I reply to this thread, not to find fault or tekan anybody.
Just to raise awareness of certain issues that should already be understood in order to maintain some level of privacy from the wrong prying eyes.
As for Poolman, the advise not to tekan, be envious or whatever, but to highlight a danger.
It's 1 thing to share your own experiences and methofs, but it becomes a whole different ball game when newbies start trying to follow based on that.
LTA not really concerned with old timers, they know their tricks of trade and so long as no complaints and not caught, they might turn a blind eye to such activities.
But when newcomers, the very ones they are training start or want to emulate such things, then it becomes a challenge to their authority.
To solve the problem, they need to find and make an example of the 'Indian chief'.
And lastly we have seen some newbies in here (not Ct or others who genuinely seek help), who have their own new concepts on taxi driving. They are not keen to be advised or told what to do or not to do, except by the proper authorities.
The methods and advise given here goes against what they are taught (or brainwashed). It just needs 1 of them to make a complaint or simply send an enquiry, no need to LTA, just CDG.
CDG we know, have thier own concept of drivers they want, what we advise most times go against their SOP, it just needs someone there to ask LTA to look into the 'tactics' so proudly praised by newbies.
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Then..whole..month..statement..means..what...
Work..hard..[sorry..my..keyboard..spoilt..so..i.use...]
Everyone..here..knows..work..hard..will..see..some..returns..for..effort..
Different..people..drive..different..hours..for..different..reasons.
Of..course..got..bills..and..debts,.we..hv..to..go..full..blast..low..period..or..not.
No..need..to..advertise...or..show..returns...if..show..because..want..share..earnings..then..ok
If..not..no..need..to..show....
If..want..to..show LTA..lah..so..they..can..make some..more rules..based ..on..that.
Or show company..so they can raise rental.
Ideally speaking, the best way to advice newbies, sad to say if there is an option, is ask them to leave taxi driving trade if possible, especially those younger ones with family and kids.
But then, taxi driving is what the job market called a luring trade, meaning, any layman on the street who enter taxi trade will at first feel the joy of it, the joy of having a vehicle, a joy of having no one above him to control him and the joy of freedom and less politics, but as time goes by, age and idlisim set in, and suddenly, they found themselves aged, unable to go back to the working life, seeing his old friends, relatives get promoted, earning more with lots of benefits, can be detrimental to their mentality.
Most taxi drivers with working wifes will know that most of their wife thru the years are now earned more than them and provided with CPF and other benefits too.
But then on the other hand, we also need local youngs to carry on our TD, otherwise without newbies, nobody is a lau chiao here
As for the rules of income, it is very straight forward, in working life, company also have this rule in their policy, No one is allowed to open or see other payslip unless authorised by the management. This is a common rule, even shipyard bangalas and indians also know, if TD do not know and appreciate this rules of never to show your income, then I guess we are no better than those $500 per month bangalas I worked with in my contractual jobs in the yards.
i hope the moderator will removed any earnings posted by tds .Not all tds are earning the same. To each his own. Otherwise it will be the same history as the 7K Td in 2012.
With regard to the thread, everything have it up and down, if there is no down, how can there be up, the laws of whatever goes up must come down within this earth is nothing phenomenon, it is natural.
And when you learn to look externally rather than internally within your own trade, not only TD is in the low period, many other jobs and businesses are in low period, and some are worst than us, so we are not the exceptional.
Therefore in time of downturn, do what any person on the street do during a downturn, spend less, smoke less, eat less, flirt less, keep fit to reduce medical or medicine cost, and you should be able to upturn the downturn
Hi, I juz join e taxi trade about 4 mths +.. Recently I encounter a surprise experience.. I was travelling on upper Thomson road towards bishan st 21 & I Came to a T junction near Jln todak.. I slow down my cab as it’s is red light.. But aft stopping, the red light camera flash at me from the back.. I was stationary at that time but I Dono y I was shoot.. Maybe because i pass e stop line but Im haven’t even reaches e yellow Box.. Even my passengers said how come u never beat e red light yet it flash at my cab? I was shock.. For nothing I kena e offense of beating red light when I was stationary.. Can any 1 here advise me what should I do if I receive a summon from e LTA or TP? I did ask around my friends and half said sure tio summon some said nothing will happened.. Can any old bird cabbies give some advise or your point of view for my case.. Will I kena summon for tis situation?
