Originally posted by eurocab:Anybody interested in GPS signal jammer? I have stock........
Jam liao MDT buay ting liao...lol
To foolsh, I have this advice:
Be very careful about engaging a lawyer in order to take SMRT to court.
Unless the lawyer someone you know well, I would consider any advice he gives varefully. They might say, ya,ya, you got good chance, let's proceed to court.
This is Singapore not the US, you go to court, you have to pay legal fees upfront, no such thing as minus from the winnings. And if you lose, you will likely have to pay the the other parties legal fees and whatever damages.
Don't forget a court case is very taxing, a lot of preparation is needed, so a lot of time is gonna be wasted. Are you really up for this? The long haul.
Next also consider before writing to the press (that's if it gets published).
Dont make this a big issue until you really have to. You force their hand into defending themselves by going this route, and they have or can afford to lose, can you?
The best at this stage is negotiate, try to make some arrangements or compromise. Or as some put it, write the 1k deposit and take this as a lesson learnt.
They can't force you to pay 2.5k, they can't bankrupt you for this, at the most just send lawyer letters of demand, which can be ignored.
The lesson to learn here is always take time to consider the options after some trouble, like an accident. Don't rush to report, even if you are in the right. Reporting takes much time and can go both ways. Even if you think you're right, the other party might actually lie in their report, and TP will just either ignore the report or summon 1 or both drivers.
There is no big issue or specific law that you must report an accident in 24hours, except in cases of injury. Even then it can also depend on whether compensation was given and taken. I hit a pedestrian, settled with him, later he make a report. TP write to me 3 months later and ask me to report (thru Comfort). I lodged a report, in the end also nothing happened. TP gave me a warning (because no injury and the pedestrian had taken compensation but of course later wanted more). I just paid the $1000 excess and am now waiting for to get it back (or part of it). But I'm not presurising them, letting things the normal course.
Also somebody hit me, something like your case. We ding dong back and forth and finally he agreed to pay. Why? Because I knew I was right. When you're right, reporting 1 week later or 1 month later doesn't make a difference, as long as you have the facts and photos of damages. But why didn't I report? Because of the time involved. But if he did, then no choice I must, but his excess a lot, and I suspected he wouldn't, win or lose he has to pay tht and his yearly premium would go up.
Take this as a lesson, after an accident, follow the correct steps, if injured party involved attend to them, call ambulance etc. If not exchange particulars, take pictures and then negotiate. Unless severe damage, no need to involve company.
yes uncle joe raj,but if they send lawyer letter,does it mean we gotta attend court?what if they make claims thro the small claims dept?do i need to pay then?
fool , i sent you my piece of advice .( in your mail box )
just keep it to yourself .
for your reference .
thanks Gu7777g,for ur enlightenment,these big corp think they can alwaysn bully us with such threats,we stand up for our rights!they think we r ignorant,can bluff us and threaten us!
Smrt again...
but i have to take my hats off to them for their ability to lure so many newbirds into taking the new epicas
then let them omo & slowly rot away
Originally posted by Gu7777g:smrt hire those chao ah beng debt collector,
Singapore Police allowed that to happen meh ?
If that really happen , can report Police ??
Originally posted by Gu7777g:MY friend once drove for smrt, after accident, he quit, owns them 1.5k, he never pay, smrt hire those chao ah beng debt collector, came up to my friend house about 3 times, my friend die die say no money, then they give up, till now, its been mire then 5 years, smrt never bother about my friend liao.
Nowadays no more A-beng le. They wear proper attire, come and speak nicely, urge you to open your door so that they can go into your house and "talk" to you. If you dun let them in, they oso LL.
Originally posted by Poolman:
Singapore Police allowed that to happen meh ?If that really happen , can report Police ??
Of course can lah, they are not unlicensed or illegal money lenders or acting for them. They are chasing a 'legal debt' or a debt not illegal under the law. As long they don't breach the peace, or cause annoyance to the public at large, the Police will not deal with it.
Eg; Once someone own my friend money, so he went to the debtor's house in the early morning and bang the door. The debtor call the police, my friend answer simple, 'Sir this block got so many house, why I only knock this door? Because only he owe me money. The Police also LL cannot do anything just advise to keep noise down or take civil action.
