Would you? Tried once when the fare was $12.20. Wondering..... Most of the time in the morning I won't have coins....
No coin, $6 can or not, at least give uncle a cup of kopi.
first trip of the day... uncle give discount one...
99 cents also discount...
first trip onli take the $$... anything behind the . never take..
alternative if pax give tips also can...
first transaction of the day cannot see coins...
tis one a old TD teach khoon de... why lei?
breaktime den share...
Khoon say correct, 1st trip dun take coins never mind.
Anyway give discount to pax who deserve it, you can tell sometimes what pax you ferry and that they take a cab because really bo pian, they could have taken something cheaper if they had a choice.
NS boys, students and some old people (not all some very calculative) are the usual ones. Like the cleaner i took she worked late frogot the time no choice had to take a cab, these kind of people all can one.
Pax give you tips, you also can give tips. But when I take cab I alway pay towards the dollar never in coins, if 6.20 becomes 7, if over 8 must be 10. But if driver damn kwai lan, then exact fare, but out of 100, only 1-2 or never sometimes.
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Khoon say correct, 1st trip dun take coins never mind.
Anyway give discount to pax who deserve it, you can tell sometimes what pax you ferry and that they take a cab because really bo pian, they could have taken something cheaper if they had a choice.
NS boys, students and some old people (not all some very calculative) are the usual ones. Like the cleaner i took she worked late frogot the time no choice had to take a cab, these kind of people all can one.
Pax give you tips, you also can give tips. But when I take cab I alway pay towards the dollar never in coins, if 6.20 becomes 7, if over 8 must be 10. But if driver damn kwai lan, then exact fare, but out of 100, only 1-2 or never sometimes.
Ya I NSF lol. Usually take in the morning cause late for camp. Cab fare always 12.20(around there). Think I should keep asking for discount?
Originally posted by Chris88110:Ya I NSF lol. Usually take in the morning cause late for camp. Cab fare always 12.20(around there). Think I should keep asking for discount?
wake up earlier or stay in...
Originally posted by Chris88110:Ya I NSF lol. Usually take in the morning cause late for camp. Cab fare always 12.20(around there). Think I should keep asking for discount?
Genuine case ok lah, but if you make it a habit then it will reflect on you in other ways I believe.
But if you really dont have coins, just tell the driver, uncle can pancan NS boy. If you ask nicely, I'm sure 95% of drivers will accept, of course there's always some who wont but it's within their right.
But you may notice a thing about drivers not liking to ferry NS boys because most of you pay by NETs. A convinient thing for you but for some drivers who need cash daily to roll, it becomes a problem, because on certain days after certain hours it can take 3-4 days before they see the cash. If 1 pax or 2 does that it's ok, but if you get a sizable number then the driver could very well end up with little or no cash to show home for that day's effort.
So be understanding a bit, if got ATM nearby where you intend to hail a cab, go and withdraw la, if out of the way then bo pian.
Give and take a bit, that's all what most drivers will ask. We also did NS or served in uniform and we know how tough it can be for an NSF to juggle the small allowance he gets.
For me, I treat NSF and uniformed groups as doing a duty for their country, which is my country also. Sometimes what you earn, even as a regular, is quite tough to juggle both for yourself and your families. So giving you guys a discount, is not a problem for me.
Originally posted by JoeRaj:For me, I treat NSF and uniformed groups as doing a duty for their country, which is my country also. Sometimes what you earn, even as a regular, is quite tough to juggle both for yourself and your families. So giving you guys a discount, is not a problem for me.
wow, you are so nice.
Ah hammer, you come from a reasonably well to do family, not making any assumptions here, you could have very well not received any financial help from your family and managed entirely on your own.
But I was a regular in the Police from the late 80s to mid 90s, salaries weren't high in my time not like now, everyone getting promoted, those days to get an 'ikan bilis' had to wait long long one.
So it was quite tough for me, not terribly tough, but still had to struggle from pay day to pay day.
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Genuine case ok lah, but if you make it a habit then it will reflect on you in other ways I believe.
But if you really dont have coins, just tell the driver, uncle can pancan NS boy. If you ask nicely, I'm sure 95% of drivers will accept, of course there's always some who wont but it's within their right.
