Taken from: http://cna.asia/ZOeGEi
SINGAPORE: The weatherman has warned that low-lying areas near the coast may be hit by flash floods over the next few days.
High tides of at least 3.4 metres are expected, along with afternoon showers with thunder between 12-15 January.
With the two happening at the same time, low-lying coastal areas such as Fort Road and Meyer Road may be hit by flash floods.
The water level will be higher in canals that are influenced by tides even when it's not raining and these include Bedok Canal and Siglap Canal.
- CNA/ck
Raining=HUAT for TD..........
Raining=Heavy jam everywhere..........
Raining=Accident everywhere............
yalor, just remember to bring your swimming trunk lah, and also make sure spare tyre got air...hehehe
Tips for driving thru floods, what i learn in the army anyways,
Firstly if water level is above battery, fuse box and air box, don't even think of attempting going thru.
If got other route to avoid, then don't be a hero and try go thru..
Drive thru only when u know how deep the water is. Can do this by looking at the lampost or anything that is fixed which u can take as a height reference.
Drive slowly and steadily, driving too fast might cause water to splash into engine compartment, going into fuse box, cutiing all electricals. Or worse get into airbox and get into engine. (Expensive to rectify) the air intake on many cars is low at the front of the engine bay and it only takes a small quantity of water sucked into the engine to cause serious damage. All engines are affected, but turbocharged petrol and diesel engines are most vulnerable. Also driving too fast will cause your tyres to aquaplane, making you lose steering controls.
As you drive slowly through standing water, keep the engine revving by slipping the clutch, otherwise water in the exhaust could stall the engine. If u drive automatic gear car, switch to "Sports" mode, shift down to lower gear and don't shift gear, just rev at that gear all the way thru. For Wish can "drag" on "Sports/Manual" mode, but on some cars no matter what gear u put into still will shift up if rev too high, from wht i try before Hyundai does that, so don't know if Sonata the same.
If engine die in heavy rain, don't open your bonnet while waiting for tow truck. Rain will soak the electricals making it difficult or impossible to start.
Don't drive through fast-moving water, your car could easily be swept away.
After driving thru the flood, test your brakes, pump it a few times to get water out, especially true for cars with rear drum brake like Wish.
Most of the time i see people panic and stop their car in the middle of the flood, most panic because they drive thru too fast and the water splash over windscreen, look scarry. Another thing makes them panic and stop is when water start leaking from side of door.
Once u stop and engine idle, the chances of water getting in from exhaust is higher.
Last time what i did for manual, was downshift to 1st or 2nd gear, rev all the way but not until red line lah, keeping left foot on break to control speed while still maintaining rev
simple lah, rain only go home sleep lor, or go up north to those kangs, shun and woods.
If you carry an Android smartphobe, maybe you can consider install these Apps:
Rain Map Singapore or Rain Alarm !
12-13th i dun even see rain , what flood ?
Maybe today (14th) will have .....
Buay zhun one lah knn flood .
Originally posted by cyben764:Tips for driving thru floods, what i learn in the army anyways,
Firstly if water level is above battery, fuse box and air box, don't even think of attempting going thru.
Drive thru only when u know how deep the water is. Can do this by looking at the lampost or anything that is fixed which u can take as a height reference.
Drive slowly and steadily, driving too fast might cause water to splash into engine compartment, going into fuse box, cutiing all electricals. Or worse get into airbox and get into engine. (Expensive to rectify) the air intake on many cars is low at the front of the engine bay and it only takes a small quantity of water sucked into the engine to cause serious damage. All engines are affected, but turbocharged petrol and diesel engines are most vulnerable. Also driving too fast will cause your tyres to aquaplane, making you lose steering controls.
As you drive slowly through standing water, keep the engine revving by slipping the clutch, otherwise water in the exhaust could stall the engine. If u drive automatic gear car, switch to "Sports" mode, shift down to lower gear and don't shift gear, just rev at that gear all the way thru. For Wish can "drag" on "Sports/Manual" mode, but on some cars no matter what gear u put into still will shift up if rev too high, from wht i try before Hyundai does that, so don't know if Sonata the same.
If engine die in heavy rain, don't open your bonnet while waiting for tow truck. Rain will soak the electricals making it difficult or impossible to start.Don't drive through fast-moving water, your car could easily be swept away.
After driving thru the flood, test your brakes, pump it a few times to get water out, especially true for cars with rear drum brake like Wish.
Most of the time i see people panic and stop their car in the middle of the flood, most panic because they drive thru too fast and the water splash over windscreen, look scarry. Another thing makes them panic and stop is when water start leaking from side of door.
Once u stop and engine idle, the chances of water getting in from exhaust is higher.
Last time what i did for manual, was downshift to 1st or 2nd gear, rev all the way but not until red line lah, keeping left foot on break to control speed while still maintaining rev
This is interesting~
NEA is known to be a lagging indicator....i always check their page / app for weather. One moment say cloudy but storm building up, check again later change to raining liao...i would say only 50-60% zun....but cannot blame them also....size of one storm cloud could be same as Singapore....so their models dun really work
Acutally, frankly speaking, for taxi driving, I am not afraid of flood, you can alway stop and avoid it, U turn or deviate whatever also can..for taxis, I am more afraid of burnt..especially when driving for cdg, must alway check your temp gauge.
Originally posted by cyben764:Tips for driving thru floods, what i learn in the army anyways,
If engine die in heavy rain, don't open your bonnet while waiting for tow truck. Rain will soak the electricals making it difficult or impossible to start.Don't drive through fast-moving water, your car could easily be swept away.
Got simple one:
See flood, don't be hero. If your car stuck in the flood, the company will squeeze you to death to pay for the damages. Also think of your income opportunity loss if car in workshop.
Just wait for water to recede and if see many heroes pass the flood then you proceed. Best if meter running, but in Singapore it actually very fast lah.
Got once I was stuck in flood before hand over. Panick and quickly call hirer. Old hirer uncle just told me the above and he said handover to him also he want to sit at kopi tiam.Nbz :)
Singapore taxis not scare water one lah, but scare fire
Once I drove during a raining day...pax late and keep nagging..why raining no cab one leh...like this how to serve the public..I told her, miss ar, Singapore govt said that not enuf babies born, raining days, most cabbies go make baby mah, because raining day very shiok and easy to make baby, more eggs and sperm counts.
Then the bak bak aunty replied, wha, uncle you joking is it.
Then uncle me replied, can be, depend on how you take it, no joke, no fun, no sex, no son right. If we taxis uncles dun make babies, then next time no more taxi drivers liao.
She laughed and said..then why uncle you are driving, you never want to go home make baby meh? TCSS
Then i replied "I already got lot of babies, later I go see them"
Then she sarcastically remarked...wha, Uncle truth or not, you so strong, got many childrens meh, can survive ar?
Then I replied, mine are babes, bak bak babes at Geyland Odds lorongs side