Originally posted by Khoon2580:Be a Hirer or a Relief?
start as relief first lah...
when "zai" n "a sai" liao... den consider hirer... omo...
but most when reach tat stage... will still do half shift either as hirer or relief...
Why most newbies mostly straight jump into OMO?
OMO, although is hard life for a start,
but at least got secure job to do everyday,
Relief, anytime can be jobless either u buay song ur hirer throw key
or hirer can anytime ask to rt key,
Originally posted by Red5xx:Why most newbies mostly straight jump into OMO?
OMO, although is hard life for a start,
but at least got secure job to do everyday,
Relief, anytime can be jobless either u buay song ur hirer throw key
or hirer can anytime ask to rt key,
Now also not difficult to find a partner , one condition , mustn't be too fussy or bossy with each other .

And of course ..... just helpful .
The only thing good about being a hirer . . . it's car park at your own area .
No need change bus , take feeder , and walk .
Of course that come with a price , $90 for season parking for shelter carpark .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Now also not difficult to find a partner , one condition , mustn't be too fussy or bossy with each other .
yah be it u r hirer or relief if both r chin chye they can hav
a gd partnership ~~~~~~~
Originally posted by Khoon2580:How long does it take from the time I intend to become a taxi driver until I drive a taxi?
khoon think want to drive cab in January...
came across tis forum March...
submit forms to LTA April...
start course fult time 3 weeks with SMRT in Jun...
TVDL tests early July...
Received TVDL mid July...
Start as Relief on wish end July...
Become Hirer epica November...
based on responses and feedbacks from different TDs... SMRT seems to run a more organised and professional course... also there is a slight advantage... PM khoon if u want to know...
To make a baby takes about 9 months.
Wow, Khoon, you took more than 10 months from thinking to driving a taxi.
You must have considered it very, very carefully.
Originally posted by komade:yah be it u r hirer or relief if both r chin chye they can hav
a gd partnership ~~~~~~~
This is true.
But the problem is...
You chin chye, others not chin chye to you.
So you have to test out many relationships.
Before I got the Wish as Hirer, I made some enquiries for Relief, and I realise many Hirers want half the LISTED RENTAL. No sharing of benefits in the offer. Then you got to nego from there.
Finding the right partner is wonderful, but it is not easy to find.
Originally posted by StriveOn:This is true.
But the problem is...
You chin chye, others not chin chye to you.
So you have to test out many relationships.
Before I got the Wish as Hirer, I made some enquiries for Relief, and I realise many Hirers want half the LISTED RENTAL. No sharing of benefits in the offer. Then you got to nego from there.
Finding the right partner is wonderful, but it is not easy to find.
gotta slowly find lor for me heng lor only found 2 hirers bfore n
both r nice guys~~~normally for wish they give $5 benefit or half
the rental minus $5 everyday for relief cause relief norm drive 5-6 days
nia but norm got free rental days hirer will give to full time relief
Originally posted by Poolman:
Respect should be earn, not give.
Originally posted by Khoon2580:How long does it take from the time I intend to become a taxi driver until I drive a taxi?
khoon think want to drive cab in January...
came across tis forum March...
submit forms to LTA April...
start course fult time 3 weeks with SMRT in Jun...
TVDL tests early July...
Received TVDL mid July...
Start as Relief on wish end July...
Become Hirer epica November...
based on responses and feedbacks from different TDs... SMRT seems to run a more organised and professional course... also there is a slight advantage... PM khoon if u want to know...
khoon, i also want to know..
Originally posted by Cash Lee:khoon, i also want to know..
Me too :D
tell u guys on friday at the dinner...
Originally posted by Khoon2580:tell u guys on friday at the dinner...
But i won't be there lol
Originally posted by Khoon2580:tell u guys on friday at the dinner...
koon,now SMRT liao?
Hi to all :)
I just want to introduce myself and this is my first post. I joined this forum after surfing the internet as I am keen to be a taxi driver, I read some post especially this thread as it is very informative and helpful. I have already got the LTA letter and complete the requirements but not sure how to obtain the TDVL. I understand I need to pay about $330+ to apply. The problem is that the course is in June which is 2-3 months away.
Is there a faster way to take the course? Thanks so much for any advice.
Originally posted by iCricket:Hi to all :)
I just want to introduce myself and this is my first post. I joined this forum after surfing the internet as I am keen to be a taxi driver, I read some post especially this thread as it is very informative and helpful. I have already got the LTA letter and complete the requirements but not sure how to obtain the TDVL. I understand I need to pay about $330+ to apply. The problem is that the course is in June which is 2-3 months away.
maybe u can check with SMRT or comfort got express course or not
Call SMRT, Comfort, STA and check with them their earliest date available. Mine will start on 11th Apr. I believe there should be one in May.
You got to call them and ask them whether can slot you in earlier.
CDG and SMRT is more helpful. They have their 'Train & Place' package.
Talk like you are very keen to become TD.
Hopefully one of the officers will slot you into an earlier course.
Thank you all for the reply. I called SMRT and they said there is one Express Course on 23rd April but the one in Woodlands which is nearer to my place will be on 11th May. So I guess I will apply for the 11th May course.
Bro, could share what is the fuel consumption rate of your Wish 2.0?
Originally posted by Maituliao:Bro, could share what is the fuel consumption rate of your Wish 2.0?
From Pg 23 of same thread...
Fuel Usage for my Wish CNG at Toh Tuck (13.2 cents/km), Shell Discount Petrol (17.3 cents/km)
CNG at Serangoon and Mandai is almost on par with discounted Petrol. I dunno why they are still selling CNG. They should be Pork Kai by now.
But do note that this is based on topping up gas at Toh Tuck.
If you top up at Serangoon or Mandai, the cost will be higher.
And if you run out of Gas, and you continue to drive, it will switch over to petrol, which is also costly.
Originally posted by StriveOn:
From Pg 23 of same thread...Fuel Usage for my Wish CNG at Toh Tuck (13.2 cents/km), Shell Discount Petrol (17.3 cents/km)
CNG at Serangoon and Mandai is almost on par with discounted Petrol. I dunno why they are still selling CNG. They should be Pork Kai by now.
But do note that this is based on topping up gas at Toh Tuck.
If you top up at Serangoon or Mandai, the cost will be higher.
And if you run out of Gas, and you continue to drive, it will switch over to petrol, which is also costly.
Thanks for yr info. Sorry for not following closely. I m comparing both diesel n cng consumption based on same cc car. Mileage consumption is important to me.
Originally posted by Maituliao:Thanks for yr info. Sorry for not following closely. I m comparing both diesel n cng consumption based on same cc car. Mileage consumption is important to me.
Everything u said is least important , collection is the most important .
U can save a few dollars on fuel , i can spent more on fuel , but my gap against yours , nett $100 daily different , which one u chose ?
$100 richer or $10 u save on fuel ?
Of course u can save fuel and have consistent income , but u are not like many of us here , close two eyes can drive pt A to pt B in the shortest time .