Pai Seh, I am culprit : p Last week pax from Tiong Bahru Plaza ask where all of you Taxi Driver go?!?! I waited half an hr. I told her got la. Many Taxi driver need provide food for the family one, for $7 will still plough like a cow. But small percentage like me need to rest. I know peak period charge la, but turn here turn there fare only $7-9. I might as well take care of my health and take a break. Not say pia already can see money. Pia also see peanut. Straight to the point! If fare is profiting, you no need ask! All TD will rest less and work harder. This kind of CB fare, risk accident, risk illness, risk guai lan pax, risk China Ferrari, Worth it or not?!?! Stop thinking TDs chin ho tan. LJ road tax is $6000. Your ah gong sit down there no need do anything collect $500 off Taxi companies every month! Havn't calculate diesel tax. I got no family to feed. I can drive $140 and stop. Pay rental then pay diesel. $15 dollars I take dinner. I still can keep my health.
Pai Seh, I think TD's life quite tough. I always encourage fellow TDs la kopi more. Health and life more important. $8 rob you off a well deserved break, worth it meh? Again the 4 BIG risk i mention is very real. TD's do die from it.
Depend lah, if single, la kopi anytime, no problem, if house got 3 kids, one housewife, one old father, one old mother, then it will be a different storu, but of course there are those who whether got family or no family also chiong one,
die die must win other.
Originally posted by Rbs70:
Your defination of older generation is not very clear.
I been to every rally at Hougang Stadium during the last GE, as the rally goes by, the crowd within it is beyond your imagination.
And the end result is very encouraging, voters came from all sort of life....even for myself also will fall into your category of older generation.
Fears? Already the long past history....
I dont know how to tell you, but there is Fear,
in the older, not so educated; and also those in the Government Service.
Hougang is a good example of a struggle that is showing some success.
And we must continue to replicate what happens in Hougang.
I am not against the Ruling Party. I am against the Policies.
And the problem is that the Ruling Party sets the policies whether you like it or not.
Originally posted by StriveOn:I dont know how to tell you, but there is Fear,
in the older, not so educated; and also those in the Government Service.
Hougang is a good example of a struggle that is showing some success.
And we must continue to replicate what happens in Hougang.
I am not against the Ruling Party. I am against the Policies.
And the problem is that the Ruling Party sets the policies whether you like it or not.
No problem, bro...I know the points you wanted to stress.
But judging from the last GE, there's really hope. That hope is not for revolution, that hope is something Sg had been missing much.
Btw, government servant suppose to vote for ruling party, or else where they get their salaries from..![]()
As long the opposition don't screw up themselves, nothing is impossible...
Anyway we are way out of topics...![]()
Originally posted by Rbs70:
Anyway we are way out of topics...
Ya...
Just realised it. Got carried away.

Ah Boy ar , tell u dun listen , u are out of thread liao .
Actually LTA should sent messages to all taxis via MDT or call centre to inform taxi drivers everyday , on which part of Singapore , passengers hard to flag for a cab , then problems solve lor .
Taxi drivers also good , know where to find passengers .
Like TransCab's MDT , put there hang my MDT one .
Silent mode "Activated" one .
At least got messages come in to prove the MDT is working .
And it's time LTA invest more money on a Integrated Network for Booking .
As long as every taxi is installed with a MDT , there should be a Single Network .
A single effective network .
Fark lah chief, you teach them for what, they got NTA president, TP commissioners, top businessmen, civil senior engineers, all transport companies' chiefs, LTA scholars, social professors etc etc in the committee, fully paid by taxpayers for each meeting allowances, which can be $1k per meeting.
You just wait under your coconut trees and I under my papaya trees and wait for order.
And as for TD, it is alway under public views, day in and day out, at the expense of public critics and changes. Naturally, when you talk about taxis, it will link to politics and social economy, who ever sit up there, as lawmakers, just a change of a single words or sentence only, our livinghood moved and changed, for the good or better, up to each individual, but for me, it alway get worst.
all because of one sentence...Conflict of interest
Originally posted by Poolman:Actually LTA should sent messages to all taxis via MDT or call centre to inform taxi drivers everyday , on which part of Singapore , passengers hard to flag for a cab , then problems solve lor .
