newbies must always ask pax which route they prefer to take .
U keep asking ..... know also ask .... dun no also ask .
Until one fine day , u'll find their preferences , the routes majority prefer..... then u next time will know which route to take and safest from complaints .
Drive Comfort must standby pax complain one .
To master taxi driving ....
Easy ?
Not easy one .... must gain from experience everyday .
never open your golden mouth and too reliance on high technology equipment ... not the way to master taxi driving .
sweep more paxes , ask more , get more routes they prefered .
Different races have their prefer route ...
And i even know those estimate taxi fare , can you ?
street paxes and ON CALL paxes .... have got different attitude as well .
Those demands also different .
Soon u will find out street paxes are more demanding , more nasty and more calculative .
Now too soon to know why ?
name: Mr. Lai
address: Taman Jurong
company: Comfort - Sonata
Details: looking for relief driver for Saturday. Please call me for discuss now
Ah Hang u can try this hirer .....
Pls take a day off .....
Long term wise , one off day is good .
Give your body a day to recharge .
Originally posted by Ah.hang1919:Friday Night Incident
Holland V to Hillview...
From HV turn right to Holland Road - Farrer Road - Bukit Timah.........
Pax than request go by Holland Road - Ulu Pandan - Clementi Road - Bukit Timah ..... so I u turn at the Holland bridge and back to Ulu pandan.
Reach fare $13.6.............................. pax passed me $13 ask me enough........... I said OK lo......
Any comment on my plan route........
As a rule of thumb, always head in the general direction of your destination. This is usually the shortest and the pyschologically preferred route of pax, esp aunties.
Hillview is west of holland v, so must head westward. See http://www.streetdirectory.com/
Originally posted by Poolman:newbies must always ask pax which route they prefer to take .
U keep asking ..... know also ask .... dun no also ask .
Until one fine day , u'll find their preferences , the routes majority prefer..... then u next time will know which route to take and safest from complaints .
Drive Comfort must standby pax complain one .
Yes, even oldies like me also ask, even on the way also ask to confirm, but ask in a nice way lah, because you might not know pax, siao ki lai, can make a stunt on the road.
And some are stubborn one, never want to listen to us, which provide shorter and easy way, like last night, Tampines ave 9 to silat road bukit merah, she said go by Tampines ave 10, kaki bukit, airport road, KPE, PIE then CTE, then I said "Miss, can go by tampines ave 10- bartley- braddel and CTE. Then she said, go by my way..so ok lor. As long you happy, from front or back also can, want KY or bon jelly also can.
During evening rush hour.........Clementi Road can be a nightmare...........
A season TD will know how to cut through Old Holland Road..........
Hillview area and Holland Village are connected, they got sign contract 1.........lol
Nobody will go by Farrer Road..........and season pax will want you to cut through Old Holland Road........
So newbies.........also must master the whole Bukit Timah area well..........if you want to pick up from Holland Village Taxi Stand...........
Pax on board.........Greenbank please?.........knn, search GPS again?........or Bin Tong Park, search GPS again?........for less than $10 fare?............
Originally posted by Rbs70:During evening rush hour.........Clementi Road can be a nightmare...........
A season TD will know how to cut through Old Holland Road..........
Hillview area and Holland Village are connected, they got sign contract 1.........lol
Nobody will go by Farrer Road..........and season pax will want you to cut through Old Holland Road........
So newbies.........also must master the whole Bukit Timah area well..........if you want to pick up from Holland Village Taxi Stand...........
Pax on board.........Greenbank please?.........knn, search GPS again?........or Bin Tong Park, search GPS again?........for less than $10 fare?............
sorry sir,i can't find Greenbank in Google map!and Bin tong pk can be confuse with Binjai pk
I asked pax almost every trip de..... Maybe that day HV - Hillview over confident the route so didnt asked and was my mistake not to ask. Lesson learn liao..... thank you lao jiao.....
Originally posted by Poolman:name: Mr. Lai
address: Taman Jurong
company: Comfort - Sonata
Details: looking for relief driver for Saturday. Please call me for discuss now
Ah Hang u can try this hirer .....
Already spoken to him last week, but he looking for Sat day shift.
