look here with people who earns $7,000 a day…
.....Don’t let
society/the press/tv tell u how to live, don’t let the media tell u what you’re
supposed to do…….because true happiness doesn’t come from serving yourself… http://youtu.be/umLkfADe17s A very meaningful speech by Late Dr
Richard Teo.
R.I.P
Both at 32yo. Wednesday must mao.... 3232....
Educate your next generation to......
now......
http://newnation.sg/2012/10/all-nus-undergraduates-quitting-school-to-become-taxi-drivers/
Posted on 29 October 2012
The Sunday Times claims cabbies make $7,000 monthly, would-be bankers to arts students lured.
All undergraduates from the National University of Singapore are reportedly going to quit their studies to become taxi drivers by next week.
Their decision to leave school collectively is the result of The Sunday Times report on Oct. 28, 2012, where taxi drivers are reportedly making $7,000 a month.
One NUS School of Business undergraduate, Tan Tua Liew, said: “If I work at Barclays bank doing back end banking work, I probably get paid $4,000 monthly. As a cab driver, I can make $7,000 and look damn satki wear sunglasses drive around. Why don’t want?”
One other student from the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Mei Qian Tu, said that the perks of cab-driving are largely understated in the article, but once made public, will only cause office workers to look like automated drones.
A quick pro-vs-con checklist will easily reveal that office workers, unlike cabbies, are simply occupying largely lousy jobs.
Mei Qian Tu explained: “Imagine working in the office. Go work, still must take bus, and the stupid train keep breaking down. Reach late, boss bitch slap you. One month earn $2,000, girlfriend, parents and neighbours all look down on you.”
“On the other hand, drive taxi still can wear sunglasses and look damn satki.”
A check with the retail industry, manufacturing sector, tourism, civil service, military and even parliament and the judiciary has revealed that everyone is considering leaving their current jobs to become taxi drivers too.
“The pay is just too lucrative, very hard to say ‘No’,” explained a spokesperson from the overarching union NTUC, which oversees all workers in Singapore and who is qualified to speak on their behalf.
But probably not for long because the NTUC spokesperson is also planning on quitting his job to become a taxi driver.
Not only that, all of Singapore Press Holdings staff are also reportedly going to quit their jobs to become taxi drivers as well.
The only person who is not quitting is Tony Tan.
He cannot drive.
http://newnation.sg/2012/10/all-nus-undergraduates-quitting-school-to-become-taxi-drivers/
I think the Primary School kids who write composition about My Ambition or 我的志愿will said they want to be a taxi driver when they grow up instead of doctor,teacher or president.
Some SPH reporter are anti-taxi driver type.I have observed through their articles,for LIANHE ZAOBAO,there are two male reporter who always like to condemn taxi driver services & many other minor things when they cannot get a taxi.Both of them are really ignorance,guess they are just another product from our government elite system.
Why i said these SPH reporter are ignorance?I guess this people dun mix or even bother talking to Taxi Driver in their daily life encounter.If they do & understand how is a taxi driver working life,this $7000 taxi driver articles will not be published at all.There is no way to hit 7K or anything close to that.
5 years ago,former transport mininster Raymond Lim claim that cabby earn that magic figure of $9XXX.He was rebut by many fellow cabbies.
many sms me today , everybody talking about the magical $7000 when taking a cab .
No tips .
If i face such topic , i will say : " Yes , surely have , but before rental and diesel ."
Full stop .
Let themself go calculate .
I am glad Poolman becoming a household name in taxi industry .
So when i bashed Comfort and TransCab ..... those authority like LTA and TP will know ?
Hope they know ....... that's what it matter most .
Awareness .
Whoever are aware of it .
And i will make the fucking full use of this household name .
I also got my casket driving colleagues asking me, they want to change to drive Taxis.
Actually also good to propagate the issue, because many will come in and join, taxi companies long Q for taxis, even all type of wish at defu will be snap up, all silver, prime, not to mention crown will be snapped up. lai lai, let them come in..then few month later, you see an ocean of taxis empty on the road, peoples take at will, one pax, 5 cabs chiong for it.
Then you will see few month later, ocean of taxis return, park under the sun waiting for someone to say..taxi driving can earn 10k again
Wikipedia was created as some encyclopedia in internet .
Wikileak was created to leak vital infos politically .
And this forum will be a good enuf platform to clarify those statements made by Straits Times .
When one is joining this trade , they will gather infos from cabbies , surf internet , they will not blindly drive a cab because ST said so .
Trust me on this .
When more Singaporeans join this trade ..... one thing we can be assure of .
Foreigners with S-pass will never be able to drive a cab for sure , like China men driving SBS buses .
Unless those that turned into Singaporeans recently .... and lost or losing their jobs soon .
This could well be the propaganda of this PAP government .
They know many FT will lose their jobs soon .....
This FT that they brought in , soon will leave this country for a greener pastures .
