Please see the video below of a reckless driver.
Nissan Cefiro 2.3A, gold color, SFR4955E, 7 Jan 2012, around 0950hrs, along CTE towards City.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfpiHg_0ROA
Can report him to TP or not?
Looks like u are going quite fast yrself.
To report to TP, prepare to be a witness!
Anyway, if this guy continues like this, sure kena smashed up teruk one day
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:Please see the video below of a reckless driver.
Nissan Cefiro 2.3A, gold color, SFR4955E, 7 Jan 2012, around 0950hrs, along CTE towards City.
one problem with this china made cameras or maybe even the costly ones is they dont have a speed indicator , quite hard to prove to authorities about the speed.
bro i have seen worse ones . i juz encountered a few weeks ago a citycab crown was going at approx 170 km/h , i cut him at clementi Ave 6 AYE , he damn beh song kept on chasing me , then i was already doing 130 km/h , i was quite surprised , crown leh! so i let him thru and went on to pursue him,
guess what? i cant even chase him , once my speedo hit 160 km/h i let go of my accelerator . haha. this one cannot report coz im also speeding :p
i salute this guy for putting his life at risk in a Crown just so to prove his point :D
Both cabs were empty at that time.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:Please see the video below of a reckless driver.
if you stop the video at 0.05, you have a case. reckless driving to the motorcyclist.
otherwise, 0.05 onwards, you too did a few wrong things. just my thoughts.
From my previous experience:
Serious moving offences are:
a) Careless driving
b) Inconsiderate driving
c) Dangerous driving
d) Reckless driving
Normally for dangerous or reckless, there needs to be an observation of vehicle for about 400m. In your video, this is at most inconsiderate driving at the highest or the lowest changing lanes without signalling. (depends if he appeals an the IO grants a request to reduce the charge). If you were a police officer, even without video the charge could and would stick. But as a civilian, it will depend on your statement, willingness to testify, the video and of course his version. It will involve a lot of time on your part, so that's what you need to consider. Most of ex-colleagues have retired from TP, but technically I believe the driver could be charged if there's a will on the part of the IO.
For BCL's part, even a video or speed camera in your vehicle cannot be used in court as it not tested and certified. Previously only TP motor-cycles and highway patrol cars had them, the speed gun and now also the camera. Normal patrol cars could not book a driver for speeding but a chase or observation of more than 400m, could easily result in a charge of dangerous or reckless driving. Those days when I pvte limo driver sometimes, when CIsco of Aetos police riders or cars, I wouldn't even care and continue to drive fast (but of course not until over 120 kmh) If they go at 100, I would go at 110. But now I'm not sure because TP nowadays like to taiko all their duties, so maybe Cisco or Aetos motor-cycles may have been tested and certified.
The thing to notice is the 2 red lights on their bikes. All these bikes have 2 speedometers, 1 for their own speed and the other to record an offenders, when they click the button, the red lights come on, so take note when you see 2 red lights on a bike, could be a TP bike recording someone's speed. For overhead bridge hand held cameras, those days can only record 1 particular lane, but now I heard they got a better one that can cover 3 lanes, very clear and of course with your speed.
And TP riders also have the hand held cameras, but I think this one is for 1 vehicle at a time.
1 tip though: If you want to go fast, always better to have a leader. Eg: you driving fast but there's a car going even faster than, that car will become the target car not yours normally, of course you can't be 2-300 meters behind him, like that TP will catch you la, easier what. But for speed cameras, all can be captured, this is only for mobile squad chasing. Normally if you go over 15kmh, they might leave you alone, but speed camera must be careful, expressway I think over by 10-12kmh, you are quite safe, normal road speed camera don't play, under 10kmh at most.
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:one problem with this china made cameras or maybe even the costly ones is they dont have a speed indicator , quite hard to prove to authorities about the speed.
