They say their quick journey home from the airport can sometimes be an unpleasant one - and the short distance has everything to do with it.
Mr Baey Yam Keng, a Member of Parliament for Tampines GRC, says he has heard of such stories from his residents: They return from a trip abroad, get into a cab at Changi Airport, and get a dour-faced cabby who thinks driving them home to areas in the east is not worth their while.
Some of these taxi drivers could have waited for as long as two hours for a fare at the airport. And a one-way trip to Tampines or the Siglap area would fetch them only $10 whereas a trip to Orchard would easily be double that.
A recent suggestion to set up a separate taxi queue at the airport for passengers who want to travel to nearby destinations was made by a resident to Mr Baey. The MP, who posted the suggestion on his Facebook, sparked a discussion on whether doing so would be effective for both passengers and drivers.
-- ST
I think it's rather difficult as too much logistic would be involved.
I understand from someone that currently, if the TD happens to get a short trip like nearby airport type, he can inform the wardens and return for another go without having to queue again. Anyone heard about this?
This can be extend to nearby neighbourhood too, maybe just issuse a voucher to those vicinity within this classification. (Tampines, Simei, Punnggol etc...)
I was thinking of another scheme too : any trip from the airport, regardless of distance :
$20 for non peak, $25 for peak and $30 for afer midnight.
if like that, eveyone sure siam the Jurong west type. Haha
Originally posted by Bingjames:I think it's rather difficult as too much logistic would be involved.
I understand from someone that currently, if the TD happens to get a short trip like nearby airport type, he can inform the wardens and return for another go without having to queue again. Anyone heard about this?
This can be extend to nearby neighbourhood too, maybe just issuse a voucher to those vicinity within this classification. (Tampines, Simei, Punnggol etc...)
I was thinking of another scheme too : any trip from the airport, regardless of distance :
$20 for non peak, $25 for peak and $30 for afer midnight.
if like that, eveyone sure siam the Jurong west type. Haha
minimum-plus fare type...i.e less than $20 pay $20, $20.80, pay $20.80. all ap surcharges remove.
If you set up a seperate queue to nearby destinations, what if there is alot of people queing there but no taxi drivers want to go there to fetch them and all of them go to the queue for long distance?
Time to wake up the taxi drivers.
If they dun want to pick up the customers nearby, revoke their license.
They are getting out of hand and it is time to take action.
I am refering to only a small pack of picky taxi drivers.
Same for the taxi drivers who turned "busy" or "on call" during off-peak hours.
Now, off-peak hours have become the sleeping hours for all cab drivers.
If they carry on like this, they are just asking for their demise as the govt have valid reasons to replace them with FTs.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Time to wake up the taxi drivers.
If they carry on like this, they are just asking for their demise as the govt have valid reasons to replace them with FTs.
Or is it time for the consumer to wake up!
Would suggest you go study the concept of "market forces" in depth.
As for the FT driving cabs, if you hv a young, sweet and sexy daughter, try having her take his cab on a sat early morning. Then tell me how that feels!
I would fully support FTs become taxi drivers... so we can everyday enjoy hearing complain similiar to...
"After taking a detour to avoid a traffic jam, an SBS Transit bus driver lost his way, ending up taking more than 10 passengers on a more than two-hour journey.
Channel 8 news reporter Wu Liang Xiang happened to be on SBS bus service 52, which was headed toward Bishan from Jurong East interchange on Sunday.
While
travelling along Bukit Timah road, its driver took a left turn off the
road to avoid getting stuck in a congested section, but eventually lost
his way"
I expected a strong reaction on my posting from existing TD.
No need to study market forces as the situation that I stated will happen eventually if the authority keep receiving the same complaints about picky taxi drivers.
The points that I have highlighted are toward picky taxi drivers.
As for FT driving cabs, if you are worried about your gal, buy her a car and tell her not to take any bus since some of them are driven by FTs.
Not all FTs are wolves as there are local wolves.
As for losing the way, they can install a chinese GPS to guide them.
All these issues can be resolved easily.
No need to ask the consumers to wake up as it is not their fault to stay near changi airport and cannot find a cab during "sleeping" hours.
I take a cab to get from point A to point B, not look at the farking driver's face.
Originally posted by ditzy:I take a cab to get from point A to point B, not look at the farking driver's face.
Same as me. If he gives me a farking face, at most tell him to let me alight and take another cab and I will not pay him too if he does that.
He is the 1 at the losing end
My Advice...
want to Q at airport....?
You take the gamble....
Going nearby places..... just... smile and
your.... ![]()
If you show (your unhappiness) to passengers..... you may get free coffee from office or LTA....
If you don't want to kena short trip(s).... don't go airport and Q.. simply. sweep the floor lor.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:My Advice...
want to Q at airport....?
You take the gamble....
Going nearby places..... just... smile and
your....
If you show (your unhappiness) to passengers..... you may get free coffee from office or LTA....
If you don't want to kena short trip(s).... don't go airport and Q.. simply. sweep the floor lor.
Ya, is like a gamble, going nearby also must loonz. For example Ap to Jalan Tua Kong also cannot show unhappiness, or else.... later really TUA KONG![]()
Short trips....
