bros .
Regardless of ages , and positions , for me , no compromise .
This one i learnt from one ang mor , what he told me was clearly logic .
A few years back , this ang mor on board my cab , he was sitting behind , an Englishman , immediately buckle up , so i kay kiang said to him : " Sir , Singapore don't have a law to be buckle up , so u can sit comfortably behind without seat belts "
He replied : " Sorry driver , it's everyone's safety . I am not saying you are a lousy driver , i am more concern with other driver . "
Logic ?
Yes ..... u'll never know which blur sotong will banged into you .
yah true alot of sotong drivers on the rds these days............
For me, i had a lesson from a french guy, he told me, "safety belts are not cheap, they are make for a purpose and also with a costly class cerification under the requirement of the authority and insurance cos." If you do not use it, it is a waste, some one safety belt already cost $600, and as TD, your rental do cover that expenses and for pax, they also paid to have that safety within. A car would have spent 2,400 in safety belt, not using it is really a waste...
Originally posted by bowah:For me, i had a lesson from a french guy, he told me, "safety belts are not cheap, they are make for a purpose and also with a costly class cerification under the requirement of the authority and insurance cos." If you do not use it, it is a waste, some one safety belt already cost $600, and as TD, your rental do cover that expenses and for pax, they also paid to have that safety within. A car would have spent 2,400 in safety belt, not using it is really a waste...
but still there r alot of sotong drivers on the rds the best tin next time can
tell car maker SG imported cars no need to install signal lights waste $$......... ![]()
Originally posted by Poolman:Okay boys .... what's the problem with putting belts for all passengers on board our cab ?
It's safety our first priority leh bros .
Regardless of ages , and positions , for me , no compromise .
This one i learnt from one ang mor , what he told me was clearly logic .
A few years back , this ang mor on board my cab , he was sitting behind , an Englishman , immediately buckle up , so i kay kiang said to him : " Sir , Singapore don't have a law to be buckle up , so u can sit comfortably behind without seat belts "
He replied : " Sorry driver , it's everyone's safety . I am not saying you are a lousy driver , i am more concern with other driver . "
Logic ?
Yes ..... u'll never know which blur sotong will banged into you .
ehhh...? I'm confused... few post infront say compulsory, arbo tio fine...
but u say law no need???
So does singapore law need those sitting behind to buckle up anot???
Originally posted by komade:but still there r alot of sotong drivers on the rds the best tin next time can
tell car maker SG imported cars no need to install signal lights waste $$.........
I like some MDT that voice out automatically once you press the start meter, "please fasten your seat belt" "please fasten your seat belt" "please fasten your seat belt", like that we no need to talk so much, just drive on, even if kenna caught not belt up, we can said, we already told them, not our problem.
However, I prefer the end of the journey voice, "please paid XXX, thank you" "please paid XXX, thank you".................v irritating to pax
Wear of seat belts is compulsory. 1 unfortunate case highlights this. I think it was 2009 or 2010 at Bishan St 11 x Braddell Road. Taxi with rear seat female passenger travelling along Braddell with right of way.
A car or van driven very fast tried to enter Braddell without giving way hitting the taxi square at the rear. The female passenger later died in hospital. Naturally driver of car/van charged in court and jailed, but the taxi driver also hauled up, because investigations revealed the pax wasnt wearing her seat-belt, onus on driver to ensure this said the judge. He got fined and license revoked.
So this is something to consider, just like the 5 pax theory, the seat belt issue is the same. If accident involving your cab and the passenger is injured or worse killed, you will also be held responsible, plus obviously an insurance claim against either you or the cab company. Of course passenger will never get full amount because he/she also liable for not fastening, but there's no such thing as 100% in 90% of accident cases.
Even if you had right of way, but knocked down a pedestrian who ignored a red light, courts will still award maybe 10-30% to the victim, because onus is always on you to keep to the speed limit and look out for pedestrians.
I also need to straighten things up. So if pax refuse to buckle up, can ask them alight?
Yes , it is a must to tell them to buckle up .
But say it in a more courteous tones .
" Ma'am / Sir , pls put on the seat belt , it's compulsory in Singapore , thanks mate ."
anyway in Singapore .... like what SAF always say ....
"U can do anything , dun get caught ."
But funny ....... once i was despatching four paxes . Traffic Light red , i stop and waited .
Traffic Police also stopped , stopped beside me ...... glance at me , i stared at him , he have a glance at the back ..... traffic light green , he just accelerated !
I smell his smoke knn .... later then i realized , the 3 chee byes behind never put one seat belts ......
Then why the TP never catch me ?
That time knn after election somemore .
No 1 . I can be charge for not putting seat belts .... $130 , 4 points .
No 2 . My passengers for those who have a valid driving license , also will kena $130 , 4 points .
Point No 2 is really ridiculous .
Ok, i make sure they all wear seatbelts, if not i ask them alight. I think within one week I will get a bottle smashed on my head. Then LTA will say let Taxi companies resolve, they only responsible to fine us if pax dun wear belts.
Originally posted by bowah:
I like some MDT that voice out automatically once you press the start meter, "please fasten your seat belt" "please fasten your seat belt" "please fasten your seat belt", like that we no need to talk so much, just drive on, even if kenna caught not belt up, we can said, we already told them, not our problem.However, I prefer the end of the journey voice, "please paid XXX, thank you" "please paid XXX, thank you".................v irritating to pax
haha bro i also like the voice when end of trip i stop meter.........
I never asked pax to buckle up. I find it rude to ask them buckle up. I am more concerned if they are eating or drinking behind.