Hi, all expert/senior from here. I am considering TD, but got the following question hope to be advised. Thank you.
1) Biggest drawback/concern is unfamiliar with Singapore roads/landmark. Any advice for this?
2) From 1), if considering getting GPS for a start any brand and model to recommend?
3) Does MDT have GPS capability? Which Taxi companies MDT have it?
4) Which Taxi company to join as a relief for a beginner and why?
5) Any link or any ex-topic on the pro & con in joining each Taxi companies as relief?
6) What is the common timing (given by hirer) as relief TD?
Thank you.
I advise you to read ah khoon's blog from page 1 till the end and you should find a lot of answers liao. I did that and I am glad to have read thru. Many aspiring TDs read his blog now mostly earn 7k per month, except me lol
If you know pin loti prata...
2month otr can earn 7k le.
Thank you thank you, but I hope to hear from different views. I read thru' Koon's topic but I dun think he use GPS and got answer to some of my question, but it is interesting and informative.
Road/route/shortcut you will learn on the job.just pick up any customer, ask for prefer route and you learnt.learning thru the hard way and it makes you good.
Take out the street directory, understand which road link to where.if possible, drive around and see see look look.
Gps in MTD i dun find it user friendly.me using garmin.fast capture of gps satellite.i only use it when really ulu.train your brain faster than gps and you will win.
Go search ah koon page.take the effort to read, it helps.99.9% is true compare to the rubbish $7k story teller.
Conmon timing is 4am-4pm or 5am-5pm.....
yours sincerely, 2weeks old newbie driver.
Originally posted by PrOfAtSiR:Road/route/shortcut you will learn on the job.just pick up any customer, ask for prefer route and you learnt.learning thru the hard way and it makes you good.
Take out the street directory, understand which road link to where.if possible, drive around and see see look look.
Gps in MTD i dun find it user friendly.me using garmin.fast capture of gps satellite.i only use it when really ulu.train your brain faster than gps and you will win.
Go search ah koon page.take the effort to read, it helps.99.9% is true compare to the rubbish $7k story teller.
Conmon timing is 4am-4pm or 5am-5pm.....
yours sincerely, 2weeks old newbie driver.
Thanks. This is gd sharing. Can share which model of garmin GPS u got and what is the damage?
For common timing, my understanding from reading online is most hirer prefers to drive in the day and give night timing for relief?
You have drive 2 wks & how is your driving pattern? You mostly CBD type, sweeping type or airport/hotel type?
Originally posted by thinker:Thank you thank you, but I hope to hear from different views. I read thru' Koon's topic but I dun think he use GPS and got answer to some of my question, but it is interesting and informative.
He uses GPS, maybe he never mention much in the blog. Anyway my opinion on GPS is that it is not really useful. When I first start, die die must invest in GPS cos new ma sure lots of routes unsure. Then hor after OTR liao, realize not really useful la cos it confirm take longer routes unless straightforward place la. Also with updated maps, a lot of place can't find leh. Somemore mine is the supposedly better garmin brand one lol. So nowadays I don't really use liao except glance sometimes to see the next three expressway exits.
Best way to learn routes is by remembering road names and landmarks imo. And that will come on the job, from your pax guiding and u memorizing etc. If kana destinations u dunno and pax also dunno, then just tell pax better take behind cab, dun later misunderstanding. Anyway like that maxi driver say, many pax flagging for cab no downtime one lol
Anyway to TS, if you dun mind a second hand GPS (2 months old) garmin 50LM model, I can sell to u at reasonable price. Still under warranty somemore lol
I'm using garmin 265T as I already had it for my motorcycle(using it when going to thailand)
Most hirer drive in the day as it's more like a 8-5job and can spend time with family.there are night hirer as well, just look around.
My driving pattern is, pick up anyone to anywhere, after drop off, go to the nearest shopping mall,you will reach home when the timing is near.time to keep must keep.
PS*-taxi driving is not easy, can only make $2-3k/m provided you drive 6days, 14hours daily, no mc....å�ƒå�ˆå�ƒä¸�饱,饿有饿ä¸�æ» lots of responsibility to road user safety. Be safe than sorry. 钱是赚ä¸�完的,命å�ªæœ‰ä¸€æ�¡ã€‚
Originally posted by PrOfAtSiR:I'm using garmin 265T as I already had it for my motorcycle(using it when going to thailand)
Most hirer drive in the day as it's more like a 8-5job and can spend time with family.there are night hirer as well, just look around.
My driving pattern is, pick up anyone to anywhere, after drop off, go to the nearest shopping mall,you will reach home when the timing is near.time to keep must keep.
PS*-taxi driving is not easy, can only make $2-3k/m provided you drive 6days, 14hours daily, no mc....å�ƒå�ˆå�ƒä¸�饱,饿有饿ä¸�æ» lots of responsibility to road user safety. Be safe than sorry. 钱是赚ä¸�完的,命å�ªæœ‰ä¸€æ�¡ã€‚
If unfamiliar with certain town/neighbourhood PrOfAtSiR style good!
