I am so shy to report my Driving Log. I think I have got to be the most idle Newbie in town.
First day, drive 3 hours plus (fare: $95.29), Second day drive 5 hours ($133.16)
Day 1
T1. Harbor Front to Emerald Park. My maiden trip. Middle-aged Indonesian couple. Did not hear Emerald properly, thought it was Industrial Park. I mean they look like business people going to check on their factory. When at Indus Road, he kept telling me to go right. Had to cut through 2 lanes.
T2. Havelock to Queensway. Short trip. Two youngster.
T3. Queensway to Bukit Gombak. Young guy, tan skin with Tatoo on his chest. While in the cab, he spoke on the phone in Cantonese. On arrival, I communicated with him in Cantonese too.
T4. Bukit Batok to CCK North. Old lady, slow moving, but very nice.
T5. CCK Nth to Marina Square. $34.29 Wow!
T6. Raffles Tower to Centrepoint. Young lady, 20+. On arrival, asked for receipt. Make me nervous, kept thinking, did I do or say anything wrong to her? Uncle is new, don’t play me out.
T7. Centrepoint to ParkRoyal on Beach Road. 2 ang moh ladies.
T8. ParkRoyal to Balmoral. 2 Ang Moh Gentlemen. Need to help them find their destination.
By then, my $10 and $5 and $2, all mess up. And my coins, some drop onto the floor board. Gave almost 80 cents discount to the 2 youngster (Trip 2) because I recounting the coins again and again.
The CBD Paxes benefited because I did not charge CBD surcharge. I pressed the wrong button for CBD, and decided not to press anymore for that day.
Connection was good.
Decided to call it a day, need to go back and re-organise
I understand that newbie overstressed themselves trying to meet he daily minimum.
So I tell myself, no target for March. Rental (97 x 15 days = $1455) considered it as paid.
My objective is to cover costs, and be able to meet daily targets by end of March.
Day 2
T1. Bishan MRT to Jalan Tambur. Middle aged lady, bringing some shopping stuff back. Paid $6 for $5.82 fare.
T2. Thomson Plaza to Value Hotel. Plump guy, foreigner, I think Japan.
T3. Balestier to Bedok Reservoir. I think this man is in the Fish-ball business, he kept saying sorry about his fishy smell. No tips from him, gave exact.
T4. Bedok Reservoir to Yisun Ring Road. Malay woman. Good pax.
T5. Sembawang to AMK Ave 10.
T6. AMK Hub to Lor Ah Soo. Couple with a kid.
T7. NEX to Serangoon Sec Sch. Some big boys.
T8. NEX to Queens Condo. Young couple. Drop the girl at Serangoon Ave 1, (kiss, kiss, kiss) then sent the guy to Stirling Rd. Gotto get used to these kissing and petting behind my back.
T9. Stirling Rd to Jelapang. Family, made 2 stops.
T10. Bkt Batok to Chevron, Jurong East. This one is a young lady. Looks nice, not aggressive. Her fare was about $8.24 She had difficulty taking out her coins. I could have given her the disount but decided not to. Because if I gave her discount, she will leave the cab, so I just enjoy myself seeing her struggling with her coin pouch. Sorry la, mei mei.
T11. Clementi to The Sail
T12. MBS to Tekka. I did not put in the surcharge, fare was $8.67. The guy pass me $12. Return him the excess. Because Transcab fare list did not include MBS with surcharge $3.
After MBS, I went around in circles in the City, everywhere long Taxi Q. I think I don’t fully understand how to exploit the City. Looks like Gold mine but don’t know how to pick it out. Decided to call it a day.
A few learning points.
There are a lot of short trips around an area, and then one pax will shoot to another estate. Then again, there will be a lot of short trips around that area before another pax shoots to yet another estate.
Connection is good during the weekend.
$10 runs out very fast because all you need is 3 people paying with $50, you could give away $120 worth of $10. No, I wont get angry with the pax for paying with $50. I must stock up on $10.
Well dressed people are not as generous as those approaching the Ah-mah category. 2 days driving, and already got 2 incidents where the Ah-mah asked me to keep the change. Not much, but their heart is generous.
