buslane.
50% of the passengers flag our taxis from the buslane, many of them do it in the busstop.
And I feel so sad for those tourists, flagging frantically when an empty cab pass by, but non refuse to stop for them in the buslane. These tourists had no idea what is going on, i pity them and understand their fustration against taxi drivers.
Our govt didn't educate these tourists. But I hate locals too, knowing that we cannot stop at buslane, they are always there flagging for taxis, some at yellowbox, some at the broken white line near the end of the zebra crossing. Getting us taxi into dilemma.
our taxi association bo cho kang ah? didn't fight for us
and i feel all busstop should be extended, for taxi to stop and pick up only. No waiting of course.
then why u propose also to let taxi use the bus lane? change it to taxi/bus lane? might as well put taxi stands along all those full day bus lanes?
For Taxi to use BUS lane ?........ Bus lane are there to protect "their" investment, they cannot afford bus wasted too much time on traffic jam, it will affect their daily collection.
Taxi..... got jam, collection affected is Taxi Driver issue, "their" collection is still the same.
So you think they will allow Taxi to use bus lane?
I disagree. Just look at how some Tds behave. Like to hog the the roads, suka suka stop, cut here and there.
Bus lane only for certain hours, besides if before 8pm would go in CBD empty?
If we allow taxis to do, it will just a few idiots to ruin the whole thing and make us in a worse light than already with other road users, unless some like being stomped.
So let things be, you wanna pick, you take the risk, get caught, blame yourself.
We can't solve the taxi problems for all pax, foreign tourists or locals who can't get a cab when they want it. Besides who helps us when we got no pax and drive up and down empty?
It works both ways.
Paxs are not all dumb, they know what to do but act blur or try to get out of things cheaply.
If you think you want to drive into bus lane, you can alway drive Bus, now greatly in need
Talking about buses, we got 1 member here who boasted of delaying a bus for 10 whole minutes!
Really surprised he got away with it or did it, since he' such a nice fellow with NO aggression and anger issues! .
And no I don't refer to him as an idiot if you look at what I wrote in my previous post.
He's not the type. He follow rules most of the time anyway!
Originally posted by bowah:If you think you want to drive into bus lane, you can alway drive Bus, now greatly in need
I like this reply..... if he really become bus driver, he will change his mind about letting taxi use the bus lane...
Hahaha yes, Then he can stop and pick up those ang mo tourists in need. If Taxis go in slightly into bus lane during operation, his cameras and cams all standby liao.
why not, we got to be flexible, the law can be something like
Taxi can only pick up passenger when there are no buses in the lane or the buses are over 500m away from the taxi. Taxi must not stay in the buslane for over 2 minutes, It can only drop passenger when the the nearest bus are over 500 meter away.
Offender who stay in the buslane for over 2 minutes will be fined $300
Private vehicle who refuse to let taxi move out of bus lane will be fined $500
Offender who move into the buslane and block the busses will be fined $500
Empty cab who move into the buslane with no passenger in sight will be fined $500
Cab who move into the buslane with no intention of dropping passenger will be fined $500
see, good enough boh?
just use your brain, dun work like PAP... be flexible
Originally posted by repent:why not, we got to be flexible, the law can be something like
Taxi can only pick up passenger when there are no buses in the lane or the buses are over 500m away from the taxi. Taxi must not stay in the buslane for over 2 minutes, It can only drop passenger when the the nearest bus are over 500 meter away.
Offender who stay in the buslane for over 2 minutes will be fined $300
Offender who move into the buslane and block the busses will be fined $500
Empty cab who move into the buslane with no passenger in sight will be fined $500
Cab who move into the buslane with no intention of dropping passenger will be fined $500
see, good enough boh?
just use your brain, dun work like PAP... be flexible
Walau eh, I think you need to repent!
Bus lane now at $130 fine, you proposing $300 to $500.
LTA hear sure like this idea!
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Walau eh, I think you need to repent!
Bus lane now at $130 fine, you proposing $300 to $500.
LTA hear sure like this idea!
make u happy mah, bec u all say many fxxkers will hog the bus lane, so make the abusers pays dearly lor
bus lane, of cos, is for buses.
cannot lah . . . then i got no more excuse if i dun pick them up .
but i do pick up paxes on the dotted lines before or after bus lanes .
