Scheduled Offences Under VLPS
3 Demerit Points
Fine : $100
5 Demerit Points
Fine : $200
With effect from 19 November 2007, the VLPS penalties for the following
offences have been revised as shown in the table below.
Scheduled Offences Under VLPS Revised VLPS Penalty
1. Refusing, without reasonable excuse, to hire out taxi or to convey passenger 6 demerit points Fine: $300
2. Soliciting for passengers 12 demerit points Fine : $500
3. Overcharging (by less than $20) 12 demerit points Fine : $500
21 Demerit Points
Fine: $500
Vocational Licence will be revoked
Driving taxi whilst taxi vocational licence is suspended
Permitting any other person to use, or have in that other person’s possession,his taxi vocational licence
Overcharging (by $20 or more)
Retaining possession of passenger’s property left behind in taxi for 7 days or more
Tampering with, adjusting, altering or modifying taximeter or any part thereof, or causing or permitting any tampering with, adjusting, altering or modifying of taximeter or any part thereof
21 Demerit Points
Court Action
Vocational Licence will be revoked
Permitting taxi to be driven by driver whose taxi vocational licence is under suspension or by unlicensed driver
Demerit Points Suspension Period
6 to 10 2 weeks
11 to 15 4 weeks
16 to 20 8 weeks
I understand overcharging, but returning wrong change is it overcharging?
Happen to me twice, i guess pax also never realise. I only realise after i log the fare on my phone.
eg:
Fare $18.50 pax give $50, suppose i return $31.50. End up i give back $21.50.
Happen twice, once i think $18+, second time i think $19+, but both times pax never request for receipt.
Normally i don't take the extra $10 as my profit for the day, and both times the extra i put inside the donation box during my friday prayers. Cos not mine in the first place
Originally posted by cyben764:I understand overcharging, but returning wrong change is it overcharging?
Happen to me twice, i guess pax also never realise. I only realise after i log the fare on my phone.
eg:
Happen twice, once i think $18+, second time i think $19+, but both times pax never request for receipt.
Normally i don't take the extra $10 as my profit for the day, and both times the extra i put inside the donation box during my friday prayers. Cos not mine in the first place
Once fare $32 , i should return $18 , but i return $28 ?
Who cry for me ?
Once a pax accused me of taking his $100 bill ... cos he mistaken that $100 for $10 .
Fare was $15.50 , he paid me $10 , $5 and $2 .... i return $1.50 back to them , and he accused me of taking his $100 note .
I do have one $100 note , how ?
Overcharging ?
Originally posted by cyben764:I understand overcharging, but returning wrong change is it overcharging?
eg:
Not overcharging la. Genuine mistake, but if you really wanna play safe, alert your company DROs about this error. If the pax happens to call and complain, you have some proof of your genuiness, and the amount can be returned.
Back to demerit system .....
I have got one former LV member .... he got his driving license revoked because full house 24 points ..wondering how he did that ? Obtaining full 24 points ?
I never in life getting more than demerit 6 points a year .....
Once 6 points for speeding outside Gombak camp off Up Bt Timah Road .
60km/hr , got snapped at 91km/hr .
6 points $170 .
Second one inside KPE tunnel ..... received letter 6 points $180 for speeding at 93km/hr .
Zero offense for Red Light Camera .
Zero Offense at bus lane for 3 years , last one appeal successful .
Got an offense for not putting seat belt ? Dun remember TP demerit any points from me .
What i know i am with 24 points so far .... many years liao .
Last offense i think 2010 , inside tunnel that one .
eg:
U are defintely better than me..i kena not twice but so many times till i buat bodoh liao..example fare 10 customer gave 20 dollars..i also dont realise..only when looking for next pax then recount money realise got extra..
Originally posted by Poolman:Back to demerit system .....
I have got one former LV member .... he got his driving license revoked because full house 24 points ..wondering how he did that ? Obtaining full 24 points ?
I never in life getting more than demerit 6 points a year .....
Once 6 points for speeding outside Gombak camp off Up Bt Timah Road .
60km/hr , got snapped at 91km/hr .
6 points $170 .
Second one inside KPE tunnel ..... received letter 6 points $180 for speeding at 93km/hr .
Zero offense for Red Light Camera .
Zero Offense at bus lane for 3 years , last one appeal successful .
Got an offense for not putting seat belt ? Dun remember TP demerit any points from me .
What i know i am with 24 points so far .... many years liao .
Last offense i think 2010 , inside tunnel that one .
U can be nominated for safety driver award wakakakakakakaka
TS went for refresher course is it?...........lol
For sure i never heard or personally kena demerit points of taxi drivers like those listed above .
Taxi driving is a simple job ....
Very common one is not picking up passenger outside cbd ..... from 5pm to 12mn .
Got caught can be fined $300 for not picking up passengers .