Originally posted by 602:Hi bowah, my situation is pretty similar to Poolman. Being business for almost 15+ years and now cannot possibly go into emplyee state as salary will be merely $1500 to $2000. Age wise also pretty similar to Poolman. Most important, I am not the person to work for a boss. It is pretty a straight forward concept of my principal all these 15 years i.e. how much you want to enjoy depend on how much effort you place in.
I have tried property, insurance before Nd mowsday, Govt always want to chap ji ka and makes life difficult to living being. I may have some other lobang too currently but time are very flexible. Instead of kiao ka at home during free time might else well do something meaningful. My youngest is only 3 yo and i cant afford to stop dreaming but action. That's why I have choose TD.
So, in another words, TD was once your contingent plan that is going to be realised soon.
I would say that TD does not imply that there is no boss, but just that the boss keep changing. At a state of 1.5 to 2k income, it is wise to drive taxi better, nevertheless, if given options, there are better jobs that you can undertake provided you are able to change to adapt and evolve, in long run, its certainly pays better than a TD, I have to be blunt here as a TD myself.
However, the choice is alway up to the individual, you can alway take up some courses, go thru those train and place program that might ultimately put you in a better position against a vicious society we are facing.
Of course working, in the begining will start at 2k or 1.6k, with all benefits, CPF and bonuses, but in a long run, you move up, become the supervisor or head and that can stablise you income better.
For taxi driver, no doubt you get cold hard cash upfront which is more than a beginner in whatever structured jobs. But in a long run, it remain stagnate, fares increase will be cut off by rental and fuel increases, long and irregulars hours of working, and you still have to abide to LTA and companies rules and policies, any violation could take you a day or a week income off the mark....meaning drive for free.
If you ask me, I can tell you that 90% of those old birds or so called lau jiaos including me, the lau lan jiao, would said that if you are still young, try not to drive taxis, unless you are something like an education of Sex 2 like me. Only that 10% who cannot or do not want ot lose face will tell you, ok lah, drive taxis ok mah. But then, deep inside all these lao jiao, if given a chance to go back to our 30s, we would had choosen some other jobs, even a storemen would had become a supervisor by now. 5 days works, 3 months bonuses, AWS, CPF, 21 days leaves, and so on.
Let look into a job call, Marine worker, since I am also a kind of hokkien fitter in marine. But I am too old for it.
The initial start is to apply for a Marine trade with Learning Hub at Benoi road, former Hitachi cable, just next to Joon Koon Mrt. Training inside on all kinds of marine trade for 6 months at a pay of 1.5k. Thereafter, 3 months at shipyards at 1.8k, after 9 months you get yr Nitec Cert in marine trade, then you can go on to take a year on marine trade diploma fully sponsor with your paid of 1.8k intact, after that, you will be come an enginneer, drawing a paid of 2.5k to 2.8k and so on, that takes only less than 2 years, thereafter you progress with the yards like keppel, sembawang or jurong or ST marine or keppel fel.
And let me tell you their bonuses for the last 5 years consistently, minimum 8 months, max 10 months. So if you paid is 3k....
Originally posted by 602:Hi Ken, thanks for your advice. I am also pretty attracted by the SMRT $1688 benefit
Just say Chevrolet
SMRT $117
TransCab $115
U pay $2 more each day .....
U paid $730 than any Chevrolet ......
Originally posted by 602:Hi bowah, my situation is pretty similar to Poolman. Being business for almost 15+ years and now cannot possibly go into emplyee state as salary will be merely $1500 to $2000. Age wise also pretty similar to Poolman. Most important, I am not the person to work for a boss. It is pretty a straight forward concept of my principal all these 15 years i.e. how much you want to enjoy depend on how much effort you place in.
I have tried property, insurance before Nd mowsday, Govt always want to chap ji ka and makes life difficult to living being. I may have some other lobang too currently but time are very flexible. Instead of kiao ka at home during free time might else well do something meaningful. My youngest is only 3 yo and i cant afford to stop dreaming but action. That's why I have choose TD.
Nabey what u know about Poolman ?
what similiarities u know ?
I never say anything .....
Yo 602 , pls try to stick to one thread of your journey ... dun keep starting new thread for the same motives of getting a TVDL .
Andrew had locked one of the thread , dun say i dun warn you , RSM Andrew very on the ball one .
i change the thread name to something else , if u want , u can enjoy all the way until u get your TVDL .
I am telling you this , dun ask Comfort how this Comfort how that , not that i dun allowed ... u'll never get answers from those Blue counterparts here .....
I dunno why .......
There is 16000 Comfort and Citycab out there ...... helping you add u one more on the road do them no good at all .
U better try somewhere else to get infos .
Sometimes u ask , u occasionally can get some answers .
But bizarre enough , it's coming from non-CDG members here .
And one "retired" former stirrer ..... a few part timers , and one freelance multi jobs casket driver .
And one who recently resigned .....
Those who asked and join CDG ......... disappeared from this forum after that .
