I have been driving down from Genting Highlands many many times....
The downslope gave drivers lots of braking and burning their tyres.......
As long as.... your brakes not worn out... it should be fine... w/o the Screeching sound when you apply brakes.
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:thanks brother!but to be on the safe side,i will drive the taxi to the workshop for a checkup first thing in the morning!
But pls don't be too honest and tell them that you have your brakes on when driving.... just act blur... just tell them you are uncomfortable with the brakes... that it.
some acting skills needed..... just like..... ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Me, even (was a TD 6 months back) asked for Passenger's specified route everytime a pax came on board (after driving approximately 9yrs).
Always ask for their (pax's preferred) routes (to avoid possible dispute). Even if kena a traffic congestion, you are protected.... It is their preferred routes.
ya really true becomes a routine(unless its tourist lol) for me now. some pax just had really strange route to go to their destination.
Originally posted by decent02:I am referiing to the word "ASSUME"
ASSUME??? lingo been with me since my navy days lor........
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:thanks brother!but to be on the safe side,i will drive the taxi to the workshop for a checkup first thing in the morning!
yah be safe not sorry bro~~~
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:I have been driving down from Genting Highlands many many times....
The downslope gave drivers lots of braking and burning their tyres.......
As long as.... your brakes not worn out... it should be fine... w/o the Screeching sound when you apply brakes.
Genting gd to play corner last time now got all the humps not so fun liao...... ![]()
Used to go up every mth 1 time with the KL bikers for the Awanna Run.........
so komade ur a runner?as in running long dist?i now hardly exercise!no time!blood pressure also going up!
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:tonight i smelt burnt tyres coming out of the shift gear area!foolsh i forgot to disengage handbrake!and i was driving on the expressway at 80-90 km/hr!for almost half an hour!quickly i release the handbrake but too late the brake shoes almost completely worn out!luckily the brakes although almost worn out but when applied still works although i gotta depress the pedal to almost maximum!ur think is it safe to continue driving or gotta send to workshop for repairs?
It seems that you are very stressed. You have to learn how to de-stress. If you continue like this, you may not last long in ths trade. I will be doing the same thing in 2 months time, maybe I can share what the experience is like when the time comes.
Meditation, or Yoga can help to de-stress. Simple exercises also can help.
09 February 2012. Today my TD Course starts. Enroled through SMRT. 3 weeks Express. Mon to Sat 3pm to 6pm, 7pm to 10pm.
..... 6 hrs ! Dunno whether will sleep in class, hope the Instructor is lively.
Hallo everyone!!
Me joining soon. Have TVDL for two years already but never drive.
Now thinking of starting as cabby. From what I read here, relief with Comfort good as a start?
Thanks!
Originally posted by N0W0rries:Hallo everyone!!
Me joining soon. Have TVDL for two years already but never drive.
Now thinking of starting as cabby. From what I read here, relief with Comfort good as a start?
Thanks!
as a TD, what we want is convenience in refuelling
15 mins top up fuel and return car
nite drivers have to spend 1/2 to 1 hour washing car
minimize the time spent on these type of activities.
maximize your time on the road to earn money
so cdg offers you convenience in refuelling coz they have many refuelling stations and also resonable diesel rates.
These are impt factors to consider.
If you are idea type CBL type always la kopi tcss with friends, then these factors may not be as impt
Originally posted by Ismycar:It must be tough being a TD actually...
all work is tough, when u think that is tough. tell yourself. you doing this for your family and to make them got a better life, everyday go back home , see them happy and whatever hardwork you done is also worth oledi.unless you are working just for the sake of yourself not for the family.
Not only being TD is tough,when u ask a student. they will tell you be a studend is tough, being a boss or employee they will tell you the same thing. Boss( no sale, customer no pay money, worker salary etc.) employee( boss got money to pay salary, no O.T , got bonus?got increment?)
I been a boss myself be4 and now TD for 7-8 yrs. i still find it ok and not as bad what other may thing about being a TD.
sorry my english is not so good(psle only).
Originally posted by StriveOn:09 February 2012. Today my TD Course starts. Enroled through SMRT. 3 weeks Express. Mon to Sat 3pm to 6pm, 7pm to 10pm.
