Originally posted by bowah:TD are daily expose to social publicity, they are mould in a way of their experiences, what come out of their character is more of the experiences they had gone thru which can both be wrong or right.
The question here is, how the society at large look at a TD, his status in the society, the reputation and publicity, and the experiences the society face with TD in a day to day occurences.
If you think the society/public look at TD as a profession or a businessman, in the context of singapore, you are damn wrong. To my opinon, 70% dun even give a damn about TD, many think we are failure, that is why end up driving Taxis. So, in communicating with TD, they tend to have a few level up and feel proud of themselves by alway assuming that TD is stupid and do not know much thing.
In long run, when a TD start to experience such pax who tend to upper his level in society against TD, then silence is the best policy for this TD, that is what he adopted.
people like bowah & a few more bros shouldn't be a TD in the first place
look at their expression & communication skills
like wat pool always said,wat is happening to sinkapore?
Pls dear commuters,next time if u guys feel TDs are mostly uneducated,pls think again
come to this forum & see all the postings & you will know wat I mean
Sure got some reason behind it...But we dunno!Like the way u stop TD or the tone of talking,even a body langue..
he act dumb point the meter,either u act blind challenge him back on the spot or just pay $ & 4give n 4get.U hardly got chance to take the same TD again!
Originally posted by Teolk:people like bowah & a few more bros shouldn't be a TD in the first place
Pls dear commuters,next time if u guys feel TDs are mostly uneducated,pls think again
Totally agree after visit this forum!
rude? ever encounter a cab driver, I asked him if he can adjust his air con as I was feeling hot and humid when boarding the cab. guess what the cabby told me? i cannot adjust, you can take other taxi if you want.
Originally posted by Teolk:people like bowah & a few more bros shouldn't be a TD in the first place
Dr Cai must be the highest educated cab driver in spore. he became a cab driver after A*Star did not renew his contract and NUS/NTU did not offer him a job. so he became a driver. he got a PHD and educated at prestigious uni in US.
talk when necessary, even if you are in a bad mood. its hard to control your feelings once you are moody, but then it is necessary to adopt some decent customer service skills. the driver is probably tired or distracted after a long day driving. but whatever the reason, he should have tell the customer the fare at the very least when the pax asked how much.
how doe he feel when the pax said go to bedok when boarding. the cab driver asked the pax, bedok where? the pax remained silent, then say out bedok north. then the driver asked, bedok north street? the pax is quiet, then say, tell u when u reach there.
Originally posted by Poolman:show mdt to you ? must be either smrt . transcab or comfort / citycab .
just guess . . . A Comfort ?
The cab in question is a SMRT Toyota Crown. Driver is not an old uncle but a late 30s early forties guy.
Originally posted by Bingjames:The cab in question is a SMRT Toyota Crown. Driver is not an old uncle but a late 30s early forties guy.
maybe stunned that his CEO has just resigned, hence moody and upset about it.
Originally posted by Poolman:any cabby that know me , will tell you the real meaning of silence is golden .
i always say i am that sort that work more talk less type .
anyway mind telling us wht colour of taxi u took ?
I think many ppl here either dun understand what's the meaning of this sacred quote or is simply abusing it.
In TD context, it simply means when pax not in a mood to talk or dun wish to talk, best is to keep quiet.
But when time to open your fucking mouth like when ppl asking you "How much" u dun anyhow use this quote as an excuse ok!
Should or should not be a TD is each preferences, if TD cannot take the true of what is happening to sinkapore, than he can continue to dream on as tho he is the boss, the director and the managing director of his taxis, brother, no offence, I feltyou misunderstood my post.
In life, like it or not, there are social status, some rich but still humble, some look up only. So, in communication, you have to tackle it carefully, being poor myself, if one director enter my cab and put a air on him, of course, I remain silent and take him to where he wants to go.
But there are also rich who come in and ask how are you, how is your earning, and the conversation goes on, because that rich guy can lower his status to meet mine type, like a radio, once the frequency is well tune, you get the best communication.
Brother, me sec 2 level only leh, u guys dun look down on me, i very happy liao.
