Starting salaries for poly graduates on the rise:
SINGAPORE: Polytechnic graduates are starting out in the job market with higher salaries, according to a joint survey conducted by the five polytechnics in 2012.
Fresh graduates in full-time permanent employment earn S$1,950 in median gross monthly salary, compared with S$1,850 in 2011.
Those who joined the workforce after they had completed National Service draw a median gross monthly salary of S$2,253, compared with S$2,100 in 2011.
The Graduate Employment Survey, which polled about 10,000 fresh graduates, attributed the higher starting salaries to the strong value of a polytechnic education.
It also said it showed that employers continue to appreciate skilled polytechnic graduates.
The survey also found that the employment rate for fresh polytechnic graduates remained high -- at 91 per cent for fresh graduates, and 93.1 per cent for post-NS graduates as of October 2012.
On the whole, starting median salaries for the engineering and health sciences sectors increased the most, by about S$100.
Lee Yong Yi, a former digital media student from Nanyang Polytechnic who went on to do another private diploma for a year, is now earning just under S$3,000 as a concept designer.
"Poly provides more project-based, which is closer to work, and I feel it gives a better transition into work when they're employed. So whatever they're doing in poly, it's actually relevant to work," said Lee.
"I believe for employers, they can see that, and it's much easier for them to integrate and help the company, rather than the company having to guide them along in the first probation period," Lee added.
T Thamyrajah, who works as a registrar at Nanyang Polytechnic, said: "I think with the economic downturn, it becomes increasingly important for companies to look for this kind of skilled manpower to help them improve their operations, increase productivity."
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1246845/1/.html
So those Diplomas , Degree holders , young & old ....
Waiting for what ?
If got chance to earn $3000 a month , why drive taxi ?
If i were you , i'll give it a shot .
Hoping to earn $7000 ?
Still hoping ?
Still trying ?
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1246876/1/.html
Now some MNC and bigger companies freeze hiring due to the prolonged economic challenges in the Eurozone and sluggish growth in the United States .
But some work still need to be done , but MOM quotas of 9 Locals to 1 Foreigner Employment policies means they have to employ more locals to get one foreigners .
Demand for manpower in niche areas, such as education research, IT and engineering, is set to increase .
That u have to thank the Men In White for biting the bullets and come out with such rulings , make full use of it .
They never like implement such policies , trust me .
Originally posted by Poolman:Hoping to earn $7000 ?
Still hoping ?
Still trying ?
yalor, bo drive, bo hope mah, got drive, got hope for 7k leh
Like 4D, pray here pray there for luck, but end up never buy 4D, how to have luck> ? Again got buy, got hope, no buy, completely no hope
Well, the wayang just began...punggol east die die must win hor
Originally posted by Ken@kofishop:Even better news? ...Poly grad earns $12,000 a month
January 10, 2013 – 12:21am
He has been at his job for only two years.
Yet his monthly earnings, including commission, hit $12,000 in June and July last year.
Mr Tan Xi Liang, 25, graduated from Singapore Polytechnic with a Diploma in Banking and Finance in 2009.
He joined Prudential Singapore as a financial consultant in 2011 after completing his national service.
Like him, polytechnic graduates are earning more these days.
According to the Graduate Employment Survey jointly conducted by the five polytechnics last year, the median gross monthly salary among fresh poly graduates was $1,950 compared to $1,850 in 2011.
Read the full report in The New Paper on Thursday (Jan 10).
Wu every month bo? Sell insurance say sell insurance lah...SMLJ fc? Lol
Originally posted by Ken@kofishop:Even better news? ...Poly grad earns $12,000 a month
January 10, 2013 – 12:21am
He has been at his job for only two years.
Yet his monthly earnings, including commission, hit $12,000 in June and July last year.
Mr Tan Xi Liang, 25, graduated from Singapore Polytechnic with a Diploma in Banking and Finance in 2009.
He joined Prudential Singapore as a financial consultant in 2011 after completing his national service.
Like him, polytechnic graduates are earning more these days.
According to the Graduate Employment Survey jointly conducted by the five polytechnics last year, the median gross monthly salary among fresh poly graduates was $1,950 compared to $1,850 in 2011.
Read the full report in The New Paper on Thursday (Jan 10).
piece of bull.
Pure commission job. Singapore been very lucky compare to rest of world, no hit by recession.
When recession come his clients start kill their policies, goodbye to mr high earner.
This kind of report same like ST. Reporter ask co. for young profile. they of course give their cream of the crop to psycho people to join...
Then again. Very good. People forget about earning 7k taxi. Go sell insurance. 12k. Go for it.
What's wrong with selling insurance or becoming a property agent?........
Zhao zhao better than taxi driving 100 times.........lol
Every trade/job got ST publish high earner.
Like that our economy very huat?
Originally posted by Rbs70:What's wrong with selling insurance or becoming a property agent?........
Zhao zhao better than taxi driving 100 times.........lol
Originally posted by Ken@kofishop:
so u saying my wife 100x better than me lah...don hv to downgrade td so much leh..i know u not td anymore....hahaha...those 2 jobs also hv v high casualty rate one..
Compare earning, taxi pi bo smoke........
By talking, can dang jiak liao, taxi must peng until day and night, endure all kind of shit, good meh?.........
Not that I bo drive taxi than gong jiao way, the reason I come into this forum is because last time someone talk until TD like heaven job, I read already beh tahan, so come in and whack until now...........
Their licensing exam is 100 time more difficult than TDVL, not you want to be 1, can be 1..........don't believe, ask your wife.........lol
Bo lui, drive taxi better.........
Bo lui, do insurance or property agent, die faster..........lol
Originally posted by Rbs70:Bo lui, drive taxi better.........
Bo lui, do insurance or property agent, die faster..........lol
LOL +1
Originally posted by Terry Young:piece of bull.
Pure commission job. Singapore been very lucky compare to rest of world, no hit by recession.
When recession come his clients start kill their policies, goodbye to mr high earner.
This kind of report same like ST. Reporter ask co. for young profile. they of course give their cream of the crop to psycho people to join...
Then again. Very good. People forget about earning 7k taxi. Go sell insurance. 12k. Go for it.
Taxi earn 7k? Okay I come back to Singapore
hey look for POOLMAN....he can assist ya but need ahem ahem lah...where got free lunch in this world...