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:sorry sir,i can't find Greenbank in Google map!and Bin tong pk can be confuse with Binjai pk
Greenbank near kampong chantek there from PIE can see but cannot go.. Lol
Originally posted by cyben764:
Greenbank near kampong chantek there from PIE can see but cannot go.. Lol
ok this one noted,early morning always got calls fr near swiss view!cos this place no taxis pass by!
Greenbank, Greenwood, Greenleaf..........all the green sound nearby, but knn......all far apart with each other in Bukit Timah area.............
Once you master Bukit Timah area..........any part of Sg is chicken feet to you...............
All the short route, ie......Bin Tong area, Watten area, Namely area, Coronation Road West area............etc...........not easy, take time to master......GPS?.......some place not even listed.........lol
Greenbank, are 1 of the place, not easy to identify, unless you willing to explore...........
But if pax say Green Lane, please hor........this 1 at Tanjong Katong hor, don't think is at Bukit Timah.........hahaha
Originally posted by Rbs70:Greenbank, Greenwood, Greenleaf..........all the green sound nearby, but knn......all far apart with each other in Bukit Timah area.............
Once you master Bukit Timah area..........any part of Sg is chicken feet to you...............
All the short route, ie......Bin Tong area, Watten area, Namely area, Coronation Road West area............etc...........not easy, take time to master......GPS?.......some place not even listed.........lol
Greenbank, are 1 of the place, not easy to identify, unless you willing to explore...........
But if pax say Green Lane, please hor........this 1 at Tanjong Katong hor, don't think is at Bukit Timah.........hahaha
Bukit Timah and Holland area are F**king not easy..... Easy to go in and so difficult to get out......
need time to familiar with the road inside....... lau jiao really are lau jiao,,,,,,,.
Originally posted by Ah.hang1919:
Bukit Timah and Holland area are F**king not easy..... Easy to go in and so difficult to get out......need time to familiar with the road inside....... lau jiao really are lau jiao,,,,,,,.
Bro, nothing to do with Lau jiao or not.........
Is whether one willing to learn or not, and the easiest way to learn is to just sweep, sweep, sweep and sweep.........
Spent 1 or 2 days within a week to do sweeping from different area..........
Give own self a test, Si mi pax also don't reject, purely rubbish truck.......after some week of training, try driving to destination without asking.......kanna fark, never mind, learn.............
You will grow to become a better driver without even a mentor...........
Last time, if I sent pax to places unfamiliar, will take some time to recce around, not straight away find other pax...........
To become a good TD not just by talking big, claiming young drivers, earning $7k............Is once start engine, hassle free all the way until off engine..........you will live your life better that way..........
Originally posted by Rbs70:Bro, nothing to do with Lau jiao or not.........
Is whether one willing to learn or not, and the easiest way to learn is to just sweep, sweep, sweep and sweep.........
Spent 1 or 2 days within a week to do sweeping from different area..........
Give own self a test, Si mi pax also don't reject, purely rubbish truck.......after some week of training, try driving to destination without asking.......kanna fark, never mind, learn.............
You will grow to become a better driver without even a mentor...........
Last time, if I sent pax to places unfamiliar, will take some time to recce around, not straight away find other pax...........
To become a good TD not just by talking big, claiming young drivers, earning $7k............Is once start engine, hassle free all the way until off engine..........you will live your life better that way..........
Sweep Sweep Sweep...... is the only way to learn the road......
But hor cannot dont ask pax leh, later kanna complain......... phone will ring liao...... cannot take the risk la.
My monthly target only between 2k-3k............ no way to achieve 7k la.......... that guy siao one de.
Originally posted by Ah.hang1919:
Bukit Timah and Holland area are F**king not easy..... Easy to go in and so difficult to get out......need time to familiar with the road inside....... lau jiao really are lau jiao,,,,,,,.
What lau jiao? no lah, TD, after one year, most able to be lau jiao liao, it is a matter of whether you want to learn or not, see map and explore, waste sometime nevermind, when you explore physically, you learnt more, take those OBK time, like in the afternoon, if nearby after lunch, just whack in and learn, may also get durian drop calls..hehehe
After many years of driving taxis, most lau jiao become lau lan liao
Originally posted by Rbs70:Greenbank, Greenwood, Greenleaf..........all the green sound nearby, but knn......all far apart with each other in Bukit Timah area.............