But you may notice a thing about drivers not liking to ferry NS boys because most of you pay by NETs. A convinient thing for you but for some drivers who need cash daily to roll, it becomes a problem, because on certain days after certain hours it can take 3-4 days before they see the cash. If 1 pax or 2 does that it's ok, but if you get a sizable number then the driver could very well end up with little or no cash to show home for that day's effort.
So be understanding a bit, if got ATM nearby where you intend to hail a cab, go and withdraw la, if out of the way then bo pian.
Give and take a bit, that's all what most drivers will ask. We also did NS or served in uniform and we know how tough it can be for an NSF to juggle the small allowance he gets.
Never paid by nets before lol. I make it a point to carry cash with me at all times. Canteen in camp oso cannot use nets. Haha. Nice to know there are drivers out there like you. Will try not to make it a habit but most of the times is I on time but is the bus always come late.....
Originally posted by Khoon2580:wake up earlier or stay in...
Tried wakign up earlier but this particular bus is rather infrequent..... Bus no. 2.
Always remember NEVER pay more.
If fare is $11.22, pay $11.20. (Some will round it to $11.30)
May sound cheapo, hell no, its already expensive like nobody's biz.
------ > NEXT thing
If fare is $24, you gave $50 expecting $26...
Only to be told "Sry i only got $25"...
Pls say "I expect $26 no 1 cent less" or else take back $50 and walk.
--------> personally i encountered this 2 scenario, i paid the round up fare, i accepted the $25. Next TD who give me this crap will get it from me.
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Ah hammer, you come from a reasonably well to do family, not making any assumptions here, you could have very well not received any financial help from your family and managed entirely on your own.
But I was a regular in the Police from the late 80s to mid 90s, salaries weren't high in my time not like now, everyone getting promoted, those days to get an 'ikan bilis' had to wait long long one.
So it was quite tough for me, not terribly tough, but still had to struggle from pay day to pay day.
Ya I am in Navy from 96-02. Can say better then before. Now my juniors lagi better. My times after 6 years 1SG liao for those convert to 10 years PP scheme ones SSG on the 7th year by 10th year all 2WO liao...LOL
Originally posted by Chris88110:Tried wakign up earlier but this particular bus is rather infrequent..... Bus no. 2.
bus no.2. You commando?
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Khoon say correct, 1st trip dun take coins never mind.
No wonder this morning the fellow TD pax i took gave me $10 for fare of $8 plus and keep the change.
Originally posted by Khoon2580:first trip of the day... uncle give discount one...
99 cents also discount...
first trip onli take the $$... anything behind the . never take..
alternative if pax give tips also can...
first transaction of the day cannot see coins...
tis one a old TD teach khoon de... why lei?
breaktime den share...
Khoon, where do u guys normally break? Would love to know the reason why...
Originally posted by Centori1965:No wonder this morning the fellow TD pax i took gave me $10 for fare of $8 plus and keep the change.
Must support our fellow drivers. Even a small tip can sometimes brighten them (ourselves) up a bit.
If your mood not good that day, but a pax gives you a tip, how to be angry about this? Definitely it'll make you feel appreciated and change your mood at that particular time.
Originally posted by ericgo:
bus no.2. You commando?
Nope, clerk.
i regularly let nice cab drivers keep the change.
Ehhh... Abit dot dot dot lehx... Got coin no coin is not an issue, u could give in another denomination then the uncle change for u coins ma... coins, no matter the amount, is still money...
Can the taxi uncle ask u $5.40 can anot???
Same logic, do not do onto other ppl wat you do not like...
But I feel sometimes its okay la. If you do that every single time, you'll definitely be blacklisted by the taxi drivers lo. hahaha. I think in cases when you are rushing for something and have no time to dig for coins, then can round off to nearest dollar la. Not so guo fen
For me easy lah, if reached and meter show $13.45, pax give $15, I see pax like very urgent want to drop, I dig and dig into my coin pouch, dig and dig, see and see, count and count ...then pax see already "Uncle you can keep the change, thank you:" bang.
Originally posted by bowah:For me easy lah, if reached and meter show $13.45, pax give $15, I see pax like very urgent want to drop, I dig and dig into my coin pouch, dig and dig, see and see, count and count ...then pax see already "Uncle you can keep the change, thank you:" bang.
This is standard everywhere in the service industry, go to restaurant and pay the bill they will return all the change in coins, make you paiseh to take, especially with your gf/wife.