Those who are taking Melatonin to aid your sleep after night shift beware.
Dun take anything more than 1mg. Side effect can be dangeous.
http://www.doctoroz.com/episode/why-melatonin-may-be-dangerous-your-sleep?video=14749
http://www.doctoroz.com/episode/why-melatonin-may-be-dangerous-your-sleep?video=14747
http://www.doctoroz.com/episode/why-melatonin-may-be-dangerous-your-sleep?video=14748
http://www.doctoroz.com/episode/why-melatonin-may-be-dangerous-your-sleep?video=14746
Popular size come in 3mg tablet (about 4¢ a tablet), break it into halve and take only half tablet per serving per day.
Who eat such thing here ?
Bad idea ....
Once i insomnia , asked my family doctor for some , just once ..... dun do much , quite normal .... i rather tickled my foot than eat them .
Tickled my own foot , like massaging my bottom of my foot myself ... works fine .
within 10 minutes , surely koon .
my TCM Doctor told me to do that , no need medicine .
Melatonin is not a drug or medicine la pool, it's actually naturally produce by our body. it's also in plants and other animals. Sometimes when you're sleep pattern change like let's say you go other country or shift work your body use to produce melatonin at certain time let's say always sleep 10pm it always produce at 10pm around the time you sleep, but then now u need sleep 10 am, so people take so body think sleep time liao. People who travel a lot between time zone often use.
It's safe in small dose short term, 3 months regular use. But long term use not advisable. Large dose like thread starter state aka overdose is harmful. Usually doctor give melatonin, if everything you try still can't sleep, if melatonin still don't work then drugs lor.. it's better to take melatonin then sleeping pills, but best is try sleep without any other help first.
Originally posted by cyben764:It's safe in small dose short term, 3 months regular use. But long term use not advisable.
The doc recommends not to take for more than 2 weeks consecutively.
melatonin also found in milk!
Just dun think so much, happy go back, knn tired like fark already, seat on sofa also sleep..then OC scolded, want to sleep go bedroom and sleep lah, sleep here kor korrrr sound damn irritating for me watch korea drama,,,lan lan go bedroom sleep lor
Originally posted by Singtaxi:The doc recommends not to take for more than 2 weeks consecutively.
Actually 1-3days enough, i really don't see the need to take for weeks or months. Yes, doc recommend not more than 2 weeks, because usually when doc prescribe, its higher dose then what's available over the counter, in low dose, over the counter version, its still ok for up to 3 months.
But different people different.
Melatonin used to treat secondary sleep disorder, ie jet lag, shift work. But if really need weeks to adjust that's more likely that u have primary sleep disorder.
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:melatonin also found in milk!
Yes that is why drinking warm milk before going to bed makes u go to sleep easier, but the amount very low, so some people drink warm milk also no effect.