If you are generous, and you round your fares to the nearest 20 cents, you only need 3 types of coins, $1, 50 cents and 20 cents. So the coin box no need to be so cluttered. If not so generous, add in the 10 cents and 5 cents. (and 1 cents if you kiasu, but dunno whether LTA allows?)
My Challenges
I am still having problem with routes. This is the number one reason that makes me nervous. Until now Pax have not whack me yet. But there are some who says will guide me, but I afraid they give half past six instructions. Normally, I have to say “Sorry, I am new, let me check the map” then I set the GPS. But sometimes the GPS play me out with “Not Found”. I don’t mind driving less during this initial period, and keep on re-thinking the routes I have taken so that I no need to rely on the GPS. But, a person can only learn if he keeps on doing the things he wants to learn, that is to Drive.
City. Most TD loves it. When I was there, everywhere long Q (of Taxis). Not my priority to learn how to tackle the City, as I enjoy Road Sweeping. But still, have to learn how to unlock the wealth in the city.
Notes:
I used to drive a Pte Car before I took up the Red Wish. So I tend to use the Red Wish like my Pte Car. Have quite a few $0.10 fare (Fixed Rate) which my wife pays me for ferrying her around. I still have left over duties in my Tuition assignments making my OTR hours short, so I may not be the best example for a new TD to follow. But I can share experiences. My mindset have to change and use the Wish as a money-making machine.
Originally posted by StriveOn:I am so shy to report my Driving Log. I think I have got to be the most idle Newbie in town.
First day, drive 3 hours plus (fare: $95.29), Second day drive 5 hours ($133.16)
Impressive earning per hour. Well done.
Originally posted by MMO69:Impressive earning per hour. Well done.
But this one is weekend. Today Monday, I think going to be OBK.
Originally posted by Poolman:monday night if u huat better than day shift , u are good
I came home to take an hour rest, have a light meal then wanted to go OTR again.
But now, I think I rest for tomorrow.
(Actually I lazy, just want to find a reason to stay home)
Originally posted by StriveOn:I came home to take an hour rest, have a light meal then wanted to go OTR again.
But now, I think I rest for tomorrow.
(Actually I lazy, just want to find a reason to stay home)
wah piang... third day onli... u learnt to be idle liao... ha ha...
looks like JLKL got fight liao... hee hee....
Oh Yes, Poolman,
just want to let you know.
I check the behind of the MDT, tigthen all the wire connections, found the switch which you mentioned, turn it Off, then On.
Now my MDT works fine. Can see the Report History. So shiok !!
Nice sharing StriveOn. Please keep up the good work and remember to share your experiences with fellow forumers here :D
2nd day, drive 5 hours, gross $133. That's very good what. 5 hours can earn around $60 without stressing yourself trying to find pax, sitting down long hours and driving, is a good way to start.
But I think no need to post your takings, because some ppl by seeing think, wah Tdriving so good ah, 5 hours earn 60, security or other jobs work 8-10 hours then only can see that amt. They don't realise what happens to the body, the lack of CPF, off days annual leave etc, they just look at the $ and say wow!
Don't worry abt earning less, there's always tomorrow and don't get too excited by earning extra on some days. There's always days where everything doesn't go right.
Originally posted by JoeRaj:2nd day, drive 5 hours, gross $133. That's very good what. 5 hours can earn around $60 without stressing yourself trying to find pax, sitting down long hours and driving, is a good way to start.
But I think no need to post your takings, because some ppl by seeing think, wah Tdriving so good ah, 5 hours earn 60, security or other jobs work 8-10 hours then only can see that amt. They don't realise what happens to the body, the lack of CPF, off days annual leave etc, they just look at the $ and say wow!
Don't worry abt earning less, there's always tomorrow and don't get too excited by earning extra on some days. There's always days where everything doesn't go right.
JoeRaj, thanks for the encouragement. I think I was lucky, and all the prayers worked. Individual fare was miserable, less than $8, but the connection was super, probably because it is the weekend.
Today, there was a stretch of 45 minutes with no pax. The results was miserable.
Actually, I am very dissapointed with my number of hours on the road. Hope to improve that one.
how come u first day already know all the routes?i until now 1 1/2 months still blur!today tok one filipino couple,they say going bedok road,so i use ecp,but exited xilin ave,correct exit should be bayshore road,then they want to pay by nets,but our company,no nets!then they ask for discount,i gave them $5 discount