Going for annual ICT during Feb 2013 for 2 weeks. May i ask what do i do to the taxi ah? Cannot drive still need to pay or is there other options?
Please advice. thanks
throw key!
file claim with mindef lor....claim lost of rental due to ict
1. Find a temporary relief driver for the 2 weeks period on your own/ seek company help.
2. NS Make-Up Claim
What is Make-Up Pay (MUP)?
MUP is a reimbursement for any civilian income loss you suffered as a result of having to attend your NS training. Any NSman who is gainfully employed or self-employed is eligible to claim MUP. Please note that MUP is claimable only if there is an overlap between your civilian working hours and the NS training. Any loss of income suffered outside the duration of NS training will not be compensated by MINDEF.
NSmen’s attention is drawn to:
a. Regulation 9 of the Enlistment (Loss of Salaries and Wages – Reimbursement) Regulation, 1978:
- Authorised personnel from MINDEF may conduct visits to companies to verify the make-up pay claims. Employers/NSmen are requested to give access to the required documents related to the claim.
b. Regulation 10(2) of the Enlistment (Loss of Salaries and Wages – Reimbursement) Regulation, 1978:
- If there is any dispute on the decision given on MUP claim, the NSman must notify MINDEF in writing, stating the grounds of the dispute and supported by the necessary documentary evidence, not later than 3 weeks from the date on which the decision on the claim is given.
c. Regulation 11 of the Enlistment (Loss of Salaries and Wages – Reimbursement) Regulation, 1978:
- Any person who gives false or misleading information in respect of MUP claims shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding S$2,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or to both.
How do I claim MUP?
You can claim your MUP through online submission at NS Portal (www.ns.sg) or download the hardcopy claim forms from NS Portal and follow the instructions.
What are my claim options?
(A) NSmen who are civil servants:
If you are a public servant working in Ministries and Statutory Boards, note that your employer will continue to pay your full salary for the duration of your call-up. You will then not be paid service pay and make-up pay. However, you will only be paid service pay if your call-ups are conducted entirely outside of working hours.
(B) NSmen who are employed:
Option 1:
Direct Reimbursement to Employers of Claims for NS Training Scheme (DIRECT) [Optional Scheme for Employers]
Your employer continues to pay you as per your normal pay schedule and reimbursement from MINDEF will be made to your employer. In this instance, you are not required to file a claim.
*Note that this is an optional scheme for your employers, i.e. you would need to inform your employers to opt into this scheme by registering online at NS Portal (www.ns.sg)!
Option 2:
Payment to the NSman
You will be reimbursed directly by MINDEF once your employer certify and submit your MUP claim to MINDEF.
(C) NSmen who are self-employed:
You can choose from the option that suits you best. Note that once an option is chosen for a particular training, it is irrevocable.
Option 1: Income Tax Option
Your monthly income will be calculated based on your average monthly trade (self-employment) income as shown in your Income Tax Notice of Assessment (NA) for the year of NS Training.
As your trade income for the year will not be available at the time of your claim submission, a provisional payment will be made based on your latest available trade income. Thereafter, an adjustment will be made when the trade income of the year of training is available.
In the event is there is an underpayment, arrears will be paid to you. If there should be any overpaid amount, it will be recovered from you. Overpayments may also be recovered from your subsequent MUP claims.
Your trade income for provisional payment and the final adjusted amount will be obtained directly from IRAS.
Option 2: Average Income Option
Your monthly income will be calculated based on your average income earned in the 6 months before the NS training.
For example, if you are a doctor or a transport driver, you can claim replacement fees incurred when you engage a replacement staff to fulfill your duties during your absence.
What is the deadline for MUP claim submission?
All your MUP claims should be submitted 2 weeks prior to your training commencement to ensure prompt payment. If your claim is submitted after your NS training, you will only be paid your service pay first. MUP will be paid to you after your claim is approved.
Please note that your MUP claim must be submitted within 3 months from your payment of service pay. All supporting documents can be submitted later but still within the 3 months from the payment of service pay. Thereafter, it will not be accepted.
How will I be paid?
All payments will be credited into your bank account number provided by you during your full-time NS or regular service. It is therefore important for you to ensure that your personal information is updated. You can update any changes on eSelf-Update at NS Portal (www.ns.sg).
If your employer is on the DIRECT Schemes and wish to change their bank account, please ensure that they log in to eServices at NS Portal (www.ns.sg) to update the company’s particulars.
Please note that if there is an overpayment of MUP due to whatever reason, MINDEF reserves the right to offset the excess quantum from your future NS payments, which may be in the form of service pay.
Payment Queries
If you have any queries on payment, you can get assistance from the following:
Online: NS Portal (www.ns.sg)
Email: [email protected]
Hotline: 1800-367 6767 (1800-eNSNSNS)
Fax: 6373 1464 (For employed claims)
6373 1499 (For self-employed claims)
If you are hirer........summit makeup claim in NS portal, there's a column for Taxi Driver.........