Of course the debtor can also refuse to pay or open the door, my freind also lan lan.
For TS and others, don't worry about about these 'legal debts', in Singapore as long you don't owe Ah Long, the other debts or so called debts, all can take a queue number.
Even you owe Govt money (as long not a fine under any law), say income tax or whatever similar, even as a bankrupt. The govt is not going to hound you like Ah Long. Yes they may make things difficult for you, deny your application for license or whatever, or cut off some things like power (if you owe PUB). But you won't go to jail just because you don't have any money to pay (unless as i said, it's rule under law like conservancy charges, there is a law for that).
Only Ah Long you have to worry because of the trouble they will cause you and your neighbours.
SMRT or CDG are a big organization............today this department demand you to pay this, tomorrow another department will process default payment, than another department will submit your case to debt collection agency.............
Than staff turn over rate also so high..........today you talk to this officer, tomorrow another might attend to you..........same goes to debt collection agency, today this runner come, tomorrow another will come............
What I want to stress is...........a simple case, after going through so many hands and years, it might become a not simple case..............
Don't choose to ignore, settle simple case in simple manner.............do think about your family members, ultimately when debt collector come knocking your door, is still nothing to be proud of................
For what I see...........is just a manner of accident assess, find the right one to bend table, TS do remember, no matter what, an accident report had make, whether the assess is justify or not is all listed in your hirer agreement............
When TD choose to default payment, usually is owe rental type.............accident case, how to default?..........CDG $1k and $2k...........SMRT sure also have their SOP................don't be silly to fight this and fight that, in the first place, not happy to pay assess, should not even report to office..............
if they want to claim to the max.,sure can $2200,but not $2500,cos it's obvious the car can be repaired!cos i drove it home,next morning drove to workshop.even the accident officer also say can be repaired in 1 or 2 days.also the damage is just a slight dent on bumper,just a screw came off plus some dents!
Hi foolsh....now ask urself r u going to continous to drive for smrt? or change coy?
Originally posted by Teolk:Smrt again...
but i have to take my hats off to them for their ability to lure so many newbirds into taking the new epicas
then let them omo & slowly rot away
When i say this numerous times , newbies chose to ignore , what to do ?
Originally posted by Skyjus23:Hi foolsh....now ask urself r u going to continous to drive for smrt? or change coy?
never again as they r a ruthless coy that preyed on newbies,as we r ignorant and not knowledgable about this
U should have joined the SMRT drivers whom went on Strike.... last Monday, just to state your point of discontent....
When they interview u... u can state your story....
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:U should have joined the SMRT drivers whom went on Strike.... last Monday, just to state your point of discontent....
When they interview u... u can state your story....
Do you think the authority will allow the press/tv to publish/broadcast something that they deemed not fit for consumption?
Originally posted by Singtaxi:Do you think the authority will allow the press/tv to publish/broadcast something that they deemed not fit for consumption?
all send bk within a week, why?
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:never again as they r a ruthless coy that preyed on newbies,as we r ignorant and not knowledgable about this
tats why before join any taxi co, do homework and read up about them in the forum.
Take the road less travelled, it becomes easier after a while.
I neither support nor condone SMRT though I'm their former hirer, now relief. Go in with your eyes wide open. No point crying after spill milk.
Originally posted by Red5xx:all send bk within a week, why?
ä¸�能æ�€äººç�å�£ å�ªå¥½æŠŠäººé€�èµ°
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:never again as they r a ruthless coy that preyed on newbies,as we r ignorant and not knowledgable about this
then find another coy to drive asap....u need to cari makan rite....dun let tis get over u first....drive with other coy first....then see how to settle with smrt in a more proper way that u wont lugi so much.....i pm u liao u shall knw wat to do....take care
the only thing that can attract td to smrt is only the blackie...other than that i dont see any better incentive.
Originally posted by ericgo:the only thing that can attract td to smrt is only the blackie...other than that i dont see any better incentive.
they don't terminate drivers .
they beg hirer to stay .
and slashed them when given half chance .