Just bought few days ago, so guess i'll share clips of first day using.
Manufacturers Specifications
Oh yah forgot to add, the G-sensor can set low, normal, high sensitivity or off. Normally i see people recommend low. So when got impact (accident) or hard breaking it will lock the file during the event, so camera will not overwrite that file when card is full.
Also has an SOS button, so can manually press the button to lock the file.
Similar high end models with same specs and functions cost about $600+, this one i bought plus shipping only around $130-$140
Just uploaded taken in a car wash to simulate daylight and also clean windscreen condition.
Daylight:
http://youtu.be/smBITjQPDXw?hd=1
And also uploading shots with front and rear passenger after i wipe my interior lens, made a bit of difference, but since got female passenger i don't want to post link here. Those interested to view PM me.
I advise to watch the clips above in HD and fullscreen.
Very good!From Ebay?Can PM the seller id?Thanks in advance!
Originally posted by quickpick:Very good!From Ebay?Can PM the seller id?Thanks in advance!
Not from ebay from Hong Kong with one year warranty, i'm one of their registered reseller but purchased this for myself and also to test. If can gather enough interested parties i can do a mass order. Won't take profit from forum members.
Just uploaded, night clip after wshing windscreen. If u notice my left shoulder got white color light it's actually coming from the Infra Red LEDs, invisible to human eye, but use handphone camera can see the LED are on. Good thing about the IR LEDs, it has a light sensor, only on when light level is low.
Clip:
http://youtu.be/NNTtgmskSJM?hd=1
There are many other dual lens DVR on ebay and such, but reading all the specs and video reviews i find this to be the best for a budget.
I was actually very interested in this one:
http://www.roadhawk.co.uk/roadhawk-rh-2/prod_3.html
but the price
can flim pax meh ?
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:can flim pax meh ?
Think according to LTA cannot, filming rear of car (ie following vehicles) also cannot, not only cab but all vehicles.
But then i've seen so many cars mounting rear DVR, some even have four, 2 front 2 rear.
But if pax run fare or rob, LTA got help you for the lost or help find the culprit?
The DVR i use got LCD screen, PAX can see that i'm recording them as well. Even if no memory card, still will show on screen, at least a better deterent.
Also good lah they don't allow film pax, cos some TD will abuse if they allow. Like last time in the 80s or 90s, TDs put small mirror to see upskirts of female pax, like that also shiok?
Singapore a bit slow when it comes to technology and taxi driver welfare. A lot of other countries in the world has CCTV on their taxi filming pax. The front facing camera was also not allowed in cabs, only until the Rochor Road accident that they realise having front camera makes it easier to settle investigation and insurance... Taxi companies and LTA don't really suffer much when taxi driver get rob, pax run fare or driver get kill, so to them they don't actually benefit having to implement internal camera.
Last time can lah, pax that run fare usually young kids. Now with all the "foreign talent" taking advantage of the fact that most TDs are old and can't do anything if they run, beat or verbally abuse, etc
Read this, see how many other countries have cam on their taxi:
http://www.verifeye.com/news.php
Quote from Mears Transportation Group (US Cab company)
"Providing their taxi drivers with the safest and most secure workplace was seen by Mears as an investment rather than a cost. "
In UK:
"During 2004, the City Council was anxious to promote the safety of the town’s hire vehicle fleet to visitors, whilst offering the drivers an increased measure of protection. Like many coastal ports there were underlying anti-social behaviour problems, with the hire vehicle drivers facing increasing levels of violence. The City Council wanted to take positive action to eliminate the problems and decided that a pilot program involving in-taxi surveillance cameras would be conducted. Any proposed solution had to be highly reliable and secure, guaranteeing the privacy of both the driver and passenger(s). It needed to be visible, so that it acted as a deterrent its own right, and capable of producing high quality images that would be admissible as evidence in court."
New York:
"New York City was one of the first cities in North America to mandate cameras in its taxis and for-hire vehicles (FHVs). The NYC Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC) introduced its original safety camera specification in 2000 and cameras quickly became the preferred item of safety equipment for the FHVs. In 2007, the TLC updated their camera specifications to take advantage of the latest advances in camera technology, increasing the number of images by a factor of 10, and greatly increasing the resolution and the image quality of the night images. In 2008, with approximately 20,000 cameras installed, New York has more cameras than any other city. The number of incidents of taxi crime is also one of the lowest in the world."
Canada:
"Toronto is the largest taxi market in North America in which taxi cameras are mandated in 100% of the taxis. It is also the safest based on statistics provided by Toronto Police Services."
UK:
"Bridlington is a small, but popular, seaside holiday resort in the East Riding of Yorkshire. Like many such towns, it has seen an increase in the number of fare bilking incidents, and assaults against taxi drivers, principally by drunk young men. The licensing authority was anxious to promote the safety of their taxis, particularly as a holiday season was approaching. In 2008, the town proposed to part-fund a pilot scheme of 10 cameras. By early 2009, there had been a spectacular decrease in the numbers of incidents and the police had used the images obtained from the cameras to gain speedy convictions against the perpetrators of two robbery attempts. In March 2009, the town purchased a further 20 cameras and is hoping to have all taxis and private hire vehicles equipped with cameras by 2010."
Singapore:
2012 front facing DVR (LoL), for easier and faster insurance claims.