Rental confirm can claim, but lost of income subject to your last 2 years IRAS return(how much you had declared)..........
If got relief, must declared also, don't play play, Mindef will check with your taxi company, with relief, rental only claim half day..........
As a self employed, submit your claim as early as you received call up by your unit to avoid delay.........of course, if don't claim, you will still get your vocational pay, tia gong increase liao, hahaha
TS first time incamp?........above is just rough guide, more detail can obtain from NSportal.........
First year, do swee swee, than subsequent year maintain same amount for your declaration of income return...........
Everything will be swee swee from Mindef........try not to change taxi company also.........lol
If you had found a full day relief during your ICT period, than rental beh sai claim, only lost of income which is according to your income return..........
Mindef approve serviceman very steady 1, provided you submit steady also.........
Drive back to camp la..........than night time book out, still can tao dang........lol
ICT smlj lai eh ? hahahahah.
Since i finished serving my NS , they no longer request me to go for such thing LOL .
I told them Specialist from Alexandra Hospital said these things below listed :
1. Cannot run
2. Cannot do guard duty
3.Cannot swim
4.Cannot wear Number 3 cannot wear Number 4 , only PT Kit .
5.Cannot hold a rifle
6.Cannot sit on a chopper
7.Cannot Confinement
They think i useless to them ... and gave me a green copy to excuse from applying Exit Permit to go out of Sgp .
Dunno why Pes A end up graded as Pes E , LOL .
I told specialist i everyday head very pain , everyday head very heavy ..... that's all .
ICT ?
ICT ki lan , lol .
Claim Mindef for 7k per month lor...
how to claim if im drviving as a relief?
i got a day job(company settle with mindef)
than my part time as relief leh?
Got to be careful on submitting average income option........
Let say you had declared $100 per lost income per day, 1 month=$3000, 1 year=$36,000........subsequently, each year you went back for incamp training, Mindef will still retrieve your IRAS from Revenue House, so if you fail to declare $36,000 annually, You will be ask by Mindef to pay back the different, which many of my kakis kanna before.........
Safer is to just declared using 2 years average, as we know, TD tends to declare lower to avoid paying income tax..........
If you currently employ by company and contributing CPF, you can only claim through your company.......as for moon lighting job, subject to your present company, usually they won't allow.........
Arbo, Mindef Si beh bo eng.........
Employ and self employ is totally different ball game..........
my company is ok with my part time driving...
im going to make mindef bo eng as i never under declare
moonlight incoming usually don't do makeup claim when come to ict. worry about implication on income tax and from company.
I know one mbr here jin song. ICT that time submit full claim loss of income + daily rental. Then book out liao still go earn extra in the evening...Sibeh tan chiak....Lol
Yes, alway declare a fix amount, mindef and Income tax are like snake and rat living in the same hole, if you declare 2,800 and below, there will be lots of benefit you can get from govt funds like back to sch vouchers for school going childrens and other vouchers, concession and grants from governing bodies, because in today context, 2,800 and below household income is consider as the lower rung of the society, indirectly called as Poor
Originally posted by Poolman:My friend lagi good ….
Claim income from SAF , tell wife go ICT .
At night drive taxi “Night’s Off” at Joo Chiat , hahahahah .
Off handphone , if wife called , say field camp !!!!
Last time, we go bangkok, told wife go thailand training, 6 of us knn wear army uniform and full back leaving house, wife somemore send us off, once reach AP, knn, change to civilian, straight to Ex Sol Nana
Last time, we go bangkok, told wife go thailand training, 6 of us
knn wear army uniform and full back leaving house, wife somemore
send us off, once reach AP, knn, change to civilian, straight
to Ex Sol Nana
Of course lim pek bo reservist liao, also never reservist before..........last time handle NSmen until vomit blood...........lol
But for TD to go incamp training also very rare species.........
2 possibility...........Ex-Regular or MIA too long in Mindef name list.........
Why I say that?.........TD need at least 30 years old to drive, after finish NS, maybe only 21 years old, soon soon tio recall, by the time 10 incamp(latest changes), knn, the most only 31 years old, so while becoming a TD, you might just need to go back the most 1 or 2 times..............some might keep deferring here and there, than bo pian.............
Ex-Regular, knn, after serving 12-15 years, still got reservist hor..........lol, my friends kanna, phui saliva on the SAF100A...........lol, but discounted rate loh, he told me only need to serve 6 years...........
Ok, back to MUP.........Employed NSmen, please follow guildline properly, not funny to make Mindef bo eng, ended up the one bo eng might be you yourself...........
There's only something will make every Taxi Drivers happy..........under MUP for various self-employ occupation, Taxi Drivers is under 1 of the category, meaning, SAF recognize your profession...........definitely you can't find garang kuni inside NSportal............lol