Now new taxi drivers very tough u know ?
On theories , they also must be top top also now .
What am i talking ?
U start driving a cab ......
U must know what time bus lane start ?
What time bus lane ends ?
What time whole day CBD started ?
What time end ?
What price of ERP at different gantries ?
What time ERP start and end ?
What time whole day bus lane start and end ?
What time peak hour start and end ?
What time CBD can collect $3 ?
What time 25 % start and end for morning and evening ?
Damn headache for thse new birds knn
that's not finished yet ...
routes also must remember .
building also must remember .
where got surcharge also must remember .
what time can collect surcharge for different timing .
also must know taxi fare structures between different taxi coy .
worst if sent to ap .
Ang mor pax say : " I am going to Qantas Terminal !'
knn siow liao , Qantas .
" Sir , which terminal ."
Pax replied : " I dunno , u tell me ."
"Oops ."
worst thing in driving pax to AP , u do not know where to alight them , at taxi stand ? U are doomed !
Then u finally got the place to alight them .
Then how ? AP which terminal to Q ?
Terminal 1 , ti kum ? Stuck for one hour then u know .
AP also must do basic homework one .
1 more important to add
on saturday which part of the cbd no need to pay gantry fee but can go in and collect the S$3.00 ![]()
So some chose the easy way out , dun attempt to Q at any terminal .
When u come to think of it : " Is that the best thing to do , forgo AP ?"
Again , it's wrong !
Driving a cab , AP knowledge is a must .
The toughest will be one pax demanded you to go by quickest no jam route , no bypass any ERP or CBD , and she/he know the way , but do not know the road's name .
Tough ?
I think so .
That's is why , driving a cab , cannot be lone ranger .
At times , u will face problems like SilkAir which terminal ?
Now u might think , its okay , got iphone or smartphone ?
Let me tell u this , when driving , and see handphone , it's the most dangerous stunt to perform .
what timing westbound gantry in operation
what timing eastbound gantry in operation
what timing northbound gantry in operation
what timing southbound gantry in operation
weekday orchard gantry what time in operation
saturday orchard gantry what time in operation
how much are all these gantry at different timings
U need kakis .
Lone ranger eventually will back out of taxi driving , cos when they face any problems , they cannot find the quickest way to deal with it , where such problems can be just one call away .
When a master like me say something , listen .
You will find out that after 888 posts , what i said it's very true .
So one fine day , one pax from Shenton Way say : " Uncle AMK Ave 3 , block 314 , go by CTE ."
Okay CTE , halfway , lady ask : " Uncle , how many gantry huh ?"
Ermmmm ......... dunno sorry .
"Uncle , how much ERP now ? "
Ermmmmm .... again dunno sorry .
Professional enuf ?
Okay , since dunno , "uncle pls go by Thomson"
Ermmmmm Thomson ?
F lar juz drive n worry later~~~~
up till today ppl ask me i tell them im a newbie driver.......... ![]()
No no no!better know something than nothing b4 u jump into TD life!I heard conversation in market last yrs.A:todays never drive,B:stop drive taxi anymore,A:why,B:many thing & route dunno..pax dun take my cab or i reject the pax..end up drive for long hours still can't earn $!
slowly learn along the way no 2ways about it.....
My daughter needed some help to apply for School so I spent the morning and early afternoon doing her things and only went down to Transcab around 4pm.
After waiting and talking to the satff, was given some numbers. Have to go to the back to check it out. I think scanning across the compound, can see more than 100 Wishes. I dunno about those that I cannot see, maybe another 100 or 200.
Like treasure hunt, walk around the back, when see the correct number, have to peek inside. Staff says if want to look inside, must find Toh, but dunno where is Toh.
Finally have in mind what I want, so I went back to the office...
I seldom say this but.... KNN,
the Front Glass Door was locked. And the people inside pretend not see you.
I always believe that it is good to share. Out of 10 good things you tell others, you will be surprised that only one or two really follow through on your advice. So we dont really have to worry about too many people doing the same thing. The rest listened, try it out, but gave up too soon.
I am also grateful to all the other TD Brudders, but you got to hand it to Pool, for writing all those details.