Orchard Road, bus got bus lane, but never use, many time, they must cut from left to right for turning..........
Than certain bus stop they don't need to stop, they will cut into outer lane in order to overtake a bus at bus stop.........
Very common scene at Orchard Road, bus lane got bus, center lane also got bus, outer most lane also got bus..........
All this, not the fault of bus captain, the 1 who plan bus route should go jiak sai...........
Originally posted by Rbs70:Orchard Road, bus got bus lane, but never use, many time, they must cut from left to right for turning..........
Than certain bus stop they don't need to stop, they will cut into outer lane in order to overtake a bus at bus stop.........
Very common scene at Orchard Road, bus lane got bus, center lane also got bus, outer most lane also got bus..........
All this, not the fault of bus captain, the 1 who plan bus route should go jiak sai...........
wan to daid LTA jiak sai just said la...
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Talking about buses, we got 1 member here who boasted of delaying a bus for 10 whole minutes!
Really surprised he got away with it or did it, since he' such a nice fellow with NO aggression and anger issues! .
And no I don't refer to him as an idiot if you look at what I wrote in my previous post.
He's not the type. He follow rules most of the time anyway!
Ya lah I am the one lah....but the stupid bus driver trigger the event first. As usual I turn out to the main road of course must stop a while then can proceed right? And I am there for a full 1-2 mins before the bus approach me because traffic is heavy so I cannot proceed. Not as though I purposely turn out to block him when I see him coming. When I doing the turn the bus is no where to be seen. Then when the bus came the driver started flashing anf honking at me to get out of the way. Like that correct meh? He dun even give me chance to filter out.
Originally posted by bowah:Hahaha yes, Then he can stop and pick up those ang mo tourists in need. If Taxis go in slightly into bus lane during operation, his cameras and cams all standby liao.
I dun pick up pax from bus lane in town lah...I only pick up pax at bus lane along Ang Mo Kio Ave 6 between library and KFC around 5pm++ when I start my afternoon shift. Because there is no traffic there so I am not obstructing any buses. That's the only place I pick up from bus lane....
on raining day, most passenger will take shelter in bus stop. if u dont pick,
and not driving cdg, no ting ting, then where to pick passenger.
Pick up from bus stop outside CBD ok lah. HDB if raining ok lah. But if inside CBD still can go taxi stand mah. Why must pick at bus stop?
CBD why must go taxi stand, go to those office lobby also can liao, raining can interview some more...outside, if close one eyes, raining day, actually anywhere also can lah, bus driver also understand pax got no where to go, raining day, LTA motorbikers all go smoking and drink teh terik liao.
Just think for a while, if bus lanes allow taxis to go in, all those action walk fast but board taxi slow office peoples will halt all taxis, and along the lanes, the bus would have to stop here and there, but carry 33 pax, taxi just one pax, and incrementally, 4 taxis and 4 buses on the lane will mean 4 to 8 paxs on taxis, by abt 120++ paxs on bus waiting for one ah niang low cut lau chio bu to slowly board a cab.
Bus lanes is nothing new, it had been around for years, more important is our rental fares and the 6.9million peoples coming, if taking from a taxi perspectives, what is your view? for me, can huat big time
fm a taxi perspectives during morning peak hr.. take current booking only mean obk big time.. i take 1 call at yishun ar abt 7 30 am, 8 min later still cannot reach.. pax cancell.. 2 min later, same pax current booking again.. 3 min cancell again..like this, i wasted 20 min.. all thank to bus lane n useless policy..
those who benefit fm bus lane will say bus lane good.. that y many support pap..
when the same ppl take taxi n goes the same route, they will start to curse n swear at the empty bus lane.. they pay taxi fare, to save time or for comfort travelling.. yet the time difference may be as short as 5 min nia..
bus lane is a good idea, but not implemented for the right reason.. motorbike also cannot use bus lane, do they block buses? how i wish those who ride biciyle slowly ride in front of every bus during morning peak hr.. then we can c that law can suddenly be adjusted or created in a short time, when needed..
those who can siam, will siam.. those who got to endure the jam, conjestion will just need to rem 1 thing only.. all thank to pap..