LTA to expand Mandatory Give-Way to Buses Scheme
SINGAPORE: Motorists will have to give way to buses in more areas, under the mandatory Give-Way to Buses Scheme. The Land Transport Authority is gradually adding another 150 bus stops to the scheme, and will make known which stops will benefit from the programme down the road.
This comes as new services hit the roads on Sunday under the government's S$1.1 billion Bus Service Enhancement Programme.
More buses on the roads mean motorists will have to let buses have the right-of-way along more stretches of road. Extending the Mandatory Give-Way to Buses Scheme beyond the current 200 bus stops to an additional 150 aims to keep public transport up to speed.
Associate Professor Muhammad Faishal Ibrahim, Parliamentary Secretary for Transport, said: "These will provide more leeway for buses to move in and out of bus bays to ensure that our commuters reach their destination faster."
Helping commuters reach their destination in good time are new bus services like 860, which plies Yishun Ring Road.
Service 860 is served by six new buses, so commuters can expect one bus every 10 minutes during the morning and evening peak periods.
In the months ahead, more announcements are expected to be made on new services, however, it is not known what routes these new bus services will run.
What is known is that several new routes will be running parallel to train lines, while others promise better connectivity within estates.
Law and Foreign Affairs Minister K Shanmugam, who is also MP for Nee Soon GRC, said: "This is one of the things that people have asked for, particularly by residents of Nee Soon East and Nee Soon South, because it now allows people in these two constituencies to go direct to Khatib."
Dun play play , dun give way will kena love letter from LTA and TP .
Will kena fines one ....
esp day shift ...... if TP or LTA spotted u dun give way , or buses captured your vehicle number when never give way , i assure you , u wait ...sure got love letter from them .
When government spent big money on buses , they will have ways to getting it back .
if u do not wish to give way to buses , dun stay on the left lane , keep to the right lane .
Filter into left lane after passed the bus stop .
Dun say i never warn u .
F lar another stoopid scholar idea..............PHUi!!!
This one must give way, I will give way and stop at the yellow give way at bus stops. This 1 we can understand, buses need to get out, we can accomodate.
But where no give way and buses come behind start flashing high beam, I act blur.
the traffic jam going to get worse, that for sure. so slow that take taxi n public transport that the only difference is $· instead of improving traffic condition, they r making it worse..
The things that make matter worst , every Minister for Transport came out with different ideas and implementations to make it so called "better transport system " , but as a matter of fact , make it more confusing !
So far every 4 years , the old Transport Minister must give way to a new Transport Minsiter .
Give way here and there, still PAP ministers mah. I would rather said, they give chances for others scholars to become millionaires.
Very easy one lah, just sit there and delegates, if breakdown, just said, oh..due to some unforeseen circumstances...blah blah, then would end as usual, we shall make sure that this will not happen, we will step up every effort to improve this and that..like this hor, every month paid + house, car, maids, foods, travel allowances +MP allowances + this and that, around 250,000. Give me do 4 years get kicked out, I also do not mind.
knn, today morning, mosr of the famous spot all got camera man..
even after 10am, still can see camera man hide at kallang rd to catching those dr inside red line bus lane..
Will it help to alleviate those jams and help the buses to move more smoothly? I wonder.
bus lanes actually a major cause of jams in town area...
quite common to see bus lane empty... but the other lanes jam till butter and kaya also hav...
Ya loh some place dunno put bus lane for what? Like Fullerton Bay Hotel outside so many --------- must waive in and out if want to drop pax. OUE Bayfront also and best part is when bus come out before the ORQ junction they block 2-3 lanes and jammed all the cars behind.
Lan sai lah, saw one of these ninja at victoria street near bugis Mrt behind a tree, so Uncle me decided to play with him, I go very near the red lane for bus, signal left, saw the ninja came out of the tree, camera ready, then I drive slowly out, ninja relaxed, then Uncle me signal and want to go in again, then he come out very kan chiong standby camera again...hahaha...seibei funny.
When I still driving bus that time, I remember NO vehicles (ok la maybe 1 or 2) ever give way to me when exiting those bus bays with mandatory give way rules. Lol so I expect this thing to fail big time unless they deploy officers at all bus stops.
But for me, I will give way one la cos I understand the bus drivers situation, esp smrt cos their schedule very very tight one. Sbs I seldom give way la cos their time schedule very slack de and their drivers also prefer to go slow lol.
This bus lane things not only pertain to TD..........across the block, all motorist..............
But hor........once your front wheel cross the dotted line, please don't jam brake...........you only need to give way before the dotted line..........
Than some cb bus drivers thought they are king of bus bay.........and some idiots drivers also kuku after dotted line still jam brake............
hi,ynwalfc.it good when u give way. but pl think of all the motorcars behind u. everybody time is precious. that y ppl pay big money to improve their transportation factor. kapoh 1 lane to improve public travelling time only mean 1 thing. the sheer incompetence of lta. instead of solving congestion, they r focusing on the latest erp to eat money. how often we see bus lane empty, the other lane pack like sardines. what kind of logic is this?
No la I give way at those bus bays with those mandatory give way yellowbox like thing. Nothing to do with bus lanes. Like what poolman say lor, if empty and want to keep left, then approach those bus bays with mandatory give way, then just give way lor. If not just keep middle lane la.
Fark lah, should also allow taxis into bus lanes mah, but not close to bus stop, the normal Highway code apply. Like this hor, we sure give way to buses.
salute u bowah. pls train a generation of ninja td busters. hope that got lorry drivers boxing ninjas. wear white colour for what? shd wear black.
This has given bus drivers the impression that they have the right of way when pulling out of bus bays, mandatory or not. They will just pull out regardless of whether there are oncoming vehicles. I got many near miss alr. So do slow down if u r on the left lane and there is a bus at the bus stop,
if i bus driver, i also gan gan chiong. dun care farblari or taxi. public asshole cover by law. pte asshole cover by what?. insurance nia. not cheap n sometime no need to pay. worse to worse, find another job..
Originally posted by Tcsaaa:if i bus driver, i also gan gan chiong. dun care farblari or taxi. public asshole cover by law. pte asshole cover by what?. insurance nia. not cheap n sometime no need to pay. worse to worse, find another job..
worse to worse...
like YNWA_LFC... drive taxi lor...
Originally posted by bowah:Lan sai lah, saw one of these ninja at victoria street near bugis Mrt behind a tree, so Uncle me decided to play with him, I go very near the red lane for bus, signal left, saw the ninja came out of the tree, camera ready, then I drive slowly out, ninja relaxed, then Uncle me signal and want to go in again, then he come out very kan chiong standby camera again...hahaha...seibei funny.
Lol. But no joke. Ninjas on the ball.
Ya lah want to play I play with them loh. When ever I got the chance when turning out to main road with the ------ bus lane I sure slowly slowly stop before the solid line then jam the bus behind. Got once I jam for 5 mins the bus behind until they horn and high beam. Then I go down fuck the bus driver big time. KNN $130 you pay for me lah. Next lane so many cars how I move off? Then he LLST after another 5 mins then traffic clear liao then I slowly move off.....SONG BO!!!
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Ya lah want to play I play with them loh. When ever I got the chance when turning out to main road with the ------ bus lane I sure slowly slowly stop before the solid line then jam the bus behind. Got once I jam for 5 mins the bus behind until they horn and high beam. Then I go down fuck the bus driver big time. KNN $130 you pay for me lah. Next lane so many cars how I move off? Then he LLST after another 5 mins then traffic clear liao then I slowly move off.....SONG BO!!!
Good job. Lucky no car behind you or he also wait 5 minutes with you.