Got my TDVL last week. Have checked out & registered with CDG.
With my family commitments, I am looking at day relief on weekdays. However, to cover the cost, I would need to do at least 12hrs.
There is a high chance that I might have to do night driving as in between I would need to fetch my ger back from school and prepare dinner. The staff remarked that their pool of female drivers so far have no issues where personal safety is concerned for night driving. But, given their "customer-oriented policy", I might encounter problems loading luggages as I am short and do have some back issue.
Besides, getting advice on whether it is safe for female driver to do night? I would like to find out whether worse case, OMO, drive 6hrs in the day and resume again at night is feasible or not. And which are the recommended coy for female driver.
P/s: I have tried to find out as much as possible b4 starting this topic. Seek understanding from all the seniors here if my qtns are too typical for a newbie.
Okay .... registered with CDG
Female ....
Short ....
Back problems ....
Have a daughter .....
Day as relief .....
Guys give ur advice .
This thread is allowed .
li chio bo?
To be honest , i will talk to you frankly ....
It is very tough for a lady to drive at night .
Cos most ladies are not fast drivers .
And i can tell u , night drivers are very fast drivers .
If u are driving a CDG , u will see other drivers from other taxi company will try to bully u .
Stick to day lah , honestly .
And u can find Khoon for more driving tips .
Khoon can also organise some lunch break for u to learn something with other day drivers .
Originally posted by Red5xx:li chio bo?
Ya , i also want to ask , LOL . hahahaha phui red5xx
Shing zai ho bo ? Hahahahah knn red5xx
Originally posted by CookiesM:customer-oriented policy
char bor , pls lah ...... in our vocab , no such 3 words .
U can only got bullied by this 3 words .
Originally posted by Poolman:
Ya , i also want to ask , LOL . hahahaha phui red5xx
Bo chio, shing zau bo ho scare what.....
in a more serious note , i personally never encounter or heard , or seen from newspaper lady taxi driver got rob or things like that ....
but a few years ago , a female taxi driver from SMRT , driving a SMRT Crown was killed at Pioneer Lane off Tuas .
Die until culprit never were caught .
As for a lady trying out OMO .... and need to take care daughter . Tough very tough !
I tell u what ...... u were a bit similiar to jynt aka Jade .
U PM Khoon , he may organise a lunch break with jade and u .
U listen to what jade did , and you could well get the answers from Jade .
Jade is also a female taxi driver .
Also trying OMO and gave up in less than 3 months .
U know what ?
We need to listen more on your case and give u advice .
Cos i am never a Pro-OMO person , i will give my best advice to convince u what's best .
Poolman, tks for the prompt replies. Read many of yr contributions. Very informative.
Red5xx, I not chio.
Yeah, I mentioned female not to get special treatment but advice cos we are all here to earn a living.
Though I am now attending CDG courses, I am still sourcing around.
Hi Sis CookiesM,
As Chief pool said, OMO, not the way....I OMO 1 month already cannot tahan.... Night driving, really must be fast, even I got a fast machine also can kenna makan by blue and yellow..... sometimes dangerous too, meaning dangerous driving by some night drivers on the road.......
As for relief or OMO, you dun need 12 hours to cover costs lah, if really need 12 hours, then better not come in this trade, cos 12 hours straight driving is very tiring and end of the day, you don't make money at all......
CookliesM, ä¿ºå»ºè®®ä½ æ‹œé˜¿å�¤ä¸ºå¸ˆã€‚
对�鸟�说,阿�是一��常得体的好导师�
Originally posted by CookiesM:
Yeah, I mentioned female not to get special treatment but advice cos we are all here to earn a living.
Yeah , let's face these realistic world , when on the road , race , sex , experience , young or old ............ not important , what's important is how fast and how clever are u .
Well , at least night we need that .
Night n day shift big diff leh ....
Day everywhere in Singapore , u can create connections .... Sengkang Punggol Bt Panjang Bt Batok anywhere ....
Night different lo ...... so many place all consider dark zone .
Dun be naive to think night and day same style can charlie makan , u will be dead wrong .
One example , many newbies always imagine like ...
"Wow , taxi can drive leh ...... at night got strategy can liao , at Woodlands go Checkpoint , near CCK go Night Safari , near Pasir Ris , go downtown east ...near Tampines go Tampines Mall etc etc imaginations .
