Originally posted by JLKL:
ya.. i also quite admire myself.. end day still as fresh as starting.. haha...
haha u really kns bro~~~~~
Ya StriveOn,
See you on the 9th..
Probably I am the youngest student there as I just turned 30..
kekekeke..
i am a new driver too,but doing OMO is damn tiring and no social life plus no time to exercise!i start around 12 noon till 1 am,but after 1 weeks plus already can't take it!first thing when passengers get into taxi,i already feel nervous and lack confidence to bring them to their destination!cos 2 things i lacked,route familiarisation plus my driving skills sucks!i have very little experience driving a car since passing my license.passengers complain i drive too slow and clumsy plus i am not sure of my routes!
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:i am a new driver too,but doing OMO is damn tiring and no social life plus no time to exercise!i start around 12 noon till 1 am,but after 1 weeks plus already can't take it!first thing when passengers get into taxi,i already feel nervous and lack confidence to bring them to their destination!cos 2 things i lacked,route familiarisation plus my driving skills sucks!i have very little experience driving a car since passing my license.passengers complain i drive too slow and clumsy plus i am not sure of my routes!
You will get tired easily if u put too much stress on yourself...
Put on a little bit of jazz and take things easy might help.
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:i am a new driver too,but doing OMO is damn tiring and no social life plus no time to exercise!i start around 12 noon till 1 am,but after 1 weeks plus already can't take it!first thing when passengers get into taxi,i already feel nervous and lack confidence to bring them to their destination!cos 2 things i lacked,route familiarisation plus my driving skills sucks!i have very little experience driving a car since passing my license.passengers complain i drive too slow and clumsy plus i am not sure of my routes!
Me, even (was a TD 6 months back) asked for Passenger's specified route everytime a pax came on board (after driving approximately 9yrs).
Always ask for their (pax's preferred) routes (to avoid possible dispute). Even if kena a traffic congestion, you are protected.... It is their preferred routes. ![]()
Driving Pte Car and TD not the same. I have been driving or riding bike almost since I started out to work (early 80s). I seldom think of best route, as long as can get from Point A to Point B. But now, I realised that a lot of the route I took is not the best route. In a Taxi, the passenger is very concious of the Meter. The stress on the TD is to travel the best route. If it cost more than his regular taxi fare, TD must know how to 'answer'.
I can understand your (foolsh_2000) problem. Just have to relax and do your best. The more you think negative, the more likely that negative situation will happen.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Me, even (was a TD 6 months back) asked for Passenger's specified route everytime a pax came on board (after driving approximately 9yrs).
Always ask for their (pax's preferred) routes (to avoid possible dispute). Even if kena a traffic congestion, you are protected.... It is their preferred routes.
yah always specify ur route n there will be no disputes later......
dun ASS out of U & ME.............. ![]()
Originally posted by OptimalTrans:Personal driving can afford to make mistake, can afford to detour, so what?
I used to be an angry driver, every car on the road just seem to be an nuisance to me. Those faster then me, i will curse them die faster. Those slower then me, i will swear them to hell.Taxi Driving, require our full concentration and patience. The journey never end (till you out of business).
I have this å��二å—真言 for myself
快而�急, 急而�燥, 燥而�驾
yah tats the way to go bro~~~
Thousands of Cabbies all start new, just think that if other can make it, why not you? hopefully that will motivate you on, dunno, tell pax, I do not know the way, show me the way please. You got nothing to loose, we should not be afraid of mistake, take mistake as a learning point, take scolding as a learning curve, seek improve from mistake is the most critical, and once you are a pro cabby with good knowledge of routes and also know the way of handling pax, take a look back and thanks all those mistakes you had make that make you what you are today.
People can give you good advices, listen and analyse, take the good and left the no good behind, real action is the the most important whereby advices are realised, whereby you truly knows and see it in real.
