Originally posted by Bingjames:I do encounter some TD who are like that:
recently just drop a pax at Tan Tock Seng Hospital at the taxi stand and there is a cab in front of me and 3 person, one in wheelchair waiting at the queue.
One of them approached me and ask if I can fetch them to Toa Payoh Lor 4 and I said ok. I ask how come the cab in front dun take them and she just shrugged it off.
Worst still, this guy refused to move off and the lady got problem pushing the wheelchair down as the cab is occupying the slope side.
I got to help her lift the wheelchair down gentlely.
I told her this my first time handling such pax so I might not know how to move him, but she said no worry, he can get up the cab himself.
Forgot to take a pic of that knn cab.
I got my fair share of IKEA pax too, with 3 long carpet roll that needs me to bring down the front seat.
No big deal, all in a day's job.
Never once had I left my pax to put or retrieve things from the booth. Always make it a point to come out, out of courtesy.
The very first pax in my life, more unforgetable. Just got my merc cab from my hirer the first day and just drive around in my neighbourhood getting a feel of it. One granny stop me and I thought "cool! my first pax"
She told me she is a garong guni collector and her trolley wheel just broke, cannot move. She ask if I can give her a lift to her block, somewhere nearby. I thought, so old and still collecting, just help la,
Then she led me to so many cardboard boxes and old newsapaper, enought to feel the whole booth and back seat. She even expect me to help her carry there and load it and upon reaching, help her carry all of them to her lift lobby.
But all the time, she keep on saying thanks and "ah ma back no good, cannot carry".
How's that for the first pax, great memory right?
Berd berd...u see ,All Td black heart,want $ only?NO NO..Td r willing to help;but may b got some reason for not helping from them.
On the other point of view, try looking at the TD's position.
as said earlier, he might not want to be responsible for any breakage.
He might also have back problem himself right?
If this 50 year old lady is there to buy a 42" TV alone, she must have taken forgranted that help is on hand, free, anytime. My next question after helping her put in is, what next when we reach her destination? Is she expecting us to help her bring up? if not, how she handle?
Is people now expecting more of a TD's role?
Offering help in this instant is surely out of goodwill and using words like "money mongering whore" on us if we dun is abit far fetch right?
I am a transport service provider, I will bring u to any number of place, no matter how far or out of the way it is, that's my job and no complain, as long as it is in my job scope.
There are those that I will definitely do, like I got a advanced booking to send 2 small boys alone, to his church. It's my responsibilty to see that they reach the church and alight safely with ppl there receiving them.
But for those who expects extras or taking us forgranted like this old lady, it's different story.
Berd, u ask yourself, if you are in this old lady's shoe and want to buy such big a TV, what would u do? Think of how u carry it back right? that's normal.
and if "TD is expectiing to help you carry" is part of your plan - think again.
How about us switching role?
before becoming a td, many things i don't understand, why tds like this like that.
now as a td, i understand why td like this like that
cos many times, td help, people don't appreciate
i do help but see how pax react. they expect td to do it by standing adside, i will also stand and watch too. it is suppose be too way, unless old uncle/aunties, disable, with infant, but for pax with proper hand and leg who act like someone high class, i will do the same.
i do believe tds out there majority are good, many include me( i dare to say) does many good deeds like help towards the extend beyond what they need to, don't ask for favour or anything, maybe even free trip or so, cos we all know it is not about money, we tds do have feeling also, human but not cold blooded.
if we all know, this society have become more cold blooded in many things/areas
if people do considerate, many things don't happen.
for e.g, once at the airport, family of 4 with many luggage, skip and waited until my turn, why they know other normal taxi cannot take/load up all as 4 of them will be taking all the seat up. me(i30) even it is a wagon, manage to load up all with all the boot space taken up. reach their destination, a landed property. pay up the meter fare no extra, but note, right from the being, load up and unload of their luggage, they did not even lift a single finger............. i do as my professional, even no tips, still unload the luggage. .. but you think of it, should they call for a maxicab instead?
many tds out there , have some how injure their back or hand while helping to load, even happen to injure just keep quiet cos cannot claim work related injuries where many other job can.
we ask not asking to be pity by anyone, it is today society that result such to happen, blame who? blame selfish pp lor.
