Originally posted by JLKL:
what i do till now is at taxi stand queuing, i just flip thru the street directory.. my weak side till now still is western singapore, so when got time, i just flip thru the western part and believe it or not, it really helps.. imagine everyday duno see how many times the same page.. try to drill inside your mind...
Your willingness to learn even while queueing is commendable. :)
When i was a young driver , how do i learn ?
When no pax , while cruising , my hand on steering , my heart on the road , my head thinking where should i go , and my eyes are on those building and road name .
My eyes will connect it to my head and like what JLKL say "drill it" in .
It works all the time .
Not neccessary must have pax then can learn . No pax also can learn .
Say i am at Bukit Batok West Ave 5 .
I would explore why they set West Ave 5 against East Ave 5 .
I will go and explore and ask myself "why are they doing that ?"
There must be a reason why they did it , and how they did it .
Then i exploited it and realized , West Ave 5 and East Ave 5 , are divided by a MRT track !!!!
Many blur at Bulit Batok West and Bukit Batok East .
I not only exploit Bukit Batok West 5 and East Ave 5 .
I went in further .
And i realized West Mall is the Central of Bukit Batok .
And from the MRT track between Gombak and Bukit Batok , it's divided by East and West of Bukit Batok .
Dun believe ? go and look at the map .
Originally posted by Poolman:Many blur at Bulit Batok West and Bukit Batok East .
I not only exploit Bukit Batok West 5 and East Ave 5 .
I went in further .
And i realized West Mall is the Central of Bukit Batok .
And from the MRT track between Gombak and Bukit Batok , it's divided by East and West of Bukit Batok .
Dun believe ? go and look at the map .
You should have been a detective!
Originally posted by JLKL:of all the routes.. inter-town in west is the most difficult from me.. example, jurong west st 91 want to go to jurong west st 41.. this type i blur one.. i sure ask pax, u can guide boh? haha…but if from town, want to go jurong, agar agar still can, thou some times need to call for help..
u off today but so early wake up?
Originally posted by Khoon2580:
u off today but so early wake up?
Originally posted by JLKL:of all the routes.. inter-town in west is the most difficult from me.. example, jurong west st 91 want to go to jurong west st 41.. this type i blur one.. i sure ask pax, u can guide boh? haha…but if from town, want to go jurong, agar agar still can, thou some times need to call for help..
JW st 91 is the most end of JW or so call HDB, after that is all army camp and companies
JW st 60s onward to 92 are call JW extension, in between them is Boon Lay, dunno why the fark SLA make it this way, then follow by JW ave 1, after the big canal is JE ave 1.
Originally posted by JLKL:
not tired leh.. so didn't sleep much..
win liao lor...
driving day wake up late...
off day wake up early...
Originally posted by WhiskyOTR:
i'm gonna face the same problem when i start driving, which gps are you using?
I am using the Garmin 2465.
At first very cumbersome, but after some practice, can get location in under 30 secs. unless key wrongly. Put it in a place where you can rest your wrist while keying.
I realised that using the "3D" display, I learn Nothing. Now I am using the "NORTH UP"
WOW, you guys are commendable.
No Pax, the brain starts to learn.
When I no Pax, my brain thinking.. "Priest la, next Pax give me easy route, like flying on the expressway"
My Brain also thinking.. this place so deserted, where got pax ah?
I only do my Route Review when I sitting in front of my computer at home. No distraction.
Maybe you guys are young (below 45, considered young), that's why brain can multi-task.
Yesterday got one pretty young lady, long hair, slim built, nice.
Alamak, she sit in front seat.
Means I got to concentrate on driving, cannot peek peek on the rear view mirror.
Got a bad cough since yesterday. Maybe today take a break from ferrying pax, 'cause not nice to cough with all the windows wind up.
Also got tuition at 11am. See how first, if better in the afternoon, will OTR after 3pm.
CNG run out, my Wish now on steriods (Petrol). Last nite hoping Pax goes West but hopeless. If pump at Serangoon, so sayang. On Steriods lagi sayang. Probably will pump at Serangoon when I start the car since I live near Serangoon North.
Yesterday, got one old shirvelled Indian woman. No offense, but look like beggar, but she nice lady. She shy shy flag my cab.
She dont speak good english, gave me a paper with a handphone number and "Boone lay" on it.
She says want to go Mandai, Bakar. Luckily my course instructor joked about this name, so I know where it is. (Newbies, can you guesss where is this place)
When reach there, she does not want to get down until I confirm with outsiders that it is the correct place.
I kinda happy that I ferried her instead of someone else ferrying her.
Note: later I realised that the handphone number and the name is the contact for her to get to her destination, but the phone cannot get thru'. I think it was on silence..
And I want to apologise to Newbies.
Not feeling well during last 2 days, all my routes, never take note. So got no Route to report.
Yesterday drove 9 hours. See whether I can consistently drive 12 hours. My next target, 12 hours.
Originally posted by StriveOn:And I want to apologise to Newbies.
Not feeling well during last 2 days, all my routes, never take note. So got no Route to report.
Yesterday drove 9 hours. See whether I can consistently drive 12 hours. My next target, 12 hours.
Take care StriveOn. Always remember health comes 1st in taxi driving.
remember to disinfect the interior often...
if u wash at petrol kiosk... add a dollar ask the staff to "dettol" the inside...
if washing yourself... pm jackpotlok on how he do it...
tis will minimize you being infected by virus from paxs...
Originally posted by Khoon2580:remember to disinfect the interior often...
if u wash at petrol kiosk... add a dollar ask the staff to "dettol" the inside...
if washing yourself... pm jackpotlok on how he do it...
tis will minimize you being infected by virus from paxs...
Thanks Khoon, for reminding me.
I put some Budget disinfectant in a spray bottle, and add water to it (1 to 15 parts), then I spray and wipe off. I hope will not discolor the interior.
Budget is cheaper than Jeypine or the real Dettol.
After reading the other thread on Serangoon raising CNG prices, I peng san already.
Some more chief show picture of haning up his shoes and Red jersey.
My Role Model wants to throw Red Key !!???!
Maybe he talk, talk only. Hopefully he talk, talk only.
I think in the meantime, I do a few days of studying Petrol Consumption, using the Shell 16 % discount card.
Originally posted by Nanyangtech:
Take care StriveOn. Always remember health comes 1st in taxi driving.
Thanks. Today I slept.
Shiok !!
Originally posted by StriveOn:She says want to go Mandai, Bakar. Luckily my course instructor joked about this name, so I know where it is. (Newbies, can you guesss where is this place)
bakar = burning, means the place to burn corpse? Mandai Crematorium?
I'll be collecting my TVDL 2mor. Been lurking in this forum for awhile. And i can say tat tis is a very good forum for TD wannabe and esp. newie like me. gtg need to get some sleep for now....
Originally posted by StriveOn:And I want to apologise to Newbies.
Bros, need to drink more water, drive 12hrs??? no joke,
Originally posted by StriveOn:After reading the other thread on Serangoon raising CNG prices, I peng san already.
Some more chief show picture of haning up his shoes and Red jersey.
My Role Model wants to throw Red Key !!???!
Maybe he talk, talk only. Hopefully he talk, talk only.
I think in the meantime, I do a few days of studying Petrol Consumption, using the Shell 16 % discount card.
Chief Pool throw key?
Even daily pump $50 cng, is still the cheaper overhead cost in town....
Somemore meter start $3.4,
where to find?
He talk talk nia lar.....