Taxi drivers also good , know where to find passengers .
got lei...
when mrt break down... one taxi company sent out "income opportunity" message to their TDs...
hee hee...
Originally posted by Poolman:Availability of taxis to be improved
Following constant public feedback about the difficulties in getting a cab, a tripartite workgroup - comprising the Land Transport Authority, the National Taxi Association (NTA) and the taxi operators - has been formed to improve availability of taxis on the roads, NTA adviser Seng Han Thong told reporters yesterday.
It is looking into ways to incentivise more drivers to utilise their taxis fully, said Mr Seng, who was speaking at the sidelines of an event to launch a book about cabbies' experiences.
According to Mr Seng, about 40 per cent of the 27,000 taxis here are "one-man operations". Mr Seng would not be drawn on the possibility of the high COEs leading to more taxi drivers using their vehicles as personal transport. "As far as I know, they are earning a living," Mr Seng said.
Still, there is feedback from taxi drivers that it is difficult to find suitable relief drivers, in order to utilise the taxis for two shifts a day. To address this, a nationwide data sharing system will be set up to better match drivers, Mr Seng said. The workgroup is working on the technical details, said Mr Seng, who did not say when the system will be ready.
When contacted, ComfortDelGro spokesperson Tammy Tan said: "We do, of course, encourage our drivers to utilise the vehicle to its maximum potential".
She reiterated that it is the drivers' prerogative how to utilise their vehicles, "especially since they may well end up out of pocket if they choose not to ply the road for fares for a large part of the day". About 80 per cent of ComfortDelGro's 16,000-strong fleet of taxis operate on double shifts, Ms Tan said.
SMRT Taxis director Tony Heng said that his company - which owns about 3,200 taxis - consider its cabbies "to be self-employed". "Thus, it is in their best interest to put their taxis to optimum economic use," he said.
Mountbatten Member of Parliament Lim Biow Chuan - who sits on the Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for transport - felt the issue is a grey area: If a taxi driver needs to, for example, drive his wife somewhere, it is "only logical" that he uses his vehicle to do so, he noted.
Mr Lim suggested that taxi operators track the usage of taxis based on the mileage or the fares collected. "The taxi companies could charge the drivers based on the desired mileage. If the taxi is used more, they could be charged a lower rental," said Mr Lim.
Apparently they have forgotton about the Sonotas which caught fire recently.Who was responsible?
Correct me if I am wrong. There is no car which can be driven 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.
While they keep quiet about the fired up Sonotas, they create a Tripartite workgropup to discuss on ways to keep cabs on the road and the result would always be an increase in rentals for Taxi Drivers.
Another point I would like to make is that while Taxi Fares are low here while compared with other countries, same cannot be said for the rentals Taxi Drivers pay.
Originally posted by Teolk:new sonata rental still at $104 nett,not yet increased
my relative just made a booking
2-6mths waiting time
New Sonota Taxi Rental at $104 a day with (1 year contract).
New Sonota Private Car Rental at $100++ a day. Can rent for 1 day. If rent for 1 month, cost can be lower than $70 per day.
Taxi Hirers always rent taxis on a monthly basis. Why Taxi companies charge daily rate? Why no monthly rate?
Originally posted by PS2U:New Sonota Taxi Rental at $104 a day with (1 year contract).
New Sonota Private Car Rental at $100++ a day. Can rent for 1 day. If rent for 1 month, cost can be lower than $70 per day.
Taxi Hirers always rent taxis on a monthly basis. Why Taxi companies charge daily rate? Why no monthly rate?
you want to pay 1 month rental in advance?
or change cab company give 1 month notice or give 7 day notice but wait for refund of remaining rental?
Originally posted by PS2U:New Sonota Taxi Rental at $104 a day with (1 year contract).
$70 per day for private rental do not include insurance, you have to pay another $20 for only a third party insurance, and private car got not calls, nor cheap diesel and income.