bro i have seen worse ones . i juz encountered a few weeks ago a citycab crown was going at approx 170 km/h , i cut him at clementi Ave 6 AYE , he damn beh song kept on chasing me , then i was already doing 130 km/h , i was quite surprised , crown leh! so i let him thru and went on to pursue him,
guess what? i cant even chase him , once my speedo hit 160 km/h i let go of my accelerator . haha. this one cannot report coz im also speeding :p
i salute this guy for putting his life at risk in a Crown just so to prove his point :D
Yes, true, there are much worst one, usually TP will just said they will look intot it, after that, no news liao, to be witness also very troublesome, keep going in and out of Ubi and even court, where got time leh
Originally posted by JoeRaj:From my previous experience:
Serious moving offences are:
a) Careless driving
b) Inconsiderate driving
c) Dangerous driving
d) Reckless driving
Normally for dangerous or reckless, there needs to be an observation of vehicle for about 400m. In your video, this is at most inconsiderate driving at the highest or the lowest changing lanes without signalling. (depends if he appeals an the IO grants a request to reduce the charge). If you were a police officer, even without video the charge could and would stick. But as a civilian, it will depend on your statement, willingness to testify, the video and of course his version. It will involve a lot of time on your part, so that's what you need to consider. Most of ex-colleagues have retired from TP, but technically I believe the driver could be charged if there's a will on the part of the IO.
For BCL's part, even a video or speed camera in your vehicle cannot be used in court as it not tested and certified. Previously only TP motor-cycles and highway patrol cars had them, the speed gun and now also the camera. Normal patrol cars could not book a driver for speeding but a chase or observation of more than 400m, could easily result in a charge of dangerous or reckless driving. Those days when I pvte limo driver sometimes, when CIsco of Aetos police riders or cars, I wouldn't even care and continue to drive fast (but of course not until over 120 kmh) If they go at 100, I would go at 110. But now I'm not sure because TP nowadays like to taiko all their duties, so maybe Cisco or Aetos motor-cycles may have been tested and certified.
The thing to notice is the 2 red lights on their bikes. All these bikes have 2 speedometers, 1 for their own speed and the other to record an offenders, when they click the button, the red lights come on, so take note when you see 2 red lights on a bike, could be a TP bike recording someone's speed. For overhead bridge hand held cameras, those days can only record 1 particular lane, but now I heard they got a better one that can cover 3 lanes, very clear and of course with your speed.
And TP riders also have the hand held cameras, but I think this one is for 1 vehicle at a time.
1 tip though: If you want to go fast, always better to have a leader. Eg: you driving fast but there's a car going even faster than, that car will become the target car not yours normally, of course you can't be 2-300 meters behind him, like that TP will catch you la, easier what. But for speed cameras, all can be captured, this is only for mobile squad chasing. Normally if you go over 15kmh, they might leave you alone, but speed camera must be careful, expressway I think over by 10-12kmh, you are quite safe, normal road speed camera don't play, under 10kmh at most.
wow super long post but i agree cameras cannot be used to nail speedsters.
Actually when all these MIC cameras came into the market a year plus ago , the first few people who bought like me , insg & then Poolman and a few others . We bought with the mindset that it can be used as evidence in the event of an accident.
Look what the camera is used for nowadays?
1 fella used it to film the blue cabs flouting laws just so as to take revenge , another fella also use it coz he hate the blues
then a lot of others use it to film others speeding .
In time to come , cameras will be used to sabo one another . so much so for its effectivness
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:one problem with this china made cameras or maybe even the costly ones is they dont have a speed indicator , quite hard to prove to authorities about the speed.
crown 170?? zhun boh?? knn the driver muz be deaf liao......... ![]()
Originally posted by komade:crown 170?? zhun boh?? knn the driver muz be deaf liao.........
deaf man cannot drive taxi meh? i only know blind man cannot. ![]()
Originally posted by komade:crown 170?? zhun boh?? knn the driver muz be deaf liao.........
100% zhun coz i was pursuing him at 160 km/h . yet he can still pull away, i treasure my TDVL so i didnt try anything funny.
I had wanted to take out my SD card tghen and post a video but that would not be fair as his license plate would be captured while i myself is equally guilty of speeding.
Wow,
Sg has no lack of potential F1 drivers or Initial D Drivers
Originally posted by Mr Milo:
Wow,
Sg has no lack of potential F1 drivers or Initial D Drivers
An F1 car is made to go fast but u have to salute this guy , a beat up Toyota Crown manufactured in the wad? 90s? outgunning and blowing a modern , 6 air bag VVTI engine etc etc Toyota Wish ![]()
Lolz
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:100% zhun coz i was pursuing him at 160 km/h . yet he can still pull away, i treasure my TDVL so i didnt try anything funny.
I had wanted to take out my SD card tghen and post a video but that would not be fair as his license plate would be captured while i myself is equally guilty of speeding.
I remembered those nights driving a sonata. Yes i was racing towards city along CTE after sending pax home, and a crown would fly past me.