Originally posted by bowah:
Hahaha BJ, you damn funny one...knn maybe you go from wet market to your house only 4 bus stop is it??...sure TD quiet lah,..tulan rental yet to cover and no durian drop.
I thik TD mentality very funny and hard to please.
Too near, u black face
kanna go far to woodlands, u also complain
Ppl queuing almost an hour in airport cannot expect a "Uncle Tampines" or RWS cannot expect a "Uncle Vivocity can or not" like I do?
If you want to play the game of queuing up, be prepared for the result.
I kanna one handsome guy with his old grand mother who took my cab from Bangkit shop and safe to Pending LRT station, u know how short is it? keep on apologising some more?
In my heart I keep wondering what's wrong? less than 200m, earn $5.00, what's there to complain?
Originally posted by Jacky Woo:maybe stunned that his CEO has just resigned, hence moody and upset about it.
looking down on taxi driver? what about people working as sweeper, waiter, construction workers etc?
If people want to look down on me, what can I do? face it, ego and pride get you no where, just drive on. People change once they are up and got power, that is the truth of human. If one day, bro Pool become a director of transcab, what do you think he will be?
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:LOL... talk also genna say... dun talk also genna say... lao siong, what you want... the world to move according to your biddings?
The way some ppl here react is very funny.
Understand this is a TD forum and as TD will should side each other and protect each other's interest.
But this is also a forum for ppl like pax to feedback and for us to learn how ppl on the other side of the fence feel.
It is normal to take side but when it comes beyond reasoning and you need to twist and turns the facts in other to protect your fellowman, I think it's way to much.
As a TD, the standard protocol would be :
1. to greet the pax
2. ask them where they are going
3. their prefered route they like to take
4. if they are comfortable with the air con
when reaching their destination:
1. ask them if they like to stop here or continue before pressing the meter
2. ask them if they like a receipt
This are the basics expected of a TD.
For my above post, am I asking all that? I only expecting you to tell me that price and not just point to the MDT, is it too much to ask?
What u mean by the world to move according to your biddings?
The purpose of this forum is to share TD's grievances and well as mistakes so that we all can learn from it. If u will to protect until so obvious, what's there to talk then?
Originally posted by bowah:If people want to look down on me, what can I do? face it, ego and pride get you no where, just drive on. People change once they are up and got power, that is the truth of human. If one day, bro Pool become a director of transcab, what do you think he will be?
wow u got good attitude, good on u.
yes you cant control what other people think. I have learnt this, I dun care how you think, what I think is more important isnt it. you are not me, I must be accountable and good to myself isnt it. I have also learnt how to care less what other people think of me. so what if you look down on me, so. I couldnt care les, thats not my business. you cant control what other people think. but you can control how you think of yourself isnt it.
Originally posted by Bingjames:I thik TD mentality very funny and hard to please.
Too near, u black face
kanna go far to woodlands, u also complain
Ppl queuing almost an hour in airport cannot expect a "Uncle Tampines" or RWS cannot expect a "Uncle Vivocity can or not" like I do?
If you want to play the game of queuing up, be prepared for the result.
I kanna one handsome guy with his old grand mother who took my cab from Bangkit shop and safe to Pending LRT station, u know how short is it? keep on apologising some more?
In my heart I keep wondering what's wrong? less than 200m, earn $5.00, what's there to complain?
Same mah, as a ship worker myself, customer said, take this out, even near lunch time, I also hv to work, but with black face, than later, chief engineer said, shift that cargo into the bunker now, dun keng overtime ok..I lan lan have to shift fast before 5 oclock siren, then go home. But no OT, huat ki lan, sure face black black not happy lor. TD no different lah, also earning a living, but instead of looking at many boss faces everday like we, they only look at client face for the most 1/2 hrs and forget it
Originally posted by Jacky Woo:wow u got good attitude, good on u.
yes you cant control what other people think. I have learnt this, I dun care how you think, what I think is more important isnt it. you are not me, I must be accountable and good to myself isnt it. I have also learnt how to care less what other people think of me. so what if you look down on me, so. I couldnt care les, thats not my business. you cant control what other people think. but you can control how you think of yourself isnt it.
yeah brother, that is call maturity, you had matured ![]()
Most people care when there is a stake of interest in them, meaning, something to gain from them. Like now I very poor, no job, relatives never contact or come to me as often, but last year, when I kenna 4D first prize, many come and care for me, hope you understand the logic. There is a term call self interest.