Tho it is a tripartite discussion, but the interest are different, and that is why I said, conflict of interest.
LTA wants smooth traffic, less complaint, accident, peace and yet more income.
Transport companies, from Smrt to taxis cos, business peoples want money, money and high profit margina,
Paxs on the road wants shorter, smooth ride and cheaper and cheaper fares
Taxi drivers want to drive less and yet make more and more profits
and the fcuking NTA wants to please and please the govt
and the Govt wants tax, higher and higher fuel tax and Gst
Now you see the interest of each group conflicting each other, at the end of the day, there is only one common interest, and that is money.
The committee are make up of business people, people who are graduate in business education, from LTA representives to companies' representatives to Unions are all people who do not understand the ground, so, for sure, you know what is the outcome, whatever it is, you and me as TD will be squeeze further, because without squeezing us, how can they become rich???
The committee will not come out and squeeze the trigger on themselves, nor on the govt, because doing that is suicide for them.
Originally posted by Techo:you want to pay 1 month rental in advance?
or change cab company give 1 month notice or give 7 day notice but wait for refund of remaining rental?
If rental is $1000 monthl....why not.
Already paid rental for a month. Want to change, drive until the end of the month then change lah. Or park at your house and return at the end of the month. Or if really not happy, return immediately and ask them keep the change.
Originally posted by bowah:
$70 per day for private rental do not include insurance, you have to pay another $20 for only a third party insurance, and private car got not calls, nor cheap diesel and income.Tho it is a tripartite discussion, but the interest are different, and that is why I said, conflict of interest.
LTA wants smooth traffic, less complaint, accident, peace and yet more income.
Transport companies, from Smrt to taxis cos, business peoples want money, money and high profit margina,
Paxs on the road wants shorter, smooth ride and cheaper and cheaper fares
Taxi drivers want to drive less and yet make more and more profits
and the fcuking NTA wants to please and please the govt
and the Govt wants tax, higher and higher fuel tax and Gst
Now you see the interest of each group conflicting each other, at the end of the day, there is only one common interest, and that is money.
The committee are make up of business people, people who are graduate in business education, from LTA representives to companies' representatives to Unions are all people who do not understand the ground, so, for sure, you know what is the outcome, whatever it is, you and me as TD will be squeeze further, because without squeezing us, how can they become rich???
The committee will not come out and squeeze the trigger on themselves, nor on the govt, because doing that is suicide for them.
If rental is lower, fares would also be lower. Maybe we can also get rid of all those confusing surcharges which has led to many arguments especially with tourists who think they are being taken for a ride.
If rental is lower, passengers would definetely be happy. Taxi drivers may not be happy because of lower fares and no surcharges. Authorities, Govt, NTA, tripartite whatever would definetely not be happy because of less money. Hmmmm...who should we please?
there is a big loophole,where passengers can take advantage!they make multiple bookings thro different companies!so any one taxi comes first,they just take,others come late,they couldn't care less,they don't even have the decency to cancel ur booking!idiot passenger!LTA do something!
Aiyo , LTA do something ?
It has been like that since i started driving a cab .
Originally posted by Poolman:Aiyo , LTA do something ?
It has been like that since i started driving a cab .
LTA they can do what? A overhead traffic light also need a fatal accident then they will know how to erect...CMI lah....
Just pass by that fatal junction, overhead traffic light is up, but the other one never take down leh...wtf, more confuse....
pax complain no cabs...
when cabs got no pax at ulu places... how?
can complain to LTA?
taxi drivers are always the loser!just now one passenger claim gotta give loose change consists of one 2 dollar note,2 one dollar coins plus the rest in other coins,saying or else he gotta give big note!after he left then when i count it short by 2 dollars,fcuk like that also wanna cheat!
Originally posted by Khoon2580:pax complain no cabs...
when cabs got no pax at ulu places... how?
can complain to LTA?
Then interview paxes lor .... then when LTA ask u , u can say : " Sir , i trying to do those residents a favour by sticking around there , if i go ulu places , then taxis hard to flag down in this area ."