Originally posted by Khoon2580:interesting case...
pax reach destination... want pay by nets... but terminal faulty... cannot perform the transcation...
pax ask TD drive to ATM near home withdraw cash... but ATM spoil... so ask TD drive to MRT station withdraw money... den drive back to his home again...
after wiithdraw money... get back taxi... saw meter continue jumping... pax not happy...
original reach home $15... den after turn here turn there coz of the ATM thing... taxi fare become $18...
pax tu-lan liao... TD say not happy complain... pax call CDG to complain... while on the phone... TD jio pax to fight...
den TD slap pax face... say no money dun tae cab...
not wrong to continue meter while pax try to find way to pay u
but very wrong to jio pax to fight..........
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:The best tip I gotten was from an Australian family came for holiday in Dec... Fare was $14.50. He dig his pockets with a bundle of cash & coins and said: "All yours Sir!" ... total: $41.90.
I replied: "Thank you Sir, Thank you sir, Thank you sir!"
hahaha, that's what i always do when i come back to singapore... i dun like to keep the foreign currencies so i always give everything away to the last person (since i know i won't need it anymore)
Reason being if the amount is not much, say less than $50, you need to calculate your time. If your time is $20/hour, then if you need to spend more than 2 hours 30 mins on those loose change (find place to store, next time go travel need to find where you stored them, go money exchanger to exchange to other currencies, etc), then you're actually losing money. Not sure if you all understand the rationale but hehehehehehe....
1 of the px I pick pay me $5.00 for the fare of $4.95. And without hesitation ask me for the chanbge of $0.05 cent back. I say ok, ok and give him $0.10 lor.
But so far got the most tip is $50 dollar excluding fare.
Tippings is never in Singapore's culture .
Just to share .
It's very normal for countries like Britian , Aussie , US , Canadians , some part of Europe .
Why ? Cos they were educated in a way they understood in service line , if 40% of their wages goes to taxes paid , those service line working people left bones really .
So tippings is one way to help them .
Not in Singapore .
That's why F & B have those 10% service charge incur in most bills .
In taxi , there is no 10% service charge , that's why commuters dun deserve any service from us at all .
That flag down fare only good enough for us to despatch them home .
As for AP trips ..... $3-$5 surcharge , if reasonable distance , they will have my normal service of unloading of luggages .
As for destinations like Pasir Ris , Tampines , Changi , Bedok , if not given any perks , they have to self service .
Maybe Uncle me good mood , they stands a chance .
If not , self service .
Anything above $1 tippings , then will see me open my door , if not , u'll see me sending sms more likely after collecting taxi fare .
Originally posted by Poolman:As for AP trips ..... $3-$5 surcharge , if reasonable distance , they will have my normal service of unloading of luggages .
As for destinations like Pasir Ris , Tampines , Changi , Bedok , if not given any perks , they have to self service .
Maybe Uncle me good mood , they stands a chance .
If not , self service .
Anything above $1 tippings , then will see me open my door , if not , u'll see me sending sms more likely after collecting taxi fare .
so far my nearby trips all give me $20....... maybe my face not
as tiko as Ah Pool's 1.......... ![]()
Originally posted by Poolman:Tippings is never in Singapore's culture .
Just to share .
It's very normal for countries like Britian , Aussie , US , Canadians , some part of Europe .
Why ? Cos they were educated in a way they understood in service line , if 40% of their wages goes to taxes paid , those service line working people left bones really .
Not in Singapore .
In taxi , there is no 10% service charge , that's why commuters dun deserve any service from us at all .
Pinoy also like to gives tip, including the maids, use to give me a dollar or two more, Uncle seibei kum tong.
Originally posted by bowah:Pinoy also like to gives tip, including the maids, use to give me a dollar or two more, Uncle seibei kum tong.
Even i sent Bangala from J point to Tuas South Ave 8 , they also give tips .
Except Kiam Siap Singaporeans , most $0.05 also need to wait for me to find .
Japanese has changed recently .....
I am getting more on tippings from them recently ....
Japanese are famous for digging exact amount .
$17.20 , means $10+$6+1+$0.10+$0.10
Originally posted by Poolman:Japanese has changed recently .....
I am getting more on tippings from them recently ....
Japanese are famous for digging exact amount .
$17.20 , means $10+$6+1+$0.10+$0.10
yah nowadays ah no neh more n more start to give tips liao........... ![]()
Originally posted by Poolman:
Even i sent Bangala from J point to Tuas South Ave 8 , they also give tips .Except Kiam Siap Singaporeans , most $0.05 also need to wait for me to find .