By saying most, do not imply all, people like bro pool and some other TDs here do help and give without any interest, and these are truly good buddies.
From the way u post this comment, I gather that you are well educated.
I think you can make a good accountant, doctor or whatever you are trained for but I dun think you will make a good taxi driver with yr following comments:
Expect (some more from only a few dollars biz) and you'll be disappointed.
Be a TD longer then see if you feel the same way!
If you have that concept that for just a few dollars, you expect me to smile, this service industry, with always that few dollars, certainly looks miserable to you.
Worst till, with such education standard, one would expect you to be more tactful than going around criticising ppl's education standard.
Just for your info, Public Relation, the art of dealing with people, doesn't need a degree ok?
Have u read today's paper, the SMRT CEO's failure is her PR skills?
PR skils are natural, ah beng, ah seng, or ah lian ah huay can have it.
It's just saying the right thing at the right time in the right manner which obvious u are lacking in spite of your high level education.
Originally posted by bowah:
yeah brother, that is call maturity, you had maturedMost people care when there is a stake of interest in them, meaning, something to gain from them. Like now I very poor, no job, relatives never contact or come to me as often, but last year, when I kenna 4D first prize, many come and care for me, hope you understand the logic. There is a term call self interest.
By saying most, do not imply all, people like bro pool and some other TDs here do help and give without any interest, and these are truly good buddies.
I used to be angry and moody all the time. i realised when you are angry, you have expended alot of energies in it and its not good for your heart too. later you spent time and energy brooding over it, for what? what for you punish yourself with what other people say and you are angry over him/her for a few days. is it worth it?
I mean I still get angry, but I tell myself, why are you punishing yourself over a small matter, a frivolous remark. if you are angry with that person, that person is in your mind, so why you want to do that? its akin to bringing that person with you home, 24/7.
errrrrrrrr.. i don't even call people dumb. that's not nice.
but yeah... nowadays take cab if peak hour or got location surcharge must ask how much... coz' the fare & surcharges different screen so must get uncle to press and add up mahhh...
i also don't like taxi driver to talk. they talk, they drive slow. sigh.
this is when i want to ask, do taxi drivers drive slower for a short trip??
i stay tampines... i take to NTU - drive fast. Lane 1 on PIE all the way.
i take to Eunos/Paya Lebar - drive slow. Lane 3 on PIE all the way. even van overtake.
That is a misconcept that driving slow the meter go faster, taxi goes by distance.
Short trip slower could be because the trip is within the town with more traffic lights and other crossing, and the limit is max 70km/h. Longer trip mostly hit one of the highway and exist as much near to pax destination, so end up feeling shorter.
If longer distance, sometime i beg pax to talk to me, cos I scare fall asleep![]()
Originally posted by Angwk7118:call fellow TD a Dxxx , really not nice word
errrrrrrrr.. i don't even call people dumb. that's not nice.
Since when I call him Dumb?
According to Wiki
Originally posted by Jacky Woo:Dr Cai must be the highest educated cab driver in spore. he became a cab driver after A*Star did not renew his contract and NUS/NTU did not offer him a job. so he became a driver. he got a PHD and educated at prestigious uni in US.
Our very own F1taxidriver is also very highly educated but my friend is a modest chap. Dont like to blow around :D
Originally posted by Bingjames:Originally posted by sinicker:errrrrrrrr.. i don't even call people dumb. that's not nice.
Since when I call him Dumb?
According to Wiki
In my starting post, I am only asking a question "is he dumb?" as in he cannot talk?If I callhim dumb as in he is stupid, that would be wrong and rude of course.
sarcasm when u asked if he is dumb....how can a dumb person drive a taxi isnt it.