l
let's talk about mrt here in singapore, the train are much larger than taxi, then why is there a restriction on all this bulky item.
why is there maxicab, limo or pte limo, movers, why do there exist, must be a reason.
i believe that getting the right transport to transport the right things . just don't misuse,
would anyone cater a crane lorry to delivery a 42" tv, ? answer should be every clear.
i was call up by lta recently, because i told pax that taxi are point to point service and they not happy cos pax with 2 stop ( different between 2 stop is less than 100m)
pax expected me to waited for them to go to a hdb flat to do distribution before moving to the next destination with waiting time expected to be longer than 20min, though i was told 2stop, but not inform about waiting time.
of course reching the 1st stop when they tell me to wait, i say cannot, tell them they got a wrong transport. 1st stop and let them go.
lta ask me if i want face to face talk, i say yes but pax dare not, wrong thing and want complain, but i lucky, the lta officer(was actually surprise) very understanding.
i only one simple reason, in singapore you want a taxi solely for your purpose, must do hourly booking, if not why got hourly booking
once pick pax who but buy big piece of mirror at ikea tampines, upon reaching dest, help them carry out the minor, some how rather, the string that tight on the mirror not proper, pass on to the pa hand, she hold the string and then the string give way, drop and broken, you know pax was looking at me like it is my fault, like how.
i think maybe ask insurance company come insurance scheme like buy flight insurance. then all protected
The keyword is "ask", subjected to our consent.
Nowsaday pax expect td to help them load + unload even it's a light item.
Ffck them, they think cabby bangala meh.;(
Originally posted by βÎτά:
When you make comparisons you have to be fair, not make comparisons between extremes.
Little wonder you ended up as a taxi driver.
you mentioned the word fair, are you?
little that you know about tds
anyway, i choose this job not because i loss my job, for past 20yrs
only my 1st job i send resume, from airline (7yrs plus to f&b 10yrs) the rest of the job i did not look for them, job look for me, reason to leave simple, to have more time spend with my lovely son.
to your thinking, all tds took up driving for same reason only, you are so wrong
hm....buy tv no include delivery one meh, buyer have to bring home themselves taking taxi. dont think the tv can go in taxi ba?
Taxi is supposed to be a service industry, part of the hospitality industry and you money mongering whores are giving the industry a bad name.
Right nobody works for free.
Should tell that to the guy from the temple who helped another taxi driver chase a fare cheat.
I think helping a lady to load and unload bulky items is also an issue unless money is used to grease the gears.
Money works wonder for taxi drivers.
I think with ur statement "Taxi is supposed to be a service industry, part of the hospitality industry and you money mongering whores are giving the industry a bad name. " Is really degrading to TD n yourself.
Pls go to your mirror and look at yourself. Reflect on yourself. No one is perfect including me. U must have met with something undesirable.
last weekend expo got warehouse sale...
so many pax with 42" tv at the taxi Q...
coz cheap goods.... delivery muz pay extra extra $$$$$$...
take taxi cheaper...
Originally posted by Khoon2580:last weekend expo got warehouse sale...
so many pax with 42" tv at the taxi Q...
coz cheap goods.... delivery muz pay extra extra $$$$$$...
take taxi cheaper...
yeah. last week sent pax there, saw pax with 42" tv q-ing for taxi. after pax alighted, quickly press BUSY & run road liao.
The Key word here is HELP.
Help is an assistance given to a need, is an action out of good will, is an contribution out of sympathetic.
When a person is complaining for not recieveing Help, he/she is actually demanding it as a Duty. He/She see it as a Duty others should perform without Merit.
There is not rule stated that It is Taxi Driver Duty to load or unload goods. Hence, the complaint is invalid, it is the complainant unreasonable perception.
Help is given voluntarily, the needy can request but not demand. The needy could provide a little "motivation factor" to obtain a little help.
There is NO such rule as Should Help
Help = Help
Should Help = Duty
A wise man will motivate for obtaining Help
A stupid man will demand to obtain Help
An idiot will support to the stupid man demand.
who is the idiot here.......hmm...
Taxi in service line ? Correct leh . . . Providing a service to ferry "human" home .
Taxi fare only for "human" .
Not for LCD TV .
And our effort .
Our effort and taxi fare only for ferrying human from Point A to Point B .
