i find the worst is the tree pruning every now and then!slow down the traffic and gotta avoid them!this tree pruning actually not necessary,but bcos contract awarded to them,they always pretend to be pruning all around the expressways!
ohh yah like last weekend on the highway right...they put cones very far and long way right? For me boh pian this is parts and parcels of driving in singapore i guess but still foreigners say our roads are so much better and organised than theirs..
they even say they cant imagine if sinaporeans were to drive in their road conditions..how would they react?
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:i find the worst is the tree pruning every now and then!slow down the traffic and gotta avoid them!this tree pruning actually not necessary,but bcos contract awarded to them,they always pretend to be pruning all around the expressways!
No pruning and gardening, contractor earn what??? indians and bangalas eat what??
And of course Singapore road is nice lah, do you know how much each vehicle has to pay for the road tax or not.
Let take a 2.0cc petrol driven car, road tax already about 1.5k, present population of vehicle OTR is 1 million, you just take this as average, 1 million X $1,500.
Last time tree not many..........so don't need to trim.........
Do you know, most of our trees is pre plant somewhere, than relocated to their current position............
All trees are series.......don't play play, you beng into the tree, you bo die, later on you will receive letter from National Park to pay the damages of the tree...........
Originally posted by Rbs70:Last time tree not many..........so don't need to trim.........
Do you know, most of our trees is pre plant somewhere, than relocated to their current position............
All trees are series.......don't play play, you beng into the tree, you bo die, later on you will receive letter from National Park to pay the damages of the tree...........
damage cost varies on the age of the tree.....
dbl post
With an area of 710 square kilometres and a population of 4.8 million people, Singapore has one of the highest population densities in the world.
Yet, sharing this space with us are over 2000 recorded native plant species. In total, there are about two million trees planted along roadsides, in parks and protected nature areas. It is no wonder Singapore is known internationally as a Garden City.
As a citizen of this Garden City, how well do we know our trees?
Without them, the city would be a harsh landscape of concrete buildings. Trees serve to soften the surroundings, adding beauty and colour to the scenery. They also offer a welcome respite from the tropical heat and glare, while we are outdoors at work or at play.
Originally posted by colafantasy:Give and take lor
Be it tree pruning or road sweeping, i am glad our country makes a huge effort to keep our roads clean, trees prunned regularly… unlike some countries, road r bumpy, rubbish , smelly everywhere, not smooth to drive on…
so minor inconvinences are bearable…
but sometimes they also must choose the correct timing to close the exits… ie no closure of nicholl highway exit fr KPE, havelock ext fr CTE on wed, fri, sat nites… troublesome to reroute…
i rememeber last fri or sat midnite, there is a huge jam at CTE after balestier, close all lanes except 1 for road works.. no brainers…
Actually our roads are now much worse than before.
So many bumps, they just plaster and it becomes uneven still.
Before LTA used to handle this with PWD, potholes and bumps would be cleared within 48 hours. That was the beauty of Singapore to Malaysia. Malaysia you see a pothole or bump, 1 year later still got. In Singapore today got, tommorrow disappear.
But now, they contract everything out, all just plaster here plaster there, some holes on ulu roads can remain for days even weeks
Aiyah, tree pruning is done near rainy season..
Now u see more often because rain more often.
They never prune the trees, later when rain branch drop on your cab u blame them for not pruning.
If they never prune and strong winds, whole tree fall cover three lanes of expressway then blame again..
The litter picking also necessary, too much litter, heavy rain litter all float to middle of expressway might cause accidents...
Nobody pick the litter, then all float into drain and clog up, then cause flood. Blame who? Blame government for not doing anything to prevent flood, LTA also under government mah!
Traffic won't slow so bad if drivers see all those warning signs! I really hate it when the sign says lane 1 got litter picking or tree pruning and those drivers still stay on lane 1. If past only one sign can excuse ah, but most of the time i see they past 3-4 HUGE LED signs, then 500m away, can see the huge truck with HUGE LED arrow blink blink, still last min then wanna change to lane 2, causing all other driver to slow down cos one idiot wanna change lane.
The trees are there not only to make singapore look nice. It provides shade and prevents glare from sun, reduce dust, reduce noise pollution to surrounding homes, "cleans" the air.
Got one tourist last time ask me, how Singapore trees look so nice, branch curve so evenly. I told them every few months people prune it!
Originally posted by cyben764:Aiyah, tree pruning is done near rainy season..
Now u see more often because rain more often.
They never prune the trees, later when rain branch drop on your cab u blame them for not pruning.
If they never prune and strong winds, whole tree fall cover three lanes of expressway then blame again..
The litter picking also necessary, too much litter, heavy rain litter all float to middle of expressway might cause accidents...
Nobody pick the litter, then all float into drain and clog up, then cause flood. Blame who? Blame government for not doing anything to prevent flood, LTA also under government mah!
Traffic won't slow so bad if drivers see all those warning signs! I really hate it when the sign says lane 1 got litter picking or tree pruning and those drivers still stay on lane 1. If past only one sign can excuse ah, but most of the time i see they past 3-4 HUGE LED signs, then 500m away, can see the huge truck with HUGE LED arrow blink blink, still last min then wanna change to lane 2, causing all other driver to slow down cos one idiot wanna change lane.
The trees are there not only to make singapore look nice. It provides shade and prevents glare from sun, reduce dust, reduce noise pollution to surrounding homes, "cleans" the air.
Got one tourist last time ask me, how Singapore trees look so nice, branch curve so evenly. I told them every few months people prune it!
Well said!
That's why lots of foreigners say sillyporeans take everything for granted and blame the gahment for doing and not doing things, EVERYTHING!
Originally posted by Techo:Well said!
That's why lots of foreigners say sillyporeans take everything for granted and blame the gahment for doing and not doing things, EVERYTHING!
Everything has a price. Want all the benefits hv to bear with the inconveniences.
I always say, most amk's enjoy the romance but hate to stay around for the responsibilities!
Call me anything, but I always wish our local girls the best of luck when I see them romancing amk's. Just so different cultural backgrounds.
won't be surprise,these tree pruning on the expressways will go on forever!afterall contractor awarded contracts!even today Deepaval also tree pruning!
Originally posted by Techo:Everything has a price. Want all the benefits hv to bear with the inconveniences.
I always say, most amk's enjoy the romance but hate to stay around for the responsibilities!
Call me anything, but I always wish our local girls the best of luck when I see them romancing amk's. Just so different cultural backgrounds.
I recall 1 ang mo guy pax on the phone loudly even caling chinese gals so stupid as to beleive that they will end up marrying him as he is out for fun and all...and the other day 3 sg chinese gals pax talks abt how proud they were with their so call angmoh bf and how they will fly here and there and bitching abt it...OMG..bei tahan when they realise the farking truth...but on teh contary only a minor fraction of angmoh are genuine while rest are using mask...
if i ang moh i also will play around esp those old bastards,old enough to call him father!