Originally posted by 602:
Hi Terry, are you in SMRT? Is this information genuine? Thanks
Originally posted by 602:Hi all, I am a newbie wanna be TD.
Was reading through the forum and yes, you guys rock! Lots of information and it help to prepare those who really seriously have no idea how or what to anticipate.
As I was reading and picking up alot of information here, I noticed some of the information are pretty quite sometime back.
These are few updates I wish I can get some lights to it though there maybe answer in the forum which is quite sometime back and in general discussion which is . So, I hope this will show a clearer picture to where I can begin the next phase in this TD journey.
Ques: So far realise the CDG is good as their largest company and support etc. SMRT and Transcab comes into the picture as next choice. Honestly, for a newbie which is more ideal in the learning aspect.
Ques: I understand most recent medical examination and x-ray before going for the STA course, it is priced around $30+ posted sometime last year. Any idea if the price still remain or has increased? I am thinking to go SATA or any recommendation coz, I hope to get the X-ray and medical report result quickly so I can quickly book the course dates.
Ques: I have called all the 3 training centre and their next available date of training for Express aka Full-Time is 18 Feb 2013. And from what I have read, there are 3 training centre. STA, SMRT and CDG. Which one do you prefer or recommend?
Thanks
And one "retired" former stirrer ....
Nb, this 1 sound like me............
This forum started with many Red Gangsters, Poolman you forgot liao..........
During those time, you all ka ki gong, ka ki song.........a lot of CDG drivers like me just keep quiet only............
Than when slowly 1 by 1 turn to CDG, suddenly realise 世界那么大...........
Sometime not those forumers don't want to share, is how to share? Totally different from the origin world.........
Of course some got personal grudge against CDG, this 1 bo pian, difficult to change people mindset.............
Very live example definitely will be bro BCL, from TCL to BCL than back to TCL.............very dramatic TD life.........lol
Originally posted by bowah:Let look into a job call, Marine worker, since I am also a kind of hokkien fitter in marine. But I am too old for it.
The initial start is to apply for a Marine trade with Learning Hub at Benoi road, former Hitachi cable, just next to Joon Koon Mrt. Training inside on all kinds of marine trade for 6 months at a pay of 1.5k. Thereafter, 3 months at shipyards at 1.8k, after 9 months you get yr Nitec Cert in marine trade, then you can go on to take a year on marine trade diploma fully sponsor with your paid of 1.8k intact, after that, you will be come an enginneer, drawing a paid of 2.5k to 2.8k and so on, that takes only less than 2 years, thereafter you progress with the yards like keppel, sembawang or jurong or ST marine or keppel fel.
And let me tell you their bonuses for the last 5 years consistently, minimum 8 months, max 10 months. So if you paid is 3k....
Got age limit one or not?
TS stay west side take TC Wish best. Pump CNG no problem. No need do what CDG relief. Still need to see hirer face. CDG hirer damn guai lan one. Got one I know personally first question he shoot when relief call him...."Eh, you got smoke one or not?" KNN TD how many dun smoke? Sibeh guai lan hor? Lol
Hi Poolman, thanks for the rename. You guys rock! This place is kept tidy for the hard work despite of the work TD need to commit in.
I have began to feel the tense of TD lifestyle. Especially reading what StriveOn Journey, Koon Blog and evaluating some or the possibilities. I told myself, I have not read through enough in this place and shall continue reading as much as possible to absorb more info while waiting for my course to start.
I sincerely thank LV22 also for offering his help. Really appreciate despite he was not feeling well. Hope you recover soon brother. Take care! In the meantime, I am pretty free and if your health gets better, I am available day time to coffee and exchange some info, if you can.
I am so grateful all other bro and members here has contributed valuable information and details of how a newbie can start off with this career. Indeed, it is an eye-opener for me to learn these, otherwise I will surely bang corner and walls till bleeding blood, vomit shit to get this info in a longer time frame than what has being shared here.
As the process of the TD life is taking me quite a while to it, I bet this post is not really needed to be updated until I have attended the course and complete course. In the meantime, I am still contemplating with the choice of TC to choose though I have signed up for SMRT which is likely my choice to go for.
I hope I have not created a nuisance to repeating posting from a newbie aspect. If so, my apologies. Otherwise, pls accept my gratitude and thanks to your assistance and advice.
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:TS stay west side take TC Wish best. Pump CNG no problem. No need do what CDG relief. Still need to see hirer face. CDG hirer damn guai lan one. Got one I know personally first question he shoot when relief call him...."Eh, you got smoke one or not?" KNN TD how many dun smoke? Sibeh guai lan hor? Lol
Hi hammer, I will consider but at this moment while waiting for courses to begin and end in March 2013 (Test on 7 March 2013), I will evaluate and study option available around before deciding.
Thanks for the advice.
Originally posted by 602:
Hi Terry, are you in SMRT? Is this information genuine? Thanks
Former smrt hirer last year. now switch to smrt relief.