Which is not their agenda from the beginning .
Trust me , this is a politically motivated movements by our country's main stream media .
Base on my predictions , imagine 2 million imigrants into Sgp .
I cannot believe all will not be retrenched soon .
We are on the verge of a massive global recession , soon .
Yes, Our PM said "Singaporean First"...I said "Yes, Singaporean First to die"
Agreed. Been driving for 10 years liao and I have seen the industry changed so much.
Many drivers come and go. Well at least now I am driving without any pressure.Some of my
liabilities have cleared.
Originally posted by Poolman:Base on my predictions , imagine 2 million imigrants into Sgp .
I cannot believe all will not be retrenched soon .
We are on the verge of a massive global recession , soon .
There are many reason for FT entry, it is not only for economy purposes, one thing I like about LKY is his vision, he is like a fortune teller, but also base on facts, but of course he makes mistakes along the way, like 2 is enough and allow a free market housing price which is now beyong any normal paid singaporean affordability.
As TDs, most of us are living in reality, What you see is what you get kind of mentality, like a daily contracted contractor, we can only think of today and tomorrow, cannot much afford to think of long terms issue, but LKY thinks far, and when decided to accept a proposal and make a decision, it must be a one stone kill three birds proposals.
Just like allow third immigrant into our society, be it fallen or talents, he knows that most of these FTs treat singapore like heaven, a clean and peaceful place, when you visit these 3rd world, you can see the stark differences in their way of living from us, here is heaven to them but normal to us.
The agendas is therefore
1st, bring the foreigners to help the economy on both front, one to add support to the booming economy that needs manpower, two, with them, cheap wages can stay for a long time in Singapore, and that give singapore investors both local and oversea a niche over other countries
2nd, with more peoples, taxation such as levies, GST and others payments to the govt will increase, giving a crowded MRT will give more business, even phone lines like singtel will be booming, in another words, an expansion of the market within our society, which is more easier than investing in other countries
3rd, the leverage on the aging population and low birthrate of SIngapore, in getting foreigner in, in hoping that their decendents studied and continues to live here and become Singaporeans for our next future.
BenqEpson and myself .... and BCL , we have almost 30 years of taxi driving experience between us .
I can loud loud say .... non of our , the three oldest bird in this forum , ever touch the $5000 salalry bracket .
I never touch before .
I am so sure BCL never hit $5k before .
I dunno about benqepson .
But i got confidence , he never will get it as far as OMO is concern , and still alive .
3 of us , driving almost 10 years , never hit $5000 before , maybe last 5 years i never hit $4k before .
This 2 years , i never hit more than $3.5 monthly .
Good enough to sum up everything ?
Originally posted by Poolman:BenqEpson and myself .... and BCL , we have almost 30 years of taxi driving experience between us .
I can loud loud say .... non of our , the three oldest bird in this forum , ever touch the $5000 salalry bracket .
I never touch before .
But i got confidence , he never will get it as far as OMO is concern , and still alive .
In the 80s, things are different, knn, I that time $800 drive casket can live happily liao, now frankly speaking $8000, i also hei hei chuan all the way to lor chuan.
Our development is much faster than your aging, many pax i took from AP who had visited singapore about 3 to 5 years ago, cannot recognize Singapore, our landscape and cost of living changed tremedously as it help to churn the economy.
And as a TD, just like car, from the start, you begin to depreciate yourself, first few months, whack like no tomorrow, seibei ho tan, 3 to 4k per month, and in 90s, 3 to 4 k is GM paid liao, now what is 3 to 4k, cannot even go holiday too often. The effort of TD diminish day by day, from hardworking, it slowly creep into you into idling.
If that young guy is a truly a TD, I would like to see what happen to him in 20 years time, if I manage to live that long...he will most probably be telling people, knn, if can, dun drive taxis lah.
After driving taxi for 2.5 yrs, and my best record was $58/hr with midnite charges(one time only after 2.5 yrs ) If happens Sunday Times interview me can i said
$58X8hrs=$464
$464X6days=$2784
$2784X4wks=$11136
like that can or not?
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:For a moment I thought I saw Cashlee....Lol
Hammer, i look that young meh.
Originally posted by Poolman:BenqEpson and myself .... and BCL , we have almost 30 years of taxi driving experience between us .
I never touch before .
$5,000 ?
I only achieved once.... Dec 2007... (my days during my Mercedes cab driving).
Months with $4,000 and above were already POWER.....
now ? Dream hard ....
Yes Pte Limo still can lah.... (Closed 1 eye)...
But $6-7K ?
NO way.....
maybe we need spurs up our hides to work harder to reach the 7k mark.
haiz.
Originally posted by charlize:maybe we need spurs up our hides to work harder to reach the 7k mark.
haiz.
remember to tip the driver also....
I'm thinking real hard how the driver can make $7,000 a month....