Interesting to see so many now in here and some of the very interesting statements.
For people like Poolman, you gotta get used to them and their style. Don't you remember when you were one as well, or if we go down the road some years later with pronouncements like how those 70s and 80s, even 90s, old timers are dinosaurs who are complain this and that...
You were the 'new generation' like me in the 90s. Now you and I are the old generation, newbies some of them will have no time to listen to our complaints and advise.
As someone said to each his own, but we gotta face it, our methods will eventually be carried on only by a select few, these new generation don't believe in coconut tree, a dollar per km, f care company etc.
To them to hold the keys to their own vehicle is a statement in itself. And we must accept it and just move with our own style. Somone mentioned cowboys, it's important that we don't become heroes for nothing or rebels without a cause.
the younger generation use GPS,Ipads or smart phones.i should say they r more tech savvy and most can speak good English so r not afraid of picking up Ang Mohs or FTs.most are OMO.they tend to drive new auto cars.they take more call bookings.they work more than 12 hours per day clocking between 300 to 400 km per day.they start work at around 7 am and ends around 10.30 to 11.30 pm everyday.they want to earn 7000 dollars per month.
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Interesting to see so many now in here and some of the very interesting statements.
For people like Poolman, you gotta get used to them and their style. Don't you remember when you were one as well, or if we go down the road some years later with pronouncements like how those 70s and 80s, even 90s, old timers are dinosaurs who are complain this and that...
You were the 'new generation' like me in the 90s. Now you and I are the old generation, newbies some of them will have no time to listen to our complaints and advise.
As someone said to each his own, but we gotta face it, our methods will eventually be carried on only by a select few, these new generation don't believe in coconut tree, a dollar per km, f care company etc.
To them to hold the keys to their own vehicle is a statement in itself. And we must accept it and just move with our own style. Somone mentioned cowboys, it's important that we don't become heroes for nothing or rebels without a cause.
Hi Joeraj, thanx for creating this thread by a lao jiao from you, as you can also know that you were once a "Cowboy" too.
I too agreed that nowaday a lot of newbies (like me) will really be hard to adapt the older method being advised to them. But I believe the longer they hold the steering, the more they will appreciate the advice being given.
Anyway, as long as one provide genuine advice, it will be up to anyone to listen or not. Of cos like the last para mentioned,
"don't become heroes for nothing or rebels without a cause".
Cheers... and have a nice day and good luck to all TD for everyday.
Lao Jiao can share their newbies experience. It would be interesting to hear their stories. Like my ex neighbour tell me when he first started in the 70s there is no such thing as empty cab back to town to take pax. Every where got pax. Because there is little cab then. And rental so cheap. Diesel so cheap. That time SMLJ surcharge also dun have and they can afford to buy ang mo chu if dun indulge in vices like horse and women....
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Lao Jiao can share their newbies experience. It would be interesting to hear their stories. Like my ex neighbour tell me when he first started in the 70s there is no such thing as empty cab back to town to take pax. Every where got pax. Because there is little cab then. And rental so cheap. Diesel so cheap. That time SMLJ surcharge also dun have and they can afford to buy ang mo chu if dun indulge in vices like horse and women....
Ya lah , Sgp during the 70's population less than 2.5m ..... all stay at kampong , no need take bus one . Walk 3km out from kampong just to catch a bus to schoools .
And my bus fare only $0.10 when i go to school from my kampong .
Different lah , different era liao .
This forum was created to share and make some noise about taxi driving .
Share on how to use a taximeter , why Changing Shift , Comments and review of taxi companies and their vehicles , along with different benefits .
These are just guidelines ...... end day , still "IT"S ABOUT YOU!" to adopt those sharings and apply on the road to bring food to the table for your family .
Different character used different mentallity to drive a cab , as what JR had said , to each his own .
Some came here , stick with us ....... Some came in here , post one thread , and disappear .... some came in here , learnt things , and when they can make it liao , they say FORUM fuck type . All kind of people also have .
Nobody seen as much as myself .
I got so used of it liao .
End day , i am overall satisfied at those members who stick thick and thin with us .
For some funny reasons ..... some posted some threads on advice ., which is good , which is no good ...... End day , they still proceeded with their initial plans .
As if there was no post on advice before .......
So i take that as left ear in , right ear out .
Listen jiu ho .
Yes majority was like that .
Just an example .... an example .
One asked about one V6 CNG taxi .
We said no good lah , fuel consumption etc etc no good , jiak you this jiak you that ... that taxi company condemn case liao .....
They listen liao , just disappointed nobody agrees he made the right decision liao .
Quietly he went to take that V6 CNG taxi , quietly drive it , quietly suffered , quietly peep into this forum etc etc .... isolated , cos nobody agrees on his decision .
No Alliances .
for some newbies .... they were too scare to reject proposal by certain taxi companies to take their taxis .
They signed , cannot sleep cos already contractual sign liao .
Then they post threads , ask this ask that ..... then when they saw those replies , it's more like "aiyo like that , siow liao " .
2 new advices for newbies .
Take your time to decide , collect those infos before , think about it before u sign on those dotted lines .