Thx u..
Year on year, my new year eve taking is down by almost a hundred.
And last week, is the lowest I ever earn week by week basis.
Thursday reach airport did a count, easily got 600 cabs at airport.
Friday same time on LV radio got report hear already also know at least 550 at airport.
Never ever seen this figure before. previous high I ever saw was 450 last year low period.
Even zoo Friday whole night is queue to barrier.
This goes on, those who post receipt is compete to post lowest earnings.
Originally posted by andilau78:Hi, I juz join e taxi trade about 4 mths +.. Recently I encounter a surprise experience.. I was travelling on upper Thomson road towards bishan st 21 & I Came to a T junction near Jln todak.. I slow down my cab as it’s is red light.. But aft stopping, the red light camera flash at me from the back.. I was stationary at that time but I Dono y I was shoot.. Maybe because i pass e stop line but Im haven’t even reaches e yellow Box.. Even my passengers said how come u never beat e red light yet it flash at my cab? I was shock.. For nothing I kena e offense of beating red light when I was stationary.. Can any 1 here advise me what should I do if I receive a summon from e LTA or TP? I did ask around my friends and half said sure tio summon some said nothing will happened.. Can any old bird cabbies give some advise or your point of view for my case.. Will I kena summon for tis situation?
Thx u..
Camera could be flashing at other car.
So long you not on yellow box camera can't take your photo.
So no worries.
Experience, you'll get more of it as you continue.
As said again, almost all peoples are in low period, not only taxi driving, and that is why I go sailing, which is more global in a sense.
Most people from christmas to NY would had overspent their money, leaving a large hole in their pockets, and although the economy is not vibrant, the stock market is having a bull run, these translate into people moving money into stock market more than spending on the street.
If you look at chinatown decoration for this coming CNY, low budget red bags, these already tell you that business are also not doing well in and around chinatown.
By and large, as someone said, the increase in taxis on road can also lead to 10 cabs looking for 1 pax rather than 2 cabs looking for 1 pax,
whereby in good time, 10 paxs looking for 1 cab.
And with the recent poor or average performances from manufacturing side, from marine to chocolate companies, you will see many expatriates being sent back home, and coupled with the reduction in foreign talents and workers, we will see less paxs.
When govt after the watershed election told us that we need to trade off with our economy inorder to reduce foreign peoples, and that is exactly what is happening, companies now unable to get cheap labour, moved out.
Originally posted by andilau78:Hi, I juz join e taxi trade about 4 mths +.. Recently I encounter a surprise experience.. I was travelling on upper Thomson road towards bishan st 21 & I Came to a T junction near Jln todak.. I slow down my cab as it’s is red light.. But aft stopping, the red light camera flash at me from the back.. I was stationary at that time but I Dono y I was shoot.. Maybe because i pass e stop line but Im haven’t even reaches e yellow Box.. Even my passengers said how come u never beat e red light yet it flash at my cab? I was shock.. For nothing I kena e offense of beating red light when I was stationary.. Can any 1 here advise me what should I do if I receive a summon from e LTA or TP? I did ask around my friends and half said sure tio summon some said nothing will happened.. Can any old bird cabbies give some advise or your point of view for my case.. Will I kena summon for tis situation?
Thx u..
Wrong place to post such question
Thx u..
Originally posted by Terry Young:Year on year, my new year eve taking is down by almost a hundred.
And last week, is the lowest I ever earn week by week basis.
Thursday reach airport did a count, easily got 600 cabs at airport.