Unless given extra money , but how extra ?
Service will also be better with that extra , how good the service depends on how heavy that extra .
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:TDs are self employed.... (So are Pte Limos - like me)...
Don't talk about money ?
Talk about ?
?
Later someone will take the Charity money & buy....
Golden Tap....
haha well said bro~~~
Originally posted by bowah:This type of cheapo are real funny, delivery at expo it product is only $20 all over singapore, just paid extra $20, then go take MRT swee swee go home.
Tomorrow or the day after, they will deliver to your house, no need to carry, somemore people will set up for you. Taxi is meant to ferry peoples and some of their bags, not delivery truck.
Even if really want to take cab with a 42 inch LCDTV, at least tell the uncle you are willing to paid him more. Nothing is free in this world, especially so in singapore.
i see shopping trolley even my turn i also auto out............. ![]()
There is a difference when delivery is stated before conclusion of the contract (or purchase at the POS) and something which is not stated.
If something is not stated, it's up to the taxi driver to help, but most taxi drivers are so despo for money, it's not within their morality to help.
That's why I don't think very highly of taxi drivers.
the problem is........ people except US to help them load/unload
or try to fit the cargo into the cab......... knn im a driver not a delivery man...........
Originally posted by Alvin87a:Bro,not all dun help,I will help...dun worry(beside $ all can help ,i will help)but most of the time...even one word:Thanks you also dun have(never mind god watching me from the sky)!Why most of them dun help is because they scare if anything go wrong with the items then got more problem!what ppl say:good heart got no gd reward!somemore 42 inch very heavy u know,not all can carry lah...some more driver sit inside taxi drive for long hours liao...suddenly want to carry heavy item..very es injured!
yah man when we r sick cannot drive still muz pay rental......
who take care of us????
Originally posted by Angwk7118:before becoming a td, many things i don't understand, why tds like this like that.
now as a td, i understand why td like this like that
cos many times, td help, people don't appreciate
i do help but see how pax react. they expect td to do it by standing adside, i will also stand and watch too. it is suppose be too way, unless old uncle/aunties, disable, with infant, but for pax with proper hand and leg who act like someone high class, i will do the same.
i do believe tds out there majority are good, many include me( i dare to say) does many good deeds like help towards the extend beyond what they need to, don't ask for favour or anything, maybe even free trip or so, cos we all know it is not about money, we tds do have feeling also, human but not cold blooded.
if we all know, this society have become more cold blooded in many things/areas
if people do considerate, many things don't happen.
for e.g, once at the airport, family of 4 with many luggage, skip and waited until my turn, why they know other normal taxi cannot take/load up all as 4 of them will be taking all the seat up. me(i30) even it is a wagon, manage to load up all with all the boot space taken up. reach their destination, a landed property. pay up the meter fare no extra, but note, right from the being, load up and unload of their luggage, they did not even lift a single finger............. i do as my professional, even no tips, still unload the luggage. .. but you think of it, should they call for a maxicab instead?
many tds out there , have some how injure their back or hand while helping to load, even happen to injure just keep quiet cos cannot claim work related injuries where many other job can.
we ask not asking to be pity by anyone, it is today society that result such to happen, blame who? blame selfish pp lor.
l
Correct bro~~~ my fren kenna slip disc frm carrying too heavy luggage at the AP.......
i ever tekan ppl at the AP also...... knn so many luggage all juz leave the trolley there
hop into the cab........ u knoe wat i did?? i juz stand there waiting....... then the father
came out F me........ say y i nber load luggage........ i tell him straight in the face my
duty as TD even at AP is to ferry u hm n not load/unload all ur luggage n its stated
in my company's rules tat im encouraged to help but not COMPULSORY.........
he say complain to company i tell him go ahead he went for another cab.........
even the other cabbie also told him to load the lugagge he LPPL also do it......... ![]()
So TDs knoe wat is ur rights n dun get bullied.........
Taxi is supposed to be a service industry, part of the hospitality industry and you money mongering whores are giving the industry a bad name.
Right nobody works for free.
Should tell that to the guy from the temple who helped another taxi driver chase a fare cheat.
I think helping a lady to load and unload bulky items is also an issue unless money is used to grease the gears.
Money works wonder for taxi drivers.
