I will just start off as relief . I will never start as OMO .
Choice of company doesn't matter .
The best is dun have any MDT , very distracting to newbies .
I will start to sweep on sight ...... learn as much as possible .'
I will never use a GPS . I will learn from passengers , get paid and learn .
I will never be bother to go into CBD , cos my objective is to sweep and learnt as much as possible .
At least for the next 3 months .
But i will chose a taxi company that have cashless equipement .Esp NETS payment .
That will be Comfort , TransCab , Silver and SMRT .
Prime and Smart have cashless , but no NETS .
If i am to become a relief , i cannot be choosy over taxi companies .
Main criteria must be near home .
At least within 2km boundary .
if cannot find , widen the scope , 5km .
And ride a bicycle ( as exercise ) .
To become a relief , day or night better ?
Believe me , i regretted start with Night .
Cos my body cannot cope what day shift required .
Now still the same .
I will drive Day if i can turn back the clock .
I believe if i drive day , to convert to night .... my body can manage better .
A good driver must be able to drive both shifts .
if i drive as relief , i will try CNG taxis .
If i can succeed in driving CNG taxi , i can succeed in driving any taxis .
The last 2 choices if i given no choice .
Prime and Smart will be my last 2 choices .
After 3 months .... probation period over .
Then i can consider other options .
Becoming a hirer , or remain as relief .
Becoming a relief , learn to be more tolerance , more generous , less calculative , more understanding with partner , then u can consider to be a Hirer .
After u master the art of tolerance , generosity , understanding ..... then u will find a good relief .
Because u will know how your relief felt , cos u were a relief before .
That is how to become a good hirer .
It takes both hands to clap .
If u cannot be a good relief , u can never be a good hirer .
Today my pointers , solid bo ?
I no need to teach anything ..... i point .
After sweeping for 3 months ...... then u adjust those skills base on your capabilities .
Everyday u will improve .
Today Raffles City got one to Yishun , then tmr i will never go Raffles City again , i will try Bugis Junction .
If at Bugis Junction took one to Airport , and u love going AP , then plan yourself to go Bugis Junction everyday ... until u get one to Woodlands .
Consolidate your routine .
Join LV ?
Join LV to listen to "business opportunities" , not to compete biddings jobs with fellow oldies for at least 3 weeks to 1 month .
Join LV just in case u need help , just in case u dunno anything , just ask .
Until u are capable enough to compete , that will on another level . Familiarisation first . Then u can compete .
From Point A to Point B , i know those timings , 95% accuracy , can you ?
If i am a relief , i will never start off as a Chrysler or Merc driver .
Cos for a fine start , u need more street picks , not street rejections .
Drive Chrysler and Merc will face rejections , not all the time , will have .
After three months ..... then i will then consider to take bookings .
Cos familiar liao ...easier .
If still not familair with routes and landmarks , plus Building , i will put more effort to learn more , and continue sweeping on sight , bookings later then say , next month see how .
If one place has got bookings , there will be street paxes .
Newbies can forget about Advance bookings .....
Familiarise and understanding with traffic situations , then u commit those bookings .
Advance Booking can be a burden .
Lucrative , $8 per booking , who dun want ?
But it has got a price to pay for .
If i am a relief or newbie ..... i will work gradually upwards .
7 hours ...... then 8 hours per day .... then 9 hours .... then 10 hours per day .
Upwards .
In between , if one felt fatigue after 10 hours , next day down 9 hours . Continue 9 hours for the next few days . Never stretch your body too far
It will be very damaging to health to start from driving 14hours , down 13 , down 12 , down 11 ......
Let your body do a run in ..... from smaller gear to bigger gear , like our car . In between , lower down your gear , etc etc then up gear .
After your body run in nicely , then u say u are working nicely .
If i am a newbie , money is secondary .
I will promise myself i will go home in a piece everyday ..... walking piece , not in a box .
I will also assure my vehicle also in a piece everyday , cos she is our working partner .
If u adopt those advice , come back and tell me what have u learnt after 6 months .
wah... chief pool...
how come u write out what I went tru since my day 1?
about 90% simliar to my journey...
first six months - relief on cng taxi...
second six months - hirer on diesel taxi with ex-hirer as relief... same taxi company
third six months - gradual steps to omo... while relief slowly blend into his new job... few days... few days... den full swing... join LV but not active initially... den slowly become veri active...
forth six month - try out different timing... full day... split shift... day on day off... now trying nite...
but i differ from chief pool on the gps issue...
i rely a lot on the gps...
not from point a to point b... tis one muz be finger tips... coz is our rice bowl...
my gps comes in when reach estates... to locate block number or those small lanes in private estates...
Nb...sibei loh soh...read half way...Zzzzzz.... + half sober...
Originally posted by ericgo:Nb...sibei loh soh...read half way...Zzzzzz.... + half sober...
too much tiger last night ?