Just now took a cab home.
From start to end, TD just keep quiet. When in car park, just have to give him instruction to turn right or turn left.
Even reach destination, ask him how much, just point to MDT. Really dun even bother to say a single word. Or is he dumb?
You gonna get slammed....

nothing wrong...
sometimes khoon also never say anything to pax...
silence is golden...
Bro Bingjames i thought ur a TD?how come u taking a taxi?
being a TD, some time got good and bad day. we sometime keep quiet to avoid some unnecessary trouble,
sometime when i took taxi, i will strike first as well sometime intro myself also a TDs and share info...
call fellow TD a Dxxx , really not nice word
Haha, let's see who is going to slam me!
I dun expect a TD to go into a long conversatio with me, I dun need it either.
But I do expect some basic form of courtesy and acknowledgement.
Ask him how much - just point to the meter.
So what u in a bad mood, whatever mood u are, u think it's fair to carry in into your work and customers has to see your mood.
Just because I am a TD, I should think on the TD's point of view?
I still think most TD are reckless driver, me driver 100km in the middle lane of expressway and still kanna zooom by two taxi, one left and one right, must be going at least 130 to be able to do that.
Still kanna cut in to pick pax, not only blue, or yellow, that I am sure Khoon will understand, maybe you must understand them and think of their rice bowl too right?
Maybe just because I am now TD, I should know better what TD should and should not do.
I am not expecting a great smile from you, just dun show me that "I kill your whole family"'s face. Is it too much to ask?
He's just having a bad day.... ![]()
Once evening I caught sore throat.
Within two hours I went from normal voice to a whining voice.
I agree with you that we needn't converse throughout the journey but at lease at the end of the trip will response you better.
To me, even how bad mood we are, we still need to treat our customer with some respect as they are the one paying.
Most importantly, we don't follow what he's doing (pointing at MDT) to our customer.
Take care
LOL... talk also genna say... dun talk also genna say... lao siong, what you want... the world to move according to your biddings?
I keep quiet all the time coz i believe commuters are entitled to their peace and quiet in the cab instead of listening to all the cock and bull stories by TDs.
But i make it a pt to acknowledge esp if the pax politely says turn left please , turn right please.
as for fare , i think its also polite to tell the pax instead of pointing, very rude.
Originally posted by Bingjames:Haha, let's see who is going to slam me!
So what u in a bad mood, whatever mood u are, u think it's fair to carry in into your work and customers has to see your mood.
I still think most TD are reckless driver, me driver 100km in the middle lane of expressway and still kanna zooom by two taxi, one left and one right, must be going at least 130 to be able to do that.
Still kanna cut in to pick pax, not only blue, or yellow, that I am sure Khoon will understand, maybe you must understand them and think of their rice bowl too right?
Maybe just because I am now TD, I should know better what TD should and should not do.
I am not expecting a great smile from you, just dun show me that "I kill your whole family"'s face. Is it too much to ask?
seriously if one were to use their previous safe and leisure car driving experience to as a TD ,doubt that guy is gonna make it.
One have to drive fast and be observant while being fast. Quiet days , u wanna drive wat? speed limit? 60km.h ? 70 km/h to look for pax ? better go home and sleep coz a pack of hungry wolves are out there scrounging for food.
100km/h on the expressway is too slow , perhaps u might wanna adjust to 110 to 120 km.h . Reach destination faster , pick another one also faster. Dont hug on to your fare.
Originally posted by Bingjames:Just now took a cab home.
From start to end, TD just keep quiet. When in car park, just have to give him instruction to turn right or turn left.
Even reach destination, ask him how much, just point to MDT. Really dun even bother to say a single word. Or is he dumb?
Hahaha BJ, you damn funny one...knn maybe you go from wet market to your house only 4 bus stop is it??...sure TD quiet lah,..tulan rental yet to cover and no durian drop.
I am also guilty of this. So if any of you take my cab, please forgive me.
But I usually will say something, but if the pax very kwai lan type then no need to talk, just pay me and f.o.
Frankly, it is not the obligation of the TD to talk to you as long as he knows what he is doing and bring you to the destination you wanted, end of transaction.
However, if he do not know his way and yet keep quiet and go the wrong way or against your instruction, then you can said something or suan him or complain about him. But dun whack a bottle on his head or kick his meter.
In human interaction and relation, there are levels that you need to be wary of it, body language can tell you more than a mere interaction between humans. A good communicator is able to read the body language and yet can bring himself to the level of a person he is talking to inorder to get the best of the relationship.
Social ethnic call for courtesy and civil on our day to day life, this are the norm, eg, hi, good morning...and end up with thank you sir, have a nice day are more of a norm, but TD comes from all walk of life, you should expect some without any social ethnic just like some paxs.
Originally posted by JoeRaj:I am also guilty of this. So if any of you take my cab, please forgive me.
But I usually will say something, but if the pax very kwai lan type then no need to talk, just pay me and f.o.
BJ damn kwai lan
as long no merry go round reach destination i pay the fare
i F off liao......... ![]()
TD are daily expose to social publicity, they are mould in a way of their experiences, what come out of their character is more of the experiences they had gone thru which can both be wrong or right.
The question here is, how the society at large look at a TD, his status in the society, the reputation and publicity, and the experiences the society face with TD in a day to day occurences.
If you think the society/public look at TD as a profession or a businessman, in the context of singapore, you are damn wrong. To my opinon, 70% dun even give a damn about TD, many think we are failure, that is why end up driving Taxis. So, in communicating with TD, they tend to have a few level up and feel proud of themselves by alway assuming that TD is stupid and do not know much thing.
In long run, when a TD start to experience such pax who tend to upper his level in society against TD, then silence is the best policy for this TD, that is what he adopted.
Sometimes i also keep qiuet throughout the journey, Reason...
1. Pax yaya papaya,broad my cab, greet them, no respond from them, only tell you the destinaton without clear details.Upon reaching,TURN HERE, TURN THERE, like i own them a living.WHen reached ask ask me how much? I also yaya papaya lah, just point at the MDT.
2. Maybe he had a unplesant encounter with the pax before you?So...it better to talk less.Usually if i unplesant encounter with the pax and after i drop them , i will stop my cab and
smoking before i go for next pax.
3. The more you drive, the more encounteration you will meet. You are new, one day you will know why.....
Cool bro, simple logic, you respect me, I respect you, end journey, you happy, i happy and somehow, our day will be happier.
Good chit chating can help us out of boredom, keep us awake on a lazy afternoon driving on PIE or AYE, it is best if pax and TD talk at the same frequency, pax once said, the best to talk to taxi driver is to talk about govt, lots of thing to talk....![]()
Originally posted by Bingjames:Haha, let's see who is going to slam me!
Expect (some more from only a few dollars biz) and you'll be disappointed.
Be a TD longer then see if you feel the same way!