Go shopping mall pick up pax, most of the time with shopping bag sure nearby. Yes make less, but have to sacrifice the money during learning stage. Roughly master one neighbourhood move to next one u not familiar with.
For me, first 2 months, difficult part is CBD area most of the streets ok, but so many building names and can't just drop off pax anyhow. Must learn which is Taxi Stand which is Taxi Stop. Also must learn not only shorttest route in CBD, but cheapest route the least number of ERP gantry.
GPS in CBD can say most of the time pointless, so many tall buildings, sometimes GPS also lost. LoL.
Peak hour pax, especially morning, don't really like new(blur blur) driver. Cos usually people who take cab in morning rushing to work. So chances of getting pax scolding you during learning stage very high during those hours. All this have to face, never face never learn.
The average $2k-3k per month actual fact only about half, cos medical expenses all on your own, sick no income rental still goes on. Need a lot of discipline, when you your own boss, high tendency wake up late, go home early, idle, shopping,
like me today after watching Man U vs ARsenal match,go home close shop and make net profit of $20!that also driving fr 10 am to 9 pm!frankly speaking using GPS isn't that bad as make out,but u must be willing to change directions to suit ur needs,later it will recalculate again the new routes,quite useful for on call use!or coming out fr some private estates esp. Philips ave
Thinker , u free go >>> http://sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/455118
Read all , u'll get all those answers from there .
Read n think more .... u a Thinker , right ?
13 years ago .... my course mate , sit next to me .
Failed Taxi course like 3 times .
He gave up .
Why he cannot make it ?
First , he started work as Maintenance ... always work around North ... never got out of North .
Long time never drive or operate a car .
He never know very well in Sgp .
He only know places like Marsiling , Wdlands , Yishun , Ah Wang .... other than that , he struggled . He failed Route and Landmarks .
He failed defensive driving also .
Story is ....
One will struggled if they dun even know those basic routes and landmarks .
Like Plaza Singapure , dunno ?
Istana ? Dunno ?
Botanic Garden ? Dunno ?
Only know Zoo ?
So everyday Q at Zoo ?
Die or not ?
Sure die .
Like someone relied on GPS .
So one fine day ... a pax hop in .
"Uncle , Bugis Junction , pls do not use route with ERP ."
" Miss , which way u want to go by ?"
"I dunno , my friend tell me go by non ERP route , u should know , u taxi driver ."
Then how ?
Throw her down ? Take cab behind ?
She sekali complain , u go 383 Sin Ming Drive HQ drink coffee ?
Very free ?
If one is desk top bound .... he will face massive problems .
If one work in a store warehouse .... he will face problems as well .
if one only take buses and mrt to work , no bike no car .... problems also .
Drive taxi easy ?
Not easy one ....
I lucky .... i was a outdoor marketing salesman .
I travel all shopping centre in Sgp .
Do marketing around the island .
And it took me almost 3 months to learn those basic requirements .
most paxs don't care how u can go to their destination,as long can reach there ok alrdy.of cos initially if u haven't been driving before a bit tough,for me before drving taxi,only take MRT and buses my whole life,most places never go before,so need perseverence
if i were those guys .....
before i get a TVDL .... i will take a train to Raffles Place , go jalan jalan that area . and bring myself a map and find those taxi stands on the map .
Day One : Go Orchard Road find where is all the taxi stand , walk from Lucky Plaza to Plaza Singapura .
On the way check out which hotel inside cbd and which hotel outside CBD .
Day 2 : Study ERP cost from morning to night , the cost of ERP .
Day 3 : Go River Line ERP and ehck out those boundaries , and the operating time and cost of ERP .
Day 4 : stay at home see map of all Capital Land's Shopping mall and their taxi stand .
Haven't finished hor ..... so easy drive taxi ?
this is those basics ..... and i cannot teach .
It's a fixed infrastructures with road management policies
How to teach ?
One fine day ...
One pax .... 6pm
From Bukit Panjang durian dropped want to go say Fullerton Bay hotel ....
"Uncle , i know there is ERP , use the shortest cheapest route with the least ERP ."
For some , that is really knnbccb . . .
How ?
knn learn those timing and cost lor .... by hard .
Bukit Panjang otw there will be 3 ERPS gantry for most cabbies .
GPS to teach u shortest route , with ERP guides ?
Wait long long .....
It's all in the head .
Originally posted by Poolman:Like someone relied on GPS .
So one fine day ... a pax hop in .
"Uncle , Bugis Junction , pls do not use route with ERP ."
" Miss , which way u want to go by ?"
"I dunno , my friend tell me go by non ERP route , u should know , u taxi driver ."
Then how ?
Throw her down ? Take cab behind ?
She sekali complain , u go 383 Sin Ming Drive HQ drink coffee ?
Very free ?
Actually GPS can select ERP or non ERP route.
Originally posted by Poolman:One fine day ...
One pax .... 6pm
From Bukit Panjang durian dropped want to go say Fullerton Bay hotel ....
"Uncle , i know there is ERP , use the shortest cheapest route with the least ERP ."
For some , that is really knnbccb . . .
How ?
knn learn those timing and cost lor .... by hard .
I I kena this, I buy coffee and go Sin Ming first.