Definitely not allowed to film passengers!!! In event of an incident or accident, if u submit your video clip as evidence you may also be fined for filming passengers. I was looking at the X3000 and X8 which were dual camera. Some even has GPS and shock sensors which shows where u are when reviewing in computer. But the images are only 720 resolution.
Some facts about LEDs, the LEDs used for CCTV work in the invisible range of infrared. LED only helps illuminate videos or pictures taken in black and white. It does not help when color cameras are used. U can try covering the LEDs and see the results in ur video. There should be no difference except damage to ur eyes. The Really Really bad thing about IR LEDs is ur eyes cannot see it so ur pupils do not adjust to it. So ur pupils are wide open at night which is like staring into the sun wt eyes wide open. It will ruin ur eyesight in a short time. Eyes are essential for a taxi driver, especially if u intend to drive for years. So take care.
yeah ..... invasion of privacy .
not nice leh ....
But then, those knn paxs also cam us from the back leh, so how, not intrusion of my privacy meh, mostly are those si la kia
Any pic on how the camera look like? Bulky?
Is it this model you using?
Originally posted by CharlesTD:Definitely not allowed to film passengers!!! In event of an incident or accident, if u submit your video clip as evidence you may also be fined for filming passengers. I was looking at the X3000 and X8 which were dual camera. Some even has GPS and shock sensors which shows where u are when reviewing in computer. But the images are only 720 resolution.
Some facts about LEDs, the LEDs used for CCTV work in the invisible range of infrared. LED only helps illuminate videos or pictures taken in black and white. It does not help when color cameras are used. U can try covering the LEDs and see the results in ur video. There should be no difference except damage to ur eyes. The Really Really bad thing about IR LEDs is ur eyes cannot see it so ur pupils do not adjust to it. So ur pupils are wide open at night which is like staring into the sun wt eyes wide open. It will ruin ur eyesight in a short time. Eyes are essential for a taxi driver, especially if u intend to drive for years. So take care.
X3000 similar spec, but saw clips of night shots of rear, totally black. Daytime clip of rear has purple tint, due to ir filter in lens but no ir light. Common misconception about ir, it will only adversely affect your eye if you stare at it directly for long periods of time
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Any pic on how the camera look like? Bulky?
Originally posted by Poolman:yeah ..... invasion of privacy .
not nice leh ....
You know that the MDT records, location, when u start stop vehicle, how many trips how much u make, etc.. But not many know that even audio is recorded, there are several triggers for the audio recording. LTA don't use that audio as evidence, but sometimes they review it to resolve driver/passenger conflict to see which party lying. But even then they won't say they have audio as evidence hence why they call down for "interview"
MDT running on WinCE, they can even view MDT live remotely if they want, but last i check no remote software installed. :)
Digital media (photo/video/audio), previously was not allowed as an evidence in Singapore. Only recently they allow since most CCTV now use digitally recorded media. I know last time photos only from film allowed, audio and video from tape are allowed, since digital media is easily edited and very diffcult to tell edited and orginal versions apart.
I am going to take a wild guess that u have installed the car camera close to the rear view mirror. So how not to look at rear view mirror when u check rear view mirror every 2-3 secs? Also u are sitting less than 1m away. Since u now have seen ur night clip and u know that the IR lights don't do anything, I would suggest that u cover those IR lights to protect ur eyes. They are after all ur eyes, not mine. By the way, these car cam DVR are available in GMarket Singapore, better to get locally just in case got problems can still change or talk to seller.
I just took a look at ur car camera specs. Since only one side have the IR illuminators, use the side with IR for capturing the outside. Like that ur eyes will not be affected.
Originally posted by CharlesTD:I am going to take a wild guess that u have installed the car camera close to the rear view mirror. So how not to look at rear view mirror when u check rear view mirror every 2-3 secs? Also u are sitting less than 1m away. Since u now have seen ur night clip and u know that the IR lights don't do anything, I would suggest that u cover those IR lights to protect ur eyes. They are after all ur eyes, not mine. By the way, these car cam DVR are available in GMarket Singapore, better to get locally just in case got problems can still change or talk to seller.
Actually in total darkness with front and rear passenger it actually works.
X3000 at night rear cam won't see there are passenger behind.
Bro, IR LED are actually safe. IR laser that one different story ah.
Anyways the rear camera LED is offset to my left, staring directly implies shining it directly to your eye like put torch light right in front of eye.
Yup if can order locally just buy locally, for me diff , order on 30th 6am item at my door on 31st noon.
Anyway, ur eyes not mine. Laser emits a straight beam so no one uses a laser to light up surroundings. Good to light up the size of nipples. LED has a cone of vision of abt 25-30degs. I am using a single lens camera only. Wah, u can order from HK and get it in 18hrs time!!! Singapore GMarket take longer, 2 days.
how much does it cost?
Originally posted by CharlesTD:Anyway, ur eyes not mine. Laser emits a straight beam so no one uses a laser to light up surroundings. Good to light up the size of nipples. LED has a cone of vision of abt 25-30degs. I am using a single lens camera only. Wah, u can order from HK and get it in 18hrs time!!! Singapore GMarket take longer, 2 days.
Lol I also never expect so fast. But most of orders from Hong Kong reach me in 3 days max. This order super fast cos use FedEx, only US$2 difference from normal shipping.
Originally posted by komade:how much does it cost?
I just saw in GMarket website, it is S$128.
Originally posted by CharlesTD:I just saw in GMarket website, it is S$128.