Originally posted by Rbs70:
My father time, taxi driving can bring up kids and sent them abroad to study.........
Taxi can suka suka park at home and had a proper rest..........
3-4 hours of hard work enough to cover everything plus earning.........
We, as the 3rd generation of taxi uncle, 一年�如一年...........
Today drive 12 hours, earn $100 nett, don't know which hole to put the money.............tomorrow sick, that $100 not even enough to cover your rental and whatever expenses...........
3rd generation of taxi uncles only dragging our life away, unless you heng heng tio 4D or Toto...........or else OMO or relief, no drive, go where find money? And driving are so tough these days, not only recently, is since taxi operators been open up and stupid fare hike and those unnecessary surcharge............
Whether I'm talking senses doesn't matter, the facts of TD life is in such that we are living at the mercy of authority and taxi operators............this one, nobody can deny that at all...........
Good the luck!.........
Same in every trade lah, those working for corporate organisation are also at the mercy of the management, bosses and owners. To think about it, as long as you are doing a decent living, never want to cheat others, be safe to yourself and the public, give yourself some motivation to drive on, at the end of the day, go back, see family and be happy.
But if you choose to drink, flirt and gamble too often, this one no one can help you, even those working class having such habits also end up with no money, not only taxi drivers.
Like it or not, as TD, we are part of the society, intergrated into the social fabric of the singapore society in a day in, day out action and involvement, we therefore should not degrade ourself in seeing other goods and unable to match them leading to demotivation.
We might not be well off than many others, but certainly, we are much honest and diligent in our work whereby we use our hands, legs and brain to make a decent living. Life is a changing revolusion, if there is not changes in Life and time, then we are dead, and that also explain einsten's laws of relativity whereby everything in this world is related by force and time.
The essence of happiness is not to bring ourselve happiness, that is short term happiness, the true happiness is about making other decent peoples happy.
This is proven that if you make your family happy, you naturally is happy, you make your good friend happy, you will be happy and so on. But hor, some people cannot make them happy hor
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Ya lah....how much can you earn outside? And outside job where can everyday see money? Think of it this way. If you work outside earning $3000 nett but if you have a car then you will be left with only less then $2000 after paying the installment and maintainence and fuel. But if you drive taxi can nett $3000 or more. Then with the taxi as your personal transport your are actually grossing almost $5000. Unless you earn $5000 outside then I suggest you quite driving taxi.
Ya lor, my Diploma is like a piece of toilet paper, only worth $2500/mth salary. After CPF deduction balance only.......
Originally posted by ahtanlor:thats y as long got 'mark lee' in the show, i don't even bother to see the show online.
he is just a very lucky crap like jay chou.
I was con by the movie title.
Whether I'm talking senses doesn't matter
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion.
When I first started, all my trips have to use GPS guidiance even for the choice of expressway to take and where to find the expressway from the starting point . Now think back also want to laugh, like that also can drive taxi, lol.
GPS is my personal coach for routing in my beggining stage. Now, I'm glad to say that I seldom use it for routing anymore. It's not that I already know every road in Singapore, but I'm more confident to drive now by asking pax for the route (At the beginning and/or along the trip), navigate by reading at sign boards and road direction boards.
I still use GPS everyday, for knowing the road speed limit/warning, finding the nearest pump kiosk/kopi tiam to pee, and to memorise road names.
Originally posted by Sotongking73:When I first started, all my trips have to use GPS guidiance even for the choice of expressway to take and where to find the expressway from the starting point . Now think back also want to laugh, like that also can drive taxi, lol.
GPS is my personal coach for routing in my beggining stage. Now, I'm glad to say that I seldom use it for routing anymore. It's not that I already know every road in Singapore, but I'm more confident to drive now by asking pax for the route (At the beginning and/or along the trip), navigate by reading at sign boards and road direction boards.
I still use GPS everyday, for knowing the road speed limit/warning, finding the nearest pump kiosk/kopi tiam to pee, and to memorise road names.