But hor i did not know a crown can go at 170km/h.
I dun know why crown drivers so hiong. Airport boulevard at night, those crown uncles are racing towards T1 to get reincarnated faster?
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:100% zhun coz i was pursuing him at 160 km/h . yet he can still pull away, i treasure my TDVL so i didnt try anything funny.
Can obscure the video easily. Just re-export the video in lower resolution using something like adobe premiere and the license plate will be blurred out.
haha well said bro~~~~ knn 90s old tech beating technology 20yrs younger.......
like they say old sch is the best~~~~~ ![]()
Originally posted by Insg:deaf man cannot drive taxi meh? i only know blind man cannot.
ai ni kuan kong ho tia meh member?? ![]()
Honestly. The way I see is not reckless.... He was trying to rush through heavy traffic though. I drive somewhat like that if I got urgent matters to attend to. I think my threshold for reckless start from imposing on others forcing others to react or brake(those delibrately speed up to block not counted). I argued with the world about road hogging since many years back. Coz I did rush some chap to A&E for urgent medical attention, but I guess road hoggers won the war. So if rushing, just have to find your own way through.
And Crown rocks! If only they were given a new lease in life, maybe new turbo diesel and reasonable sized tyres with better shocks. I do know Crown can do 160km/h, wasn't sure if it could do beyond that. And btw, it's never the car alone, it's always up to the individual driver to gauge the limit of the car and do as per his judgement. Best car with the best brakes still will crash horribly. And also crown does share similar platform as the Toyota AE86 : )
Originally posted by Serpent33:Honestly. The way I see is not reckless.... He was trying to rush through heavy traffic though. I drive somewhat like that if I got urgent matters to attend to. I think my threshold for reckless start from imposing on others forcing others to react or brake(those delibrately speed up to block not counted). I argued with the world about road hogging since many years back. Coz I did rush some chap to A&E for urgent medical attention, but I guess road hoggers won the war. So if rushing, just have to find your own way through.
And Crown rocks! If only they were given a new lease in life, maybe new turbo diesel and reasonable sized tyres with better shocks. I do know Crown can do 160km/h, wasn't sure if it could do beyond that. And btw, it's never the car alone, it's always up to the individual driver to gauge the limit of the car and do as per his judgement. Best car with the best brakes still will crash horribly. And also crown does share similar platform as the Toyota AE86 : )
they should hav used AE86 for taxi......... ![]()
Originally posted by komade:haha well said bro~~~~ knn 90s old tech beating technology 20yrs younger.......
like they say old sch is the best~~~~~
Straight road all u have to do is just floor the accelerator thats all . Real skill comes in cornering i feel
Not that i cant beat or match but i treasure my TDVL .
If at that time in front got ambush or wrx its bye bye to taxi driving.
Bo Call Liao is bad enough , i dont want to end up with Bo Taxi Liao
Like you say. Real challenge is around the corners. Corners no ambush one. Just concrete walls : ) But I got very high regards for crown cornering ability. You must consider the almost gripless tyres. It's probably the slowest compared to other cabs but dynamics are good. A few people I know have seen a Crown slide round a corner with excellent balance.
I think you treasure your driving licence more....
(anything more than 60km/h above speed limit will have your licence revoked asap).... ![]()
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:An F1 car is made to go fast but u have to salute this guy , a beat up Toyota Crown manufactured in the wad? 90s? outgunning and blowing a modern , 6 air bag VVTI engine etc etc Toyota Wish
Well.... everybody loves to speed.... i did 60km/h above your previous post before
... racing with a Mit evo from BKE to SLE..... dun pray pray with merc
. Nobody will look at their speed-o-meter, only concentrate out front....the heart will be pumping faster than your breathing.
The Mit evo just have to filter to the 2nd lane... ( even their pickup is great )... but on long run... they will lose out... (as their factory-made speed are limited to just 180km/h). ![]()
GONE is those dayz of reckless.....
I am a changed man....
ONLY 70km/h now.... SAFE DRIVING.... (bo pian)... ![]()
When young, driving is alway wanted to get in front of the pack, you pass a merc at 120, a BM zoom past at 130, then you go up to 135 overtook him, then out of somehwere, a WRX sped by at 150, so how? chiong at max 160, then out of the sudden, another WRX sped pass you at 170, you glance at it, it got siren with orange strip..siao liao lor. But be bless that the this WRX asked you to pull over, cos you might end up in sin ming road or mount venon