Yes, morning lots of calls from there, from current to advance, and one more good thing, I never get a no show from there, unlike those FT no show condo calls..knn
Originally posted by bowah:
What lau jiao? no lah, TD, after one year, most able to be lau jiao liao, it is a matter of whether you want to learn or not, see map and explore, waste sometime nevermind, when you explore physically, you learnt more, take those OBK time, like in the afternoon, if nearby after lunch, just whack in and learn, may also get durian drop calls..heheheAfter many years of driving taxis, most lau jiao become lau lan liao
If go explore go same place both day and night. Some people can't recognise place at night eventhough everyday go same place in day.
Like one time, after dropping pax friend at Jln Leban, she ask me go Jln Kechubong.
I ask her, "it's near Gerald Drive right, i go by Yio Chu Kang ok?"
She say, "ok"
At junction Upp Thomson and YCK, i want to turn right. She say, "No, No go straight"
I switch back to straight lane and go straight, drive slowly thinking where she wanna go sia? CTE exit Jln Kayu maybe..
I drive very slow just before Tagore junction i ask, " Miss Jln Kechubong/Gerald Drive is before the Shell Petrol Station along YCK, old IMH there yes?"
She say, "Yes"
Me say, "YCK, i should turn right just now"
She say, "Oh is it, at night look different ah this place"
LoL, end up u-turn back go by YCK
Originally posted by Ah.hang1919:Sweep Sweep Sweep...... is the only way to learn the road......
But hor cannot dont ask pax leh, later kanna complain......... phone will ring liao...... cannot take the risk la.
My monthly target only between 2k-3k............ no way to achieve 7k la.......... that guy siao one de.
Mai tia lang luan luan gong...........so easy to tio complain?............
Basic word.........Sorry, sorry, and sorry.............
As the confident level get higher...........zoom here, zoom there.........rest assure, the pax jaw will drop............
"Uncle, you stay near here ah?"...........hahaha
Originally posted by bowah:Yes, morning lots of calls from there, from current to advance, and one more good thing, I never get a no show from there, unlike those FT no show condo calls..knn
Yes, of course the best tool to learn Bukit Timah.............is to drive CDG...........
But funny things is, when people start to drive CDG, they will avoid Bukit Timah at all cost...........
Originally posted by cyben764:If go explore go same place both day and night. Some people can't recognise place at night eventhough everyday go same place in day.
Like one time, after dropping pax friend at Jln Leban, she ask me go Jln Kechubong.
I ask her, "it's near Gerald Drive right, i go by Yio Chu Kang ok?"
She say, "ok"
At junction Upp Thomson and YCK, i want to turn right. She say, "No, No go straight"
I switch back to straight lane and go straight, drive slowly thinking where she wanna go sia? CTE exit Jln Kayu maybe..
I drive very slow just before Tagore junction i ask, " Miss Jln Kechubong/Gerald Drive is before the Shell Petrol Station along YCK, old IMH there yes?"
She say, "Yes"
Me say, "YCK, i should turn right just now"
She say, "Oh is it, at night look different ah this place"
LoL, end up u-turn back go by YCK
Agree on that...........
Day vision and Night vision, sometime will confuse a TD............
So what can we do?..........for me, I always remember route by landmark.........layman term call local knowledge............
How to remember Bin Tong Park by hard..........remember some prominent feature for all the turning...........example like a steep slope, meaning connecting from Coronation Road West.............the whole Bin Tong area can actually connect to Holland Road, Farrer Road, Six Ave.........and of course Vietnam Embassy was in there also.............
So when night fall.........no problem also.............
I actually hated people to tell me some road names .....
"Uncle , Bukit Timah Road " ..... knnbccb they have got no idea how long is Bukit Timah Road , actually from Newton to Jalan Anak Bukit side .
So end up have to ask them again "which part ?"
Another is "Uncle , Yio Chu Kag Road."
Another kan bu ..... they have got no idea how fucking long is Yio Chu Kang Road !
Once again , must ask : " Which part , u know YCK how long or not ?"
inside si kuan kan liao ....
For your info .... Yio Chu Kang Road is Singapore's longest single road .