CDG need taxi drivers again ?
Due to many tio pok last year , now ST coming in to "help" again ?
This article is good ......
Sometimes i wondering does Prime Minister Lee see newspaper ?
How he feel huh ?
Does he felt happy that he created jobs for Singaporeans ( to drive a cab ) ?
Or
Does he felt he is still not doing enough for creating jobs ? If he is doing well to create jobs , why was there a surge for people to become taxi drivers ?
Does KY Lee encourage him to become a taxi driver when he was young ? Or study hard ?
or study hard to become a taxi driver ?
Long before the MBS and RWS , parliament debated how good this two IR can do to Singapore , create what 27,000 jobs between them ?
But down the road ..... why was there a surge in people looking to drive a taxi ?
Every now and then , we see Newspaper said : Unemployment rate down , employment rate up etc etc articles every two to three months one report .
Why was there a surge to become taxi drivers ?
Or ST trying to help taxi companies to sign up more drivers for the giant price taxi rental ?
$133.75 Kia K5 ?
$117 i40 ?
$178 Mercedes ?
$180 Chrysler ?
Originally posted by Poolman:..........................................
Every now and then , we see Newspaper said : Unemployment rate down , employment rate up etc etc articles every two to three months one report .
Shits Times, Channel Nude Asia,... I stopped reading or watching them when it comes to Goberment statistics and News.
They only tell the good stuff.
And if the stuff is bad, they will tell you its good. What can you do?
154 already buy over edmw, when time come, they might buy over sgforums, but knn here like ghost town except your baby........
Taxi driving good mah, honest and decent job, eng eng can earn $7k, more people drive, than 1 day, bo degree cannot take TDVL..........
Than become professional job mah........
Propagenda !
These few days MDT always flash recommendation incentive for introducing hirers to sign up Crown and Sonata, I called and ask, DRO say give $200.00 to introducer.
Now many many unrent sonatas park at garage (this one tia kong from diesel kiosk uncles)
maybe many new citizens applyin for taxi licence
When the older ones get retrenched or not renewed upon end of contract, many turned to driving a taxi. recently mi saw a lawyer having to turn to drive a taxi - not sure is it to supplement the income or what.
Job figures mean nothing to an individual, cos when it strikes you, you will feel the brunt and the weight on your shoulder...the figures about drop in joblessness makes no sense.
These people are no George Yeo - he lost his minister post, but for him to get another high paying job is easy...so many people offered him chairmanship, directorships, etc, but who will care for the man on-the-street?
http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/top-the-news/story/surge-numbers-seeking-drive-taxis-20130131
Surge in numbers seeking to drive taxis
MORE people are applying for a taxi vocational licence, drawn by the work flexibility, improved earnings and even access to a car.
Between 2002 and last year, the number of applicants averaged 7,880 a year. But in the last three years, it had jumped by 16 per cent to 9,105, according to the Land Transport Authority (LTA).
Applicants go for 21 three-hour training sessions and must pass four theory tests, as well as one practical, before they get a licence. Each year, the passing rate is between 42 per cent and 63 per cent, the LTA said.
Close to 96,000 people now hold the licence, versus fewer than 90,000 before 2007. Only about half are active cabbies.
"More people have come to realise the value of a taxi licence," said a spokesman for the Singapore Taxi Academy which trains close to half of all the applicants. Transport firms ComfortDelGro and SMRT train the rest.
"There is also an increasing sense of job insecurity," added the spokesman. Banks have, for example, shed staff because of global economic uncertainties.
The profile of applicants now includes more women and new citizens. Only Singapore citizens are allowed to drive taxis.
The women like the job flexibility, the spokesman said. "They can fit in their household chores and fetch the kids any time."
Mr Tony Heng, SMRT's director of taxis and transport solutions, said applicants are getting younger. "This could be due to more people viewing driving taxis as a viable career choice."
According to an LTA poll, the biggest group of two-shift cabbies saw a 17.1 per cent rise in their gross earnings to $363 a day from 2010 to September last year.
Single-shift drivers saw an 8.3 per cent increase to $235. After deducting taxi rent and fuel, that translated to about $4,250 and $3,650 a month respectively.
For applicant Chua Wen An, the main draws are independence and flexibility. The 33-year-old, who has a hotel management diploma and works in a hotel, said: "I'd rather be self-employed."
He added that having a car to run errands is also a plus.
Another applicant, Mr Paul Lim, 42, a rice importer, said: "Who knows, 10 years down the road, when I think I want to spend more time with my family, I can drive a cab."
Mr Ricky Lau, 44, chief operating officer of a Thai-based rubber company, said he will be completing his contract soon.
He added that he could drive a cab while he looks for a new job.
Getting that licence, however, is not that easy.
Dispatch rider Yasin Salim, 43, has been trying for it since last October, resitting the tests more than seven times.
"The English part is very difficult. I understand only simple English," he said.
The taxi academy spokesman said most applicants secure the licence after sitting the tests three or four times.
。。。。。。。。According to an LTA poll, the biggest group of two-shift cabbies saw a 17.1 per cent rise in their gross earnings to $363 a day from 2010 to September last year.
Single-shift drivers saw an 8.3 per cent increase to $235. After deducting taxi rent and fuel, that translated to about $4,250 and $3,650 a month respectively.。。。。。。。。。。。。
take single shift to cal....
$235x30=7050..minus rental and diseal=$3650
so 7050-3650=3400(rental+diseal)
3400/30=$113( daily rental+diseal)
Fuck you guys.....unless taxi run by water....
i think mi will go also to get a taxi licence ... wonder what is the expiry for taxi licence if I do not use it immediately?
Fish La, Mentor Pool
I suddently I realise this news was by the same reporter : Christopher Tor again.
This Fucking CT always report news against us TD.
Originally posted by Ct2220:Fish La, Mentor Pool
I suddently I realise this news was by the same reporter : Christopher Tor again.
This Fucking CT always report news against us TD.
7k td?
drive taxi can really earn that much?
Originally posted by croco2006:drive taxi can really earn that much?
$235 gross minus rental and fuel equals $3650 only if your rental like crown with fuel consumption of i40 and with start meter of merc LoL
can,
but get bowah contact 1st....
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:Propagenda !
These few days MDT always flash recommendation incentive for introducing hirers to sign up Crown and Sonata, I called and ask, DRO say give $200.00 to introducer.
Now many many unrent sonatas park at garage (this one tia kong from diesel kiosk uncles)
Not hear say.....I know my kaki's ex reilef got a Sonata with roof top advert within 2 weeks. Rental $108nett 3 year old vehicle...
Aiya more take taxi license in fear of job security lah..scare tio pok can drive a taxi.....or money not enough so part time drive at night or weekends to makes end meet.....Got license liao not all go drive cab right? Where got so many cab for them to drive?
Originally posted by cyben764:$235 gross minus rental and fuel equals $3650 only if your rental like crown with fuel consumption of i40 and with start meter of merc LoL
liddat better than mi working part time at macdonalds... but how much to go for taxi trainning... must also pay deposit right?
mi no so much $$$ leh
Originally posted by croco2006:liddat better than mi working part time at macdonalds... but how much to go for taxi trainning... must also pay deposit right?
mi no so much $$$ leh
Whole course plus LTA approval and medical check up at SATA about $300++