SINGAPORE: Second Minister for Home Affairs S Iswaran said there are some possible areas that the authorities are looking into -- errant drivers could face harsher penalties, while more speed cameras will be installed and more Traffic Police officers will be deployed to make the roads safer.
Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of a visit to the Police Security Command on Thursday, Mr Iswaran highlighted concerns such as speeding and beating the red light.
He said the authorities will step up road safety in areas that are more prone to accidents and better protect "vulnerable road users", such as young and elderly pedestrians.
Mr Iswaran said besides enforcement and penalties, road users have to be educated.
His comments came on the heels of an accident in Tampines on Monday, when two boys died after they were hit by a cement mixer.
Asked about a suggestion by Tampines GRC MP Baey Yam Keng to re-route heavy vehicles in residential estates, Mr Iswaran said it is not possible to completely avoid having heavy vehicles going through residential areas.
However, Mr Iswaran added it can work in the context for the duration for the construction project to find a path of least concern from point of view of traffic safety.
He said heavy vehicle drivers have to understand their responsibilities because the accidents they could be involved in have severe consequences.
members and cabbies , please be reminded that those roads on HDB estates , with no speed limit signage , will be .
After that death of the two boys @ Tampines , i am so sure the TP will be actively on those look out for fast cars on such roads .
Their normal procedures , 3 months on active mode .
Esp day time .......
I really hope night time they also on the look out as well .
Traditionally , TP are not so active on the roads .
I guessed 9-5pm means 9-5pm shift for them .
Sorry Traffic Police , just my personal opinion .
It doesn't reflect to opinions from all of us .
I not so worry , cos i am such a turtle driver on such roads , road side paxes always kena hijack by other "faster" taxis , cos i am so slow on such roads .
although i am driving so-called Singapore's fastest cab .
All thanks to Toyota Wish 1.8 ..... it created such a slow driving habit for me .
Originally posted by Poolman:members and cabbies , please be reminded that those roads on HDB estates , with no speed limit signage , will be .
After that death of the two boys @ Tampines , i am so sure the TP will be actively on those look out for fast cars on such roads .
Since when increase to 60km/h?
If look closely, our govt who use to be proactive, have become instead a reactive govt.
Formerly, govt think tank really think of the future and predict precisely what is going to happen, so they build this and that, come out with this policies and that regulation to prevent it. That is good governance, a proactive one
But today, only things happen, then some million dollars Minsters will come out and said this and that, point this and that, but things already happened, TCSS so much for what..this is call reactive governance, only react when thing happen, bad govt.
Originally posted by Singtaxi:Since when increase to 60km/h?
all the while without road sign , road are limit at 60km/hr ....
I kena Upper Bukit Timah , speed track shot me 91km/hr . Outside Gombak Camp .
Speed track before Gombak Camp , shot and they report to their Police Stop after Traffic lights , about 500m after traffic lights , u can't see the Police stop cos it';s a bend . Also by the time u saw them , i already kena tracked !
Kena exceeding 31km/hr , base on 60km/hr .
6 points , $170 phui .... a few years back .
Driving Toyota Crown somemore .
Soccer lah , it got to be 2005 , rushing home to watch Uefa Champions League .
But some road they really put 50km/hr , some slower 40km/hr .
HDB roads all 50 km/h standard. please check the TP website. Upper Bukit Timah Rd is 60 km/h there is a sign on the lamp post.
50 or 60 or 70, all jiak sai 1 la.........
Defensive and considerate driving is more important.........
Most time is not people who drive past, is those idiots who park their car along road side, waiting for their kids from school, farking selfish animal, cannot park at nearby carpark meh? Must tell people limpek drive big and nice car meh?..........
And the best is, school also don't stop them from doing so..........
Not only in Bukit Timah good school hor, nowadays is farking island wide..........