" Peak hour Q at all MRT taxi stand " type of simple mind imaginations .
This sort of strategies never in mine syllabus for night shift .
This sort of simple mind strategies , die cock stand one for me .
U'll never imagine Poolman never one chance Q at heartland MRT taxi stand as one of my tactics to get pax .
I let others do it , let them earn .
Cookies has got 2 options ..... both sticking on Day shift .
First find a hirer that drive night and finding for a day relief , that will be her first choice .
second if cannot find , be a hirer and find a night relief .
As for her daughter ..... that got to be priority , not putting all effort on driving .
Drive as per normal ..... if earn $80 , so be it , if earn $50 , so be it , if can earn $100 , even better , so be it .
When time to go home , pls go home for her .
Cook for her , study with her , do laundry and ironing for her .... spent more time with her .
When one need to pick up daughter , her income guarantee will be affected .
No two ways good one .
either u earn more , dun pick her up ...
or pick her up , earn less .
Now i share my story ...again , many stories to tell .
Personal experiences .
2005 ...... my son 5 years old ... Maid went home Indonesia , my wife gambled and lost a big chunk of mine fortune , gotta OMO to recover those expenses i need ..... (quite stupid , cos thinking OMO can earn more) .
No maid , but need to fetch him from child care .
Morning my wife sent him to child care , i work from 7am .
evening by 6pm , need to pick him up and sent him home , thank god that time my father still alive , after sent him home , i can continue to work , my father looked after him before my wife reached home .
easy for me ? Fucking tough ..... at Simei need to rush back to CCK to pick him up knn ..... anywhere from Sgp also must pick him up , whatever distance also need . Got people cannot take .
My wife can only be back at CCK at 7pm , but child care close at 6pm , die die by 6.30pm must pick my son from there .
All in all , averagely need 1 hour of the time .
Worst it's CCK very hard to get pax between 6pm to 8pm .
Need to waste another 30-40 minutes to get another pax .
I wasted almost every evening 2 hours for that sort of craps .
Think here think there ...... not the long term solution .
Work fucking hard ... to earn that money in order to get a new maid .
I did ..... a good maid solve all my problems .
Once i solve the child care problems ...... i am back driving night shift .
Found a day relief .... and back to business .
I earned more cos i can utilise more on the road , less tiring cos less charging here and there , more life ...... not just driving a cab .
Fuck OMO ... OMO really cannot make it one . Earn so much lesser than just night shift , more tiring and more fuel consuming for the taxi .
One thing affected me .....
I cannot focus my driving when my mind were congested with problems ...everyday need trouble shooting .
But that made me a better trouble shooter .
Seriously when one has got many problems , i cannot believe they can work better than those without problems in their head .
Now i do not have problems in my head ..... funny and realistic enough , i earned more .
I also learnt that if u relax driving , u can earn more , drive more happy .
Rushing here and there doing personal stuffs , can really dampen your mood to drive .
I hv seen and taken cabs with women Tds at night, but most only do night after doing day for sometime and then confident about the switch.
But I think your case as a mother, it's better for you to be home when your daughter finishes school, not just fetching and cooking which will make you very tired.
Drive morning, come 4 or 5pm and then prepare dinner, check on your kid etc and then go to bed is best for family persons, not just female, most TDs will tell you that.
As for fetching, honestly it doesn't work well for TDs to be doing this unless the first job is to send your spouse or kid to school,work, or the last job is fetching for home and then close shop.
Let your kid take a school bus if very young or public if older. As a TD, you wanna be free to take any jobs at any time, if that timing your momentum is good why break it, in order to fetch? You can carry on, earn a bit more then next day, you can relax a bit.
But as Poolman said ask around, but I think morning is safer because at night you might have to face drunkards - sooner or later you gonna have to face them, and as a woman, it's usually more stressful to deal with such pax.
also in order to find a day relief , she cannot insist on just CDG .
She must be ready to open up to SMRT , Wish or even Silver Kia .
Open up means wider options .
It is very tiring to do such thing ......
It affected not just the day alone , it affected the next day , the day after the next day .
The fatigue just pile up , more and more each day .
Funny enough .....no mention of her husband .... Husband play an important part when wife is a taxi driver . Not only husband , other family members also very important .
That's why i said , must read more on her situation .
A single parent cabby ?
A divorcee cabby ?
A problematic husband cabby ?