2 second advice ...... U sign already , that's shouldn't be any regrets .
Best is ask before u commit to any contracts .
I never believe in hard selling ....... good products no need hard sellings . It will sell by itself .
Originally posted by Law2121:i newbie wanna befriend fellow td for kopi , badminton , jogging , ktv sessions . any1 ?
Messaged you liao!!
I have to admit that I am one of those describe by JoeRaj and Poolman. I took a SMRT Epica brand new right after attending the complusory MTD class, this is where u are pressurized to lease a taxi from SMRT due to the incentives. Furthermore there were a about 8 TC Wish TD there to also take a new Epica. So I kiasu take one also. Before I took the new Epica I had met Poolman once and had listened to his advise briefly. I did not want to take too much of his time during the 1st meeting since I see Poolman has no benefit in helping me whom he did not even know. So I had my doubts. It was only after meeting Poolman and other Kakis that I can see the strong bond and how these Lao jiaos have helped so many. It was after I started drivin the new taxi OMO for about 2 months that I realise what these people in this forum are saying is true. Yes driving OMO u can earn more but u have to drive 14-16 hrs a day without any break. imagine everyday driving the 1st 8 hrs just to cover the rental and diesel!!! Since I have signed the contract wt SMRT, i will serve out the contract and I look forward to the day I become a relief. As a matter of fact, I am thinking of being a Super Relief for CDG, SMRT and Transcab. Life will be so much more fruitful and less tiring.
Originally posted by CharlesTD:I have to admit that I am one of those describe by JoeRaj and Poolman. I took a SMRT Epica brand new right after attending the complusory MTD class, this is where u are pressurized to lease a taxi from SMRT due to the incentives. Furthermore there were a about 8 TC Wish TD there to also take a new Epica. So I kiasu take one also. Before I took the new Epica I had met Poolman once and had listened to his advise briefly. I did not want to take too much of his time during the 1st meeting since I see Poolman has no benefit in helping me whom he did not even know. So I had my doubts. It was only after meeting Poolman and other Kakis that I can see the strong bond and how these Lao jiaos have helped so many. It was after I started drivin the new taxi OMO for about 2 months that I realise what these people in this forum are saying is true. Yes driving OMO u can earn more but u have to drive 14-16 hrs a day without any break. imagine everyday driving the 1st 8 hrs just to cover the rental and diesel!!! Since I have signed the contract wt SMRT, i will serve out the contract and I look forward to the day I become a relief. As a matter of fact, I am thinking of being a Super Relief for CDG, SMRT and Transcab. Life will be so much more fruitful and less tiring.
Good idea ...... for a Better Future .....
Take care fellow TD!!
Originally posted by Law2121:wat smrt told me
500 deposit . return veh 21 days notice
new epica – 0-6months if return -300 , -300 -267.5
6-12months -50
after 1year no nid minus liao .
Mai lah...Epica problem car. I seen so many on tow...lol
Originally posted by Law2121:i newbie wanna befriend fellow td for kopi , badminton , jogging , ktv sessions . any1 ?
Originally posted by Law2121:all car oso problem lah . eh sai bo ?
Since day one I have been omo for 2 years till now.Didn't make 7k a month...but enough to feed the family,won't stave...hahaha. As most of the pioneer here has experience before, lesser time to rest,lesser time with the family, longer hours otr.Choose to be omo or relief to suit yourself,advise is all over in this forums.Be it omo or relief, as long as you drive happily.Follow your own heart.In the end of the story,is you the one who's driving to earn a living..cheers~~
Actually, as a newbie, this forum and people here helped me a lot in starting this job as a TD. Without information sharing from the lao jiaos, I think many newbies will surrender key and find other jobs.....
Chief Pool has helped me and gave me a lot of advise, take what car, where to go, what time go where, can try where, etc.....
I joined LV not so much of the calls, but for the info given by other LV members, like where png, where got jam, etc....these are critical, as our time is money. My good buddy told me waste money, but maybe because he drive day, so he think that not useful for him, I drive night, so damn useful for me.....also listen to the guys crack jokes helps to relive some of the stress.....
Also, just the other day, FT pax jumped in my cab and say Cathay Cineleisure... I mindblock a while, dunno is near Plaza Sing or behind Mandarin Orchard.... I picked up talkie, ask for SOS and members feed info almost immediately.... Ah Khoon still private me asking me if I was joking..... temporary mindblock lah, if pax just said Cineleisure, i know go where, add a Cathay, i think of the one near Plaza Sing.....
Also, reading info here in the forum also kept me informed of whats going on, how to handle pax in certain situations, etc. These are valuable info that you dun need to long pia (bang wall) then say oh, so its like this...... I had one pax tell me he want go to Lor 40 there NTUC transfer money, then ask me can wait for him or not, fetch him back to the coffeeshop where i picked him up from, as I newbie, I sure will say OK, but reading about how pax try to run fares, I told him cannot, I got to rush off, cannot wait. So pay first then get off. Whether or not he will run, I dun care, I finish my job, you pay the fare. This is what this forum taught me.