Correct, even 5 cts, the hand palm still stretch out, but then, we need to understand singaporeans, after squeezed so much by the govt, for some of them, every cts counts, y
Yesterday peak period, AP T3 to Yew Tee, 2 aunties and 1 uncle, reach already, 26++ peak hour + ap surchage $36++, keep saying why so expensive, why not $26, what is this extra, that surcharge, can say Uncle, you travel correct or not, why so much, knn, first time travel and take taxis, must be.
Dig here dig there, end up give $50, uncle me also change exactly, dig here and dig there lor, so many baggage, got cartons of fruits and other barang barangs from china, knn, can take SIA, pay so much fuel charges and airport taxes, taxi fares also want to kpkb. 3 persons leh, each only 12 dollars from AP to block downstair, not good meh??
Originally posted by bowah:
Correct, even 5 cts, the hand palm still stretch out, but then, we need to understand singaporeans, after squeezed so much by the govt, for some of them, every cts counts, yYesterday peak period, AP T3 to Yew Tee, 2 aunties and 1 uncle, reach already, 26++ peak hour + ap surchage $36++, keep saying why so expensive, why not $26, what is this extra, that surcharge, can say Uncle, you travel correct or not, why so much, knn, first time travel and take taxis, must be.
Dig here dig there, end up give $50, uncle me also change exactly, dig here and dig there lor, so many baggage, got cartons of fruits and other barang barangs from china, knn, can take SIA, pay so much fuel charges and airport taxes, taxi fares also want to kpkb. 3 persons leh, each only 12 dollars from AP to block downstair, not good meh??
bro pls forgive them........... ![]()
you think I God ar. CNG, rental, fuel and cost of living up, who can help and forgive us??? Even God also cannot help.![]()
you think I God ar. CNG, rental, fuel and cost of living up, who can help and forgive us??? Even God also cannot help.
i mean their manners lar bro but fare muz still collect full
tis 1 i dun give face 1............ ![]()
Originally posted by JLKL:most of the times, i send those who stay in ang mo chu no tips one.. those that stay in hdb more generous, thou not much tips, to me, keep the change is alr good enuf, be it 5cts, 10cts or 95 cts.. some more, those ang mo chu ones mostly lack manners one.. at least say thank you lah..
LV pax mostly keep the change de.. hee hee...
Originally posted by Poolman:Tippings is never in Singapore's culture .
Just to share .
Not in Singapore .
Its true that we just take the fares stated in the meter/mdt at the end of the trip, any extra is just bonus, however, it can also brighten our day and give us some motivation.
Like some good pax would said, thank you Uncle, keep the change, hard on you driving all day, hope you have a nice day. Wha! you hear a already, also happy mah.
Coming to 10% service charges in Singapore, people use to say, Singapore services not as good as the west, be it restaurants or clubs etc etc. Now, who take the 10%, the waiter, the waitress, the captain, the bell boys, the staffs??? Together with Gst of 7%, it goes into the boss and govt account. So what do you expect the service to be??
If you say 10% to the waiter who serve me, do you think he will serve you well, for 4 tables he serves, each bill $100, he gets $40 for his services, do you think he is going to be idle and careless? No, he will serve with pride and motivation.
That is why, I said fark up system
Originally posted by Khoon2580:LV pax mostly keep the change de.. hee hee...
limo customers mainly also........... ![]()
Its true that we just take the fares stated in the meter/mdt at the end of the trip, any extra is just bonus, however, it can also brighten our day and give us some motivation.Like some good pax would said, thank you Uncle, keep the change, hard on you driving all day, hope you have a nice day. Wha! you hear a already, also happy mah.
Coming to 10% service charges in Singapore, people use to say, Singapore services not as good as the west, be it restaurants or clubs etc etc. Now, who take the 10%, the waiter, the waitress, the captain, the bell boys, the staffs??? Together with Gst of 7%, it goes into the boss and govt account. So what do you expect the service to be??
If you say 10% to the waiter who serve me, do you think he will serve you well, for 4 tables he serves, each bill $100, he gets $40 for his services, do you think he is going to be idle and careless? No, he will serve with pride and motivation.
That is why, I said fark up system
yah well said bro knn the boss damm F up 1 .......if the staff gets the 10%
service charge they be motivated to provide gd service as it counts towards
their wages instead the F up boss juz "tom" into his own pocket PHUi!!!!