..... 6 hrs ! Dunno whether will sleep in class, hope the Instructor is lively.
no worries brudder... usually by 8pm pack bag le :x
Originally posted by komade:most OMO disappear n nber post again.........
i idle at hm now.![]()
last time before driving taxi,i could run 2.4 km in 12 mins,now i constantly feel tired!seems my heart can't take any exercse now!always feel lethargic!why like that!
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:last time before driving taxi,i could run 2.4 km in 12 mins,now i constantly feel tired!seems my heart can't take any exercse now!always feel lethargic!why like that!

:p if you find life tired as an OMO, dun be shy and go look for relief. If ya already have one then you just need to learn to relax a little, find some kakis and enjoy a meal together will help too.
What? no kakis? There are plenty here :p
that's what my first thinking:OMO!But after read throught all thread...my thinking,relief,if can rest 1 day even best....old liao ez tired,hand weak leg weak!!i used to listen 大悲咒 to relax my anger n stress for 3 years..anything not happy,can ez 4get n 4 give!ii aslo eat vegetarian on 1/15 everymonth for 3 years,cos i ask something thats impossible to happen from 观音..n my wish really happen!
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:last time before driving taxi,i could run 2.4 km in 12 mins,now i constantly feel tired!seems my heart can't take any exercse now!always feel lethargic!why like that!
how old r u?may sit too long inside Taxi n no exercise at all!
In life, you seek the mid way of what you are doing, be it a taxi driver or worker or CEO, be moderate in what you are doing, that is the key to good life.
Let take taxis, money is everywhere, it is up to you to go and see and pick, but to see and pick take a lot of stress on you, even durian also need brain and energy to ferry them. Then you lose out family life, exercise, good timming in eating and releasing, end up, no life, like a wanderer. This is the upper end u see, got money, but no life, may end up no life to spent it too.
At the lower end are those super idle type, or those given up all hope, or those pass a day a time kind of life, no synergy to drive to move on, this is the lower end who can be easy going people, or simply, lazy but not stupid people.
For you, seek the mid of this both end, as an average, you get to earn enuf, rest and idle enuf and also can live a longer and happier life
Originally posted by bowah:In life, you seek the mid way of what you are doing, be it a taxi driver or worker or CEO, be moderate in what you are doing, that is the key to good life.
Let take taxis, money is everywhere, it is up to you to go and see and pick, but to see and pick take a lot of stress on you, even durian also need brain and energy to ferry them. Then you lose out family life, exercise, good timming in eating and releasing, end up, no life, like a wanderer. This is the upper end u see, got money, but no life, may end up no life to spent it too.
At the lower end are those super idle type, or those given up all hope, or those pass a day a time kind of life, no synergy to drive to move on, this is the lower end who can be easy going people, or simply, lazy but not stupid people.
For you, seek the mid of this both end, as an average, you get to earn enuf, rest and idle enuf and also can live a longer and happier life
good advise by Bowah
last sat I drove from 7am to 10pm
knn ...clocked 380km
my shoulder ache like hell after the shift
next day peng sang...clock only 120km
lucky i part time....full time TD really got no life maybe except a maybe few like komade
can happy happy go motherland for vacation
I think you have to calm your mind first, then go for the exercise.
If you Buddhist, do Meditation, Christian, do Yoga. (Forgive/correct me if I wrong) If you can clear your mind COMPLETELY for 10 mins a day, you will find inner peace. Then you will start to take control of your life.
If you driving, park one side (in carpark), put "Busy" then close your eyes and not think of anything for 10 mins. Yes, you lost 10 mins of sweeping, but what you gain is fantastic. Please note that "not think of anything" is not easy.
Today lesson is Orientation and Rules and Regulations. About 40 students, 30 of them thru' SMRT. Instructor is Joyce from LTA.
We are learning old materials and will be tested on old materials. PH surcharge $1, Flag-down $2.40, advanced booking $5.20. I think Rules change too fast and not yet update the questions. The key learning point is what surcharges are applicable and how to work them out. Regarding how much to charge, we are supposed to get back to the Taxi Co that we hire the taxi from.
Mr StriveOn,
Were you the one sitting beside me at the canteen?