Originally posted by bowah:Thousands of Cabbies all start new, just think that if other can make it, why not you? hopefully that will motivate you on, dunno, tell pax, I do not know the way, show me the way please. You got nothing to loose, we should not be afraid of mistake, take mistake as a learning point, take scolding as a learning curve, seek improve from mistake is the most critical, and once you are a pro cabby with good knowledge of routes and also know the way of handling pax, take a look back and thanks all those mistakes you had make that make you what you are today.
People can give you good advices, listen and analyse, take the good and left the no good behind, real action is the the most important whereby advices are realised, whereby you truly knows and see it in real.
yah if dun knoe?? juz ask~~~~ n u shall be given........ ![]()
once one Indian lady passenger say i drive too slow around 40 km/hr at reaching destination,and say that it could cause more!i say meter calibrated to calculate only when stop or at traffic standstill and will automatic change to distance calculation when vehicle moving.is that true?she seemed not satisfied with my answers!
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:once one Indian lady passenger say i drive too slow around 40 km/hr at reaching destination,and say that it could cause more!i say meter calibrated to calculate only when stop or at traffic standstill and will automatic change to distance calculation when vehicle moving.is that true?she seemed not satisfied with my answers!
Cheapo pax alway gv excuse to ask for a discount..............
Discount is what they wan.....![]()
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:once one Indian lady passenger say i drive too slow around 40 km/hr at reaching destination,and say that it could cause more!i say meter calibrated to calculate only when stop or at traffic standstill and will automatic change to distance calculation when vehicle moving.is that true?she seemed not satisfied with my answers!
But frankly, 40km/hr is abit too slow, knn, you driving taxis, not roadside sweeping truck leh.
yeah but that was drvng in the housng estate reachng destinaton!at hghway was around 80 km/hr
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:yeah but that was drvng in the housng estate reachng destinaton!at hghway was around 80 km/hr
You need to buy some weight and stick it to your right shoe :)
Originally posted by komade:yah always specify ur route n there will be no disputes later......
dun ASS out of U & ME..............
this confirm learn from LTA instructor during TVL course
It must be tough being a TD actually...
40km ?
OMG.... you serious ?
The pax sitting behind must be saying (below)..... ![]()

Originally posted by decent02:
this confirm learn from LTA instructor during TVL course
During Course....
Everyone follows... because need to pass.....
After Course....
Everyone F1 driver.... ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:During Course....
Everyone follows... because need to pass.....
After Course....
Everyone F1 driver....
I am referiing to the word "ASSUME"
What choice have you got? Imagine you are the pax and you get a TD who is a newbie and a poor driver somemore.
If you need to stick to this trade, don't be nervous and accept that you have to tahan pax grumbling or displeasure. More importantly, you have to brush up your driving skills asap. Safety first for you and the pax! This is much more important than knowing the routes.
I think there are some good books on defensive driving that can help you. Knowing theory first will improve your learning curve tremendously.
tonight i smelt burnt tyres coming out of the shift gear area!foolsh i forgot to disengage handbrake!and i was driving on the expressway at 80-90 km/hr!for almost half an hour!quickly i release the handbrake but too late the brake shoes almost completely worn out!luckily the brakes although almost worn out but when applied still works although i gotta depress the pedal to almost maximum!ur think is it safe to continue driving or gotta send to workshop for repairs?
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:tonight i smelt burnt tyres coming out of the shift gear area!foolsh i forgot to disengage handbrake!and i was driving on the expressway at 80-90 km/hr!for almost half an hour!quickly i release the handbrake but too late the brake shoes almost completely worn out!luckily the brakes although almost worn out but when applied still works although i gotta depress the pedal to almost maximum!ur think is it safe to continue driving or gotta send to workshop for repairs?
When you step on the brakes and you hear Screeching sound ... then it is advisable to visit the workshop.

thanks brother!but to be on the safe side,i will drive the taxi to the workshop for a checkup first thing in the morning!