Maybe after a few months OTR, I may consider taking all the sharings in this forum and write a book out of it. If I got the free time as an OMO. Ha ha ha.
StriveOn, so how? You got your WISH?
StriveOn, welcome to the Red cab family. Can see you are very excited and on the ball to be a TD. Besides all "know-how" as a TD, you must also be prepare on the service and support level from Red cab. I said this becos i see your KNN is out. Wait when you come for servicing...see the queue system, the servicing atitude, the waiting area ..haha. Every Taxi company got its pro n cons, you got to adjust to it. All the best !
Originally posted by StriveOn:_____________________________________
Poolman, your postings are very enlightening. Would you believe me if I tell you I am copying and taking notes from your advises above?
Not only just from me, but also on behalf of newbies, and those who is quietly reading your postings, helping them to do a better job,.. I would like to say THANK YOU.
I always believe that it is good to share. Out of 10 good things you tell others, you will be surprised that only one or two really follow through on your advice. So we dont really have to worry about too many people doing the same thing. The rest listened, try it out, but gave up too soon.
I am also grateful to all the other TD Brudders, but you got to hand it to Pool, for writing all those details.
Maybe after a few months OTR, I may consider taking all the sharings in this forum and write a book out of it. If I got the free time as an OMO. Ha ha ha.
omo write book?
got time meh?
dun think even hav time to read forum... ha ha...
Originally posted by StriveOn:My daughter needed some help to apply for School so I spent the morning and early afternoon doing her things and only went down to Transcab around 4pm.
After waiting and talking to the satff, was given some numbers. Have to go to the back to check it out. I think scanning across the compound, can see more than 100 Wishes. I dunno about those that I cannot see, maybe another 100 or 200.
Like treasure hunt, walk around the back, when see the correct number, have to peek inside. Staff says if want to look inside, must find Toh, but dunno where is Toh.
Finally have in mind what I want, so I went back to the office...
I seldom say this but.... KNN,
the Front Glass Door was locked. And the people inside pretend not see you.
their timing veri "zhun one"
open door and close door - one min also wont "cham siong" de..
go transcab - to get your stuff done fast.. muz be like those promotion-got-free-gift-kind... early morning go camp outside the office... once door open rush in and Go To The Right Person... see who hands legs fast will be served first...
how to find toh? got tactic one... hee hee...
Originally posted by MMO69:StriveOn, so how? You got your WISH?
Not yet la.
Stupid people inside dun want to open the door. So I go home. Will go again tomorow.
At first I saw the 1.8 litre, but most are a little dirty beacuse 3 to 4 years old, so I ask for one to two years old, which is the 2.0 Litre. Only a few dollars difference.
Already got something in mind, tomoro go down again.
It is not the dirty that I mind, but generally, dirty means not take care, and I afraid save a few dollars, end up got more problems.
Originally posted by Bl1368:StriveOn, welcome to the Red cab family. Can see you are very excited and on the ball to be a TD. Besides all "know-how" as a TD, you must also be prepare on the service and support level from Red cab. I said this becos i see your KNN is out. Wait when you come for servicing...see the queue system, the servicing atitude, the waiting area ..haha. Every Taxi company got its pro n cons, you got to adjust to it. All the best !
ya lor...
even Q at AP faster den Q for servicing...
but actually khoon see most dun mind Q-ing... den talk cock about everything...
best is usually transcab not many calls de right? but if go Q in the morning for servicing time... MDT keep blinging calls...
Originally posted by StriveOn:
Not yet la.Stupid people inside dun want to open the door. So I go home. Will go again tomorow.
At first I saw the 1.8 litre, but most are a little dirty beacuse 3 to 4 years old, so I ask for one to two years old, which is the 2.0 Litre. Only a few dollars difference.
Already got something in mind, tomoro go down again.
It is not the dirty that I mind, but generally, dirty means not take care, and I afraid save a few dollars, end up got more problems.
Better go early and you can start driving straight away. Don't waste your 1 day rental.
Originally posted by MMO69:Better go early and you can start driving straight away. Don't waste your 1 day rental.
first day rent free...