Be careful of over reliance on GPS. Road speed on GPS might not be accurate, so you better learn this by heart. All roads 60kmh, some 70kmh. Expressway 90lmh most places except some 80kmh esp near camera zones.
Nicoll Highway is 70kmh and very dangerous for overhead TP, the same for KJE (90), PIE (near Toa Payoh, Bedok and Tampines, usually 80). CTE and SLE usually dont have but TPE near Sengkang or Jln kayu.
If there is a GPS to tell us TP on bridge or road side, guess it will be a best seller...hehehe.
If you start TD without a GPS, I would say, you learned more, your brain become much better than a GPS, but some fark up pax like today suan me
No racist intended
A Indian FT, hello, going Veersamy Road, so I asked, Hi, any preferred roads? Knn, His first reply is, you no GPS ar?
Then I replied, GPS for what? I just ask you if you got any preferred road, if not I go by the shortest way, and that is my way! what got to do with GPS???
Originally posted by bowah:
Same in every trade lah, those working for corporate organisation are also at the mercy of the management, bosses and owners. To think about it, as long as you are doing a decent living, never want to cheat others, be safe to yourself and the public, give yourself some motivation to drive on, at the end of the day, go back, see family and be happy.But if you choose to drink, flirt and gamble too often, this one no one can help you, even those working class having such habits also end up with no money, not only taxi drivers.
Like it or not, as TD, we are part of the society, integrated into the social fabric of the singapore society in a day in, day out action and involvement, we therefore should not degrade ourself in seeing other goods and unable to match them leading to demotivation.
We might not be well off than many others, but certainly, we are much honest and diligent in our work whereby we use our hands, legs and brain to make a decent living. Life is a changing revolusion, if there is not changes in Life and time, then we are dead, and that also explain einsten's laws of relativity whereby everything in this world is related by force and time.
I think you misunderstand what I mean...........
Taxi driving definitely is a honest job.............
But many things had changes recent years and disfavor taxi driving...........
Very hard to put that into words, maybe inflation might play a part?.......but I only talking about early 90s till now...........
How much diesel cost in the 90s?.......How much rental cost in the 90s?.......
With current situation of $100 over rental, $1.14/litre++ of diesel............drive to graveyard better.............
No matter how you change your driving pattern or habit............远水救�了近�..............which 近� is your rental and diesel cost daily............
Is really sad that TS actually was a Diploma Holder, which he think that is irrelevant in this current society...........
Which mean 1 day, all my niece and nephew will ended up taxi driving also............
Taxi Driving is not only for Singaporean to drive, is also a decent job cut out for lowly educated people like me to rely on............
Pardon me for saying that...........although education don't play a part in taxi driving, but 龙��,凤�凤 is always instill in my heart.............when you had study so much to a certain level, should make good use to it than give it up totally.............
I think you misunderstand what I mean...........
Taxi driving definitely is a honest job.............
But many things had changes recent years and disfavor taxi driving...........
Very hard to put that into words, maybe inflation might play a part?.......but I only talking about early 90s till now...........
How much diesel cost in the 90s?.......How much rental cost in the 90s?.......
With current situation of $100 over rental, $1.14/litre++ of diesel............drive to graveyard better.............
No matter how you change your driving pattern or habit............远水救�了近�..............which 近� is your rental and diesel cost daily............
My brother, if you look at the Q for cdg taxis alone, the statistic will tell you that recent changes disfavour taxi driver more or the public at large.
Wages are depressed by foreign entry into our employment market, aren't TD better off than bus drivers who hold 4 to 4a driving licence, aren't TD better than some crane drivers or delivery drivers?
Inflation affect everyone, and as it compound thru the years, things become more and more expensive, but then people still can afford to buy a $130 aussie wine at CQ which cost only $20 at NTUC fairprice, but share cab to go home is a tell sign of lavishing spending or spending on tomorrow earn money.
To the bosses and govt, the working class including TD must be alway make hungry, with a hungry mind, they will plough the field for foods, and that is how things work in a capitalist society or in another word a money society.