Friday same time on LV radio got report hear already also know at least 550 at airport.
Never ever seen this figure before. previous high I ever saw was 450 last year low period.
Even zoo Friday whole night is queue to barrier.
This goes on, those who post receipt is compete to post lowest earnings.
Ya lah, to sum it up, yesterday also got a PRC pros I pick up at geyland rd between 18 and 16, she told me to go sim ave, her rented house, looks very gloomy, then told me no business, asked me å�”å�”ï¼Œä½ æƒ³è¦�去 ma...I told her, I like bak bak one, she not my kind.
Originally posted by bowah:Ya lah, to sum it up, yesterday also got a PRC pros I pick up at geyland rd between 18 and 16, she told me to go sim ave, her rented house, looks very gloomy, then told me no business, asked me å�”å�”ï¼Œä½ æƒ³è¦�去 ma...I told her, I like bak bak one, she not my kind.
嘿�这年头,世��景,连�鸡都难�
Thx u..
Originally posted by uaskforit:
Let me explain to u. When the rear wheel went over the stop line u kenna already. Beating traffic light does not mean u hv to cross the junction. Many drivers have misconception or misinterpretation of what constitue beating traffic light. Traffic police should be more forthcoming to explain to the public on this issue.
Failing to stop before the stop line is the offense
It not consider as beating the traffic light.
Originally posted by uaskforit:
Let me explain to u. When the rear wheel went over the stop line u kenna already. Beating traffic light does not mean u hv to cross the junction. Many drivers have misconception or misinterpretation of what constitue beating traffic light. Traffic police should be more forthcoming to explain to the public on this issue.
What you can do if you get camera flashed at red light while stopping, you go out of your cab, on your double blinking lights, open the front bonnet, wait for the next redlight, it will flash again, then bend down to inspect the engine, the tyres, wait for the next redlight and flash again..you can do it a few times
So when traffic police summon come in, you tell them vehicle breakdown in the middle of the junction and engine got problem, I try to start it, but cannot, finally when managed to start, slowly move to one side, told my company and send it to repair the brake... sorry sorry...
Originally posted by Ct2220:嘿�这年头,世��景,连�鸡都难�
hahaha...å¤§å“¥ï¼Œä½ æ›¾ç»�说, taxi drivers almost the same as prositute, call here and there, pick up here and there, so now we in low period, they also low period.
Therefore, not to worry lah, most peoples are in low period of time.
Fuck la, prositute still better than us (TD)
They every month, period time can rest for 2~3 days,
We MC oso need to pay rental.
Originally posted by Ct2220:Fuck la, prositute still better than us (TD)
They every month, period time can rest for 2~3 days,
We MC oso need to pay rental.
Ok lah got incentives leh. Treat it as frer rental loh....
Ideally speaking, the best way to advice newbies, sad to say if there is an option, is ask them to leave taxi driving trade if possible, especially those younger ones with family and kids.
But then, taxi driving is what the job market called a luring trade, meaning, any layman on the street who enter taxi trade will at first feel the joy of it, the joy of having a vehicle, a joy of having no one above him to control him and the joy of freedom and less politics, but as time goes by, age and idlisim set in, and suddenly, they found themselves aged, unable to go back to the working life, seeing his old friends, relatives get promoted, earning more with lots of benefits, can be detrimental to their mentality.
Most taxi drivers with working wifes will know that most of their wife thru the years are now earned more than them and provided with CPF and other benefits too.
But then on the other hand, we also need local youngs to carry on our TD, otherwise without newbies, nobody is a lau chiao here
I got no problem with forumers posting their income here..........as long got black & white stated clearly to prove your stand............
Not just using a cb mouth and claim that can earn $7k...........
Of course best is ka ki dang, ka ki jai loh............
Anyway TD already in the limelight for so long, even got movie to "educate" the public...........who know, maybe Mark Lee also inside this forum............lol