I think Beta is off topic and going personal. What TD does, he have his own reason. And there are many out there who will help, so dont label TD in a general manner. I will help too, but I will think this customer is too much. I will help because I accept the fact that this will be some of those idiotic situations where passengers dont understand the meaning of Public Transport and Home Delivery. Try bringing the 42" up the MRT or SBS Bus. Sure can fit. If the Train Driver or Bus Driver chase them out, Call them Money Whores? Or they supposed to be part of Service Industry?
It tells me 2 things. Beta expects others to do things beyond their scope and which may have financial consequences. Secondly, Beta is one who tells others to do, but himself do not do. Why? Because if he does it himself (even driving his own car to help can be considered), he will understand what the forumers are saying. The word for this kind of people is 'hypocrite'.
We can discuss and say a lot of things, but please dont go personal. As a Taxi Driver, my mission is to convey passengers to their desired destination in a safe, economical and timely manner.
I wished you did not mention the temple thingy. Those are nice people implicated by you.
Originally posted by Angwk7118:once pick pax who but buy big piece of mirror at ikea tampines, upon reaching dest, help them carry out the minor, some how rather, the string that tight on the mirror not proper, pass on to the pa hand, she hold the string and then the string give way, drop and broken, you know pax was looking at me like it is my fault, like how.
i think maybe ask insurance company come insurance scheme like buy flight insurance. then all protected
From all your previous post, you stated not receiving $$$ was the main issue, now you find that you lose on reasoning, you side track to another issue. ![]()
Maybe next time when couples with children go Macdonalds asking for a baby chair, the staff will tell them "get it yourself, we don't work for free and we might injure our back". ![]()
Originally posted by komade:the problem is........ people except US to help them load/unload
or try to fit the cargo into the cab......... knn im a driver not a delivery man...........
Macdonald's staff are also not delivery man.
Why they help bring baby chair to couples with children? ![]()
Some commuters are also not delivery man, but would help a handicapped into taxi. ![]()
service industry............. phui
bell boy load baggage you think why? for tips
bell boy open door for you , hope for tips
treat td like shit, you get shit sevice
the big coy cdg has already openly stated very clearly, not a rule that td must carry/load pax item, cdg don't dare to say, only use the word encourage.
the word " encourage " means what, , mean you pax must encourage td , use what to encourage, of course $$$$ lah.
not too long ago...
taxi companies put in the papers after pax complain..
TDs no obligations to load and unload... onli encouraged to help...
Originally posted by StriveOn:I think Beta is off topic and going personal. What TD does, he have his own reason. And there are many out there who will help, so dont label TD in a general manner. I will help too, but I will think this customer is too much. I will help because I accept the fact that this will be some of those idiotic situations where passengers dont understand the meaning of Public Transport and Home Delivery. Try bringing the 42" up the MRT or SBS Bus. Sure can fit. If the Train Driver or Bus Driver chase them out, Call them Money Whores? Or they supposed to be part of Service Industry?
It tells me 2 things. Beta expects others to do things beyond their scope and which may have financial consequences. Secondly, Beta is one who tells others to do, but himself do not do. Why? Because if he does it himself (even driving his own car to help can be considered), he will understand what the forumers are saying. The word for this kind of people is 'hypocrite'.
We can discuss and say a lot of things, but please dont go personal. As a Taxi Driver, my mission is to convey passengers to their desired destination in a safe, economical and timely manner.
I wished you did not mention the temple thingy. Those are nice people implicated by you.
First of all, there is a difference between MRT and buses, they don't have a boot to convey luggage unlike taxis. Get the facts right first. ![]()
I didn't know by lending a hand (2-3 persons lifting) up a tv will have such dire financial consequences. But on the other hand, if you offer the taxi driver $10 tips, I am sure they will help you lift. ![]()
How was the temple people implicated by me? I merely stated that they shouldn't have helped the taxi driver, because they have no monetary incentive to do so.
Geeeez.....come to think of it the temple people could have dire financial consequences, they could have been killed by the fare thief. ![]()
Why would I call taxi drivers money mongering whore is because they are despo for money.
Same thing with the temple helpers, they have no obligation to help chase to robbers, but they did it out of a sense of righteousness. That's where taxi drivers fall short. ![]()