Aiyo, I'm talking about those with qualification and in their early 30s...........
Those after working so long kanna chop, retrench, resign.......etc don't feel offended...........
Of course Goberment always thought TD is meant for old age jobs, knn, can drive until 73 years old...........
When you are in your 30s, your peers, your friends, your buddy or your whatever still striving in their career with qualification, but you condemn your life already, how?...........
Is never the same as a O level or lower driving taxi in my early days, and a degree holder driving in their early 30s...........please la, think for your parent la, sent you go school high high, than just 30s become taxi driver............Alamak..........
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Be careful of over reliance on GPS. Road speed on GPS might not be accurate, so you better learn this by heart. All roads 60kmh, some 70kmh. Expressway 90lmh most places except some 80kmh esp near camera zones.
Nicoll Highway is 70kmh and very dangerous for overhead TP, the same for KJE (90), PIE (near Toa Payoh, Bedok and Tampines, usually 80). CTE and SLE usually dont have but TPE near Sengkang or Jln kayu.
thanx!
Originally posted by Rbs70:Aiyo, I'm talking about those with qualification and in their early 30s...........
Those after working so long kanna chop, retrench, resign.......etc don't feel offended...........
Of course Goberment always thought TD is meant for old age jobs, knn, can drive until 73 years old...........
When you are in your 30s, your peers, your friends, your buddy or your whatever still striving in their career with qualification, but you condemn your life already, how?...........
Is never the same as a O level or lower driving taxi in my early days, and a degree holder driving in their early 30s...........please la, think for your parent la, sent you go school high high, than just 30s become taxi driver............Alamak..........
For 30 yo type, coming into taxis driving is actually a blessing for Taxis driving trade, especially for the current middle age TD and the public at large, because if there is no young ones, very soon, Foreign will take over.
And then, what is a degree today compare to yesterday, last time a diploma can yaya papaya be manager or GM, today, diploma start at 1.6 to 1.8 and if good can get 2.0k, so if by 30s you still getting 3k with a year $100 increment, you might opts for taxis driving....with a vehicle at your feet
Originally posted by bowah:If there is a GPS to tell us TP on bridge or road side, guess it will be a best seller...hehehe.
If you start TD without a GPS, I would say, you learned more, your brain become much better than a GPS, but some fark up pax like today suan me
No racist intended
A Indian FT, hello, going Veersamy Road, so I asked, Hi, any preferred roads? Knn, His first reply is, you no GPS ar?
Then I replied, GPS for what? I just ask you if you got any preferred road, if not I go by the shortest way, and that is my way! what got to do with GPS???
In today's world, many people only concern about the objective and outcome of result. Tactics? I find that the young generation service consumers don't really care. Many of them when engaged with a service provider, they want the process to be simplified, and free/ease their mind from the details. Not everyone is interested in road names and route. That's why sometimes when we ask them which route they prefer, the response will be: "You taxi driver you dunno meh?"
Learning the route without GPS will definitely makes my brain work harder and absorb more within a shorter period of time. However, I choose to enjoy the technology available and not going through the hardcore/ascetic way of learning.
Sometimes, GPS can also be use as a physical evidence to prove that you will honestly ensure that the best possible route will be travelled when the driver and pax both don't know the way, especially when tourist is on board.
The time before handphone was invented, people can remember many phone/pager number in their mind, how about now? I have oftenly see people using calculator for simple calculation. Time change, so does people of different generation.
Originally posted by Rbs70:Is really sad that TS actually was a Diploma Holder, which he think that is irrelevant in this current society...........
Which mean 1 day, all my niece and nephew will ended up taxi driving also............
Taxi Driving is not only for Singaporean to drive, is also a decent job cut out for lowly educated people like me to rely on............
Pardon me for saying that...........although education don't play a part in taxi driving, but 龙��,凤�凤 is always instill in my heart.............when you had study so much to a certain level, should make good use to it than give it up totally.............