Pte Limo loves.... ![]()
the shorter the better.... ![]()
I feel that if u wanna join the airport queue, we must play according to the rules of the game.
Ever queue for less than 8 mins and kanna one pax wanna go Jurong. I ask her how come she got no luggage and she replied that she works there.
I also kanna one family of four, scared I dun fetch them, load up everything, get into the cab then tell me "Buangkok". Sorry, they see me wrong liao. Not only I no black face, still fetch him swee swee to their place, no tips some more but still help them bring their luggages to the lift lobby.
If you queue at airport frequently, cannot be so suay every day kanna short trip one la. I can take the long ones happily, I also take the short ones.
But, on the other hand, TD also human right? got feelings and emotions too. Imagine as they say, queuing 2 hours at airport and kanna short trip, wanna scold cannot, wanna reject also cannot, black face also cannot, all surpress inside, one day sure explode.
My advice (wah lao, newbie wanna advice) for ppl queuing there is, expect every trip out to be short trip but if u get a long one, it's a bonus. with this kind of attitude, make life alot easier.
As for TD making themselves unavailable during off-peak hours, I dun agree that it's bad attitude. TD also doing business right? Sure have to pick the time less busy to eat, rest, or peeeee right? is it viable to go do such thing at your busiest time? No logic right?
But from my limited observation, off-peak hours like better opportunity to do business. Fare is so cheap. People tends to wave at taxis more liberally. can get connection every where.
Another point is, when there is a night shift (peak hours), they is also a day shift (off peak). Many TD, especially those who want family life, opt for day shift even though less income, or rather more work for the same income. These people if really take a break during their shift, then what they eat? fresh air or grass?
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:
what u pressing Bro?
Took a cab from the airport once to pasir ris. Driver was pretty pleseant, could tell he wasn't happy but at least he didn't show it.........much. I agree with medicated, you wanna queue, you play by the rules. No one said you must go there queue.
Let said if taxi daily rental is $120, then 12 hour shift will be around $60. Each hour is around $5.
If you queue for 2 hours, you need a fare of at least $10 to break even (excluding cost of fuel).
If you spend 2 hours sweeping, I am sure you can get more than $10.
wanna go Q airport , don't complain,
wanna go Q airport , expect short trip to nearby
i understand the feeling for q-ing at the airport, but why must make your own life difficult. my kakis always info me about airport when is good, but even i nearby i don't want to bother, reason is simple, don't wish to get myself into such situation.
during peak time, let's those pax q long long.
airport surcharge $3 is it worth it? to wait up to 30min, 1hr, or 2hr? to me happen to be sending pax to airport and is png then i go into terminal, png, even nearby i don't care, cos i do not have to q at all, considering $3 surcharge is extra to me, and put my mind set , later simei, tampines, pasir ris can png. most of the time , reach dest, less than 5min get a pax and go.
short trip is not a problem, problem is the waiting time td have to wait . i reckon more than 15min time is a waste of time (in the day) .
So to me, let the pax wait, let the tourist wait, let them wait, until someday better surcharge change.
just wonder why no pax call for taxi when waiting time could be1 hr before their turn come ( not allow by lta?)
those who put on long faces, are usually the black sheep, the whining and narrow minded type old timer. want to be a cab driver, earning a decent livelihood in spore driving a cab, thats normal isnt it. unless they got the guts to say no to passengers who lived at tampines, simei or changi and not scared getting caught. if not, LL. if want to whine, change your occupation.
Originally posted by Bingjames:what u pressing Bro?
Distressed balls....

definitely not yours or mine..... (anyway, I can't Q at airport anymore)..![]()
Originally posted by MMO69:Let said if taxi daily rental is $120, then 12 hour shift will be around $60. Each hour is around $5.
If you queue for 2 hours, you need a fare of at least $10 to break even (excluding cost of fuel).
If you spend 2 hours sweeping, I am sure you can get more than $10.
Some bro here says different people prefer different ways of getting pax. Tat's why I dun understand why ppl queue up at airport, sometimes T1 queue can go along the way to T3 and T3 queue all the way to PIE. What's yr logic? anyone in that position wanna share?
Not only airport, even at MBS, why ppl bother to queue so long when there are pax everywhere in the city willing to give them $3.30 plus $3.00?
was wondering if ppl just enjoy smoking and chit chatting while passing time to queue? Queuing at T3 from PIE takes how long and chances of a Pasir Ris is still 50-50 right?
More me, I spend my time chatting on watsapp or looking for advance job on my iphone CDG apps. Still not very productive la.
My mode of operation (MOD) :
taxi stand - more than 3 taxi, I dun queue.
Airport - ony hear got fast moving lobang or pick and go lobang from walkie, then I go.
most of the time, rather go down town empty-to me, it's more productive.
especially night shift drivers who dun smoke-queue too long start to feel sleepy.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Distressed balls....
definitely not yours or mine..... (anyway, I can't Q at airport anymore)..
press real neh more shiok rite ![]()
Originally posted by Jacky Woo:press real neh more shiok rite
this one better....

Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:this one better....
nah squeeze would be better than just looking ![]()