Hi everyone, it has being a long time haven't being login to the coolest place for chat.
Firstly, Gong Xi Fa Cai - Friday $10M TOTO.... Huat Ah!
I have started my TVDL course yesterday at SMRT - Woodlands and it feel like going back to school after so many donkey years of lag. The experience makes me feel as if taking a Degree course... Hahaha :) - till now, having complete the Module 1, I have felt the tense of the rest :p
i guess it is not nice to mention who is the trainer. But one thing for sure - can really feel the TD life is not easy and takes a lot of patience, courage, efforts and many other importance factor to sustain. Importantly, all TD need to watch out their productivity ($ in pocket), watch out for "Uncle Sam" (avoiding demerit point), maintain calm and handle all kind of pax and road user from complaining etc....
I assume there are lots of "Blog" in here describing how their TD lifestyle changes and individual experience. I guess I need not to describe what I have gone through. Perhaps, a little social networking to make friends rather than describing my itinerary.
Hopefully I could get through the test and pass in one single attempt though I may not be borne to be that lucky... Hahaha... Hope I am not sounding to you I am that negative type but least, I don't wish to be over confidence.
Originally posted by Poolman:I am telling you this , dun ask Comfort how this Comfort how that , not that i dun allowed ... u'll never get answers from those Blue counterparts here .....
I dunno why .......
There is 16000 Comfort and Citycab out there ...... helping you add u one more on the road do them no good at all .
U better try somewhere else to get infos .
Sometimes u ask , u occasionally can get some answers .
But bizarre enough , it's coming from non-CDG members here .
And one "retired" former stirrer ..... a few part timers , and one freelance multi jobs casket driver .
And one who recently resigned .....
Those who asked and join CDG ......... disappeared from this forum after that .
why give answers when the atmosphere is so anti CDG? hahaha.
overheard at last nite kopi session someone kpkb abt CDG calls , taiko la
so please drive for
Not bad , now 1 day people can get 12 TC calls , sibeh tekong .
LV going to eat grass liao.
or you can join
the fastest fleet of Singapore
easily the new road menace on the road, sonatas can stand one side.
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:why give answers when the atmosphere is so anti CDG? hahaha.
overheard at last nite kopi session someone kpkb abt CDG calls , taiko la
so please drive for
Not bad , now 1 day people can get 12 TC calls , sibeh tekong .
LV going to eat grass liao.
or you can join
the fastest fleet of Singapore
easily the new road menace on the road, sonatas can stand one side.
haha u guys see lar........sch principal angry liao come in F ppl olredi...............
Originally posted by komade:haha u guys see lar........sch principal angry liao come in F ppl olredi...............
true mah, since CDG so taiko , so easily tio pok , prank calls , Dont need drivers mentality , yaya papaya ,
why join? take gun shoot own foot?
Originally posted by Rbs70:And one "retired" former stirrer ....
Nb, this 1 sound like me............
This forum started with many Red Gangsters, Poolman you forgot liao..........
During those time, you all ka ki gong, ka ki song.........a lot of CDG drivers like me just keep quiet only............
Than when slowly 1 by 1 turn to CDG, suddenly realise 世界那么大...........
Sometime not those forumers don't want to share, is how to share? Totally different from the origin world.........
Of course some got personal grudge against CDG, this 1 bo pian, difficult to change people mindset.............
Very live example definitely will be bro BCL, from TCL to BCL than back to TCL.............very dramatic TD life.........lol
Im glad to be back as TCL , my forte in taxi driving is
Being BCL sucks as i cannot be doing the above lol.
Damn cant get back my own nick ... sibeh sian
TransCab calls or CDG calls got anything to do with LV calls ?
I dun think so ..... they strong doesn't mean it weaken us .
I am happy TransCab giving CDG a run for their money .
After joining Silver ...... whatever i am in town , i dumped their talkie away .
It is very similiar to CDG type of calls , TransCab are just taking over those vacuum letf by Premier and CDG .
U think Uncle me entertain Silver calls from Vivo to Bukit Panjang ?
Pax call CDG , dun have , then call TC dun have , then call Silver .
All calls dun have never mind one ( company call ) .
I need only 13 paxes daily .
4 pm start .... til 12mn , just 13 paxes .
8 hours ....... i just need roughly 2 paxes an hour .
If one pax gave me $14 , i got $182 by 12mn .
$14 per paxes difficult meh ?
Under Coconut Tree to Clarke Quay how much liao ? Dun say Under Coconut Tree go Sengkang ....... one trip enuf liao .
So many calls for what ?
if i was given 12 calls ....... 4 to AMK , 4 to YIshun , 2 to Woodlands , please lah ..... thanks but no thanks .
I rather interview than $3.50 send me to places like that .
But sadly so ..... LakeView calls alot to Airport .
At the least , AP can connect easily to town .
I meant good chances .
If out of Changi AP , i can easily connect one to town , or near town .
AP to town 11 minutes .
Woodlands to town ?
Walan eh .... steam .
20 minutes fastest .