I strongly belief that what I've learned in school is still reveleant in this current society. It's just that I do not want to cheap sell my years of working experience and knowledge for $2500/mth. When I first started my career in the Retail industry in 1996, my gross salary range from $3000 - $5000/mth depends on the performance of sales from the retail outlet/outlets. Now, some cheapskate FT with bachelor degree would take up the job for $1800 - $2500, knn!
Originally posted by Rbs70:Is never the same as a O level or lower driving taxi in my early days, and a degree holder driving in their early 30s...........please la, think for your parent la, sent you go school high high, than just 30s become taxi driver............Alamak..........
I personally think that it is more insulting to accept a 'Manager' job with a third world salary than driving a taxi.
Originally posted by bowah:For 30 yo type, coming into taxis driving is actually a blessing for Taxis driving trade, especially for the current middle age TD and the public at large, because if there is no young ones, very soon, Foreign will take over.
And then, what is a degree today compare to yesterday, last time a diploma can yaya papaya be manager or GM, today, diploma start at 1.6 to 1.8 and if good can get 2.0k, so if by 30s you still getting 3k with a year $100 increment, you might opts for taxis driving....with a vehicle at your feet
Nowadays, we have more degree holders than Dip and A, scratching my head now, lol....
Highest Qualification Attained of Resident
Non-Student Population Aged 25 Years & Over
Secondary - 19.6%.
Post-Secondary (Non-Tertiary) - 8.9%.
Diploma & Professional Qualification - 13.6%
University - 24.5%
Source: http://www.singstat.gov.sg/pubn/catalogue.html#demo
Originally posted by bowah:For 30 yo type, coming into taxis driving is actually a blessing for Taxis driving trade, especially for the current middle age TD and the public at large, because if there is no young ones, very soon, Foreign will take over.
Lower educated in 30s needed taxi job more than anybody else..........
Higher educated came into TD just to escape from reality, they can blame everything down the road except themselves, they failed to analyst why like this and why like that............Can a company purely employed FT?.......why some local manage to hold their job well?.......why people can survive with take home pay of $1.2k-$1.5k?........How many CEO is hold by a local?...........
This minority of so call elite need to really wake up their idea..........
Originally posted by Sotongking73:I personally think that it is more insulting to accept a 'Manager' job with a third world salary than driving a taxi.
Is more insulting when a degree holder had to fight with us the rice bowl of taxi driving, and probably we are worst than those third world countryman..........
Remember we had a PHD TD sometime ago? Now our lawyers in Sg also kenah squeeze, FT lawyers are increasing faster than SG lawyers.
Originally posted by Sotongking73:Remember we had a PHD TD sometime ago? Now our lawyers in Sg also kenah squeeze, FT lawyers are increasing faster than SG lawyers.
You see, that's the different of lower educated people like me..........
Who will care which PHD are doing? Or which Master lose his job...........
Because we are in different league.........our kopi talk most time are ah beng talk...........lol
I still can remember, there's once a degree holder turn TD driving white, joining us for kopi..........after a while, can see from his expression, like telling you, wtf am I doing with this bunch of ah beng.............after few month, heard he found himself a job and bye bye to taxi driving............
btw, I can't even communicate well with my own elder brother, who are a degree holder also...........lol
Lower educated in 30s needed taxi job more than anybody else..........
Higher educated came into TD just to escape from reality, they can blame everything down the road except themselves, they failed to analyst why like this and why like that............Can a company purely employed FT?.......why some local manage to hold their job well?.......why people can survive with take home pay of $1.2k-$1.5k?........How many CEO is hold by a local?...........
This minority of so call elite need to really wake up their idea..........
You can be ITE graduates, diploma or degree holder, but if you fall thru the crack of the society or that you simply do not enjoy the world of corporate politics and struggling, TD can be an option, it is not merely to escape this and that, one chooses what one like, even if you give me a GM position with a 10k per month income, but the work is so stressful with so much arrowing, I prefer TD.
All things can said to refer to money in a money world, but some things money cannot move it, and some of them are your soul, spirit, love and decision