Went for my SAF ffi on tuesday, they call me and say i have high cholesterol, wonder it is because of taxi driving? i am 37, drove 4 years of taxi, no execirse, drink beer every alt days, smoke, so guys , pls take care of your health, dun think young body no need to take care, bowah, pls standby for me.
What are the changes to your lifestyle, diet and
exercise?
Firstly, you are strongly advised to eat oats (instant/ quick-cook)
as heavy breakfast, and greatly reduce eating fried foods and junk
foods.
Secondly, please start cardio exercising.
Start from light to gradual to moderate.
e.g. brisk walking, then fast walking, then slow jogging, then
jogging.
Thirdly, if you drink alcohol/ smoke tobacco, please quit.
It's best that by changing your lifestyle, your BP will gradually
stablise and be within normal range. Doctors advise that to manage
BP effectively, it's optimal to change your lifestyle, next is to
reduce drug dosage, and finally be completely off medicine.
That's why I strongly urge you to eat oats (instant/
quick-cook).
3 big scoops (Chinese soup spoon) into a bowl.
Just add boiling water to 70% full.
Cover the bowl with a plate and wait 10 to 15 minutes.
Add water to 100% full, and consume at lukewarm.
Fast and easy-to-make breakfast.
Never ever skip breakfast.
Start off the day by having a heavy breakfast.
Have lunch at 70% full.
Have dinner at 30% full. If still hungry, eat oats.
If possible, drink Pu'er/ oolong tea (without sugar) daily.
Why I recommend you this?
My parents have HBP since first known 2 years ago.
And now, their BP is well-maintain with this 1st step in a simple
change in diet/ lifestyle.
Originally posted by Gu7777g:Went for my SAF ffi on tuesday, they call me and say i have high cholesterol, wonder it is because of taxi driving? i am 37, drove 4 years of taxi, no execirse, drink beer every alt days, smoke, so guys , pls take care of your health, dun think young body no need to take care, bowah, pls standby for me.
Aiya brother, dun talk like this lah, it can be high in good cholestrol lah.
Dun worry lah, high cholestrol people are actually Good life people, because life is too good, that is why people get high this and that, these are all rich and good life people lifestyle.
In fact, in recent study, abit high in cholestrol is good, why, because cholestrol are also energy, so in times of need, like heavy sex or do hard work, you need it.
Those who do not have or less cholestrol may end up with no back up energy, then when in times of need, face green green want to faint liao.
well thanks for the advise from both, but the medic who called me sounds very worried for me, and it makes me more scare!! Must go buy some oats and go for jogging, very hard for me to quit smoking and drinking.
Chill bro. Just eat moderately and do what you have to do. At least if you were to die one day you die as a happy man. At least you know the cause of your death. Dun stress your self out. Just follow your daily routine.
Originally posted by Gu7777g:well thanks for the advise from both, but the medic who called me sounds very worried for me, and it makes me more scare!! Must go buy some oats and go for jogging, very hard for me to quit smoking and drinking.
Yalor, it takes years to build a high cholestrol, so, do not think it will go down in few days, do it slowly, like what others said, eat unpolished rice also good, do not take sweet stuff, reduce smoking, drinking and fat stuff.
Must do it slowly, not suddenly go run uphill 5km or SOC kind of training, suddenly change of lifestyle can up lorry very fast one.
Stay calm lah, nearly 70% of mid age men in Singapore got high cholestrol, sometime, our biggest enemy is our mouth, eat here, eat there, drink here and there, smoke here and there....need to control. Like me, jog to hawker centre??
when talk about eating healthy, it is always seem "mission impossible" by a layman.
what less this.....less that, no this...... no that....
Ended people usually "give up"
Same to exercise mah, what planned 1 3 5 running, then end up at kopitiam after a month. Or run run and run to Macdonald.
The mission will be possible when one hit a major illness and survived
Indulgence is pampering, and we need to pamper ourselve once a while
Exercise can be guilt of that indulgence
病从�入, this is the cause of all illness.
But ........å�ƒé¥±ç‰æ» will be the final answer from most.
Smile and laugh more is the best medicine lah
Originally posted by Ken@kofishop:i don really watch my diet…life wud be so boring wo some indulgence…but i try to exercise more to compensate.
smoking…i quit last time when wan to hv kids. after some delay…doctor adv better quit smoking…seems to work..cos after that wu liao…hahaha
but do you know....... for a hour of exercise, it only burn that little....... and how many can do an hour of excercise
Originally posted by bowah:Smile and laugh more is the best medicine lah
也得�饱了, �有力气 Smile and laugh
Originally posted by OptimalTrans:but do you know....... for a hour of exercise, it only burn that little....... and how many can do an hour of excercise
Originally posted by Gu7777g:Went for my SAF ffi on tuesday, they call me and say i have high cholesterol, wonder it is because of taxi driving? i am 37, drove 4 years of taxi, no execirse, drink beer every alt days, smoke, so guys , pls take care of your health, dun think young body no need to take care, bowah, pls standby for me.
Brother: You need to adjust your diet n lifestyle .... more plain water, soupy stuffs, steamed stuffs and less deep fried food like MCD n KFC..... n of cos alcohol.
I advise you that u can take 泡� or is commonly known as Wild Amercian Ginseng every day, it can improve overall health, reduce heatiness n best of all improve sperm quality ....
Health is the most important .... In Singapore can Die but cannot be Sick...
Originally posted by bowah:Smile and laugh more is the best medicine lah
Laughter is the Best Medicine!!!
Laughter is actually a exercise, it tweak your facial muscle to prevent stroke, it jerk your lungs and other organs including blood vessels to be active and flowing, and at the same time, it helps your brain in good moods.
Fully agreed with Ah Guan!
Originally posted by OptimalTrans:也得�饱了, �有力气 Smile and laugh
But dun over eat to laugh, if kenna choked, also not bad, laugh till death hehehe
However, I have to qualify that those cunning laughing and smile is no good for health.
Originally posted by bowah:Laughter is actually a exercise, it tweak your facial muscle to prevent stroke, it jerk your lungs and other organs including blood vessels to be active and flowing, and at the same time, it helps your brain in good moods.
Fully agreed with Ah Guan!
When I Ferry my regular Pax, I always cracks jokes and funny stuffs .....
That is why they always book my cab ......
A good laugh after work can De-stress the passenger after a hard day of work ....
Yes,...good job!
TS 37 still bo finish reservist?........still need FFI?..........
Btw, 能�是�..............
Cholesterol got good ones bad ones ....
My Family Doctor advises me eat more FISH and that will do the trick .
I smoke since 16 ...... when i went for my yearly medical checkup , Dr.Lim told me my heart in perfect condtion .
Kidney and liver no cancerous detected .
Check prostate , no problems .
Check Bladder , fine .
But i dun really drink beer or alcohol .
And doing enough exercise really does the trick of overcoming the hazards after smoking .